Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Family Hotel Balbi 2 stars

Via Balbi 21/3, 16126 Genoa, Italy

#56 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 785 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was what we expected

    The location is 100 yards from Railway station. The does not look much from outside and it's on second floor with no lift.But when you get inside its very friendly and the breakfast very good. The people on reception very friendly and instead of lending us an adaptor for our phone they gave us one Many thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift to the second floor when carrying heavy bags would have been nice and a second pillow.

    Lovely family friendly rustic hotel in Genoa, full of old world charm. Lots of breakfast choices. Roberta and Patrick, the owners, were very helpful and even managed to secure some puppy pat's with their dog - Regina. ( Important stuff when you are missing your own pets) This little gem of a hotel had everything we needed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it dark in our room and bathroom was small but for us we didn’t mind as we were only there to sleep as we left at 6am the following day.

    We were only in Genoa overnight to get a flight into Rome. We came in by train from Santa Margherita so we were looking for something close to the railway station and cafes and restaurants. This suited us perfect we walked from the station with carry on luggage no challenges. Very affordable and we don’t mind steps the hotel was on the second floor. There was a kettle in the ri which is a rarity in Italy. We were able to walk to the Port area and the main area where the big fountain was. We ere surprised to see the umbrella Street while we were there. What a treat. If you are looking for economy stay close to eateries and station this may be an option. We ate at an Italian Restaurant callrd Puzzetia Ristorante Trieste about 3O metres up the road on the same side as hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Up on the 3rd floor with no lift access. Noise level in our room which had windows that opened onto a communal courtyard shaft where every sound echoed and rose up to our room(continuous dishwashing from adjacent eateries, loud live music well past 11pm, loud talking/shouting/arguing from adjacent tenants and other hotel guests, clothes washers and driers being operated in the rooms above well after midnight, doors slamming and general noise of other guests talking and walking in the corridors exaggerated due to the hard flooring, doors slamming extremely loudly about 5 am from locked entryway to the floor above- next to our room). Friendly staff at arrival, but hardly acknowledged at departure.

    Room was spacious and our bed reasonably comfortable. Easy access on foot to most of the city sites. Train station just metres away. Breakfast was good. Initial welcome and help with our bags excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a short walk from the main station to the hotel. The hotel is located on the first floor - no lift. Friendly staff nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although advertised as having air conditioning, they didn't...or at least, it wasn't able to be turned on because it 'too early' in the season. Well, it was quite warm, being a few floors up, and having come up four flights of stairs with our luggage and family in tow. The hotel is situated on a very busy street, so it was difficult to sleep well with the windows open to allow for airflow. Also, the internet wouldn't work. I tried it on several of my devices, which I had used successfully the night before at our previous hotel. The staff was as stumped by this as I was. The refrigerator in the room was quite tiny, so mostly useless to us. Parking was over €40 for only two nights. It wasn't especially close, and I hadn't expected to pay for parking on top of the room rate.

    The size of the room was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator - which was not a problem for us, but for somebody could be. The room is a quite shabby, especially parquet on the floor and, hence the floor looks (and is?) a bit dirty. Overall, for one night stay, the hotel was completely fine and i can recommend it.

    The property is just a few minutes by foot from the main train station less than 10 minutes by foot away from the Aquarium - perfect location! There are tea making facilities in the room - electrical kettle, tea bags (various tastes), sugar and cups. Heating was working really good, if not TOO good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 things maybe to improve: 1 - the room smelled like cigarette smoke all night. As non-smokers we detest this smell and do not want everything smelling of smoke. Please reinforce no smoking inside the building. 2 - difficult to do anything about the stairs but could be nice to have someone to help carry bags up or down them. Not sure how obvious the stairs are when people book online.

    Room was a very good size, but there were 2 of us and it was for 4 people. It was fairly quiet considering we were next to reception, although we suspect they were not busy. Otherwise a pleasant stay. Helpful staff, place to keep bicycles (although the secure garage is a small distance away). Tasty breakfast for good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and good room and bathroom. Dario was very polite and inform us for all places of town .Brekfast was good. Amazing rooms with buitifull picture at ceiling

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed, shower, noe elevator

    building is filthy, bed was uncomfortable. Sheets and towels seemed knew though, but I wouldn't recommend anyone staying there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is located in the second floor of a big house. It's very conveniently located near the train station. However, the old town is in a walking distance. Rooms are cleaned every day. For this money, it's an excellent choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find when driving! GPS directs you either down a one-way street the wrong way or down a street that is pedestrian only. Hotel is on the 3rd floor with no elevator, so don't bring much luggage.

    Great location for exploring the old city, the waterfront and the palaces. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ancient building, so at first a bit (bearable) smell of mold in the room, but with the ventilation it went away.

    Kind staff, excellent cleanliness, excellent position in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you had much luggage you would find the stairs a bit difficult

    Very convenient location, near to the Principe Statione and the old town. There was internet access which I needed immediately, which was very convenient. Excellent air conditioning and good TV. The bathroom was spotless as also was the bed linen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was supposed to be included in the Booking search results, but it was an external service in an external place (far), 20€ extra charges. The hotel was at the 2nd floor without elevator : (very) complicated for a family with a trolley...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small and not very good facilities. the Wifi didn't work.

    The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The room was really big with lots of space to move around. Location was good in terms of getting to the train station for day trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff (place was a bit difficult to find with Google Maps, which wasn't functioning properly for me, a call to the hotel solved my problem); clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from other rooms were quite audible well into the night.

    Very good location. Friendly staff. The free candies at the reception desks were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was huge with a large double bed and a single bed plus there was a small fridge. The bathroom was very good size too with a shower. Breakfast had a good choice of savoury and sweet food and the location was brilliant - about 10 minutes to the harbour. Roberta was an excellent host and so helpful - Thank you :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location in a nice historical building. Really friendly and smiley staff, who make you feel really welcomed from the arrival. Excellent customer service. The single room was clean,spacious and the bed confortable as well as the bathroom. Easy access to Principe train station and to several restaurants and shops. I felt like being at home. I would definitely book again another stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed frame is not steady and make noise when you lying on the bed or when u sit on it.

    Everything is fine. Nice shower. Stable WiFi connection. Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No parking ( but there is nearby parking 20 euro per days) - beds cover are old but clean - stairs ( if you have large bags)

    Good Location, large room, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad breakfast, Broken floor of the room, Not at all clean, No lift in property so very inconvenient for disable or old person. no proper parking place.

    Nothing is good according to price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three flights of stairs with no lift, room tiny with a very tiny bathroom. Can't vouch for the other rooms but this room was more like a Pensione type of room. The mattress was very uncomfortable with a sprung mattress.

    Close to station and cafes. Clean and beautiful linen in bathroom. We were grateful to the owner who helped with the luggage as he was passing by.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and poor WiFi connection.

    Reception and Rooms on 3rd. Floor of a very old building built in 1840,no lift and heavy bags have to be hand carried. Very close and convenient to railway station and restaurant/ shops.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On a hill, near a bus stop, so tended to have a lot of street noise. Up two floors, with no lift - definitely not wheelchair or suitcase friendly.

    Large room, with a mural on the ceiling! Close to the railway station, and some churches and old residences worth seeing in the same street.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much...it's a 3 star hotel and serves its purpose. I could smell cigarettes from the air con. The air con couldn't be adjusted. But it was a place to rest my tired head :)

    The staff were very accommodating and the location is wonderful if you are traveling by train. The neighborhood is very nice. I felt safe but did not wander.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator , we have to carry our big luggage to the 3rd Floor 🤪

    good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Huge appartement, very nice staff, good Italian breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and room clean. Funtastic staff helpfull and friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small room for 5 member family. Can get loud at night

    Great location, old style rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I t is comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, excellent breakfasts and great atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on the 4th floor, thus many steps until get there, may be an issue for some people.

    Wonderful cappuccino made in the morning!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Zimna woda . Cold wather

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street

    High ceilings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location. Clean and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the sparkling clean sheets and towels. Good location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good pension accomodation in the very center of Genova near the famous Palazzo. Perfect for overnight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Family hotel, everything simple and cosy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historical building in perfect location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better

    I liked the family atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coat hangers were amusingly hard to reach.

    the staff the ceiling paintings the real coffee

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was ok

    easy access to the city, large room with painted ceiling and very pleasant staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is inside a building. The hotel is at the 3rd floor and there is no elevator.

    We loved it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast.

    Beautiful location, and nice palazzo.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful painted ceilings and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too firm and the pillows flat. But the extra pillows helped. I tripped on the small step going into bathroom with low ceiling. Can't afford foot injury when traveling. And a warning that the hotel was on 2nd floor with no elevator would have helped.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We saw a part of Genoa that we would not have if not for their recommendations. The room was large with high ceiling.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had nothing to do with the fotos, no lift (hotel is on the 2nd floor)

    Friendly personal, quite clean, close to the main station and the center

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no elevator in the building and with the suitcases it might be a bit difficult

    I liked the staff and the spacious rooms. I liked the location as well, as it is close to the port and the central railway station. Also there a lot of restaurants and places to eat nearby. The staff have booked as a parking as per our request and it was really helpful as we have arrived at 10pm. There were plenty of things to eat at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive, although secure, parking quite a walk away. A lot of stairs inside the property.

    Staff great, character of the property very interesting and location perfect for the Royal Palace, the castle and other attractions.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The en suite was cramped and basic. The price of the breakfast was really cheap so some of the choices were just basic, but some were really nice.

    The wonderful painted ceilings of the rooms are so impressive. The location is really good to go around the city of Genoa. The staff were really friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Keep window closed... It really helped with the street noise.

    BLocation near train, station, tho' you really have to look for the sign... There was construction going on, a busy street,etc. Room was clean... And it is a 2 ** hotel. Staff were helpful, spoke good English .

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like except maybe the climb up to the hotel entrance with heavy backpacks

    It was very central. The inside of the building was quite beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really enjoyed our one-night stay at Hotel Balbi. It was very comfortable in the family room and the hotel is very centrally located. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The maintenance of the place, there was some hangs in the bathroom and at the bedroom that was falling.

    The place is close to the train station and well located. Easy to reach the main Genova places.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not the best neighborhood, just few steps in wrong direction and you end up in a place you don't want to be during the night. Problems with parking, our car left on the street was robbed during the night, definitely book a car-park!!!

    Large clean room, nice personel, a bit dark but it was ok. Even the stairs weren't that bad :)

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the 3rd floor of an old building which had no lift. Getting luggage upstairs was difficult. Hotel staff did not assist.

    close to one of the main stations in Genoa which is good.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little far from the harbour

    There are a lot of hotels to choose from - but this one represents good value for money for E50 for the night (last minute booking). Other hotels a lot more. Clean bed, shower that worked

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 flights of stairs just to get to reception. This whole area is a nightmare to get parking. No proper tea bags or coffee or milk.

    Hotel has a rustic charm.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - If traveling by train - you have to exit Genova train station through the main exit othevise you would be going into opposite direction (similar drawn route); - I am usually working out in a fitness club 4-5 days a week, but to get to the 4 level (full 2-stair 12-high steps per stair - and this was just per one level so multiply by 4!) with suitcases was challenging. We saw a couple in their 60s (when they were upstairs at the hotel after us otherwise we would have helped!) - they were heavily breathing

    - Close to Train station and downtown - good location; - Concierge drew a route for us to follow to see a city within 2-3 hours (a circle) - helped a lot. Consider using a funicular between tunnels (Garibaldi and another one) to go up to the Genoa area you will not forget - beautiful houses, landscape and port and downtown view from there, and just walk back w/o funiculer!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast quality could be improved.

    Location, staff, price/quality. Perfect choice if you don't mind walking up to 2nd floor with your suitcase and if you value ancient decoration.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very uncomfortable bed.

    Good location, good size room.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Short walk from the railway station.This hotel is a good choice for a short stay in Genova as everything is within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very friendly and helpfull staff, nice big rooms and perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds are not comfortable, not suitable for elderly guests because need to climb three storeys to the hotel.Insulation is and issue in winter.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no kitchen utensils or pots etc to utilize kitchen

    Quiet and good location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nicely decorated and very spacious rooms. Very close to the station. Polite staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel and very helpfull staf...very good position for busniess in Genoa

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location is central in medieval genova room was nice with a view and some air

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very uncomfortable beds , crowded, baby creeb was very dirty

    the location is good, and breakfast was acceptable

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very uncomfortable single bed

    location very close to train station and center of the town, incredibly helpful staff when checking in

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Family Hotel Balbi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: