Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fontebella 4 stars

Via Fontebella 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy

#23 of 55 hotels in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 456 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Great base location to tour Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good, though didn't need the HVAC because of the mild temperatures and it was off for the season.

    Location is perfect, staff were all excellent. Breakfast buffet good, though didn't eat dinner at the restaurant. Value for the room was very good with a renovated bath, though a modest sized room. Room was quiet and comfortable. There are a limited number of parking spots at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place in Assisi with good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit dated and the bathroom very small. There was also an odd smell in the room due what seemed to be a very strong cleaner used.

    The location was spectacular and the staff was very friendly. The room was comfortable. A good selection at breakfast. I did not eat lunch or dinner there, but I have eaten at that restaurant before and it is nice to have the option of such a good restaurant on site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    I love being right in the middle of Assisi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not ready at the agreed upon time. Despite this, the check in staff was accommodating, offering refreshments from the bar while we waited.

    This was a great place to stay with direct access to all things Assisi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    excellent and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom is rather small compared to the size of the room. The lift is small too especially when you need to carry the luggage too.

    the room layout is very good and spacious with an excellent relaxing view. At the reception they are polite and make you immediately welcome. The WIFI coverage has improved a lot since my last visit two years ago.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with an excellent location in a middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel with an excellent location in a middle of Assisi. A tastefully furnished room an outstanding view on the town and Perugia valley. Very nice bathroom, tasteful breakfast and helpful stuff. The big advantage is a parking which allow you to stay with a car in the traffic restricted area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Location, friendly staff, breakfast was fresh and delicious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated but nothing that was of a concern. It was still comfortable and clean.

    Location, friendly staff, breakfast was fresh and delicious, parking was available, clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit more info on things to do or see in thd area would have been helpful

    Great location, good restaurant with spectacular view, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    It's close to the centre of Assisi & the car park is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't control the aircon from the room. The room was a little tired with a few niggles like a plug in the sink that didn't work. But these were minor issues & overall it was a good stay.

    It's close to the centre of Assisi & the car park is across the street from the front door.. The restaurant is very good with lovely views across the valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel's location was excellent and the views were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had musty smell and the bathroom was the smallest we had in Italy.

    The hotel's location was excellent and the views were spectacular. The restaurant's food was very good and the waiter was excellent. There was parking available right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is close to the center of Asisi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is close to the center of Asisi. It is clean and the bed was comfortable. The food in the restaurant was so delicious. The breakfast excellent. The staffs are good and helpful and quick response. Daniella in the dining room is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Stunning view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved Assisi and the location of Hotel Fontebella was great. At check-in, we received an upgraded room with a stunning view of the valley below. The room was a regular type hotel room with a decent sized bathroom and all the typical amenities. Breakfast was included and it was fabulous - eggs, bacon, breads, coffee machine, fruit, yogurt, etc. My only complaint was our bed was a bit saggy; could use a new mattress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location for visiting the basilica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom where I stayed did not have air conditioning. As a result it was very hot to sleep at night. The location of my room was also easy to hear everything going on in the front desk as well as anyone walking and talking in the hallway. Bring ear plugs. If air conditioning is important to you make sure you ask ahead of time.

    Great location for visiting the basilica. Breakfast is very good. Clean, comfortable rooms. Amazing views of Umbria. Staff friendly and helpful to all questions and generally friendly by saying hello whenever they met me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    This was by far the best location and value of our trip to Paris, Rome, and other parts of Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi fare from the ferry was too expensive. The owner of the hotel negotiated us a fare of 1/2 price on the return to the ferry.

    The location of the hotel overlooking the bay was fantastic. The restaurant was great as was the morning buffet. We will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Very agreeable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom in need of renovation. Rooms quite noisy. You could hear toilets being flushed and people moving about above our heads

    Nice guy who checked us in. Had his birthday and offered us a lovely piece of his birthday cake! Although we arrived early they prepared our room as fast as they could. Very lucky to find a parking space opposite the hotel on their parking lot. Very well situated for a visit to the Basilica of San Francesco and the rest of the village.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate at the hotel restaurant. The food was good but the menu was somewhat limited.

    The staff were helpful with advising what we should see in the town. The hotel is right in the heart of the town, and you can walk everywhere. Beautiful hotel and town!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay overall....just improve your breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel put a mattress on the side bed for my son, who kept falling off....It did not quite fit and I would not recommend doing this for a 7 year old in the future. Eliminate the mattress... The Breakfast needs to be updated and improved compared to the competition in the area. We have stayed at others that were much better.

    Our family liked the convenience and friendliness of the the staff...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    Do not expect much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and small amounts. Bacon was out very early but not replaced. During breakfast sanitation of a serving staff was terrible. Her afron was dirty and she managed the bread and other foods with rubber gloves. She used that gloves when she spilled down something and washed it. I left my luggages to the hotel after checking out, but when I came back those were disappeared. My luggages were loaded to the bus of group tourists already. It was staff's mistake. But I found my luggages with staff's help. Anyway thank for him.

    Hotel was close to St. Francesco abbey, and near to bus stop. Staffs were kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel in the heart of Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room we had was excellent and the bed was very comfy. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and are available 24 hours. The location is excellent - it is right near the Basilica. Breakfast is very good with a wide selection of hot and cold food as a buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Assisi is a wonderful stop between Florence and Rome, easily accessable by train (no changes).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are all very helpful. There are new owners who are trying very hard to please. The dinner that was part of the deal was absolutely excellent with a wonderful view. We encourage anyone to include the dinner as part of their package. The city is beautiful and the sights magnificent. We recommend two nights there to see everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    The hotel, its restaurant and Assisi were all of the highest quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Air conditioning, spacious room, bath with shower and friendly English speaking service. Fantastic location and car park opposite door to reception. Restaurant was the best we have been to this time in Italy. The truffle pie was exquisite!! I would return just for that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Vacation in Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good locations within the city walls of Assisi. All within walking distance. Not to complicated to drive to/from the hotel. Very nice view over the valley from the hotel room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt weird that the restaurant does not open every day, or at certain meal times (at breakfast is always open, and super nice) but "too bad" because food is great!!!!

    We loved the location, very near to St. FRANCESCO. Everything is near. Quiet and tranquil stay. The restaurant personnel very nice and attentive. The rooms were good, big and clean open bathroom... the view beautiful. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Don't park here !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the hotel parking at front of hotel which cost us 12 euro. Next morning there was a big dinge to the right rear of the car.The hotel refused to accept any responsibility and we are now faced with a repair bill through no fault of our own. My advice -use the public parking some distance away.

    Comfortable bedroom with beautiful view. Good breakfast with friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked to have been told that breakfast on one of the days I stayed had been moved to another location in the hotel. However, this was made up for by breakfast being provided after I had told them about my problem.

    Excellent location. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast each morning was delicious. WiFi connection is exceptional and does not disconnect frequently.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    One of the best value hotels anywhere for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, in particular the staff who were extremely helpful and friendly. What a great hotel to stay. Wonderful restaurant too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    We had the privilege to be upgraded to a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had the privilege to be upgraded to a suite. A lovely gesture very much appreciated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great: staff, room, location, restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good

    Everything was great: staff, room, location, restaurant and the view...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good service, nice restaurant and tasty food ! !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving directions.

    Service, Location & Restaurant !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff in the hotel were really good and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we disliked in this hotel.

    The staff in the hotel were really good and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Fontanabella
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bathroom for a family of 5 so it was difficult.

    Staff and old charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    fantastic place to stay. Great food. Lovely room with amazing views of the valley... loved every minute in Assisi. thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went out of their to save us a parking spot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    The location and appearance are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, decoration, size of the room and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant closed on our second evening, but reception didn't mention it to us.

    wonderful view from the bedroom and restaurant great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very extensive and caters for all. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The location was magnificent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    Right in city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like we were staying in a youth hostal

    Right in city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Great time in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Good views. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Top class- highly recommended....!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff.....Good restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, massive room, lovely sunshine, awesome view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, shower screen looked like it was falling apart.

    Great location, massive room, lovely sunshine, awesome view, lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Attractive town. Lots to see. V good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed 2nd night (2nd half October)

    V good breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel. Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one small elevator...

    Large room with a lot of space and very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect. We opted for the half-board option and the evening meal and view were magnificent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Great memories to treasure from our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The view over Tuscany was all I had envisioned. Great facilities, friendly staff and superb breakfast in a central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    It was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff, great views and convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with pleasant staff in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    That it was within walking distance to the various sites and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable and the views from our room was lovely.

    That it was within walking distance to the various sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    The location of the property was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the property was ideal. We were in walking distance to everything! The breakfast in the morning was incredible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uphill. Poor dirctiond given on site. Completely different addresses. Confusing.

    Central location. Willingness of staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Lovely place with breathtaking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to have a lot of stamina for the hills

    Assisi is a remarkable town and the hotel is perfectly placed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Location, staff, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looks better on pictures than it is in fact

    Location and view

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: