Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of FH Grand Hotel Palatino 4 stars

Via Cavour 213, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#394 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2225 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Eternal city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not serviced properly. Tea coffee and milk not restored on a daily basis. Could hear the lift all the time

    Great air con ,good bar comfortable bed and mainly quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was a very big spread with great options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication prior (tried to arrange for airport transportation) was very slow and inefficient. Rooms are pretty basic and walls are thin, but it was perfectly fine for one night.

    Breakfast was a very big spread with great options. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. The staff onsite is helpful and kind. Located walking distance to Colosseum and Roman Forum.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A large comfortable room with a large clean bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to carry our own luggage up the front stairs on arrival. I think we were just unlucky as I saw other guests being greeted and helped.

    A large comfortable room with a large clean bathroom. Breakfast was good with a large variety. We didn't get to eat in the restaurant but the bar was great with a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Where this hotel is situated is brilliant, staff nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 iron in whole building but this is not a fault I should have brought my own.

    Where this hotel is situated is brilliant, staff nice and breakfast was lovely and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    it is a great stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the smell of the cigarettes near the main entrance of the hotel. breakfast should be different variety everyday.

    the hotel is close to all the famous places we went too. I wish people will smoke a little farther to the main door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    1/Great location just walking distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothings

    1/Great location just walking distance from the historical places ( colleseum, Foro di Cesar, Roman forum, .......etc) 2/Friendly staff. 3/ clean hotel with good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location but basic average hotel - doesn't feel like 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very basic and certainly does not feel like 4 stars hotel Room was below average and breakfast was limited

    The location is great - close to metro and train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration very old fashioned. Staff was not very nice. Very noisy as the hotel is used by very large groups of people coming in excursion. Start leaving at 6:00...

    Location is good. Very close to the Coliseum. Walking distance to the center (however taking a while).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Room is clean and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fine to me. However, for families i think it’s better to stay near the Trevi Fountain

    Room is clean and big.. breakfast is nice Very close to coliseum almost 7 minutes walk.. It’s not close to the Trevi Fountain maybe 15-20 minutes walk.. Nice staff Suitable for families

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Numerous bleach stains on the hallway carpets detract from the look of an otherwise great hotel.

    Suite was very good size for an Italian hotel room, much more spacious than previous hotels I’ve had. Very short walk to the metro station and the Colosseum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was helpful. The stay was comfortable. Room and bed and beddings was nice and fresh. Overall. decent experience and will recommend again if the prices are lower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.3
    Measurable stay in this hotel never again even if its free of charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and dirty bathroom Hotels are via veneto are much better and cheaper Min bar refrigerator not working Room phone not working to call onther room We are two in the room only one towel in the bathroom i have to ask everyday for another towel Very old furniture

    Nothings actually

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Great location, central attractions are just a few minutes away
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was impressed by the cleanliness, attention to detail. It was obvious the staff took pride in delivering a quality service, from the concierge to the check-in staff and bar tenders. I didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant location, top breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is fantastic. In response to the negative reviews on this topic, not even 5 star hotels rotate the breakfast. There are about 4 cereal choices, cold meats/cheese, all the pastries, eggs/bacon etc. If you ask politely they make you a cappuccino. So unless you eat a bit of every item, every single day - you cant say "it's the same thing every day". Location cant be better

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    A lesson in hotel management is needed by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that even though I was told my room would be ready at 2 it was not ! the lift was out of service from 2-6pm !!!! So no access to my room until after 6pm. We paid extra for breakfast but left early and was not given a refund for the breakfast we did not eat. Not good building relationships with customers. So no access to my room until after 6pm. I did not like the evening people behind the desk and there seemed to be much confusion. I think the initial entrance to the hotel looks shabby and needs to be updated it gives the wrong feeling to the otherwise nice hotel.

    I liked the room and terrace, I liked the bar area and I liked the woman who checked us in in the morning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in a PERFECT location right near Cavbour metro and heaps of restaurants and great local
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    cleaning opf hallway carpets and breakfast could be varied

    The room was clean and comfortable. the reception staff very helpful. BUT the carpets in tha hallways looked like they had not been cleaned for years and thi slet the place down as the rooms were clean. And the breakfast was the same every day and we were there every day for 5 days. AND ITALY with No cappuccino... in the breakfast. Nescafe machines are not CAPPUCCINO or Espresso.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel and very clean! It's within walking distance to the Colosseum and Metro. It's a bit of a walk to the train station, but easy. The hotel has wonderful beds and nice bathroom. The air conditioning is fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous 4 days in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel racks in the bathroom.

    The location of the hotel is within easy walking distance to many of the sites of Rome. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is a wonderful assortment. The staff were exceptional(special mention to the lovely young man Daniele at breakfast). The hotel organised our transport to the airport €50. We are more than happy to recommend this hotel for a great stay in Rome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay hope to return next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing that I disliked about my stay. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nothing was a trouble for them!!!

    I've stayed their for all of my visits . When I visited Rome great location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    The location is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is incredible. It’s within five minutes walking distance to the Colloseo. The staff are friendly and amazing and go above and beyond to make sure you are happy and comfortable. The room is clean incredibly spacious while still making you feel at home. Breakfast is a full buffet spread to suit every taste bud. I would stay here time and time again and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a great location close to all the main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Our room was on the eighth floor and had a balcony, which was a great place to chill with a cold beer after a day’s sight seeing. Room was spotlessly clean, with large comfy bed. The self service breakfast had plenty to choose from and the quality was excellent. We liked the hotel so much we will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    My stay could have been better. I did like the location. Probably would choose a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in shower never stayed constant. Outside landline went down. A couple of the front desk staff were grouchy and seemed to be bothered when asked for help (Some were great!). The breakfast was OK at best.

    Location was decent. Real close to Colosseum and theForum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms need some renovation.

    Great location! And coffee at the breakfast was really good. It is nice also that there was a soya milk option for cappuccino.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    OK but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't think this was a four star hotel. Location for me was not as central as I thought. Hairdryer in room was totally useless and room was very noisy. Catered for bus tours rather than individuals. Couldn't get into breakfast twice due to this.

    Room was clean and had what you needed. Staff were friendly. Kettle in room was a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - all was fine.

    Everything was fine - desk staff excellent - let us check in way early and arranged excellent car service to the airport at our departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Our first stay in Rome, 3 nights, HGP was our home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were helpful to any of our requests. and they understood and spoke English very well. The rooms and bathrooms were clean comfortable. The bacon was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    A perfect location, good hotel, staff could be more friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not always very helpful. It took them more than 24 hours and 3 reminders to seperate beds (the booking was for twin beds but instead there was a kingsize bed in the room). It was not a disaster, but a bit more pompt reaction would have been nice. Particularly given the price of the rooms..

    Location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location but this hotel has no parking space!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be better. No spektacular view. Parking is too far and is additionally charged (4 days 100 euros!!!)

    The location is perfect, right in the centre of Rome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Grand Hotel Palatino is an awesome hotel in a perfect central location in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Grand Hotel Palatino was in such a great location. We were walking distance to the Colliseum and the Roman Forum, there was a Metro stop directly next to the hotel for easy connections to all other parts of the city. The facility is well maintained and the staff are so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    good location/breakfast/staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC did not worked well, thus the room was a bit warmer than expected. Also, there was no place to put the wet towels (no way we could re-utilize the towels as requested if there was no place to hang them - this could easily be fixed).

    The hotel is well located near the Colosseum and the train station. The breakfast was very nice with many options. Staff friendly and ready to help. The AC did not worked well, thus the room was a bit warmer than expected. Overall the stay was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Superb location, else is OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is not very comfortable, air conditioner right above the bed, not so many options for breakfast. We asked for airport shuttle - it didn't arrive, so had to take taxi instead

    Excellent location, balcony, sound isolation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Rome Marathon 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in central Rome generally.

    Chose the hotel mainly due to location to the start of the marathon but proved ideal for everything in reality and literally a stones throw from the Colosseum. We selected a Junior Suite and although a little over indulgent certainly catered for our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    This hotel met expectations, a good place to crash at the end of a long day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at reception desk could be friendlier. Efficient, and willing to answer questions, but not particularly welcoming.

    Very nice, expansive breakfast. Comfy beds. Clean room. Great location, with Colloseum around the corner, and other main attractions within walking distance. Easy to get to get to airport as hotel has car service (for $50 euros, standard price you will find for a car ride/taxi). Overall, nice hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    - The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Halal certified products should be included/specified in the breakfast. At least for the breads, cheeses, pastries etc. - Scrambled egg and ham were in the same heater which is not appropriate.

    - The room was clean and comfortable. - The staff was kind and responding as it needs to be. - The breakfast menu was rich even though some imporvements needed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Cetral location, comfy rooms and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is not many options for vegans and the wifi was terrible in the room

    Our reservations were a big messed up but the staff was always friendly and fixed everything for us. Great location, handy and safe and the room was very comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Good central hotel with limited facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no leisure facilities, no in room hot drink making facilities. The Wi-Fi signal is weak and slow.

    The central position is ideal. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The lobby, reception and bar areas are well laid out and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Perfect for first time visitors to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing couldn’t fault the hotel!

    Perfect location for first time visitors to Rome! Very close to the colosseum and bus stops for hop on hop off tours! Room was perfect would highly recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Good place, but poor services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was underwhelming. Very little options for a buffet breakfast. Half of the staff was very rude and quite unwilling to help us. Hot water was an issue. Half the time it was lukewarm at best. On one morning we had no hot water at all! We woke up to the sound of the fire-alarm twice. They said they are testing the system.

    The hotel has excellent location and the room was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    breakfast was great and also location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    due to unacceptable reason they switched off air conditioning system ! so during night and day the room temperature was cold.

    breakfast was great and also location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    We would recommend and stay again if we go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have made it perfect. Our room was also very /stuffy for February and we had to sleep with the window wide open which meant it was very noisy with the traffic etc which didn't bode well for a good night's sleep. The air conditioning is not available during these winter months.

    The breakfast was excellent. A good choice of everything: Fruits, cereals, cold meats and cheese, loads of delicious croissants, doughnuts, cakes and other pastries. The scrambled eggs and bacon were very good too. Good choice of bread/rolls which you can toast. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Good location for the Colosseum especially and the metro was on your doorstop too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    we enjoyed it very much. would have been perfect if they had milk in the room for the coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we had to ask for coffee making facilities in the room. they did provide it but with paper cups and no milk. They did not have small milk carton. we had to ask at the bar for milk in the evening, to use in the morning

    the location is very good and the staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    helped make it a great weekend by being in central location with excellent local restaurants/bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No heating control, had to open the windows at night to keep rooms at manageable temperature, that meant noise from the street. This has been mentioned by others.

    Location is excellent for ancient Rome sights. Restaurants/bars behind hotel were good. Hotel close to metro and one stop from train station. Good buffet breakfast, continental style.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    This hotel exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel exceeded our expectations! It was in the heart of Florence, within easy walking distance to all attractions and great restaurants. We loved the comfort of the room and the daily breakfast was well managed and delicious. Would 10/10 stay here again and will recommend this place to all our friends!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, with couple of walking minutes to historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A payment confusion between Booking.com and hotel's reservation system.

    Great location, with couple of walking minutes to historic sites (Colosseum, Roman Forum, Vittorio Emanuele), excellent breakfast and nice personnel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant location, accomodating and exceptional staff, and fantastic Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel appears to be slightly outdated and needs renovating.

    Hotel was in a central location, few minutes from the Colessum, and about 10 mins walk from the main train station. It is within excellent walking distances to all the major attractions. Although the hotel is rated 4stars, some of the facilites lets it down slightly, and it may need to go through renovation. Having said that, the Staff are top notch and really accomodating, the Breakfast was really nice, and the Bar was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast buffet as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strike one: room was not ready at 14:00 when I arrived and I had to wait for about fifty minutes at the bar. The excuse provided was that, being the first day of the new year, everyone had checked-out late that day. Strike two: I had an explicit request for a double bed and got two singles side-by-side instead. On the second day I called the reception asking if the situation could be rectified and received assurances that they would change the bed; however, no change to double bed ever happened!

    Excellent breakfast buffet as usual. Last year's slow internet issue around the new year holiday due to large number of guests was resolved this time around. Very cordial and professional staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Great value hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a tiny bit rundown, although it looks like they are renovating. This didn’t bother us at all.

    Staff were the highlight. All lovely and so helpful. Breakfast was also fantastic. We found we could skip lunch most of the time. Location was also great. We walked to all attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.0
    Should have booked elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shocked to find that a four star hotel had disposable plastic cups in the room, no plates and no glasses. No electric kettle , coffee or tea either. In this time and age, this is not acceptable. The bedding was uncomfortable and the blankets were old. The tissue box in the toilet was stuck on top of the lamp and there was no space for it to be kept on the washbasin.When asked at the reception, the staff simply said you need to book a superior room for a kettle!!The reception staff is helpful and answer questions you ask, but have a hard time smiling or making the slightest amount of effort. For the price you pay, and allegedly a four star hotel, I am sure you can get better options elsewhere.

    The breakfast room was nice and the location was fantastic. Walking distance to the metro and to most major attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location, nice stuff and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi signal was not very good in the room, but in the public spaces of the hotel it was OK.

    Great Location - 2 minutes from the Colosseum, 30 seconds from the Metro station, many restaurants and convenient stores nearby. The room is very spacious and the bathtub is comfortable with steaming hot water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money. Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I had was with the WiFi. It wasn’t very fast and worked on and off for the entirety of the 6 nights I was staying there. It was really upsetting when I had issues to resolve and I had to wait for a couple hours for the internet to work again.

    The hotel is what is advertised. It’s really close to the colosseum and there’s a subway station 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Bed uncomfortable and food not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures on booking.com misleading. Very old fashioned hotel windows looking onto street filthy

    Breakfast was not nice and soggy. Also the pictures on booking.com were completely misleading to what it really looked like

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Please, be aware, that the hotel does not provide parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please, be aware, that the hotel does not provide parking. You could park the car somewhere on the nearby streets (it is almost impossible if it is not Sunday) or in the nearby garage for the price 35 EUR per night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    We had a very busy and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only drawback was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    beds were very comfortable. Lots of toiletries and towels supplied. Breakfast excellent, very varied choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, it's nice to walk to Colosseum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast, the waiter was too busy caring for others and did not help me.

    Excellent location, it's nice to walk to Colosseum either in the morning or at sunset. Also it was easy to find good restaurants, convenient store, bus and subway station nearby. Room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    Not bad for those who came only for sightseeing in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Does not match the level of 4 star hotel. Cleanness is very questionable. Dated and poorly furnished interior. Need to wash room floor or provide slippers. It's very unpleasant to step on dirty floor.

    Great location. Walking distance to Coliseum, Forum and many others. The breakfast is not too bad, but list of dishes repetitive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Good Hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar Service was poor. No cream for Irish Coffee and the barman seemed less bothered to serve. No service etiquettes. Asked for milk in the room to make tea. Barman bought the milk to the room but seemed very angry for making him do so.

    Comfortable Bed. Nice sized Room. Great Location. Awesome breakfast selections.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.6
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some off the staff were ok, but most of the staff were not helpful nor friendly. The bed was not comfortable. If you need a hotel for a night in a pinch, then you might be ok. I would not stay at this property again.

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Location, location, location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was not a good experience! We were early because we had come from a cruise. We knew there would be a wait. Hard to believe that we had to wait until almost 7 hours when other people came in early & had rooms assigned immediately!

    Location, location, location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    A good hotel with hardworking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear people in the other rooms so not very quiet but this seems to be a common problem across hotels we have stayed in in Italy. Wifi also wasnt very strong

    Great location. Staff went above and beyond. Good resturant and breakfast and nice room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location, Good property, Just a few hiccups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check out was a nightmare. We had a 0400 transfer to the airport so we asked if we could check out the night before. The staff said yes just make sure it was before 2200. We arrived at the front desk at 2045 and made the request. The staff could not find our paperwork and were told we couldn't checkout without it. We had 3 separate reservations with one couple checking out a few days prior. The staff had apparently closed out our reservations paperwork at that time. After about 45 minutes we finally were able to close our reservation however with no account of the deposit amount placed on our CC. This would have been a disaster going thru this at 0400. One of our reservations had a $75 lunch that was not ours. I would definitely check your bill before paying. Not slamming this location it was very accommodating just a few hiccups.

    Location is great. Our reservations included breakfast that was a plus, Good selection. Walking distance to almost all big sites. For Rome standards room was large along with the bathrooms. We asked for an early check in and the staff accommodated. Big plus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very easy to get to from the train station. The staff was helpful, very convenient to get to all of the sites, fun to walk around Rome, and feel safe. The food was great !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortably pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are too soft. Bottles of drinking water are not replaced unless upon request.

    Convenient location. Conceige and staff are helpful and conscious in tipping travellers'safety against potential lost of luggage or pickpocketers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location with very nice helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needed some minor maintenance (flaky paint, a part fell off the bathroom radiator)

    Excellent location very close to the Colosseum. Spacious lobby area. Good selection and variety at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed it & would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault the hotel! Some of the other guests weren't very smiley but that's out of their hands.

    We're staying at a 5 star hotel in Athens at the moment &, all things considered, it isn't as good as Grand Palatino. Our Palatino room was very nicely decorated, bathroom was amaz-ing, there was even a mini walk-in wardrobe! They think of all the little things you expect from hotels, like slippers, more than enough power points for charging each person's phone... Buffet breakfast was very good. One of the waiters, tall guy, greeted everyone & was very cheerful. One of the men attending the front desk, shorter thin guy morning of Fri 30/10, was so helpful with our many questions about booking airport transport/organising breakfast packs for our early morning trip to airport/the best shopping street in Rome. Keep up the good work. Oh & location is great: very close to Colosseum/Palatine Hill/Romun Forum, Big Bus tour stops & restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    We spent our honey moon in Europe and were flew to Rome from...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent our honey moon in Europe and were flew to Rome from Lissabon. We landed in Roissy-Charles-de-Gaulle and wanted to get the center by aeroexpress Leonardo ~ 28 euros for 2 people, but I experienced problems to buy tickets via automat. So I walked to oficcial kiosk where employee offered transfer by Mercedess Viano directly to the hotel by 30 euros :) We agreed and our journee tooks about 30-35 minutes. Hotel was nice and comfortable, also staff gifted us the present - champagne with grapes :) Hotel has nice location, it is really the center of city with a lot of attractions around. Thanks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    The people on the front desk were very helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed I could not get my Hot oatmeal porridge in a morning breakfast and the selection of fruit was not very good

    The people on the front desk were very helpful and friendly looking forward to staying again. The hotel position was great so close to the things to see and easy to go from

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, but nothing more beyond that
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite our early arrival and early check in request, our check in was delayed beyond the official check-in time. There is no iron in the room and they don't have one in the hotel! So if you want to iron something, you need to pay for their press service (and that is only available in the morning). So if you need to get you shirt ironed for evening out - you are out of luck! No kettle in the room either. And in general, rooms are very average for 4 star hotel. Breakfast - sufficient, but basic.

    Location is the main reason why people should choose this hotel - 2 min walk from metro, 4 min walk to Colosseum and plenty of good restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Everthing was excellent and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there was nothing I can think of that I did not like.

    Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Excellent location no trouble getting around and within walking distance to the coliseum and metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mugs in room for coffee and tea.

    Location is great to lots of attractions, metro/underground station nearby, lots of good little restaurants to eat, room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, perfectly located in our opinion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 very very minor issue we had was our twin beds were on wheels that we could not lock so our first morning we woke up on opposite sides of the room! However, we quickly sussed out that but butting the beds together the issue was solved!

    Lovely hotel, perfectly located in our opinion. 10 minute walk to the colosseum, 2 minutes walk to the metro station and surrounded by beautiful, authentic Roman restaurants. Definitely returning here on future trips to Rome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    comfortable and convenient spot for sight seeing in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Bar is very expensive. A small beer was €6. Also superior and standard rooms have no coffee and tea facilities. It would have been nice if the hotel had some leisure facilities as a swimming pool.

    Modern rooms and excellent air conditioning. Very good breakfast in the morning with a large choice of bread, pastries, fruits, yoghurts, eggs, bacon etc. And good choice of coffees and even champagne. Staff is also very friendly. Location is very good only 7 minute walk to Colloseum.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time and enjoyed our stay. We would stay at the Grand Hotel Palatino again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was ideally situated in the centre of the historic district - easy walking distance to all the key sites. It was clean and had all the amenities required, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a triple room which was spacious and had plenty of room for both me, my partner and three year old. The breakfast spread in the morning was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Just short of great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rang reception for a bucket of ice and 2 glasses to be told I had to ring the bar. Might sound a little petty but if you have to pay $5 for the privilege then reception could have done it for me.

    Great area very near the coliseum and much more. Comfortable room good size shower can be a little uncommon. Bed was good. Many restaurants and bars to choose from. Breakfast worked, the bar staff and lady at check in were great. Didn't get to eat in the restaurant but looked really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    We had a wonderful stay in Rome. Would stay at that Hotel again just for the breakfast!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction noise above our room and the shower didnt maintain constant water temperature set.

    The Buffet breakfast had an amazing selection of food. From scrambled eggs and bacon to fresh fruits and yogurts. Too many other items to mention!! Great location close to ruins and the Coloseum. Only thing we were unhappy with was the construction going on above our room. Luckily we only heard it during the day when we were getting ready to go out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay that is conveniently located in walking distance to many sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was geared more towards British taste - very runny eggs and barely cooked bacon. Coffee was fantastic!!

    Staff were great in recommendations for tours and helpful that they sold tickets at desk. Excellent coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse FH Grand Hotel Palatino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: