Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ferrara 4 stars

Largo Castello, 36, 44100 Ferrara, Italy

#15 of 31 hotels in Ferrara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1149 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was that although we had very hot weather (well above average for Ferrara) the airconditioning was not working, but this was due to municipal limitation due to the vicinity to the Castello and not due to hotel problem.

    As expected, perfect location, very nice hotel, renovated with standard amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not heathed (but have the A/C) and it was quite cold inside. However, we asked for extra blankets which were provided.

    Location is the best! Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately I got the wrong room equipped for handicapped people. Mattress was so hard, bathroom was not clean... Morning breakfast was just average. All together a bargain rate becomes a poor deal.

    Location - Location - Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window of the room was facing a small park with restaurants, it was a little bit noisy till late night.

    The hotel is in the very center of the city, nice staff, very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking - a bit remote but the hotel is really in the centre of an old town... Room - small, but to be quite honest - perfectly arranged. What was on a bad side - noise outside - spontanious night party on the squere :(

    City hotel. Nice, rather small, well positioned in the centre of Ferrara. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much soundproofing between bed rooms meant I could hear everything next door

    Excellent position opposite the castle and less than 5 minutes from the cathedral and city centre. Nice clean hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was a little awkward as you had to drive around to find a space in the allocated areas with a 'blue line' - not easy to find as such a busy place.

    Very convenient location in such a beautiful city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were loud sounds of heating and from the lower restaurant. The location of the room was right next to the elevator and above the restaurant - so it was a bit noisy.

    Top location, nice and helpfull staf, clean and tastefully designed room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with some nicer furniture in my opinion, as well as a freshen up as we saw some paint peeling off (minor to be fair). Could do with a card as well rather than the old school key. One major inconvenience was that our light at the entrance of the room stayed on all night and pointed right to our face. I called reception but they said it was the alarm light and there was nothing to do about it. However, as I saw in the morning, in the other room where my parents were staying the light was off, so I think there was something wrong in our room. Shame, they could at least have come to check; we didn't have a great sleep because of that light.

    Location is excellent, bang in the middle of the city. Staff is nice. they have a very good restaurant on site.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the bathroom deserved to be refreshed, but was clean and OK.

    Very good location, good size room and comfortable beds, quiet, friendly staff, breakfast was really nice, and the restaurant was very good (evening). All that you need for a short WE.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning turned off but room was hot and stuffy. We left early as could not bear to sleep in the room another night. Opened windows to get fresh air and were bitten by mosquitoes.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, the bathroom although clean & new had poor lighting& the glass between the shower & toilet bowl was clear & hard to see.

    The staff was so wonderful. I was allowed to check in earlier then I had requested b/c we got there sooner than we thought.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just OK. The room was very odd - the decor was avante garde - the bathroom area awkward to use with the toilet cramped into a corner with only about one foot between the front of the bowl and wall. The room was noisy, the restaurants noisily emptied their glass waste each night at midnight only to be collected by the bin lorry at 5:30am.

    The location was perfect for sight seeing. The hotel is in two sections, one side was closed for renovations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Agencement dalle de poiché era maivaises odereurs

    Simplement unique Gentillesse era efficacitè di personnel Cadere global de Ferrara (à revisore era à recommender)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom was quite small but adequate for a short stay.

    the hotel is in the town centre within walking distance of all the important sites. It has a modern feel and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived from Australia for a family wedding and had booked 2 suites and 2 doubles. All our clothes needed ironing however on request we were refused 1 iron. There was not enough time for dry cleaning. The double rooms were refused a kettle. Our suite had an enormous bath in the living room - very impractical. Our shower flooded the bathroom floor. Worse was the concert in the square below our windows which ran for 2 of our 3 nights. Rehearsals started at 3.00pm which made the windows vibrate. We were very jet lagged but unable to go the bed until 1.00am when most of the noise finished. After the second concert the stage was dismantled with the noise lasting until 2.00am. At 6.00am the rubbish was collected. Overall little sleep and reception thought this was OK as the concert finished at midnight. They did not think we should have been advised.

    Good air conditioning during the heatwave. The bed was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be problematic. You have to find a free place in the city center, which is not easy. But the staff helpful...

    Perfect location! In front of the heart of the city. Friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was right in the middle of the town but extremely quiet. The rooms had blackout which is good for sleeping. We used the free hotel bikes which are an excellent way to get around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, we had several problems with this accommodation. First of all we made the reservation for the king suite and so we can stay in one apartment. Unfortunately the king suite has only one double bad where there is blinder on the window so you can sleep the whole night normally. The other bad was near the window where there is no blinder, no curtain at all, just the pure glass next to your face!! It was a big surprise as we talk about king suite!! So finally they gave us another 2 smaller suite in same building, but this was we lost the fantastic view of course. The view then was to a park on the other side, where each night young girls and boys blustered for hours and they left around midnight, one o'clock so until that time we had to listen them, plus next morning the selective waste truck came around 5-6 o'clock in the morning. Of course it is noisy, specially when they poured the glasses into the bin. Breakfast: it was very sad fro experience the poor breakfast at this place. Loud and undemanding music, no fresh fruits, when we asked for they put apple but it was the worse apple of life we ever ate. Next morning they had some more but it was still very low-grade. Quality of bread, cold cuts, and cakes the same poor quality. It was very sad to experience all these as we thought in this hotel we really going to have a royal experience.

    Size of the apartment was good, and of course the location is fantastic. They have bicycle that guests can use free of charge it was a very good thing to discover Ferrara by bicycle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found parking in the streets, in a dedicated spot,not ideal anticipated damage to report to rental company.

    Good breakfast and staff,as expected lots of sweet things. Out the door and you are there walking to all the sights and avoiding the Cyclists Perfect place to stay for this city

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rudeness of the woman who was in charge of breakfasts in the restaurant. She was absent for several minutes when we arrived, so we sat at a conveninet table and began our breakfast. She then turned up and, instead of apologising for not being on hand, tried to tell us peremptorily to move to a different table. That is quite unacceptable behaviour.

    nothing in particular. It is ahotel without much character

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast coffee varied somewhat - usually good, though. I definitely recommend that a kettle be made available in all bedrooms; its absence was regretted.

    Very friendly cleaning and reception staff. Magnificent location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few negatives really and a matter of taste . Breakfast was only OK, and people had to queue at times. Very firm bed, which didn't suit us.

    Fabulous location. Our huge room overlooked the castle. Spotlessly clean, modern style.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking place is too far from hotel, but if the weather is good, it is not problem

    perfect placed hotel in the center of Ferrara, very good breakfast, clean bright room,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rain was persistent so we opted to wait it out by sitting in the main lobby area with a book. This was less than warm or comfortable (the construction work did not help). The front staff could have told us that there was a better sitting area upstairs which we subsequently discovered the next day..

    Perfect location with a great view of the Castello. The restaurant was pretty special but the prices were definitely gourmet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I liked everything of the accommodation and staff. My minor suggestion is to include more gadgets in the rooms such as toothbrush and toothpaste, a comb. Given the fact there is not an iron in the room, the ironing service should be available for free and from 7 am.

    The rooms are modern and very comfortable. The staff is extremely nice. The position of the hotel is great. The breakfasts are gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast was good. rooms were comfortable literally across the street from the castle, it doesn't get any more central. Parking is possible in public spots, they print a sheet for you and you leave it on the dash, very simple.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing. Loud "muzac" marred dining and sitting experiences. Poor internet connectivity

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely lounge and outside sitting space. Splendid location in the heart of the city, close to cafes and tourist destinations

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more bikes for guests to use. Hard bed.

    Best location in Ferrara. Lovely breakfast with a great playlist! Lovely spacious room. Free bike hire.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Please check whether concerts are being held on the piazza during summer festivals like 'Sotte le stelle'. I personally liked it but suspect not everybody enjoys a full-fledged pop music concert in front of the hotel.

    A solid 10 for location, service and general pleasantness. One remark still: The hotel is not in the castle - as one is lead to believe - but looking out on it, which is in fact better.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff and great location next to the castle. They had bikes that we borrowed to tour the city. The breakfast room was light and airy (one wall is all window), and the spread was wonderful, with some very delicious pastries.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was firmer than most in Europe.

    You can't beat the location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great no complaints

    Location central ..breakfast was amazing too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    The central location for watching the various events associated with the annual Paleo could not be bettered. Very well run hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for money is not optimal

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location just off old square. Ferrara was a charming town, so relaxed, everyone on bikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking 10 min walk

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in pieno centro di fronte al castello

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they allowed dogs to be left unsupervised in rooms.

    The location and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Cold on freezing day.

    Central. Quiet rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent place located in the middle of the historical part of Ferrara. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have an iron/ironing board available, only external laundry service.

    Very nice staff, quaint restaurant and clean/tidy room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no curtain for the bath room window

    next to the castle, bikes for guests,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was hard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not working well in our room

    very friendly staff, very helpful and professional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was absolutely great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not working properly but it was not a problem for us..

    Location, staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room too hot and stuffy. A/C thermostat not sensitive.

    the location could not be better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all good

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More fruit at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely dark. Window facing a stonewall

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tub, only a shower.

    The location was excellent. The windows opened to fresh air.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking far from hotel

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location next to the Castello Deste

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to complain about

    the staff were great, great location, breakfast was great,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention here

    Very friendly and efficient staff.. accomodate me with luggage after check out and called taxi for me ☺

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a little basic

    Great location. Easy parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fantastic!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Staff is very polite and professional. Clean and close to old town center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything is just great with this hotel. Try it, you will see :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet could work better

    perfectly situated

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    air con was switched off

    location, decoration, rooms, staff,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    La royal suite è fantastica

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    RELIABLE LIFT! LIMITED DRINK SELECTION IN ADJOINING RESTAURANT AND POOR SERVICE ON A BUSY NIGHT.

    MODERN INTERIOR FACILITIES IN HISTORIC LOCATION

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super value for money. Nice hotel with clean rooms. The breakfast was nice and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    should the backyard once renovate, 10 kg of white color would already help there..

    Close to city center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather hard bed/mattress

    Central position but quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were not aware about the extra daily fee for our dog

    great location, friendly staff, very clean !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't find any.

    Everything was O.K. The place is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly located at the city centre, good breakfast, spacious room, parking in a nearby public space with low rate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds

    loction

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    la vasca con l'idro e la vista castello is such an amazing night!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel centrally located in Ferrara. Great breakfast and spacious, well equipped room.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ferrara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: