Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gardesana 3 stars

Brione 1, 38066 Riva del Garda, Italy

#43 of 59 hotels in Riva del Garda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 559 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant helful staff, comfortable room but no view other than small balcony slightly clusterphobic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice over breakfast in fact poor breakfast choice.

    The hotel was clean tidy and view towards pool. But only small bancony and no view from bed if you want a lie down and enjoy nature. Small balcony view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Great shower and towels - beds were narrow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very touristy. Bit "Kiss me Quick" but kinda expected.

    Great shower and towels - beds were narrow. Handy for town, quiet time of year so not too crowded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff welcomed us in a very pleasant way: smiling, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was VERY tiny. We didn't espect a suite, but that was really the smallest hotel room (double) where I ever been. The balcony too, they forced to put a small table and a chair, and that could be nice a nice touch, but it feels a bit unconfortable using it, because of no space. Careful: this apply to OUR room, I don't know if they have larger rooms with larger balcony as well.

    Staff welcomed us in a very pleasant way: smiling, helpful and accomodating. The swimming pool is always a nice bonus, and you can relax there watching the sourronding mountains! The hotel is not on the front of the lake but very near: 150 meters and you can take a nice stroll to the beautiful city centre. However, there are plenty of shops/bar/restaurants in a 5 minutes walk, so you're covered for (almost) everything you need.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable - Shame, no chance of peaceful quiet room in evenings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Balcony overlooking pool, only big enough for one chair. Live music/singing in evening from nearby hotel until 23.00hrs annoying. Audible from rooms overlooking pool at back of hotel. (Some people may like this).

    Fridge in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although breakfast was good the bowls were very small. The shower vas a tight fit demanding agility to wash feet.

    Location close to the lake. Pleasant large garden with pool was fully unexpected in the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.6
    Had to leave early due to the loud street and air condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Very cloud air condition, it is impossible to have it on while sleeping. 2. Because of the loud air condition, we had to open windows during night, but the street was extremely loud, one night even had very loud street music,. We could not sleep at all. Even late in the night the street was very loud. 3. Teh reception guy was complaining that my credit card was not valid, however, I already updated the credit card information as soon as I got the notification, the card was updated one day before the trip already. 4. Swimming pool only open until 7 pm 5. The Hand towels was taken away by the cleaning without any replacement!!!! 6. The rooms look very old and completely different than the pic, the modern rooms are only very limited!!! One floor 2 ? 6. For two nights we could.not sleep. So we had to.leave early even we booked 3 nights. The hotel do not refund anything.

    Good location with parking slots, swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Happy hotel
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area.

    Great hotel , looks lame from the outside but great from the inside , great staff, big room, excellant dinner, good service , worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Pool was fabulous and 1 block from lake and terrific walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 100 degrees and air conditioning turned off in the night and we could not get it back on- looks like it had been pre- programmed to go off at certain hours. This is not good for hotel that advertises air conditioning. Also check out was at 10, too early if you want to enjoy the beach in the morning. They did let us Park car there for the day and use pool which was nice, but 11 or noon check out would have made stay more enjoyable. We asked for 1 hour later check out but front desk said no.

    Pool was fabulous and 1 block from lake and terrific walking and biking path. Room was clean and decent. Near tons of restaurants etc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel within short distance of lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated a short distance from the lakeside and about three quarters of a mile from the town center, either by the lakeside or by road. There are several bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a lift and the rooms are air conditioned, this however is controlled by reception and even though we asked on more than one occasion, either it wasn't turned down to an acceptable level, or the system couldn't cope, to be fair we did arrive in the middle of a heat wave. Our room was very small with a small balcony , there are bigger rooms available with larger balconies, so if you intend staying for more than a night or two I would suggest you spend the extra and book one of these. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The breakfast is ample , however we were told where to sit , which is a little unusual for breakfast. The reason apparently is that they have several guests staying on a half or full board basis and they have fixed tables. When the staff realised I was extremely unhappy at being told where to sit, they were accommodating There is ample off street on site parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room was too small (about half the size of a British Travel Inn room). Luckily they had one other room which was laid out better but the bathroom was too small. The hotel runs to a budget and as guests we knew it, lots of little things adding up to one poor experience. The hotel seems to be resting on its laurels with guaranteed income through tour companies like Newmarket etc. As independent travellers the hotel did not flow well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea cup and kettle in the room. One of the reception guy look let the owner not very friendly. Not bothered to give correct bus and train information.

    Balcony and comfortable bed. There is a high window which give fresh air at night. Bedding with nice quilt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not adjust the A/C. Only ON/OFF @ 24°C.

    Nice location for the breakfast. Very good breakfast, especially considering that you are in Italy! Great staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel, great pool with mountain view, I had a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, nothing negative to say.

    Amazing hotel, great pool with mountain view, I had a very pleasant stay, pity it was too short. Next time I'm in Riva I will definitely book this hotel! Very good breakfast, many options to choose from. Very friendly staff who spoke excellent English. Nice room with good bed and also quiet, which is rare in hotels around Garda lake :D

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Hotel was full.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small and always the same choice at breakfest, no fresh fruit, no scramble eggs, no bacon

    Hotel was full... The receptionist accommodated us at roof apartmert on the coast. just a few steps to hotel - breakfest. Hotel is after reconstruction.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Extra clean, convenient, close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far from Riva centre (around 1km), the hotel can be noisy at night from the bus groups that stay there (door banging, etc)

    Extra clean, very close to the beach centre, very good breakfast, friendly staff, great wi-fi..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Just the fact that it was just of a main road so could hear traffic.

    The company of staff very welcoming. Food lovely and lovely presentation of food. Bedroom with plenty of room comfortable bed. lovely shower room. It is also near to Lake and a good area for shopping and for walking. I just did not want to come home. Both Managers and Owers asked when I am coming back. It was like part of a family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Cheap accommodation and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head broken not staying in position. The air con turned itself on at random times and the buttons were broken. Ants on the floor.

    Cheap accommodation and location was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    4.6
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel claimed that our reservation was canceled since my credit card did not work which according to my bank was not true at all. When i gave the hotel the credit card details of my friend the hotel claimed it didnt work either and said the booking could be canceled but they had another room available. When we arrived the hotel owner gave us a single room for the first night - with 2 very umcomfortable beds sqeeze into and no balcony, and a not refurbished room for the 2nd night which did not at all look like the rooms on the official pictures. Very old furniture. I never received an official note from booking.com that the reservation was finally cancelled so I really doubt the hotel's story. Plus they charged the full price we would have paid for a normal double room. Very disappointing.

    Very good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel with pleasant swimming pool in big garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Kind helpful staff, nice room, comfortable bed, nice hotel equipment, very tasty breakfast, enough parking place, very pleasant swimming pool in big garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff at breakfast were a bit weird... they told me that certain tables were "reserved" (whatever)... Also, their coffee is bad (which is surprising/rare in Italy)

    Good location, quiet, only 2min walk to the lake, about 15-20min walk to the old town. Nice swimming pool and garden, and it has it's own free parking!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast, pool, parking, bathroom very nice, a lot of space...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little bit old

    Breakfast, pool, parking, bathroom very nice, a lot of space in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Excellent and comfortable at great price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Good location and parking facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoyed my staying in Hotel Gardesana, great pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I really enjoyed my staying in Hotel Gardesana, great pool, friendly staff :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice lobby and helpful stuff.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit too small and old equiped. Room not too good noise isolated.

    Nice lobby and helpful stuff. Good breakfast. Only 3 min to Garda lake

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Decent, nothing fancy, nicely located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and very basic. Mattresses worn out so we didn't sleep very well.

    Nicely located, friendly staff and decent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.8
    Ok for a short break wouldn't want to stay there for longer than that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tierd

    Pool area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room and good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Good room after a warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good room after a warm welcome. Garage for motorbike & nice quiet pool (when we there). Easy walk to the lake and close to restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for my stay in Riva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and friendly staff, not only sweet breakfast, swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Accomodation was realy nice and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accomodation was realy nice and tidy. Pefect staff approach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Rooms and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi or TV didn't work in the room.

    Rooms and staff were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Great place to stay especially if going further into Italy on a biking holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room light and airy, secure parking for motorcycle.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel with a surprise pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool, location, room setup

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Excelent 3* hotel with excellent services, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Excelent 3* hotel with excellent services, friendly staff, big swimming pool, clean, ...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Fantastic Hotel with great Customer Focus
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean, tidy and great location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast choices and friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee and tea making facilities in the room would be a bonus We upgraded our room as the room we were given was not a double room. We were asked to pay an extra 20 euros per night. Hotel said there were no double rooms.

    Excellent breakfast choices and friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    Helpful friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I missed the bike rental possibility in the hotel. High crosstalk between rooms.

    Helpful friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room, comfortable bed.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37