Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme 3 stars

Piazza Serenissima, 12, 37011 Bardolino, Italy

#2 of 40 hotels in Bardolino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 495 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    balcony was narrow so enjoy the view and in general to use it did not succeed as we expected even though an additional element

    - clean and comfort room with very friendly and thoughtful staff - good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing not to like about this hotel

    Gardenia is a 3 star hotel providing 5 star service. Customer service is a priority for them and they meet the guests with welcoming smiles. The hotel is clean and modern. We will have no hesitation returning one day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    We had a room with a very generous balcony so we could sunbathe on our terrace if we wished to. The quality of the sunbathing furnishings were also good. The staff at the hotel were absolutely brilliant - all extremely friendly and helpful with a great command of several languages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better , would recommend this hotel to anyone. . The perfect stay

    Spacious spotlessly clean room with furnished balcony , option of clean towels every day and room cleaned everyday, staff very friendly and welcoming also very informative

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the back of the hotel with no view although I had requested a lake or partial lake view. I am aware however that for a small hotel it is not possible for many rooms to have best view. Other than that the room met our needs and we enjoyed our stay very much.

    Very helpful, courteous staff. Hotel was very clean and in keeping with a 3 star hotel standard. Preferred pool area at Villa Charme to the pool area at main hotel as it was more private. Nice breakfast. Hotel is a well run family business. Good location- lovely 15 min walk along lake to Bardolino and around an hour other way to Lazise, via Cisano. This entire area of lake is beautiful with many restaurants and bars. Hotel is well located- away from busiest part of Bardolino but within easy, enjoyable strolling distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only comment I would make here is that the swimming pool is on the small side - exacerbated by trying to fit in as many sunbeds as possible, in limited space. But you are only a short walk away (3 mins) from the Lake itself where we chose to swim to cool down in the July heat (I'd recommend you take footwear that you can wear in the water - it can be a bit rocky)

    Really impressed with the warm welcome from the hotel staff, which included drinks and a chat to advise us on how to get the most out of our short trip to Lake Garda, which definitely helped us. The staff worked incredibly hard to make our stay as comfortable as possible and nothing was too much trouble. We travel a lot and genuinely felt the staff here were excellent. We look forward to returning at some point in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con and temperature of mini bar not very efficient but it was very hot !

    Everything perfect from the time we arrived All of the hotel staff could not of been more friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in the room rate, however found numerous cafes for breakfast in Bardolino town a short walk away and cheaper than hotel rate at €9 per person.

    The situation of hotel is excellent for public transport (we took the bus) and a short walk along the beautiful lake to numerous restaurants. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. We were in Villa Charme a short distance from the main hotel which suited us perfectly. Excellent walks to Cisano, Lasize and Garda.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff were super friendly, extremely helpful and always provided excellent service. Especially Marta took a lot of time to give us an overview about the sights and things to do around Garda Lake as well as Verona (which is only ~30km away). Our room was new and impeccably clean. It was not located in the main building but in one of the separate villas that surround the piazza. It had a porch and access to a lovely small garden where we usually had breakfast. If you get here by car there is lots of parking spot around the buildings. To make a long story short: The Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charm is the perfect spot to stay while discovering the pleasures of Garda Lake and its surroundings!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't get taxi from airport to hotel , charged 68 euro , tried to book through bookin . Com they told me to go direct to hotel but booking . Com could not give me hotels e.mail

    Location fantastic staff amazing could not fault this hotel , special thanks to grace for all the travel information .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced.ca.145 EUR at the end of September, offseason, for a room w/o balcony as advertised, no breakfast included, no free wifi. We stayed later in much better hotels with breakfast, free wifi and moderate prices at Garda Lake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. The hotel was ideally located a 10 minute walk from Bardolino, with bus and ferry stops nearby. The staff are excellent, friendly and approachable. The hotel well kept,and the breakfast had a varied menu and was always well stocked. This is equivalent to any 5 star hotel. Definately the place to stay in Bardolino

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small, but had everything you need in it. Felt that hotel is suited best for families with older children or couples

    The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were so nice, the Rooms were cleaned everyday, the whole place was very clean. At breakfast the choice was very good, they would make up the eggs any way you wanted,in fact nothing was to much trouble. I will be back to Lake Garda one day and this will be the place I stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for breakfast when we thought it was included but the hotel did meet us half way.

    Staff were very friendly. Very useful. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Happy environment with unprompted help from the staff to ensure things were as good as could possibly be. Would definitely go back and recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Evertything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower cabin

    Nice place and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, excellent location and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable and staff were extremely helpful and friendly! Nice sized swimming pool and enjoyable breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so kind and helpful and the hotel was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Efficienza e cordiali

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it there.

    Nothing for children to do

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Topservice! What a team!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh orange juice

    Nice room with view of lake. Great breakfast. Very tidy. Noce staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults at all.

    Friendly staff, cleanliness, facilities and general welcoming feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi

    Breakfast, personnel, accomodation, location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went above and beyond so so friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As said in another comment, looks stuck in the 80s

    Very clean Nice service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All staff were friendly and went out of their way to help Excellent breakfas Well positioned for local restraunts Better than I expected

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a charge for wifi in the rooms.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice stuff Bicycle rental was cool good location / walking distance to town center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great breakfast. Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All of the staff were really attentive and made us feel very welcome. The location was great and the hotel was pristine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything , especially the service. Breakfast was delightful .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to pool. Quality of shower in room.

    The very warm welcome. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff very hospitable. Relaxed atmosphere. Nice pool and great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a fabulous stay for 5 nights and cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. Nothing was too much trouble and we would certainly go back again

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't think of anything.

    We loved the Hotel Gardenia! The staff treated us like family. When we arrived we were offered free Prosseco and when we told them it was our grandparents' (who were with us) 60th anniversary they gave them a whole bottle to celebrate. Alos, my husband has coeliac's disease and requires a gluten free diet. The hotel manager, Ricardo, not only ensured he had GF food at breakfast, but also phone local restaurants to find which ones were best for GF. All of the staff looked after us so well. The rooms were spotless and large, we had a lake view, the hotel was located right next to a bus stop or only a 15 minute walk into Bardolino, and the hotel had wifi and good breakfasts. When we checked out, the staff gave us bottles of the hotel's very own olive oil from their own olive trees.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a lake view which was wonderful to wake up to each morning. This is an ideal location for a spring break.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel and customer service were great but the guests were mainly German so at times we felt we were visiting Bavaria rather than Italy - probably I should have researched more before booking.

    The breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WI-FI . having to sign on every 15 minutes. Not great reception on 4th floor. Road traffic horrendous around the area. Don't drive!!!!

    Helpfull staff and nice location/view.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were a little firm for us but that is just down to our personal taste.

    My husband and I had a fantastic 12 night stay. The staff were so friendly and caring and really made our holiday. This was topped by a complimentary bottle of prosecco that was put in our room on my birthday.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were so helpful and friendly - especially Grace who went out of her way to put together a packed lunch for us as we were leaving before breakfast. The location is perfect - a nice walking distance from the town. We also liked that there were always free sunbeds.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We spent 9 nights at hotel Gardenia. It's clean comfortable with very friendly staff. The pool is surrounded by sun beds and parasols. Lovely and clean. Staff can bring drinks and snacks out if wanted. It's a lovely 20 mins walk into Bardalino on the lakeside path. A few restaurants on the door step too. Breakfast is very nice with eggs or omelettes. We never had to wait for a table. You can hire bikes from the hotel too. You won't be disappointed if you choose the Gardenia.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fair walk to the centre of Bardolino. Shower was very small. Restaurant only does breakfast and snacks, not dinner.

    Lovely staff, quiet location, fabulous buffet breakfast and service. Large balcony with sun beds in deluxe room with lake view.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee / tea facilities in the room would have been the icing on the cake, I do enjoy an early morning cuppa in bed.

    we had room 302 which was spotless everyday - lovely views of lake- All the staff were polite friendly happy- we left early on our last day(long drive to Roscoff) and they even made us up a travel meal- a really fantastic place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast should be included in the room price otherwise it is a bit expensive. Hard beds. The free wifi was slow.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel room and other areas were very clean. Very nice breakfast with good coffee, bread and fresh fruits. You can also order omelettes or scrambled eggs if you want. Big balconies with awnings so you could get nice shade during sunny weather.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi signal was not very reliable and the air-conditioning in our room (5th floor) struggled with the temperature (although it was particularly hot).

    The best hotel we have stayed in! The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and made us extremely welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and they were keen to help you explore the area. The location is ideal being equidistant from Cisano and Bardolino (15 minutes walk in either direction) and is very quiet. The breakfast was most enjoyable and very fresh. Plenty of parking around the hotel and in the Villa car park. The level of cleanliness in all areas of the hotel and the pool areas was exemplary.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is not that fast all the time..

    - Staff is amazing - you surely feel like coming home every time in Gardenia! - breakfast one of the best we've had!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Bike hire was a great way of travelling to garda and lazise. Hotel was spotless and always smelt fresh. Both pools were lovely to relax by.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to report

    The professional but friendly communication of all the staff. The hotel location was quiet but extremely close to the lake, local transport and other attractions.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was above the kitchen so was a little noisy from 6.30 when they were preparing breakfast.

    The staff here are incredible, polite, very helpful & knowledgable. The best we've ever come across in fact. Nice 10 minute lakeside walk into Bardolino centre. Very relaxed atmosphere around the hotel & pool.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a charming hotel. The staff are all very welcoming and attentive. There is a wonderful relaxed ambiance and efficient service with a smile. The location is excellent. The staff are always on hand to help with any questions or local travel advice. Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. nicely away from the main road. 2 minutes walk from the lake. 15 minutes from Bardolino town centre. We had a wonderful stay. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel and excellent welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff and very clean and very well run hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Friendly welcome. All staff very friendly as well as well as being super efficient. Great breakfast. Balcony and view.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area arround the pool was small, but nothing terrible.

    The staff was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was very small ; But we like to swim so that was not for us as a couple everything else was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like about this hotel

    Very friendly helpful staff very clean room excellent pool area

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at this hotel were friendly and nothing was too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were fantastic, hotel, villa and grounds are cared for immaculately and pool was incredible...

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast could have been better for British guests but that's a minor issue..

    Location, view, cleanliness. All top notch.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked the personal touch and reception always went out of their way to help. Drinks, snacks value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the staff were very friendly and attentive couldn't be more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everyone at the hotel could not have been more helpful or friendlier. Great location

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: