Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Freedom Holiday Residence

Titigliano 30/A, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy

#42 of 53 Holiday rentals in Massa Lubrense

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 216 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old brown blankets should be discarded and replaced, cooking pots as well.

    Bus transportation was convenient, the bus stop was a five minute walk away from the apartments, everything interesting was within reach of about 30 km - Amalfi, Pompei, and Sorrento very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find. We traveled around until we found a little way up leading to the office. No shops and restaurants around, so it is necessary to make a shopping before the evening. Not for people loving night life.

    Very kindly staff! We arrived around 23:00 (11:00 p.m.) and there wasn't any problem with checking in. The owner didn't want any extra payment for late check in although on their website there is said that check in available until 7:00 p.m. Beautiful surrounding - trees, swimming pool. Perfect place to have a rest in a nature. Close to beautiful Sorrento but much cheaper than in city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was too cold to use the pool...

    The view from the windows was just breathtaking. Sunset to Mediterranean sea. Comfortable rooms and the kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Living Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not in use, not great as weather was good and kids wanted pool. Driveway to villa is not the easiest to navigate, steep and sharp turns. If you want the pool make sure it is in action.

    Accomodation was clean although dated. Slightly off the track which we found ok. Spacious property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything, cannot find one positive element in it.

    The place was tiny, delapidated with bare bulbs, no lamp shaddes, tiny portable TV from the mid 80's which didn't work, its cables hanging down, shower dribling, a door from a unit fell off when tried to open it. Very disappointing and depressing, dark claustophobic room. will never recomend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the lack of evening activity and the very basic accommodation.

    Hmmm this is a difficult review as the owners tried their best but the residence really was very basic. There is nothing to do after 6.30pm when the pool closes and nothing nearby which you can walk to. I wouldn't stay again and I was happy to leave but the staff are all very kind and helpful. My husband did enjoy the rustic charm but he couldn't sleep on the given mattress. As I say - a very difficult review.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The apartment was a bit old-ish looking and had very few windows, HOWEVER: that made it super cool during the day. It felt like the aircon was always on! I would surely return to Freedom again if I could!

    The staff is absolutely amazing, kind, welcoming and trustworthy. The swimming pool and pine area are gorgeous and perfect for kids!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Why was this Pool closed at 6pm is this a Summer RESORT ???? and not opened until 10am !! Come to New Zealand and see real summer resorts lovely italian people. WE OPEN OUR POOLS FROM SUNRISE and close after SUNSET $$$$$$$$$ Flaps on outside of Villa need hooks to secure flaps and when winds came in the night banging started all over the place Shower doors need urgently replacing barely hanging there !! No views apart from outside bathroom window, trees are overgrown

    Nello Nello Nello (Mr Agnello) at the Pool and Bar Area what a guy, what fun and so helpful with travel locations in area. This guy is a star and his signature 'Nello Martini' woww with Elder flower cant tell you the rest (Nello is NOT Part of the Accommodation area this is a sep business) he made our stay.... Don't hire a big car to get up the laneways and small roads of this area it will be impossible to get to the property. Property a bit tired, bed was not a BIG bed it was 2 single mattress' ahhhh Bathroom nice with view....rest of inside old and bungalow looking, Balcony could fit one person perhaps ... however a lovely look at the country, villages and island of Capri when you are down the property in shared pool area ! Best breakfast up the Hill on the top road Best dinner down in main village outside ( a bit noisy) near view point for stunning sunset photos either car to Sorrento and Park all day near station and train to Herculaneum many said better than Pompeii watch out for street sellers a bit intense, sadly Naples rather dirty and very poor :-( When in Sorrento find the street overlooking the sea down the road actually valley and walk down cavernous steps to bottom amazing !! out to the $$ paid beach (bring a towel) and then walk to the left where you shall find the 1 EURO Elevator back up to the street !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Living Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst hotel experience I have ever had. The facilities are way out of town up on a mountain and require a 25 minute bus. After wandering for 20 minutes we finally found the "staff". They showed us to our apartment and took pictures of our passport with his phone. No professional lobby, welcome or anything. The apartment was outdated, run down and freezing cold. Would not recommend.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff tried to help our needs when we arrived and were apologetic, but ignored the original booking request. I requested twin beds and a double bed and said that we had a 90-year old travelling with us, but they gave us a split level with the more comfortable bed and the bathroom at the top of a spiral staircase. This staircase was after going up two long flights of stairs just to get to the door. We were offered an alternate room which was a tad bit more accessible, but this would have cost 50 euros extra per night so we declined - Grandma grew up in the Great Depression so she climbed a total of three flights of stairs to her bed rather than pay 100 euros more. The hotel also claimed on the booking site that there was wifi but this was only the case in the office, not in the rooms. Ants in the bathrooms The rules stated that we were to clean our dishes after use, but no washing-up liquid or washcloths/ sponges were provided, and we were told by the staff that we had to buy these on our own, for a 2-night stay. The sofa bed was very difficult to open so we just gave up trying to unravel the Rubix Cube and just laid the mattress onto floor, which took up all of the space in the room since the metal frame of the bed was still against the wall. Not the hotel's fault, but the way into this tiny town (Titigliano) was very hard to find. It did not come up on our TomTom GPS nor any of the road signs. Fortunately we printed paper copies of everything and I put into the TomTom the closest nearby town (Schiazzano) from our map printout which took us reasonably close, but we had to call a couple times to ask for directions. The staff were very helpful at giving directions over the phone but the way was very poorly marked. However once we'd gotten there once it was easy to get back once we knew where to go.

    Pretty location but a bit secluded, far away from things. The drive down narrow roads was tight, but offered scenic views of the coast on the way in and out. Decent kitchen and refrigerator to prepare our own meals and store left-overs In the nearby town the Grace Restaurant served great food at very reasonable prices and the owner was very friendly. We went there for both a dinner and breakfast. I'd possibly consider going back if I wanted a quiet, relaxing week away from it all and with minimal distractions, but was a bit put off that our specific requests were not heeded. It was in a very safe area, though the steep uphill climb was a bit nerve-racking when other cars were coming from the other direction and we had to reverse at a very sharp angle either uphill (to allow an entering car to pass) or downhill (to allow an exiting car to pass)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Slight smell of sewerage in the evening by our terrace. Watch out for GPS directions!

    Staff at Freeedom were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Pool was great, gardens kept looking well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Electric sockets hanging off the walls Having to use a kettle in the sill of a window because no plug near kitchen units. Dangerous with young children No kettle in one room brought a metal saucepan to heat up. No TV in another they bought one in but the arial cable was not both female and male so would not work Very dangerous steep incline into the site for a vehicle

    We had 4 lovely quaint rooms all different with plenty of space for the 2 nights we had there for the 14 of us. Great pool and pool attendant. Poolside bar drinks and snacks reasonably priced. Good restaurants within walking distance. Sita buses run nearby but I thing you need a car if you want to visit places especially with children

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool closes VERY early and this is not good in a place like that where the sun sets late and guests want to enjoy the pool a bit longer. Pool side bar had very rude and unfriendly staff.

    Fantastic place. Spacious and comfortable room. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Except for 1 lady ( Monica ) the staff was rude ... the washing machine could not used by any one except 1 rude cleaning lady .... so after travelling for days ( dirty Clothes ) to find that we could not wash our clothes and bed linen was not changed in the time we were there ( nor towels ) >>>> not happy

    The place was in a great spot for the bus trip to Amalfi coast region ... the local bus was used often .. ( 5 days ) the train ride to Naples was good ... at days end to come back and relax pool side ..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last day they said we could stay until 1pm then at 10.30 they said we had to leave immediately as we had young children it was annoying and we had to really rush to get packed up and tidy up the room.

    The location, service and facilities were great. I believe the room we had was best suited for a young family. We loved it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen provision was fairly basic eg no bread knife or corkscrew.

    Perfect location for the amalfi coast, sorrento and Pompeii. Plenty of lounge chairs round the pool which was the perfect temperature to cool off. Our apartment had fantastic views from a large terrasse. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Local mini market had everything you need for self-catering.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was not cleaned in the seven nights we stayed. We asked after 3 days and they said it would cost 20 euros a day to clean so we asked for clean sheets and towels. They provide no cleaning agents, clothes, or mops so I'm not sure how one is to self service the apartment.

    Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette needs modernising

    Staff very friendly pool good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bed very uncomfortable. Very basic facilities in room.

    Good base to explore surrounding area. Pool area good, not heated though - very cold.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closes at 18.00. It is like in the middle of the day in summer Wifi really poor

    Nice swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not clean properly, staff Is friendly before go the room, after that the staff is not friendly.

    Location, pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can,t really think of anything against it. Its handy for the shop,resteraunt, bus and it has a great pool

    Freedom is a good base location for visiting the sorrentine peninsular and the Amalfie coast line either by car or local bus services. There are some great walks around the village as well

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The facilities are quite basic and there were few kitchen facilities. A kettle was available after asking and no simple appliances such as a toaster. However everything was clean and comfortable. The shower was prone to flooding, but this was compensated with a hot shower next to the pool looking out over to Capri so every cloud....

    The location was very good for us. A short drive to massa lubrense, marina del cantone or Sorrento. There are lots of hills so a car is essential. There are good amenities close by, ideal with young children. The pool was lovely and the views across to Capri are stunning!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to find, specially if you have a late arrival in the dark time. Apartments we little worn and old. There were no utensils to do the washing -up in the kitchen. Wi-fi was working only outside near the reception. No restaurant in the area, you can buy only drinks from the pool bar.

    Pool area and garden were nice and peaceful. Scenery was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool very busy, arrangement with other hotel to share the pool which meant not enough space for freedom guests and freedom guests getting squashed by the showers with broken loungers, bed quite uncomfortable, a bit outdated decor

    Nice balcony, good air con, close to cheap good bus service into sorrento, helpful receptionist, quite good facilities

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Weekends very busy swimmingpool! Lot of Italians from outside. Also pool opens late 9.30 and closes early 18.30 houres! Wifi only available at rhe pool and kitchen is very poor for familycooking

    Bbq place to make your on fresh fish is great! Strange that property tries to get extra money when using Aico when it's 38 degrees outside. Glad it worked!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we stayed at the hotel for 4 days. in our room cleaned not even once! and when we entered the room - on the floor swirled dust! Kitchen unpleasant smells, dirty dishes! reception is only 4 hours a day - had a big problem to call; ((

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very poor, the rooms need upgrading. Rooms not as depicted on line.

    Pool area very nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed

    The staff. The cleaning. The pool. The view. The weather

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs some refreshment, they are already doing on it.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great view (awesome balcony), large room, friendly and helpful staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: