Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Federico II 3 stars

Via M.Baracca, 95012 Castiglione di Sicilia, Italy

#4 of 18 hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 213 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Hidden, tranquil, welcoming and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel is in a beautiful, tranquil medieval village hugging the side of one of Etna's slopes. There is an old church and the remains of a medieval Castle just up the road. Parking is free and in the town square. The room was comfortable, clean and with a good ensuite. Breakfast was really nice with fresh fruit, bread, cheese, ham, cereals, eggs etc etc. The hosts and staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome from the start. The restaurant attached to the hotel is excellent and like the accommodation, it is excellent value. We stayed overnight on our way to climbing Etna and were thoroughly charmed by the whole place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The best Sicilian Village experience at this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This would have to be the best experience we've ever had in a property. Well located, easy parking absolutely unbelievable value for money and the best Sicilian food ever. The family who owned were like family. They would bring fresh figs every day for us for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with great restaurant in a lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Cozy place and high value for money. The hotel restaurant served us an excellent dinner made up of brilliant antipasti, main dish, dessert and wine for only €16/person. The village of Castiglione di Sicilia is lovely and worth a detour. Hotel Federico is the place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Authentic Sicilian mountain village with lots to see and great views of the mountains and valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred to have little bottles of shower gel rather than sachets.

    The hotel is lovely. It is very quiet and close to little square where we parked. The streets are very narrow but hotel told us where to head to to park. We could see mount Etna from our front balcony and the mountains from the side balcony. The food in their restaurant was very nice. We sat outside the restaurant. Lovely little mountain town. Lots to see and explore. Glad we came here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Welcoming, relaxing, comfortable. Great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much of a view for a beauty spot! Parking could be a problem in busier times. Breakfast was not nearly as good as dinner.

    Staff was outstandingly helpful. Given that this is an old building the rooms were pretty good. Just a very relaxing place to organixe trips from. Restaurant downstairs was a hidden gem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast seemed a little stale. But as it is off season, and few people were at the hotel, I can see how this might be. They did have hard boiled eggs, which I liked as opposed to all the sweet goodies.

    Large room. Friendliness of staff, so willing to help. Parking the car is tricky as this is a medieval hilltop village and the laneways are so narrow, you need to fold in the side mirrors. We got as far as we could, but finally a man from the hotel took over our car and parked it for us in a piazza. This is definitely NOT a tourist town, but authentic Sicilien which is what we wanted. Restaurant in hotel is excellent and opened for us to have dinner on their day off!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Would recommend as a base for Mount Etna & a there's a very nice bar/coffee shop nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was abive restaurant therefore we could hear extensive noise

    Friendly & attentive staff. Restaurant very good & reasonably priced. Breakfast good but not as high a standard as restaurant. Room very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel in a delightful historic village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very firm. That is to say hard.

    Very picturesque little village. Frederick II is small, family run hotel. It is not fancy, but very clean. Restaurant serves very good local specialties. Staff (mostly family members) is very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    People were really nice! We would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was spotty. Sometimes we had it, other times we couldn't get it. The hotel was not easy to find. However, once you find it, it was worth the search!

    The people who worked there were so helpful and friendly. When we couldn't find a parking spot, they actually came out, moved their car and gave us the spot. They even parked it for me one day! The rooms were nice, clean, and big.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good, clean and value-for-money hotel, with helpful and responsiuve staff. Well placed to l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn't provide arrival instructions till 1.30pm in day of arrival. As a result our car ended up nearly getting stuck in narrow mediaeval back streets because we had not seen the instruction to set Sat Nav for Piazza Lauria instead of Federico 2. Hotel owner came to our side but it was a near run thing. However he's clearly a busy man so it's understandable he may have left it late. Suggest with each booking that it states at start to set Sat Nav for Piazza Lauria. Minor niggle that overhead bathroomlight in Room 16 did not work but didn't have heart to add to their woes as room very clean and tidy.

    Setting was stunning. Family run by looks of it and all working very hard. Initial problems with lack of toilet seat and wifi and locking of room safe dealt with swiftly and politely. All in all a very atmospheric place and great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Book here if you can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't reach into the room.

    The helpfulness of the staff. The relaxed approach. The food of the hotel's own restaurant, Sine Tempore was very good. It was tasty and aubstantial.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Very nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location! Castiglione was a good stop. We had to modify our itinerary because of the G7 summit and booked this room at the last minute. The restaurant is good and practical for evening and breakfast. The staff was very friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a family run business in one of the prettiest villages in Italy, a hill top medieval town, close to Etna and the Alcantara Gorge. We had a view of Etna smoking away from our bedroom. For a very good price a member of the family, Guiseppe, took us to the gorge and collected us a couple of hours later. The following day he drove us to the door of our hotel in Taormina. We would never have found it without his help. A delightful experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.9
    Good location near the castle at top of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good signage but still a challenge to reach through narrow streets. We parked half-way into town and walked in to map out a route to then drive to Piazza Lauria near hotel.

    Good location near the castle at top of the town. Basic but comfortable room with small balcony. Terrace on second floor has good views. Very good restaurant downstairs (different name). Helpful family who run hotel, despite some limited English. Near to Mount Etna and wineries for interesting tours.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Charming family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do NOT follow Sat Nav up Via Federica. It becomes very narrow & steep with nowhere to turn!! Better to go to Piazza Lauria where it is possible to park & only a few steps from the hotel.

    A charming typically Sicilian family run hotel. Dinner is great & the set menu is good value if you have a hearty appetite! We had a lovely room with views to the hills over the rooftops from one window & Etna from the other.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    A quite undiscovered Sicilian town, but authentic, very worthy of staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and the staff were very helpful. Big room, good view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    The staff were helpful, the breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were helpful, the breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful room in a beautiful little town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lamps in the bedroom can be improved as they're a bit low

    Room very spacious and perfect location to visit te town. Staff was very nice too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and caring especially during my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very friendly and caring especially during my partner's health problems

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    We stayed off season but had a great time and the food was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly family run hotel in the centre of a beautiful village close to Etna

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting there is a bit of a hassle especially for the first time

    Lovely staff and very clean hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Hospitality

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room with good bed and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a picturesque village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were really friendly and very helpful. Room was great with a view of Etna out of one of the windows. Buffet breakfast was varied and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cosy hotel. Delicious food at the restaurant. Beautiful town, wonderful views. Not far from Etna, Taormima. Recommended 100%!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Hotel in a medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean, high ceiling, balcony, big bathrooms, nice fluffy towels good airconditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    good overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly family

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    The perfect hilltop village stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very special place, off the track, good value, no mass tourism

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    EVERYTHING WAS GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    EVERYTHING WAS GOOD

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Everthing food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Its a family run buisness in which they are very help full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its a family run buisness in which they are very help full and friendly. I will recomand and for sure i will go back again my self.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.5
    Excellently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor view from vindow

    Location, staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously, no complaints.

    Location, food, room, staff: one of the best places I've stayed in-excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Castiglione di Sicilia .... a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and bathroom lacking shelves / hooks to place clothes and toiletries.

    The courtesy of the staff despite the late hour of arrival.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    7.5
    Super location at the top of this stunning mountain village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Super location at the top of this stunning mountain village with stupendous views towards mount Etna. A small family run hotel especially helpful and friendly people. Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    6.3
    airco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beds are very bad aprox 30 years old old bread served at breakfast poi / churches in village closed toilet doors in restaurant could'nt be locked no fish dishes in village

    airco large room spotless

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many keys to use to go in and out. A bit of a walk to get our complimentary breakfast. No coffee or tea facilities

    Great position. 2inute walk to the beach and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Tucked away in the centre of the village, great views, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought the parking may be an issue, but in the little square, metres away, no problem, just as they said.

    Tucked away in the centre of the village, great views, big room with fridge, good affordable restaurant, everything is just so right here.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi not everywhere in the building available. Getting an parking place in Piazza Lauria may get difficult.

    Wonderful building. Magnificent view from the balcony. Very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The staff was very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on the first floor, but there was basically no wifi.

    The staff was very attentive. Breakfast was good, although it wouldn't hurt to have a greater variety of cold cuts and cheese.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    Welcome, room, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcome, room, food

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    6.3
    Our room was above the kitchen and very noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was above the kitchen and very noisy!

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Federico II traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: