Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Filoxenia 3 stars

Via Mazzini, 3, 34121 Trieste, Italy

#32 of 40 hotels in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 583 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple and clean. Excellent location. Polite and pleasant staff. Good wifi. Breakfast very basic, but sufficient. Parking garages available in the vicinity, reasonable pricing, working hours vary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice little 3 star hotel in Trieste. Clean and comfortable. Lovely staff and good breakfast. The hotel has a great Greek restaurant which was very authentic since it is owned by Greeks and a nice change from the all the Italian food on the trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect location, very kind staff, good breakfast, clean rooms, domestic atmosphere, my family and I stayed several times in this hotel and we will come back definitely, perfect wi fi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought that the breakfast was a little limited and some hot food as an option would of been nice.

    the only negative was that the bedroom was a little cold otherwise there were no problems with my staff. The staff were also very helpful I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture were rather dated and and the room reminded me of my hostel dormitory.....4 single beds placed opposite each other with Marley tile floors, wasn't my idea of an hotel room!

    good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a basic room facing to the street, which is a bit noisy because of public buses and other traffic. But, when we closed the windows it was totally quiet and comfort.

    Location of the hotel is good, central. Staff is very helpful: we could check in to our room earlier because it was already ready, and after check out we could leave our luggages at the reception which was a great help. Breakfast was also good and more than enough. We can recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room for family (4) was very old and not welcoming. we spent one night and it was enough. That was ok for what we needed to do but it would not be good for more night in Trieste.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Low performance of the air condition systems, did not work very well the all stay.

    Hotel located close to Zentrum, the harbour and the main plaza are beautiful, facilities like restaurants, bars, etc are near to the hotel. Very good for ride and sightseen. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in the centre of Trieste, the room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was very good, staff was kind and proffesional, we will come back definitely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom's toilet would not flush, and when we told the night staff, one (although it wasn't clear if she was actually a staff member or a friend maybe visiting the person at the desk) was especially rude and scowled at us a lot. She seemed angry with us every time she saw us after that, although we'd tried to be really courteous and understanding about things. We understood that nothing could be done after hours, but we thought the hotel staff would want to know about the issue, and in addition to a functioning toilet being more comfortable for us as guests, we didn't want to leave an un-flushed toilet for the staff and/or any repair people to have to deal with after our departure. In the end (after asking) we were given another room, a twin instead of a double, which was fine . . . but the response from the night staff was off-putting and made us feel pretty unwelcome. This was such a shame, as the staff during the afternoon and the next morning were so kind, friendly, professional . . .

    The staff when we checked in and checked out were lovely and helpful. They were really kind and made us feel very welcome. The location is also excellent; easy to find and central, near the waterfront.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Interiors are quite poor, 2* at best. The noise from the street, especially from buses, is extremely annoying. Radiators can also be very noisy. The curtains are visibly dusty, the bed was full of hair (apparently from the previous guest(s)). The room and the hotel in general smelt funny. The hallway and the stairs were often dark. No luggage store room - my bags simply laid in the lobby against the wall. Breakfast was very basic.

    Located very centrally, close to the sea, the main square, the railway/bus stations, the castle/cathedral etc. I could see the sea from the balcony of my room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was more on the "Italian side" and there is room for improvement without much expense.

    Great location, 10 min walk from train/bus station. Meters away from sea (could see it from my window), on a quiet street. There were some buses, but traffic ceased at night and windows have good sound proofing. Walking distance to Trieste's main attractions, lots of restaurants, cafes, etc nearby. Very friendly check in/out. Comfortable room, good air conditioning, nice towels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was not as great as the rest of the hotel.

    A great location, in the midst of it all; just steps away from the best piazzas. A friendly staff always willing to help, and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was bit too short for us (1,80m), no eggs nor espresso for breakfast

    Location is perfect, no Big disappointments or surprises, early check in was possible

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room at the front meant quite a lot of street noise, but also a great view of the Adriatic just down the road! You can always bring your earplugs.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic for easy access to the city and the sea front.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decoration is not necessary. If pictures on a walls make room looking bad it is better to remove them. :) Small shower cabin. Stuff not speaking fluent English.

    The best location you can choose! :) Good value for money you pay. Hotel is not fancy but good enough for short stay. Good internet connection. Public parking is near and cheap.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy rooms oriented to the main street where buses are stopping every 10 minutes between 6am and 11pm. Air fresheners in power sockets shall not be used in a good hotel - clean hotel should smell well w/o fresheners causing headaches. Hotel parking is not in hotel location - this shall be specified in hotel description.

    Very central location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast has lot of variety but did not meet my personal taste (no vegetables, no eggs, mostly sweet cakes and pastry).

    Good location, nice staff, happy to fulfill all our wishes. Rooms are simply equipped but clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusch facilities was bad.. hot or cold water no between och water only flew slowly No food buying abilities only a small bar Look old and dark

    Hotels location Breakfast was enough and good Aircondition in room Minibar I roon Large room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't find the bed very comfortable, because the mattress was a little too firm. But that's my only complaint.

    I had a great experience staying here, even if it was just for one night. The location is great, right in the centre of the city. The staff was very nice and I really liked the room as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older, basic hotel.

    Location was ideal, walking distance to the train station and ferry; and to the pedestrian areas. Great shower pressure, better than 4-5 stars hotels.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd smell in the bedrooms! Also parking was a problem (although the hotel is near the station if you are arriving by train.

    Great location near the seafront.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings all generally all a bit tired/old

    Good location, arrived early and were given the room straight away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks of the rooms, lobby.

    Location was perfect Bfast was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on busy street.

    Good Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location, excellent restaurant, frendly and polite staff, clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was excellent. Very close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Old rooms with no upgrades.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was near the station and waterfront.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi connection was not good from our room.

    The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking place, no wiev, coffee,

    Right in the city, near to the sea, colazione (excluding coffe).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Breakfast poor - plastic and pre-packaged. Bathroom - shower minuscule. Decor sad and old. Wifi keeps dropping.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast coffee was diabolical considering that Trieste prides itself on it's coffee.

    Great location, but parking a nightmare

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location (near Placa Unita et Marititime conference center) nice breakfast good wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More varied breakfast

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice staff and good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so helpful and welcoming. The price is great for the location, room and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the center and the embankment, just 10 minuets walk from train station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is approx 200m from hotel

    In the center of city, next to coast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Lokation superb. Staff friendly. Parking on the public parking cost 10 per

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Genius Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea making facilities

    Breakfast was very good in a nice bright room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming but inefficient reception. (Youngsters.)The booking form said check in at 11am, but we were kept waiting for more than an hour, after a very early start from Slovenia, The room was expensive, with a very cramped bathroom. Breakfast ok, but coffee awful.

    It was very well situated

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very basic but overpriced hotel. The Breakfast is just some sweets really and muesli. Not even boiled eggs or cheese. Many young kids on class excursion, noisy like a hostel. No car park. Not worth the money they charging.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been more varied; how about some hard boiled eggs? Mosquito screens on window would have helped. WiFi is problematic; every time you close your device, you have to log in again which can get quite annoying.

    Excellent location. Helpful staff. Spacious room. Even arranged for our laundry to be done - a life saver! Given a great map of the city with major landmarks/sites marked.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The church bell rang morning and evening but not too early unless you are a late riser. Breakfast could have been better for example there was only tepid coffee or water available for tea. Bread rolls were small, croissants were sweet rather than savoury, and very limited choice of cold meats and cheese.

    Proximity to the centre of town, so was accessible on foot to the museums, shops, good restaurants, beautiful Piazza del Unita, exhibition hall on the sea front. Our room didn't face the sea otherwise it would have had a wonderful sea view. The restaurant served good, basic Greek food.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have loved to get a map of the bus lines but did not manage...

    Easy to visit the surroundings (Opicina, Muggia, Duino, Miramar) The Color Run was a great event full of joy of life.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy street in front. Bathroom was rather small.

    Perfect location near the waterfront and restaurants. Friendly and helpfull staff. We were by bicycle and could store them inside. Room was large an beds were OK.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bulding old

    Position

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, simple clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very central/quiet/clean

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    location!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is a bit poor or boring.

    The location is excellent! Room is nice, stuff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bus stop in front of the building makes noise early morning. I could not stay more :/

    Staff Flexibility

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Couple

    The breakfast was fresh but could it be better for that price.

    The room was clean and staff was very nice.Location is great.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no hangers for pants in the closet!

    excellent location

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, friendly staff and ok breakfest for the price

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is definitely great, comfort is relatively ok regarding the price, staff and hospitality without any remarks

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No car park facilities

    Location, facilities and staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    filoxenia is good for its category.. it has a bad breakfast, but everything else is adequate.

    location, price, it is greek owed and I am greek

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is close to everything. Parking was reasonable and staff was very helpful and friendly.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Filoxenia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: