Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fenix 4 stars

Viale Gorizia 5, Nomentano, 00198 Rome, Italy

#431 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 551 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    It was a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise that the pipes made and the light in the room was poor, I had light only when was daylight and in the evening I had to manage only with the bedside lamps.

    The breakfast was good, pretty complex for what italians eat for breakfast. Our room was a bit noisy, I guess they have some problems with the pipes I could hear them at night. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Did not sleep for 3 nights due to no AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they turn off the AC at night! You are out all day so basically it means no AC. When I complained I was told it will be turned on at 6 am, the hotel is trying to cut cost at my expense, it is not up to the hotel to decide if the weather does not need AC. I did not sleep for 3 days.

    Location is ten minutes from metro, breakfast was good, and the hotel was cozy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Great Experience with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rome in may is summer time. A/C in rooms need to be replaced with new ones. Rest everything was very nice.

    Hotel is very nice, 10mins away from main area. Public transport connectivity is good throughout the day. Rooms are spacious, traditional design, bathroom is decently spacious. Buffet Breakfast has variety of options. Overall good experience 4 out of 5 (if you take out the distance from center area) but then hotels in center area are very expensive with same facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice place but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are filmsly and the sound espacially at night is unbearable. No soundproof at all

    Nice and safe location, the nearby pizza pepe verde is a must

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Photos does not correspond to the reality, our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos does not correspond to the reality, our room was quite old and ugly. There is extremely small space, so you can not even open the door to the bathroom properly because of the toilet. The location is quite fine and calm, unless you get room directly to the main street, where the traffic is extremely loud, so you can not let your window open. Often we came to the breakfast where there was no food remaining, so we have to wait for it, whis is not ok when you have plans in the city... In my opinion, not worthy the money...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Should I come back,it will be definitely same superior room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal at the reception should be more emotionally engaged with the guests, like the man who helped with the bags who had a very sincere smile.

    Should I come back,it will be definitely same superior room I had on the highest floor in the right wing. There was something magic about it, in the shades of violet and purple with its furniture of a time it is very poetic, even though some small details can be improved.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could read the quotation and styling magazines that were available for guests

    Very friendly stuff I finished my work at 13.00 and I asked if I could keep the room and the checkout at 1330 Everything we’ve great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    So so
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked the biggest family room, the most expensive also. But they gave me another room, much smaller , with big cabinet right in the middle of the room. It was not even a suite room, they actually don’t show the photo of that strange room i got . I just think it’s not fair to pay so much. Nobody contacted me before to say that family room is not available but they charged full price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We have stayed there 10 times and we could not think of staying at another place - because the staff is so nice and helpful, the breakfast is very good and the rooms too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. They were fantastic. The room was a good size, clean and well furnished. The hotel is slightly out of the tourist area but the Metro is close so this was not a problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice garden, but poor WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks in a fridge don't have price tags, but it doesn't mean like in the rest of the world that they're free. It's 2€ per 500ml. Really bad way to cheat tourists.

    Amazing garden and a few bus stops and an underground in a close distance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom window is facing the main road, didn't have a decent cover of the window- just a transparent lace cover. had to put a towel to cover it to feel more comfortable whilst showering.

    friendly and helpful staff, provided us a map to let us know our current location, offered bus tickets that could be bought at reception and helped us call a taxi that arrived 15mins before expected time! Other than that, room was clean, had all the basic toiletries facilities including hairdryer

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Hidden Rome Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in bathroom onto balcony didn't lock. Not able to make coffee in the room. A little far from main Rome attractions.

    Super clean. No hidden charges. Staff super friendly!!!! Close to supermarket and Metro stop. Very quiet for sleeping.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's the thing with almost all Italian hôtels that are within a reasonable price range - the buildings are a bit old and thus it's a bit overpriced. But again, this is a general issue. This hotel was overall nice and what I was looking for (I attended a wedding of a friend in this area).

    The staff were super friendly and helpful, an early check in (45 mins) was not a problem. Nice ambiance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice place but, stay out of the mini fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked and paid for the hotel through booking.com. My wife and I stayed 4 nights. When we checked out, we were surprised that we were charged €60 for drinking the bottled water out of the mini fridge. I was outraged by the cost of 4 waters.

    I liked the location of the hotel. About a 5 minute walk to the metro and the bus was around the corner. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.3
    The Fenix hotel is situated in a nice, quiet neighbourhood,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the center of the tourist areas, but not far from the metro. The shower tended to cause a pool of water to accumulate on the bathroom floor.

    The Fenix hotel is situated in a nice, quiet neighbourhood, and the accommodations were very comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfast, especially the cappuccinos made for us! The staff were very accommodating when we had an extra-early morning, and we were able to have breakfast at 0630 instead of the usual 7 am.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    comfortable rooms, relaxing garden
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    relaxing garden, comfortable beds / different types of pillows to choose from, tea facilities in the room, garage for secure parking, excellent staff - many thanks for making our stay enjoyable!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is very old, looks like 2 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old, looks like 2 star hotel. And the room is very small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Hotel met our expectations and warranted our local friend's recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Unfortunate delay in meeting us, but this was the fault of the taxi company, not the hotel. thereafter v pleasant stay in good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best breakfast - eggs, mussli, youghurt, fruit, ham, cheese, variations of juice, and of course sweet - croissant, and many other baked sweets

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast: Instant coffee

    Spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    gluten free bread
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old room, on the photo was total different!; not the all, but some staffs are unfriendly (no smile, no english...)

    gluten free bread

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, with really pleasant stuff and clean and modern...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi connection in my room was not the best, but it served a purpose.

    Great hotel, with really pleasant stuff and clean and modern rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no coffee /tea in room

    good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bathroom cold be renovate.

    Very friendly staff. Location great- only few minutes with the bus to the city centre. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and breakfast

    Friendly staff and the cute garden

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The staff at this hotel are exceptional.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at this hotel are exceptional. The area is pleasant and safe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    The balcony view, the bathroom, breakfast was great too.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi service would disconnect every now and then.

    The balcony view, the bathroom, breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Traffic in Rome! Not the Hotel's fault though :-)

    Very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served in a nice garden. Amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Stay at a value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a strange odor

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    The Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money

    The Location is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Quiet oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a charming, beautiful, well staffed hotel, with nic gardens, sitting rooms, and a great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Very confortable and pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely appointed, particularly the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.9
    Very nice local hotel with character and good central...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice local hotel with character and good central location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    Staff was professional and polite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast selection was not full even an hour before terminated

    Staff was professional and polite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    Mixed review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    advertising you have a restaurant when you don't

    The rooms and the jacuzzi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    When in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The garden is fabulous. Brekfast was very delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff and well organized.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    I forgot my charger in the room and never got it back

    Friendly staff and well organized.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    It is one metro ride from the termini station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small.

    It is one metro ride from the termini station. The neighbourhood was quite. The hote was nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Very very nice place to stay and the garden was really perfect for wedding pictorial of my niece.
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Hot scrambled eggs and smooth cappuccino

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    5.4
    never come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfeast was not really good ,

    The hotel is quiet far from the center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    3.8
    Staff were very friendly & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was of limited quality & range Rooms are a nice size but very dated & the cleanliness was quite poor really.

    Staff were very friendly & helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.0
    Breakfast was fairly reasonable with a choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I could smell cigarette smoke in reception area and also on the landing of our floor early evening. I did asked about it and was told it was on smoking but we definitely a strong smell of smoke.

    Breakfast was fairly reasonable with a choice.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    6.3
    Great value per night.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great value per night. No working safe in the room but a safe facility at reception. My room was spacious, comfortable with some nice furniture. A bit noisy! Overall the hotel needs to be freshened up and modernised. Especially the carpet at reception! First impressions etc. Overall a good hotel for Rome and it did the job.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.1
    The hotel was stunning stunning área and The Gardens amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Waiter was a bit rude but found that in all of Rome overall What I didn't like the cleaning lady threw my five books in the bin four of which were to do with my business the hotel reception said I should not have left the in the bedside table. They had a cost totalling £90 Still not heard back as they said they would look for them

    The hotel was stunning stunning área and The Gardens amazing I love the antique decor

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.5
    The staff were unfailingly courteous and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the hotel had a restaurant which was used at breakfast, it was not open at any other time (April 13-17). The bathroom was adequate, but a larger person wouldn't have been able to get in to it because of the very tight space between the open door and the large marble sink unit in Room 34.

    The staff were unfailingly courteous and friendly. The little garden with seats and gazebo was lovely to sit in. We chose to stay out of the main town of Rome and the hotel was very well served with several bus routes taking only 10 mins to get into the centre. Very nicely furnished with period pieces in all the public rooms and bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    6.7
    Helpful reception staff booked airport transfers, advised on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise from Via Nomentana, thin walls between rooms and corridor. TV had no english news channels that I could find.

    Helpful reception staff booked airport transfers, advised on walking routes, and printed boarding pass.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Maybe looks like far from city center but if you like big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Maybe looks like far from city center but if you like big rooms it is Ok! And there is a metro line and bus. Also hotel location is very attractive. There is nice restaurants and shops.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    5.0
    The staff were helpful and the service at breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is rather old and needs refurbishing. Pictures on Internet give another impression

    The staff were helpful and the service at breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    The local area was quiet and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The very hot weather meant the room was a bit stuffy but the garden provides a very nice remedy.

    The local area was quiet and pleasant. genuine Rome. Good access to Metro and local shops. Corso Trieste is really nice for a stroll.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable and quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average. Not a great variety, and charged extra for good coffee.

    Comfortable and quiet rooms. Excellent service from all reception staff. Secure parking. Great WiFi connection. 10 minute walk to metro.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.1
    - very nice garden to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked this hotel thinking that we can relax a bit out of the crazy city center after some busy sightseeing. However, the hotel restaurant was not even open during lunch hour (12-3pm) on a normal weekday......so at the end we have to go back to the crowded city to eat..

    - very nice garden to relax - nice room and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all. I would totally recommend this hotel to any visitor to Rome. I will definitely use this hotel on any future visit to Rome.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Room was well proportioned and very clean. Good range of food at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and made me feel safe and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed sheets had a visible massive stain and was deliberately un changed by a cleaner who was rude and unpleasant. But this was swiftly addressed by the helpful member of staff at the front desk.

    The staff were very friendly and made me feel safe and welcomed.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    5.8
    Location near where I needed to be for work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy, easy to hear tv in next door room, and their phone conversations

    Location near where I needed to be for work. And clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    8.3
    Nice and clean room, nice hotel in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WC facilities had some issues at first place but got fixed quickly.

    Nice and clean room, nice hotel in general.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.5
    The mattress was excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lunch or dinner service during weekends.

    The mattress was excellent! and also the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    5.4
    Free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad smells in the bathroom.

    Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is well maintained and staff is frendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast could be better

    Hotel is well maintained and staff is frendly

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    7.9
    Good rates ,style is outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Good rates ,style is outdated Accommodating Good Airport Transfer

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    6.7
    Accueil souriant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    could be better maintained

    Accueil souriant

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    7.5
    very closed to our workplace
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    very closed to our workplace

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    5.8
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms need to be more modern

    location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    5.8
    size of the suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    night personnel

    size of the suite

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    10
    Good location, bed comfort, big bath, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, bed comfort, big bath, friendly staff, good breakfast

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Hotel Fenix traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: