Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Francesco 3 stars

Via Santa Maria 129, 56126 Pisa, Italy

#23 of 49 hotels in Pisa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1283 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made to feel so very welcome here by the fantastic staff. The hotel is very clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a great choice of foods for breakfast. Recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was good but no cups. Only there one night so could have sorted this out if we had stayed longer.

    Friendly staff and the lovely location. We particularly liked the view of the tower from the dining room terrace. Although on the main walk through to the tower, the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a fly screen for the outside window but it had a large hole in it, somewhat diminishing its effectiveness.

    The hotel is in an excellent location a few yards from the Piazza dei Miracoli. It is in via Santa Maria which has lots of nice restaurants and shops. Our room had a balcony from which you could see the Leaning Tower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next door guests were a bit noisy.

    There was a good view of the Leaning Tower of Pisa from our balcony and the receptionist allowed me to exercise my rudimentary Italian without immediately switching to English. Excellent location on Via Santa Maria.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only location is excellent and that's it. We asked for early breakfast twice to be sure have a cup of coffee before our flight. We waited 15min - nobody came in We left the key and 10,-€ (drinks charge in the room) on the table in empty reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, hard and squeaky. I found it difficult to get to sleep as a result. The room looked shabby and was cramped. The shower was small and narrow even for a small person, and someone had forgotten to clean out the soap tray, which was also cracked. I was glad I 9nly had one night there.

    Very pleasant staff. Location is good, with a view of the leaning tower from the breakfast terrace on the first floor. You walk straight out from the hotel onto the Main Street going up to the Piazza dei Miracoli 200 metres away. Shutters kept the noise from the street down. Plenty of breakfast, though all choices rather sweet except the eggs, which were cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but comfortable, with a shared balcony. The room and bathroom could do with a facelift.

    The view of the tower from the breakfast balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linens were too old

    Location ( 5 minutes to pisa tower) Reception guy was very kind and helpful and was very clear in providing informations Good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions from the train station were not clear, there are two Rosso busses, one goes there one does not. Also the cost for the bus was €1.40.

    Very close to the tower of Pisa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small old room Part of breakfast was extra paid with no info about it A kettle in a room with no tea or coffee or even mo place to plug it in

    Location close to the Tower, but hard to access with a car

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect with many restaurants to choose from. Upgraded to a room with balcony. Staff was very friendly and hotel clean. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    terrible shower facilities, the water kept on changing between 25 and 70 degree. the other facilities are also fairly old may be overvalued as a 3-star hotel

    good location stuff are very excellent and ready to help

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic, would’ve liked a croissant and if you want an egg you pay extra

    Very good location, view of the tower while eating breakfast 😀 bed very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When coming into reception at night a man came in the door after me, he saw no person on desk, I stayed in reception until he turned around and left. I felt a little unsafe.

    Location, staff,outdoor breakfast and room all v good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too hard for me. The safe wasn’t working, though to be honest I didn’t complain. I think the hotel needs a little tlc

    All the staff were really helpful and friendly. The location is perfection itself. Absolutely clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe didn't work, though to be honest I didn't complain. It needs a little bit of tlc but that didn't bother me.

    Everything just suited me, I would come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was old and worn but clean. The only issue we had was very noisy people in room next door. Our room was 202. No noise at all from outside which was great as we were right in the heart of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Leaking water tube of toilet (technical issue; could not be resolved during stay)

    Small, but nice hotel very close to the Dome, Babtistery & Tending Tower of Pissa. Very nice people at reception and breakfast bar. Hote mets expectations for italian *** Hotel Pisa is a very good position to start excursions & city tours to the most famous and lovely places (Firenze, Cinque Terre, Siena, Chianti, S. Gimignano, Lucca,...). Recommendation: Take the train, if possible - very good connections with low costs :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in the top room in the loft so wifi not very reliable and there were lots of plants outside the window so mosqito's were a real problem. Take lots of creams and sprays as you will need them. Bathroom quite small especially the shower, a bigger man would struggle to get in and out but overall for a 3 star a great stay and good value.

    Perfect location - you could almost touch the tower from the front door. Lovely staff, made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast room was super with excellent choices and always had everything available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was small and it was noisy at night as it is situated in the centre of the tourist area.

    Just 2 minutes from the Tower etc.Great breakfast with great choice of restaurants nearby for evening meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. The staff were fantastic. The coffee at breakfast was excellent, and the view of the tower even better. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. Yes, it's a little dated.. but it's quaint and Italian and has a lovely warm, welcoming feeling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe needs a little modernising, especially the bathroom. Generally a quiet street, but a little loud in the evenings (from those who have had a little to drink) as close to the major attractions.

    Superb location, as I had booked an early slot at the Leaning Tower of Pisa, and it was only a 3 minute walk in the morning. Also great neighbourhood. Pretty good view of some mountains and the street, especially when the light hits in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had no view which didnt really matter as we were out and about all the time. The bed was a little tough but I still slept well. The shower door was hanging off which meant water leaked everywhere and eventually started flooding the bathroom. I was only their for one night so didnt find out till I showered in the morning and then shortly left.

    The hotel is stones throw away from the main events of Pisa being the tower etc. The Rooms were clean. Very quiet considering the location. Staff extremely friendly. Upon arrival lady at reception give us lots of local knowledge on where to go which really improved out trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower space is super small. It is hard to move inside. The room facility is a bit simple. The hotel entrance is not very obvious, we spent sometime to find it.

    The location is perfect! Only two minutes walk to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. There are a lot of affordable restaurants and cafes around the hotel, plenty of choices. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. The €5 breakfast is very delicious, worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the desk attendant was very friendly. Booked a taxi back to the airport for my son and I. Felt safe as a woman traveling alone with a small child.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Patchy Wi-Fi service, kettle in room but no cups, coffee, tea or other drink making facilities!

    Fantastic location, great staff, clean and comfortable rooms, good choice at breakfast with great coffee. Good restaurants and a mini supermarket very nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress need could be better if changed.

    Clean room and friendly staff, bed was not very comfy but ok. Very close to Pisa tower and lots of restaurants and supermarket outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt rather musty and there were very few plug sockets in the room. The bed was also quite hard, and the “double” was 2 singles pushed together. Since they moved across the floor rather easily, it meant that there was a bit of a gap! The bathroom also had a few issues. It smelt really bad and the shower kept jumping between temperature extremes.

    There was a lot of food available at breakfast, and the location was excellent! The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful too, and made it very easy to check in and out. Luggage storage was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ok but very cramped But ok for short stay Not a great choice for breakfast but it is only a small hotel

    Very nice clean hotel handy for tower of Pisa Friendly staff,breakfast was ok but not a great choice Ok for family for a short stay Good restaurant s near bye

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom floor was always wet, and we couldn't figure out where it was coming from.

    Bunk beds for the kids. Croissants were great. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was definitely not clean, the shower small and we had a rather noisy elevator right next to our room.

    There was plenty of soap and shampoo in the bathroom, and it was great having a working air condition. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleanliness could be a little better. Towels were changed daily but the marble floor was left full of dust. The blankets that they provided (which were necessary the weather being pretty cold) looked like hadn't been washed in a while.

    Very good location, close to the leaning tower and near the restaurants area. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast is basic but good. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not so comfortable. Bathroom could be better.

    Very close to the monuments. Staff was very nice, although we were leaving before the breakfast started, the receptionist prepared a takeaway bag for us with everything we needed. Rooms are as you can see on the photos.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to come home

    Absolutely brilliant hotel staff couldn't do enough for you less than 100 meters from the tower lovely central location and fantastic room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little hot and cold. Pisa itself had very little to do other than the tower which was disappointing.

    Great location, friendly member of staff at check in who marked onto a map where to go for Tuscan food and walking routes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location, vey friendly and helpful staff, great value for money! Breakfast was adequate for the money, croissants, bread, cheese, ham etc. the coffee was made to order and was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was too small, bathroom could do with refurbishment

    Great location, short walk to the Leaning Tower of Pisa and a 15 min walk to the main train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of chlorine from the bathroom. I know it's good that they clean the bathroom, but the smell of chlorine is a little too much. Other than that, there are no other problems.

    The room was very cosy. The breakfast was really good with plenty of choice. The location is ideal as it's very close to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. And, it's not so far from restaurants, cafes and shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed! Small bathroom; towels very thin, not good for drying self; weak shower.

    Nice balcony; friendly staff; good value; 3 minutes from leaning tower but I would not recommend the tower (expensive and full of people taking photos!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gerrard the staff was marvelous...he was very helpful and accomodating. We need to take and early taxi to train station and he help us by arranging early breakfast just because of this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels are a little thin

    The location is great for the tower, a very short walking distance around the corner. The airport is only a short taxi ride away too. Staff were friendly too. Great basic accommodation with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy: it is on a street where several people swing by until late night, and, even worse, in the early morning (from 6-7 AM) the staff was coming in and screaming to each other in the staircase, and thus woke me up early every day. The breakfast quality was quite disappointing: bad coffee, and the the food was all low-quality grocery-store packaged/heavily processed kind of stuff. I was particularly disappointed by bread, pastry, and jam: from their quality you would have never imagined you were actually in Italy!

    Very good location. Facilities are most definitely good value for the money you pay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure / temperature was very sporadic.

    The breakfast was minimal, with the exception of sweeter choices. I'd have preferred some more savory options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hot water slow to come through; flush could be tricky.

    Comfortable room with delightful shared balcony; comfy bed; efficient room cleaning; friendly staff; adequate breakfast; superb location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The provisions in the room for making a drink could be better. Only tea bags were provided, no coffee which we would have preferred.

    We were impressed with the helpful attitude of the staff, particularly Steffie. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. One of the great things was the proximity of the hotel to The leaning Tower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was perfect for our needs: close to centre with FREE Parking (down the road but Francesco was very helpful to show us where it is and even helped carry my bags inside). Very friendly, neat and accomodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small as well as the beds.

    The breakfast was really good comparing to usual Italian hotel breakfast :) The bed was really comfy. The location is great, very close to Leaning tower and on the most attaractive steet of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower curtain as ideally a walk in shower would be with a shower glass to prevent water from coming out and ending up with a slippery floor. Some room plugs were not functioning

    Good location, just minutes away from Pisa's main attraction and from Pisa Central station to explore other beautiful Italian places like Florence and Lucca

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room set up for disabled so shower level with floor. With only a curtain the whole floor became wet. Slow water flow

    Comfy bed and roof terrace outside our room. Lovely host. Rushed off his feet but very helpful nonetheless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat moved which was rather disconcerting!

    Breakfast basic but more than enough. Pleasant and helpful staff. Although we are on the main walking street, it was relatively quiet and so convenient for the Field of Miracles.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome location very close to the Leaning tower, clean and extremely helpful staff who also helped us with booking a taxi for the morning. Comfortable room - couldn’t have asked for more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were wonderful. They even prepared a take-away breakfast for me as I had to check out of the hotel before breakfast serving time (my flight departed at 7am). Location was fantastic, so close to the tower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities was not in good condition, toilets was very old.

    Prime location,2 minutes away from leaning tower of Pisa, staff were very friendly, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had difficulty going to the 4th floor - only 1 room on that floor but lift only went to 3rd. No mention of that on the information provided. We had trouble getting the luggage up the stairs as it was heavy and my wifes pregnancy and my back issues didnt help.

    Excellent location, very nice staff at the breakfast area in the morning and helpful staff at reception. View of the tower from the balcony of the breakfast area was splendid: I think a short sweet stay in this beautiful and unreal city makes the trouble worthwhile here :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything ,clean rooms ,great breakfeast ,amazing position ,welcoming and very polite !! I am so happy with my choice ,can’t wait to be back soon again Plus best thing just 2 min walking from the Leaning of Tower 👏👏👏♥️♥️♥️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel just next to the Leaning Tower/Duomo site. The rooms are large and clean, and the staff is friendly. Hotel Francesco is in walking distance of any part of the historical center. There are markets, shops, bars and restaurants just minutes away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have liked coffee making facilities in the room. teabags supplied but no cups,just large glasses.

    fantastic location ,for sightseeing and restaurants.clean comfy and warm room..short walk from train station.helpful ,friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Con's - Damp issue on ceiling Horrible wet room Shower curtain soaked the whole floor due to a short shower curtain and it kept touching me which i didn't like Breakfast wasn't great, not much choice

    You get what you pay for i guess.. I had this hotel booked for two nights but could only manage one. Might suit some people but i did not like it. Pro's - Location Staff Price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After arriving in the wrong room, we asked to change for the room size we actually booked. We didnt check the first room but second was dusty (outlet, switch, corners...), light outlet in the bathroom were rusty ans shower head flow was so weak... To summarize, after a long day of walk in the cold of november, we didnt feel confortable in this room that has great potential but failed to bring satisfaction for a lot of tiny details.

    The room is looking good and the bed was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge had rotten food from previous guests. Shower went hot/cold on its own. Room wasnt cleaned properly. Towels were like sandpaper. Dried on toothpaste left in sink from previous guest, bed was too hard & wasnt comfortable room was very noisy (heater and fridge going on/off) dripping water noise coming from outer wall and noise from street below very bad.

    Good location for tower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very near to all the tourist spots, especially the tower. On the main pedestrian street, so easy to go out and about during day and find places to eat in the evening. Friendly staff and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mosquitos at night

    The location is the best and you can walk to the train station and nearby restaurants on the same street. Friendly staff and nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been better with eggs, bacon and sausages.

    Hotel Francesco was an excellent hotel. I stayed for 3 nights and I was impressed. The breakfast was good and the room was quite big and the bed was comfortable. It is less than 5 mins walk to the leaning tower of pisa and near the restaurants and shops. The reception staff were friendly and prompt in service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other tourists.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room floors were not cleaned. since we stayed just one night, there was not point asking for service to clean up late night. but would appreciate if staff looked into it.

    Great location..great staff, very helpful. Given the small town, the hotel is nice and quaint. you can see the leaning tower from the breakfast terrace!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could use an update and the toilet was loud and flushed for like 10 minutes, BUT it was a good for what we needed, a place to crash before we flew out the next day!

    Great location near the piazza and you can see the tower from the front door!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was excellent 5 minutes walk to Leaning tower. Lots of restaurants to have a meal or just sit and have coffee, pastries and gelato. Hotel room was good, had a balcony, room cleaned every day, small kettle in room. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good, pastries, cereals, tea, coffee, juice, fruit. Grill to make toast. Good hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection could perhaps have been better. However for a small hotel it would probably be difficult to add more for the cost of the rooms.

    Comfy beds, polite staff. Superb location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a last minute reservation as the Novella house cancelled us at the last minute!!! This is a budget hotel but very nice staff and only steps from the leaning tower and restaurants!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels as thick as dishcloths. Poor pressure in shower. Bit annoyed to pay 40 euros for hotel shuttle from airport when return taxi fare was only 16 euros.

    Great cappuccini, very pleasant staff, particularly breakfast man. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Their shower water temp inconsistent

    great location, typical Italian hotel, what you see is what you get.. we will stay there again also the staff we very friendly and helpful...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast with a good choice of meat, cheese & fruit. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel just down the road from the tower and plenty of cafes and bars. Ideal for overnight stay. They also let you leave your cases there when you check out so you can go exploring for a bit longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit noisy outside, but not really a concern.

    The breakfast balcony had a great view of the Leaning Tower and it was a good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, near the main attractions. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good with a large variety of hot items. The hotel is next to the best pizza place and restaurant in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on reception, he claimed to be the manager, was both aggressive and rude to myself and my 83 year old mum because we were 22 minutes late checking out. He behaved in a threatening manner by thrusting the sign with the checkout time on it in my face numerous times, standing up and leaning in to me asking me to 'get out' and telling my mum and me we had 'no education' he meant manners. We do, we were just late and apologised. He had no manners or professionalism. Shocking end to our stay in the hotel.

    I travelled with my mum who is 83 years old which is why the proximity to the tower and main attractions was so important and also accessibility within the hotel. Both boxes were ticked. The hotel room was basic but functional. We had a slight issue with licking our door which held us up leaving the hotel after we'd arrived but the girl in reception was very charming and helpful so we didn't mind re-packing our cases and taking them back down 3 floors (via the lift) to reception until they fixed the door issue. Sometime I was notified it was fixed and returned to the hotel to collect a key card replacement for the worn out key we'd had initially. Our cases had been taken up to the room by the lovely Vezualan receptionist so things were restored. I'm giving all this explanation because our experience the very next morning at check out with the manager (so he said) I didn't get his name, was horrendous. My mum and I were later than we'd hoped getting up and my mum is a bit slow moving after her recent knee op. We had breakfast and then headed to our room to pack for our departure. We were running late as check out was 11. At 11.06 the phone rang in the room and I was ordered to leave immediately as guests were waiting. I apologised and said we would've 10 minutes. The man rudely said no and when I tried to explain we had dealt with inconvenience politely the night before he put the phone down on me. We finished as quickly as possible and arrived in reception at 11.22 am. I confronted him about his rudeness over the phone and he started shouting at me and not listening or trying to appease the situation. He repeatedly thrust the sign with 11 am checkout written on it in my face and told me I had no education, he meant manners and then stood up and ordered me out pointing with his finger to the door! By now my mum was quite upset and asked him to be calm and show some decency in addressing this issue.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location hotel was in walking distance of all the sights, restaurants and shops the staff were very accommodating and pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Francesco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: