Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garden Hotel 4 stars

Via Madonna Delle Lacrime 12/B, 95037 San Giovanni la Punta, Italy

#3 of 7 hotels in San Giovanni la Punta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was very slow and interrupted. Breakfast was absolutely not to our expectations.

    Quiet location with beautiful surroundings. Large private parking next to Hotel. Room was quiet as requested.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If we can mention a single thing that we were not happy with .......then we can say that we prefered to have a shower in room instead of a bath...... :) .. but we will try to request this prior our next booking.

    A very nice hotel with front beautiful garden and safe parking. Room was nice and spacious with terrace overlooking garden. Will recommend this hotel especially for those travelling with car and those who prefer to enjoy a quiet relaxing break. We are both gluten-intolerant and on our request, we were also offered some gluten-free products for our breakfast Very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was a bit chilli but Hey it's the end of October!!! Everything was great!!!

    Our double room was spacious, bright with a balcony, great bed, smart decoration and a powerful shower. All newly decorated. The reception and the hall a bit backdated but with a nice character. Simple but good breakfast with a wide selection of cakes. Fresh orange juice. Staff friendly and helpful. Perfectly clean hotel. Absolutely amazing swimming pool with palms everywhere. Definitely recommend this hotel!!! Great place for a great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change the orange juicer!!!! :)

    Amazing hotel with great facilities. The aesthetic is very 70s but everything is so well maintained, clean, luxurious... Breakfast was great, swimming pool awesome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking.com link for google maps was incorrect . This needs to be sorted out with the correct information on your web site. Hotel was great just booking . Com info on directions not great

    Great overall Experiance. Value for money. Handy to pizza, supermarket . Not to far from town. Close to motorways but not noisey. Nice touch with thankyou sweets from hotel. Gardens were lovely and pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Garden Hotel has all services you require, however is seems that the time stands still. But that is no issue at all.

    Friendly and helpfull personnel, very clean, good breakfast and many more thing to recall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a 50th Birthday party at the pool area on one of the evenings we stayed here. After 12 midnight we could still hear the music and we didn't have earplugs. We called the reception and they turned it down a bit.

    The rooms are simple, but good. Clean, good working airconditioning and we really liked the bathroom. Large shower :). Best about this hotel is that it has a large swimming pool and the area around the swimming pool looks very nice! The staff is very friendly and willing to help and the pasta with pesto and almonds we had for lunch was delicious. Breakfast is great too, there's a bit of everything (yoghurt, bread, cakes, cheese, meat, fresh fruit, etc.). If you don't necessarily need to be in the center of Catania I highly recommend this hotel. It was quite hot in July and it is a luxury to have a pool. Besides that, it is not too far from the city. I would definitely go back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were thinking of spending a day at the pool... however there was absolutely nobody next to the pool, the water was filthy, bars were closed and must have been closed for a couple of months! Ruined our plans as we had to find another way to cool down from the heat! WiFi was a bit more of a miss than a hit, had to go in the corridor to have a stable connection.

    Breakfast was ok... rooms were spacious, location was good, next to a very good pizzeria boasting to be the best in Catania :)... and they really might be. Very good parking space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious with a queen size bed and a large balcony. They also provided a travel cot free of charge for the little one. The breakfast is abundant. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We told front desk room was too warm. They said it was fixed but it wasn't. We told them again and they said it was fixed again bit it wasn't. After 3 times we finally have up and just suffered.

    Beautiful property and gorgeous pool though the water was quite chilly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was hard and there was only 1 pillow per bed with 1 spare pillow in the room, and none of them being fluffy. The rural location meant that we spent quite a lot on taxis to get to the town of Catania.

    The hotel staff were excellent. The twin bedded room was large, spacious and clean with attention to detail uppermost. The pool was large and clean and the area around the pool was inviting. The breakfast was generous with plenty of choice. The ambiance as good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the hotel is not very well located. Also, all interior furnishings and installations date back a very long time and they need an overhaul. Breakfast is the result of poor customer orientation.

    The hotel has a nice garden with beautiful succulents and the staff are nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all of the receptionists speak english. Yet we managed to communicate.

    Hotel is not modern but still it is beautiful. Rooms are big and comfortable. Bed also. Everything very clean. Breakfast was nice. Surrounding of the hotel is the best thing there. Lots of greens Big, clean pool. It feels like you are in much more expensive hotel. Stuff is really helpfull and friendly. the last day we found a gift with a note from managing director or owner, i am not sure but that was really, really nice. We stayed in 3 different hotels in Sicily, all with similar prices and this one was the highlight, the best one. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very comfortable. Pool excellent. Pity about the service in the dining room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather old hotel; makes a worn-out impression. Good for a stop-over, but not stay more than a day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed super comfy and room super clean. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming & cheeful staff..perfect night for our anniversary they managed to pamper us to the full! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room

    The swimming pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool, fine dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    décor a bit dated

    restaurant staff very friendly, especially the manager. little English spoken throughout.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit far from Catania and the sea. We had a car, so it wasn't a problem

    In short - the hotel was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's near the main highway One of the best restaurant in katana is minutes away clean comfortable with helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looking tired in places

    The staff are very very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is varied with plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was a bit hit and miss. On our floor (4th) it was very poor.

    The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dificult to find

    staff were lovely hotel clean pool great shabby chic, but only because it's old & a bit worn

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The bathrooms have been refurbished since our last stay and they are very nice. Our extra requests were seen to much to our satisfaction. It showed that the management cares about their customers. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately all of our documents, including plane tickets, car hire info etc were taken out of a suitcase when we were not in the room and went missing. When I told the person on the desk they told me to look harder. Not helpful and a bad end end to a otherwise fantastic holiday.

    It was a beautiful hotel with a fantastic swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are very spacious, well kept and clean. The pool is huge and surrounded by trees with a very relaxing ambience. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Excellent location for tourists who are driving and wish to explore the Sicilian east coast.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast needs to be revamped as it was rather poor, and they need to change their bread supplier.

    We were by car so being near the motorway was very convenient. It has great parking facilities. The restaurant is also very good. The sweets waiting in the room was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The wifi

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location and lack of proper bar.

    Large clean rooms. friendly staff especially thank you to Nino

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole hotel is overused.

    The size of the room. The breakfast and the garden.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Garden Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: