Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Farnesina 3 stars

Via Della Farnesina, 23, Tor Di Quinto, 00135 Rome, Italy

#702 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 504 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was stuffy and did not have air conditioning.

    The hotel is in a nice part of Rome near the Olympic Stadium. It was useful as I attended meetings in the area. It is also located near a number of good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty, stuffy and smelly and the bed had really uncomfortable pillows. Be aware there is no air conditioner in the room! Very basic breakfast. Definitely NOT 3 stars.

    Location - very close to Italian MFA and great restaurants in the neighbourhood. Good internet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More coffee available at breakfast - would have expected a top up.

    Arrived late afternoon Friday and checkin great. Offered map and a double room although not that fussed about a double bed on my own. Room on 1st floor, not much view and large step to bathroom but plenty of space and proper wardrobe. Breakfast on 4th floor buffet was inclusive and was plentiful and tasty, so shame I only got there on 1 day of the stay. Picked hotel for walking distance to Foro Italico which it is if you go in right direction. Glad there was a note about the clocks changing forward an hour on Reception and organised the taxi back to Rome Termini.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cosy, if rather tired, hotel very convenient for the Rome national sports complex, the Italian Foreign Office, the Maxxi and the auditorium. A bit of a period piece, but the staff are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good as long as your happy to get a tram into the centre. We went for the rugby and the location was more than perfect for this. The rooms are a little dated but it’s very clean. There is no tea and coffee facilities in the room but that’s not an issue as there are lots of bars close by. The staff were so helpful with their local knowledge and recommendations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Filthy carpet, tiny TV, only Italian stations, slow internet, sometimes no internet connection, breakfast could be better, no way to get coffee or tea outside the breakfast hours, furniture outdated, general need for rennovation and exchange, no desk in the room

    good mattress, good shower (temperature & water pressure), good towels, good cappuccino

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the electric switch for the whole duration of the stay. Old building, old furniture, modest breakfast.

    Friendly reception and staff, nice location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Me personally I could have done with a bigger bed, we had booked a double and was given two singles, Ideal for children but not for big men. The breakfast jams need to be rotated by staff more often as I must have opened up an old one only to find mould spores inside. My partner was very sick from eating a yogurt which was undated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor is definitely a little tired, although reasonably cosy on a freezing January evening. The bed was like the Rock of Gibraltar - but that's a bit of a cultural thing, I think. Italians seem to like their beds hard - they reckon it's good for their backs!

    The evening receptionist, Giancarlo, was particularily helpful. Great location if you want to be close to the Olympic stadium, the Italian Foreign Office or the CONI sports facilities. The whole area is quiet and very respectable-middle-class Italy, although there's a great local evening movida in Ponte Milvio in Spring and Summer. Lovely, light-filled breakfast room with terrace. Good value for Rome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were not very comfortable. Room decor was very dated. If the hotel updated their rooms and replaced carpets, velvet decorations and wall paper they would be more pleasant.

    Location was good. Breakfast was complete. Bathrooms were very modern.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little further from the centre of Rome than we would have liked.

    Staff were excellent, very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Arranged taxis to and from airport and attractions. Restaurants and pubs nearby. Taxi's into main centre of Rome (Colosseum, Spanish steps, Vatican) cost between 14 and 17 Euros each way. We booked one room with a double bed and another with two singles. Both had a balcony.one room had a shower and the other a bath.Room was cleaned and towels changed every day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their website was not helpful and was misleading in terms of information on how to get to the hotel by public transport. They advise to get a tram until the last stop and walk to the hotel from there. However, having luggage and walking in dark places does not look safe. Room, bathroom, carpet look very dirty, we had to use special textile flip-flops, as it looked very dirty. Bathroom condition was very poor and looked dirty. Paint on the ceiling was peeling off (photo included). Breakfast was very very basic, and too much sugary food, the door to the terrace was closed. I had an impression that we would be allowed to have breakfast on open roof terrace. Me and other guests were wrong! The view was different from what they post on photos. Staff is not helpful, do not seem they enjoy their job. Basic information regarding local shops and restaurants are useless. I expected to be assisted in a more professional way. I was advised to buy bus tickets from local shops, they were all closed, i wasted 45-50 minutes to find the shop. Had to walk 10-15 minutes to the nearest bus station in order to buy a ticket. It is very hard to do when it above 30 C hot! Local shops staff favourite answer is "I don't know..." Only the reception speak English, other staff keep talking in Italian. Difficult to communicate. They way they clean room is totally unacceptable. They didn’t replace bed sheets. Avoid if you can. I had unpleasant and embarrassing experience.

    It was close to the famous bridge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Everything was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small

    It's near by roma stadium and one bus to city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have coffee facilities in room

    Location perfect , size of room with balcony was good, staff excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Décor and general lack of facilities

    Didn't really look like the property in the photos and was rather tired

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5mins walk to tram so access to city centre was easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was really low level quality. Bathroom equipment, dirty moquette in the room, soil bed coverage and so on... To avoid absolutely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning

    Location is perfect if you wish to attend an event at the stadium

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast content could be better.

    Breakfast location, with views to the Farnesina church and neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel bad if unable to have my shirts ironed.

    Rome is a fantastic place)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit old, with little facilities and the wi-fi is not very good. The hotel needs renovation.

    Location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower needed updating.

    The location was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stanza un po piccola

    Tranquillo e pulito

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good breakfast,,lots of choice and very nicely presented. Reception and breakfast room staff very help and all spoke very good English,which made our stay very easy to manage

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathtub was dirty, seriously looked like they forgot to clean it. Finally didn't use the hotel much as this was a backup accommodation so I didn't complain. However it made me wonder whether the whole room had been cleaned or not. Wouldn't have slept there after what I saw.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are small, that can't be changed. The rooms were comfortable, well equipped and the beds very comfortable. The WiFi worked very.l

    The staff were all knowledgeable and friendly

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints at all. Very quiet at night and a good location to visit the city. Public transport was great.

    The staff were great. So very helpful.They did all they could to help. In a warm and proactive fashion. Having the large balconies helped. Stay on the third floor if possible. The staff took an interest in what you wanted from the trip and researched to help.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning unit was hidden behind a curtain. Bed was very hard, TV very small and no music facility.

    Location was great, away from all the touristy stuff and perfect for attending the rugby at Stadio Olimpico. Some really nice authentic restaurants and great bars in the area.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    As we arrived late the concierge swiftly booked us in and advised us on the sights to see in the morning. When we got to our room another room was occupied by a couple doing the bedroom Olympics....not good when with my 14 yr old. So we went and asked if we could have a different room. I was told that it would stop as the people had only booked the room for the day!!!! Not quite what I wanted to hear. I said I didn't think that was acceptable as my daughter was only 14 he then gave us another room on the 1St floor. I think that the hotel needs a refurbish as the carpets and furniture are a but old and tired....but for Rome I guess it's very reasonably priced so you can't have it all I. I would only stay again because it is near the stadium.

    I had chosen this hotel because it was .6km from the Stadium Olympico and was perfect for us to go and watch the 6 Nations rugby.The area is very busy on an evening as the local bars seam to be the attraction for the younger people to hang around.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing much really.

    Great location for Stadio Olimpico. Lovely little area. Easy to get to. Very friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant value for money.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The location to the centre of Rome 15 mins on the bus was perfect and the Olympic Stadium no more than 15 minute walk away ( went for the rugby Int ) The town square ideal for big choice for eating and drinking

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole hotel needs modernising and a freshening up. Brown padded walls and brown bedding not a good look.

    Location for stadium was brilliant. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Gathering of groups of men in the location around the church at night. A little daunting for a single mom with 2 boys. However hotel was fine.

    Friendly staff and helpful. View from Zjunior suite was lovely and had s fab balcony. Great base for Rugby (six nations) as 10 mins from stadium. Bus routes made most locations accessible

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only downside there wasn't a restraunt

    Lovely stay at the hotel, very helpful staff who helped me with my stay. I had tickets for Roma-Genoa and the hotel was a ten minute walk for me to go to watch Roma in the Stadio Olimpico. Only a 5 minute walk to the Ponte Milvio which had a Xmas Market. Sandwich shops are in walking distance on the Spanish square.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful. From the hotel it was only a five minute walk to the No 32 bus ride into the city. Lovely breakfast every morning and plenty of restaurants around the area.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    as we were watching the atp/wta tennis tournament we only had to walk 10 to 15 minutes to the olympic stadium. Thwe hotel is nice but overpriced. Staff VERY nice, specially the guy in reception

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was not exciting but serviceable and it had a very decent bathroom. No lounge/seating area and no out of hours catering.

    A little out from the centre - maybe a better feel of urban Rome as a result - but suitable for us since we were visiting family and still easy to reach the sights via Tram No. 2, which has a stop a few hundred yards away. Prompt and helpful response to a couple of snags we mentioned. The continental breakfast was fine with very good capuccino and there are some serviceable, lively eateries/bars nearby but the hotel itself was quiet. All very good value in our opinion - we'd certainly go again.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Plentiful breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big room, comfy bed, good breakfast. Perfect for an overnight stay if in town for football/rugby at the Stadio Olimpico.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms no English tv channels

    Friendly staff helpfull

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decoration and carpets are dated and could do with an upgrade.

    Staff, location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bar! Could do with a TV lounge.

    Position great for the rugby. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a selection of dishes for breakfast

    it is located very near the Farnesina building.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel carpet is dirty. The bathroom had a very bad smell

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and price

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very polite and helpful.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Farnesina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: