Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montalbano Hotel 4 stars

Contrada Belvedere, 98065 Montalbano Elicona, Italy

#1 of 9 hotels in Montalbano Elicona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    We had a very relaxing stay which is what we were after to refresh our batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little disappointed that there wasn’t a functioning restaurant...... however the “ snack” menu from the bar forfilled our needs as we always had had an Italian lunch during the day. I think a hotel of that standard should provide free of change water in the room. The terrace area from our room was quite neglected.... needed a lick of paint, and the planters planted with live flowers. There wasn’t separation between individual rooms terraces. The hotel did apologised for the state of the terrace... but a quick lick of paint and some flowering plants would have made a huge different to the ambience.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful... always a smile and our requests were always met. The room was very clean and well appointed. Lovely views over hills and to the sea and Aolian islands.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    My family and I visited the hotel less for about 10 days in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    My family and I visited the hotel less for about 10 days in the beginning of September. We chose it since we wanted to travel by car around Sicily and see as much as possible. We were surprised by the worm welcoming in the hotel and the good service. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every aspect. It was not only the good service but also the kindness and helpfulness of the people there. The receptionists got the time not only to explain where we should go but also to give us some information about every place we wanted to visit. It felt like we had free tour guides 😊. Moreover, the waiters in the restaurant made the effort to remember every guests’ coffee preference on the first day of their arrival, which is why when the waiter approaches every table on breakfast he asked, if we would like the usual.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    MontalbanoHotel is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing is that would have preferred not to be followed around whilst helping ourselves to the breakfast but I am sure that the hostess had good intentions to help - just a teeny weeny too much:)-perhaps we are an independent family!

    The hotel was located in a lovely place on top of a hill and the surroundings were amazing. We had a lovely family room with 2 large bedrooms which suited us fine as we were travelling with our children and we were 4 people in all. we had a double bed in one room and 2 single beds in the other one. we had a lovely terrace with amazing views. We also had the luxury of having a gym in the hotel and it was great ! The buffet breakfast in the hotel was fantastic and delicious. We would certainly return to this hotel as we loved it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    The crossaints where very good, but the matresses surely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there are no restaurants around, and the dark roads at night.

    The crossaints where very good, but the matresses surely need to be changed for comfy ones.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicola and his Very helpful staff who went way out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is beautiful with great views from the terrace rooms and the breakfast area. The rooms are very comfortable and a good size. Buffett breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in a very peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a very peaceful location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They offered recommendations and directions for local restaurants and phoned to make a booking for us. They provided us with a breakfast pack when as we had to depart very early to catch a ferry. The room was clean and the wi-fi worked well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good accommodation with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the evening you need to travel by car/motorcycle to the centre of town, which is only a 3 minute drive away, as there is no street lighting. No big deal here, as parking in town is not a problem.

    Very good accommodation with excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    The views are stunning, as most people stated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management is changing or something similar, so the spa is closed on weekdays and the restaurant for dinner altogether. Restaurant being closed makes it dull to drive to another place for dinner as then one is not able to enjoy the Sicilian wines.

    The views are stunning, as most people stated. The place is on top of a hill with plenty of parking space. Rooms were ok, though a bit outdated. Terrace adds the unique possibility to enjoy the sunset against the Eolian islands. Breakfast was fine with different options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    The manager Nicola & all the staff could not be more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent.

    The manager Nicola & all the staff could not be more helpful. The view from the room balcony was breath taking. Best breakfast I ever had in an European hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    It is a great place where to stay, very relaxing and sorrounded by the beauty of nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You'll need a car to reach the hotel. Good breakfast, but I expected a bit more from a 4 star hotel, e.g. more local organic products (there are so many in Sicily: cheese, fruits..!) and home made cakes, jams etc.

    The structure is very beautiful, the location as well. Great view on the sorrounding hills, on the old borough and on the eolian islands! Also from breakfast room the view was fantastic. Very clean and staff extremly kind and attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would advise if driving with a rented car the first time here, go in the daytime as the surrounding roads are very dark and some small and bendy.

    Very welcoming staff, gave it a feel of home. Beautiful view. Quiet hotel and nicely decorated. Breakfast had a lovely view. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful location, with views of the Aeolian Islands from the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise travels easily between the terraces. A particularly antisocial guest insisted on making calls from her terrace until 4am, which kept us awake, and ruined the otherwise peaceful environment. Not the hotel's fault, of course!

    Responsive and professional staff. The owner took particular care to attend to guests. Great location atop a hill with wonderful views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel at the countryside, next to a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luxury hotel at the countryside, next to a beautiful medieval small town. Very quiet place, stunning view. Most staff is English-speaking, well above Italy average.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hope the AC is fixed once we get back in the future. It was not a big issue when I was there because it was not that hot.

    The location is perfect. Management is in transition so there are a few minor hiccups but were all negligible. The view from both the room and the dinning facilities were awesome. I enjoyed a bottle of wine with local cheese outside the balcony overlooking the islands and Millazzo cape. Surely will comeback next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A bargain - get it as long as it's going
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bargain won't last when all the refurbishments are finished

    Fantastic views, very comfortable, stunning breakfast, extremely helpful owner/manager

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    montalbano dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    have to think about it... may be a sheltered space for motorbike.

    spectacular views and great staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Hotel with panoramic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry there was no restaurant

    Very pleasant staff. Lovely view from the terrace. Excellent choice for breakfast. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Surrounded by nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great standing at competitive price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome by Nicoletta and Maurizio. Great value for standard on offer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place with great staff members
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place with great staff members

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satisfactory

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location in the countryside.Good breakfast.Spotless clean and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Great place in the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place in the mountains.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent view, excellent place into wonderful nature; staff very polite and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful view from the lobby balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A charming team, they always welcomed us, it's really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A charming team, they always welcomed us, it's really fun to stay there. Highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Everything was fantastic, superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic, superb Breakfast Stuff and the owner are very helpful Thank you Montalbano hotel for your hospitality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice views

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Montalbano Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: