Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Franz 4 stars

Viale Trieste 45, 34072 Gradisca dʼIsonzo, Italy

#1 of 3 hotels in Gradisca dʼIsonzo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 464 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly attentive staff, restaurant with nice food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was on the side of the road, all other rooms were booked. Beside that we enjoyed our stay very much.

    Very friendly attentive staff, restaurant with nice food, great breakfast selection, swimming pool , free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really nice. We enjoyed it so much. I loved the room, very modern, a bit small but comfortable. The terrace was just perfect, so relaxing. We sure will be visiting soon again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The Breakfast was verry good, delicious food and always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Breakfast was verry good, delicious food and always enough available. The Personell have been extremly friendly and helbfull. This Hotel I can recoment to everyone for a short a weekend trip and more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is no especially nice. Near the main road.

    Very comfortable bed. Quiet room. Pleasant staff. Very clean bedroom. Good and a variety of things for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice for one-night stay when traveling through Italy, close to the highway.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would suggest extending a breakfast time till 11 am on Saturdays and Sundays.

    The hotel is recently renovated, everything is new and clean. The breakfast was delicious, great choice of dairy products and fruits; excellent coffee and bread selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Outstanding. Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Extremely friendly staff at the front desk, restaurant. Hotel brilliant. For each recommendation. It is certain that we will again stay in it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room is great with a comfortable bed and everything you need. The staff is accommodating and there to help. The breakfast is amazing! We could barely stop eating. It was a wonderful start to our latest adventure and the whole trip was rated against Hotel Franz! We'll be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast was exceptional - great buffet with a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was exceptional - great buffet with a lot of choice for only 3 euros - I have never seen such a great price-performance ratio. The room and bathroom were spacious and were tastefully furnished. The town is picturesque and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We had an AC problem but they fixed it immediately.

    This is really a perfect hotel. Perfect swimmingpool, great breakfast. The concept/colors/employees: it's great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was fabulous,the buffet had a large variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not great, located in noisy street. A lot of traffic noise in the room and in the garden. The menu for the lunch is the same as for the dinner. So, no snacks for lunch. The commune of Gradisca has not a lot to offer. The wifi in the room is sometimes unstable.

    The breakfast was fabulous,the buffet had a large variety of fresh fruits, bread, sweet things,... The food in the restaurant (dinner) is of very good quality The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Every day fresh towels at the swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel for an overnight /short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    pool area is superb and the food ( evening dinner) was very good. Rooms comfortable and nicely furnished. It was hot when we visited recently so we didn't go out and explore the local town but it looked interesting from what we could see as we left with several restaurants and bars. Would happily go back again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Great Location and place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in the room was not up to the job. The room smelled badly of cigarettes, and although the ladies put a room air cleaning apparatus in the room, the smell was still there. We were too tired to move rooms but we should have. If they advertise no smoking, then the rooms should be flagged as smelly!

    Convenient location to the airport. Only 10 minutes drive from Trieste Airport. Friendly ladies at checkin. Parking easy and close, just at the back of the hotel. Drinks outside were nice and the meal was delicious, if not a little pricey. Bed very comfortable, great pillows!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    A wonderful clean and very comfortable hotel with a huge...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful clean and very comfortable hotel with a huge breakfast spread, friendly helpful staff and in walking distance to the town centre. HIGHLY recommend. Warren Massey South Africa

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Is the gold standard for hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at Hotel Franz several times since it opened 30 years ago. It is consistently the best hotel I have stayed at. I spent many summers with relatives in Gradisca d'Isonzo when I was growing up and appreciate such a wonderful place to stay when I revisit old memories. I no longer have relatives in the town but still find it charming. Being able to stay at Hotel Franz makes my visits even more enjoyable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Friendly Italian Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Crisp and clean! Nicest hotel we have stayed in on our 3 month vacation. Breakfast was excellent, a nice variety of Italian specialties. Hotel staff recommended a pizzeria for dinner that was superb - Pizzeria Leon d'Oro.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Everything was as described in the offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as described in the offer.Location , hotel itself, rooms,cleanliness,and also the breakfast were perfect. Also the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Very nice, clean and comfortabel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect!!!!

    Very nice, clean and comfortabel room. Lovely breakfast buffet. Perfect service: free late check out for the whole day! Great service arranging for us a taxi from and to the wedding we were attending. Good recommendations about the village, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Excellent staff. Very helpful. Overall a very relaxing environment with good food. The pool is lovely! Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Pool is great, breakfast is outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is great, breakfast is outstanding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.5
    Scott's on hols
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of restaurants if staying more than a couple of nights .

    Everything the hotel had no faults

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice pool, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice pool, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel to stat in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel to stat in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Primavera Selections on tour
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little too hot

    Great room's and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Near to the city center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out staff really slow

    Near to the city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great Hotel, very clean, nice, helpful and polite stuf,...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Hotel, very clean, nice, helpful and polite stuf, fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centrally located... staff very friendly and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great selection. Beautiful outside sitting area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Superb breakfast, easy parking and very helpful personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb breakfast, easy parking and very helpful personnel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Price/quality excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price/quality excellent. Swimmingpool was super. Cheap and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was really noisy

    Great hotel, with really nice room and great pool and outdoor area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    a very positive surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent, nothing to be worried about

    Amazing breakfast, nice swimming pool and nice gym

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Everything is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good... Cleanlynes Food Pool Kind staff -----------------

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    There is no cold water in bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no cold water in bathroom. Both positions (cold and hot) are hot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff, room, backyard, breakfast, cleanliness and peacefull atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Very close to the Alpe Adria walking route that we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil

    Very close to the Alpe Adria walking route that we were doing. Very helpful staff and a perfect place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    It was a very nice stay. Only problem internet for me that I was there for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    internet connection; very difficult to access to wifi. You never know if get the connection or you fail.

    perfect breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were excellent, organised some food as missed the restaurant due to late arrival. All hotel staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    It was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very clean. Parking lot. The staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was very rich and tasty. Everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel, quite and clean rooms, manifold and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel, quite and clean rooms, manifold and delicious breakfast, friendly staff, good value for money..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Large breakfast,very friendly and helpful staff,clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Large breakfast,very friendly and helpful staff,clean and comfortable room. Good WiFi and close to small ,quiet and nice city center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff ware very pleasant and the breakfast was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing in particular.

    Staff ware very pleasant and the breakfast was good value. The room was well clean and the beverages in the fridge were q nice touch. Hotel was easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    I do love this Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I do love this Hotel... Nothing else to add. The staff is lovely and the location so convenient to visit the area. Very good for leisure or business. TOP!

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    10
    The hotel staff was so kind they made me change the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel staff was so kind they made me change the reservation the same day I was supposed to attive. They just installed new super confy beds and breakfast is very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.8
    The pool is perfect and staff is polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little cold ambient and expensive for this area.

    The pool is perfect and staff is polite. Good for short stay. Location is ok and include a free parking. WI-FI is ok. Breakfast is basic.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Facilities clean, attractive, modern. Free convenient parking. Good internet. Locally owned and managed, and it shows.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Everything !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can't think on anything

    Everything !! from the warm and friendly welcome to a nice room and a good location (just close to the old city) they deserve more then 10 in my book !!!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    10
    Very nice and quiet hotel, comfortable, with a pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and quiet hotel, comfortable, with a pleasant atmosphere. The staff was very polite and helpful. The parking lot was a great convenience and advantage of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    Everything - room, food location and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Everything - room, food location and especially friendly and helpful staff. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    The staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were clean and fully equipped and breakfast was really good. We were completely happy with this Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    Everything and I particularly appreciated the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything and I particularly appreciated the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast, wi-fi, parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, wi-fi, parking

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    Verry good brekfast, room, staff, wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Verry good brekfast, room, staff, wi-fi. It is verry clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Best hotel in this location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Best hotel in this location. Great helpful staff, clean and nice rooms.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Loved this property would definitely recommend it to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved this property would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.3
    Bar and pool
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed not confortable

    Bar and pool

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Homely feel. Friendly and competent staff. All facilities. Good bar and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    from the moment we came till the moment we left everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    from the moment we came till the moment we left everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast and restaurant meals. Pool area clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    Client service and accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Client service and accomodation

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    The room was very comfortable and I slept really well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very comfortable and I slept really well. Food good and not too expensive.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.2
    A very serviceminded staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very serviceminded staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    everything

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.3
    Quite location, excellent staff, solid breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just personal opinion for me bed is too soft.

    Quite location, excellent staff, solid breakfast.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: