Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Lazio hotel reviews
  4. Rome hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Generator Rome

Reviews of Generator Rome

Via Principe Amedeo 257, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#313 of 977 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2975 hostel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    6.3
    It had all the basic amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a bit dated & tired in the room - the pillows were uncomfortable (too flat and hard). I was given no information about the property at check-in - no details about what was available at generator, including the bar, breakfast etc. Nor any information about the local area - even just a welcome & an offer of help would have been useful.

    It had all the basic amenities. The bar and WiFi were excellent!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    5.4
    Hostel with poor facilities, poor value for money.. ماانصح فيه ومايستحق المبلغ المعروض
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked for 3 nights but I couldn’t stay for a single night, I booked a hotel with the same price on the heart of Rome! They refuse to refund my money. I wouldn’t recommend to stay there.

    10min from termini station. Kind staff but not providing true help! Clean simple room and clean bathroom, uncomfortable bed , No safety box.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The generator has given me such a great experience in their hostel chains! The room was ideal, comfy beds and there was a shower per 6 bedroom. Great location, a 10 min walk from the train station. 24hr staff! It was definitely a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    10
    - Very good location, close to Termini Station where airport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - There is no shared kitchen, just one microwave and a fridge.

    - Very good location, close to Termini Station where airport shuttle buses stop and not far from Colloseum and other popular objects. There are many places where to eat. This area is quite multicultural, so you will find many Chinese and Indian shops and restaurants around. - All areas in hostel are very clean. - Separate shower and toilet in the dormitory. - Reading light, socket and USB plug near every bed. There is a locker for every guest too, but you should have a lock. - Nice design.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    8.3
    Great hostel, don’t be put off by area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower drain was too small so it seems like it was clogged. A mini swimming pool would surface in the shower area after 30seconds. The area looks rough but it was very safe.

    Staff was extremely kind, helpful and friendly. Hostel near to Termini and Vittorio Emmanuelle station. Beds are very comfortable, room were silent. Breakfast was nice and diverse.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    8.3
    Generator have an amazing interior and well thought out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost per a night is slightly over-priced given the location is in a bit of a crummy area and well away from the sites of Rome.

    Generator have an amazing interior and well thought out amenities, which is not the norm for Italy. Would definitely stay again. Bonus is that it is a 10min walk from the Termni.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    9.6
    11/10 would reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of our lockers on the floor kept catching on the bed and made loud noises. Which meant using it at night whilst others were sleeping was difficult.

    The room and bathroom was very modern! The rooftop was cool and the light and USB plug on the bed was useful.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    8.8
    Quiet, clean hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t a social vibe and the hostel bar is usually empty (from what I saw during the 4 days of my trip). I only met other travellers in my room. You aren’t allowed to bring outside food or drinks and there isn’t a communal kitchen so you always have to eat out or buy food at the hostel. The area is a little dodgy at night.

    The rooms are clean and the bathrooms have separate toilets and showers. Everything looks fairly new/in good condition. The common areas at very beautifully designed. Around the corner from the metro.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    8.3
    Better than the average hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom doors didn’t lock (at least in my room) and you had to manually flush the toilet because the button didn’t work.

    Very clean and private spaces to sleep and felt very safe. The rooftop bar has an amazing atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    9.2
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The button to flush the toilet came off the wall several times during my stay, but other than that, the facilities were beautiful.

    The ambiance of the lobby, bar, and even the room were very comforting. I felt like I was safe and that the staff would answer any questions I had. You would not think that such a nice place would be right next to a train station.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    4.2
    Not what I was expecting for the price.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was expecting more of the hostels since this was a really expensive one comparing to others. The staff were not nice at all. The bathrooms weren’t clean, and the bedrooms smelled bad. The hostal is located in a cuestionable area for a woman walk at night.

    Installations looked nice

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    6.3
    Great room and location but staff made it very unenjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very rude. Generally I don't mind because I know what it's like to work in hospitality and retail however this was a joke. I felt I was being looked down on because my card wouldn't work online but I asked could I pop it into the card machine since that can happen sometimes and they just huffed and looked very unpleased.

    The bed and location were great.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    7.1
    Good location but overall disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was advertised as a private twin room or double room. When I booked the room, I requested a double bed but received two twins. I told a staff member and they said they would push the beds together tomorrow morning. I would have expected better service and to receive the room with a double bed like I had booked which I found frustrating during our stay. Also from a hostel I would have expected a more lively vibe but great if you want a quieter stay.

    Great location next to the main train station and rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    7.5
    Very clean, staff was helpful and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charging extra for the lockers was unexpected, the lighting in the dorm wasnt great, and the over all atmosphere was the least social experienced on my entire trip.

    Very clean, staff was helpful and professional.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    6.3
    The beds are comfortable and the staff is really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not cleaned every day. There were stille many hairs in the shower and mud stains in the bathroom after the cleaning lady was gone.

    The beds are comfortable and the staff is really friendly

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    7.1
    Great experience!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was not super friendly. The area around the generator was a little rough.

    The rooms were very nice for the price. Close to airport. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    9.2
    Long stroy short, if you are in rome, take this hostel, you wont regret it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    5 minutes to the train station 10 minutes to the colosseum (30 minutes to the vatican) 2 bathrooms in a 6-bed room Very clean (in my opinion) good restaurants around the corner for a nice evening

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    7.5
    Decent place if you’re on a budget, but nothing flashy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small. Noisy cleaners in the corridors in the early morning. Extra charge to use locker on day of departure.

    Handy location if coming from main train station. Friendly desk staff. Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    3.3
    The area is not good and it does not seem safe, for 1 towel...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is not good and it does not seem safe, for 1 towel you have to pay 5 euros additional , the locker is a wooden box under the bed very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    9.6
    Simple, excellent location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When someone entered the room, it would have been good if that operation was silent (when I was there there was a buzzer). A faint "night light" would also have been good, as the main lights kept being switched on when someone entered late in the evening/night.

    Good atmosphere, clean, simple.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    7.5
    It's a nice clean facility, very close to Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really hate hostel that does not take into consideration for female guest. I would love it when more hostel put female in a mix dormatory where there's an even amount of female and male vs all male with 1 female in the room. Getting stuck in a room full of boys is very tiresome. When they want to be on the phone and loud at night.

    It's a nice clean facility, very close to Metro. Paid locker storage for your bags.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    7.1
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think this hostel is not what it used to be. They charge you extra for everything, this didnt happen when they first started. €5 to rent a towel I thoight it was a bit much, considering its not the cheapest hostel id expect that to be included. Hairdryer in the room didnt work and downstairs toilette was not very clean. Rooms are very comfy and the staff is kind.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    7.1
    The staff is amazing and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is extremely noisy. You can hear the person next door's conversations at 3 in the morning. There is no cupboard or hangers in the room. The hooks were broken. We only received one towel for a couple.

    The staff is amazing and very helpful. Also loved the quirky decor.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    8.3
    It's clean and comfortable, a lot of common areas for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can't bring any foods or drinks from outside and they're not cheap when bought from the hostel. There is no common kitchen for cooking. They charge for everything - towels, water and even if you want to leave your luggage after check-out. Breakfast pretty expensive also. Location is good if you want to stay near the train station, otherwise it is a bit far from everything. however, it's easy to reach other areas with the metro and there is a station near. All in all, not worth the high price in my opinion.

    It's clean and comfortable, a lot of common areas for hanging out. Nice beds with lighting and power outlets and lockers for luggage. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    7.1
    Just fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are a very noisy. When we arrived we got a room on the 6th floor across the elevator, this was kind of a surprise because we asked for a “quiet room”. The ventilator grid in front of the door is making a very loud noise from 8 am till 8 pm. Gladly there was a nice guy who arranged a different room on the 4th floor. No special view and a smaller bed but a least is was quieter. The location is maybe a bit to far from all the highlights, only Colosseum is very close by (20 min walk). There are nice places to eat in the neighborhood but you have to search for them.

    The interior of the hostel is very nice, the rooms are tasteful. Bathroom is clean. Everyday new towels. The roof terrace is a nice surprise. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    7.1
    Close to train station and metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room card lose efficacy everyday during our stay and we have to reopen a new one everyday ;(

    Close to train station and metro station. The bar downstairs was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    8.8
    Two bathrooms for one six bed dorm were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free luggage storage. You have to pay heaps to get your luggage stored before or after checking in

    Two bathrooms for one six bed dorm were amazing. Great bathrooms. Comfortable bed with power point and light. Near the train station.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    6.3
    Very suitable for low budget young people whose main visit is in the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighbourhood isnt so nice, but from this price cant man demand too much.

    Super fast compared with similar type hotel. Decoration also quite good. A bit to my suprise when I discovered it, since that area of neighbourhood dosnt seems 'nice' in general.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    7.1
    The hostel is very well taken care of.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a great hostel, but it is real pity that you are not allowed to eat and drink your own food within the walls of the hostel (which makes it more like a hotel actually).

    The hostel is very well taken care of.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    8.8
    The staff are lovely and the beds were the best I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower badly needed replacing. It was slightly scummy and was meant for a disabled person but the bathroom wasn't suited to having an accessible shower in it - the water escaped out the shower doors and leaked all over the floor through the grouting, gathering on the other side of the room because there's obviously a slight incline. I could see that there was a mould problem where the water was flowing to, because this is obviously an issue. It was also rather unpleasant getting your feet wet whenever you go to the bathroom in the 12 hours after taking a shower. I kept the bathroom window open the whole time for ventilation as I couldn't see a fan.

    The staff are lovely and the beds were the best I encountered in two weeks travelling around Italy. The mattresses and pillows are comfy and the sheets are soft.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    8.3
    Breakfast is not worth the price they asked for, so I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was rude, the room was not ready until 2pm which was inconvenient to me after all night of no sleep Front desk asked the client before me: would you like a map? He said no. She gave him a map and a complete tour of the map, while we both waited for her to finish. When it was my turn, she had nothing to say to me. She did not ask me if I wanted a map. I would have liked her to tell me about some of the sightseeing nearby.

    Breakfast is not worth the price they asked for, so I skipped it Location is noisy, dirty street, park was under construction, so disappointed about that I enjoyed the room and the guests were friendly and helpful about future travels. Clean room and bathroom. The rooftop social area was great. A new addition since last year. Too bad it started to rain as soon as I arrived up there.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    7.1
    This hostel has a great potential but they just don't know how to do things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Old doors on rooms which don't seal so you can hear people on the corridor a lot! People were slamming doors which made our room vibrate - I have very strong sleep and normally don't have problems but here I just couldn't sleep. - They have an amazing terrace and bar on the Ground floor which were closed (bar opened but no one serving during the day), the terrace was locked until 5.30pm - what a shame! - Stuff not very kind.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    8.8
    for a single room, i like:
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    aircon fan automatically turned off after maybe half an hour thin wall, i can hear people talk in the corridor

    for a single room, i like: hot shower comfortable bed and thick blanket quiet neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    8.8
    Very close to train station, metro station, KFC, several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The district it locates is dirty and you don't feel like living at Roma but more in Yiwu, China or Delhi.

    Very close to train station, metro station, KFC, several Chinese foods and Korean food canteen. You can walk to Colosseum.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    9.2
    Good value stay near Termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar is a bit costly. Just as a suggestion, it’s good to separate the showers and toilets.

    The building looked freshly renovated with beautifully designed common area/bar/café. Everything is well thought, built to last and well maintained. The staff is nice and helpful and made the checkin/checkout very easy. The young lady at the bar makes great cocktails. There’s a well-set system to get paid lockers for the luggage whenever needed. The location is very convenient for those who don’t mind the around-station area. Taking into account the Easter deal, this place was of way better value than other options in the area.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    9.2
    Its super clean and I can do my laundry too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Theres no kitchen. They have kettle, but no cup. I could not make my own coffee. They have bar and cafe. Seems like they insist everybody to buy drom their bar/cafe. Well this hostel obvious not for a budget trip.

    Its super clean and I can do my laundry too. Cheap eats around, close to metro station and bus stop. And comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.2
    Nice place, would stay a gain if only price was a bit lower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water pressure from shower head wasn't strong enough. Washing hair and getting shampoo out took long time and required using a lot of water. Stronger water pressure would have been better and would have made taking shower a bit more efficient. Also, one of the water sinks was congested on the day of my arrival. Luckily room service and cleaning lady managed to eliminate it the next day. Unfortunately some water was dripping in toilet pot continuosly as well. I was sad to see water wasted like this.

    Very lovely and friendly lady was waiting for me at the front desk when I arrived. Liked the clean white bed sheets and mattress. Overall, very clean and neat, both the room, bathroom/WC/Shower as well as shared areas.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    The staff were generally extremely friendly and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was too small and needed updating. My room was beside an extremely noisy group of teenagers who were constantly knocking on doors, slamming doors and shouting during the evening, but luckily they did quiet down after a while. The door to my room wouldn't lock.

    The staff were generally extremely friendly and obliging. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept very well. The common areas were lovely. The drinking water tap came in very handy. The bar is lovely and the staff were very good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.2
    Very friendly and attentive staff, comfortable beds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -WIFI is not good enough. -many things are just way too expensive, but that is quite typical of Generator Hostels.

    Very friendly and attentive staff, comfortable beds and spacious rooms. In my room, the bathroom and toilet were separated (and both were equipped with a sink and hairdryer!) which was cool, but I don't know if every room is like this. I loved the themed nights at the bar, like lasagna & wine Wednesdays for 9 EUR, sangria & tapas Saturday, etc. ATM inside the hostel, too. Rooms have thick walls, which is great! In general I would say this is a very peaceful hostel, not much socialising going on. If you are used to party hostels, this will be a very different experience! I am more of a lone wolf so it was perfect for me :) About the location - I agree with other reviews that the area seems pretty bad at first. BUT let me tell you this - people who hang out on the streets in this area don't bother anyone. Many are street sellers, also a lot of hardworking immigrants running small restaurants and shops. I was here for 4 nights and never had any issues!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.2
    Property was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    i did think it was a little expensive ( more than London) Suggestions: Would have liked a map or leaflets on display so i knew all the key areas. Also a hairdryer would have been handy to hire.

    Property was amazing. Stayed in female dorm. Big rooms, clean bathrooms and wonderful communal area. 10 min from the station and 15 from Colosseum. Good locker facility to leave luggage after checkout. 10 for staff - Polite, friendly and really helpful. I would definitely recommend and use again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    8.3
    One of the best hostels I've stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sketchy neighborhood (close to the train station). The underbed boxes are heavy and inconvenient for frequent use. Poor wifi. No kitchen.

    Great bar that I, unfortunately, didn't have a chance to try. Clean and spacious bathrooms (a 6-bed dorm room had 2 of them)!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    6.3
    Though location is not great, for a last night before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot believe they charged us for leaving the luggage. Have never been charged by this before. Makes the overall price and affordability of it all not the same.

    Though location is not great, for a last night before heading back, it’s close to Roma Termini to catch the bus or train to the airport. Shower was nice too.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    7.5
    Spacious and clean hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location. It’s near the main station Termini but spotted a tad too many vagrants around the area

    The rooms, beds, comfortable and spacious with two showers for 6-bed dorm room

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    4.2
    Definitely not 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable bed, room looks and feels dirty. Zero amenities in room, not even water. No closet, bad furniture. Horrible sound proofing, could hear the neighboring rooms and the traffic on the street. Thermostat didn't work. Close to termini but not a nice neighborhood. Will never stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    7.5
    Rooms are clean and ample amenities are provided as far as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double rooms are mostly on the back side.. With minumim windows nd no view... We lost power one hour before checkout for no reason..

    Rooms are clean and ample amenities are provided as far as hostel is considered.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    6.7
    The atmosphere of the lobby was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They charge more for basic things like towels and luggage keeping. Theres no mattress on the bathroom floor so be careful not to slip. The location is quite far from the city center if you want to walk, and at night it can be a bit scary cause of the people around there. If you’re a female solo traveler you might wanna reconsider this.

    The atmosphere of the lobby was nice. The price for a dorm was good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    8.3
    Nice bed and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don’t give towel and shampoo for the dormitories. So you have to pay 5€ for the towel and 1 for the shampoo

    The hall is huge and creative. Also the bed was pretty good and everything is clean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    6.3
    I am really disappointed with my stay at Generator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am really disappointed with my stay at Generator. I realised I was double charged by this hostel & showed the evidence to the staff member at the front desk and sent her an email copy which she received. She then said she was unable to fix the issue herself and said she would have to wait until 12pm for her supervisor to get in but check out was at 10am and I had a train to catch. She assured me they would be in touch. I gave it some time as they did state they had changed booking systems & this may be the reason the error had occurred. It has been a week & I have not heard a single word from them despite me sending multiple emails. I would advise if you have or thinking about staying here to check your bank accounts!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    7.1
    Great hostel for people who want some quiet time with their phone/laptop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an impersonal hostel, very indiviualistic and modern. You can get most of the stuff you want, but have to pay a lot extra for it. You can leave your luggage in a safe, but it will cost you almost 10 euros for a day. The area surrounding the hostel feels a bit dodgy.

    The hostel is located 15 min walk from Termini station. The rooms and bathrooms are really clean, there is a nice bar and restaurant. The beds are incredible soft. I slept like a baby. The general atmosfere is just very clean and modern. It is also very quiet for a hostel, without the general party scene.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    8.3
    n/a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The temperature of the room is too hot and the room have buttons to control the temperature of the room but in the front desk they told me that my room didnt have the option to control the temprature. The staff told me to turned of the heater of my room but the temperature was the same (too hot). And second, the hallway was very loud, we hear the other persons talking into their rooms and the guests was very very loud.

    The hotel was in a great location and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    7.9
    Generator is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have only bed and bathroom included, towel is for €5, padlock €5 etc. It would be ok, if I'd been informed on/before booking.

    Clean, quiet, nice personnel, good bed with individual light, electricity.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    8.3
    All thr people who are working there verey nice abd friendly...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All thr people who are working there verey nice abd friendly and it was really clean and calm

    All thr people who are working there verey nice abd friendly and it was really clean and calm

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    7.9
    Good location for transport. Clean and comfortable at a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather noisy at night, lots of young people.

    Not the most beautiful part of Rome but convenient for transport links, close to Terminal train, bus and metro stations. Clean and quirky.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    9.6
    Great and nice hostel in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel was very nice. The location is a bit let's say "scary". In sense that there were some homeless and drunken people near the hostel and around the subway station.

    The hostel was very nice and cool. I stayed in a mix dorm 6 beds. The room was spacious and very clean. And they have 2 bathrooms inside. The receptionist was very cool too.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    6.3
    Booked a huge school group in on the same dates as our stay which ruined the experience for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking a group of 100 schoolchildren in on the same dates as us and not dealing with them correctly (separate floor at a very minimum). It ruined our time there as there was constant noise from 8pm to 1am every night.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    10
    Very recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towel , lockers are cost No much comon areas to socialize.

    Love them . +very comfortable beds (fully covered blunkett) it's a very new concept beds which u have privacy and quiet . +Nice receptionist. +Big rooms. +Modern bar. +Small refrigerator +late checkout option 5€ If u stay in Rome you have 2 options Romehello hostel and generator hostel .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    9.6
    Very cool place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a very safe area. Many vagrants and beggars. But it didn't bother me much, although I always came back to the hostel late.

    This hostel is located near the railway station Termini. You can easily reach not only any part of the city, but also the country. It is clean and cozy. In the morning you can enjoy a hearty breakfast, and in the evening you can read a book in the lounge area or have a glass of wine in the bar. There is a luggage room in case of early check in and late check out. The staff is very friendly and with a sense of humor :)).

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and comfortable.. great location and friendly front desk staff. I preferred a lower bunk bed and they changed it despite it being a mid day request.. will come back and stay here again! Thanks to all you front desk guys I interacted with, I’m terrible with names :)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    6.7
    Cool place for solo travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff was a bit moody and the bokking and reservation system was a it of a mess. Location was ok although it was slightly dodgy and dirty .

    Cool hostel with a nice bar and a hangout space . Some nice decor too .

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.9
    The staff was quite friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The french clients nearby woke up at 7-7:30 and started shouting and till 9 they were doing their best to wake up everyone on that floor,but i guess it’s not hostel’s problems. It’s pretty hard to deal with impolite clients.

    The staff was quite friendly and helpful. It’s in a quite area and pretty close to the train station. Everything perfect .. if i had the chance to go back to Rome i would definitely come to this hostel .. Good job guys

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    9.2
    Staff is kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not only specifically around hostel but generally Termini zone is very dirty. They charge you for locker if u want to keep your luggage in the hostel after checkout.

    Staff is kind and helpful. I had toilet and shower seperated in 4 people room. The room was large enough. Charging sockets over head. It was warm room. Clean. Modern decorated. I was very happy when i was inside the hostel.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    -Modern and very clean hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -Everything was good but be careful about strangers near Termini station! Very close to the station it’s really good point. However, on the way to the hostel is quite kind of dangerous. (If you’re alone and especially female) -room was quite dark :)

    -Modern and very clean hostel. -Close to the Termini station(about 10min on foot) -Quite place at night

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    10
    near station,clean bed room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the locker box charge 3-6€ (same as other generator hostels tho)

    - reception,bar,room,even showeroom are awesome,i love the style of generator hestels!! -the location is perfect for me! roma termini station is very close around3-5min walk(nearest small exit is 2min!) 15min to colosseum,foro romano/25-30min walk to trevi or other famous places (a bit far but u can walk or take a bus!)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    9.6
    Beds - they are perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You will buy a lock for a locker. It's not necessary, but you definitely will do that. No shampoo or shower gel. Soap is enough, but would be be great to have something like that in the shower either

    Beds - they are perfect. You feel personal space and have all necessary plugs near your head (including usb). Shower and toilet are light and clean. Conditioner is not loud

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is incredibly dodgy, I felt super uncomfortable walking from the hostel to the station, and it’s only a ten minute walk. The room was nice, but not nearly as nice as on the photos.

    The staff were incredibly friendly, the WiFi was good, and so were the common areas. The lockers meant for luggage storage were greatly appreciated too.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    8.3
    Once I found out where its location is I feel it’s very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sinks in bathroom are tiny so that I have to be very careful not to make the floor wet.

    Once I found out where its location is I feel it’s very convenient to go anywhere, no matter it’s to Termini station or other spots for sightseeing,even to a popular ice cream store. Room is clean and with windows to see outside. I really like here and recommend to stay with them.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    8.8
    The girl at the desk was extremely helpful, kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The girl at the desk was extremely helpful, kind and professional. There was a big issue with my documentation at my arrival in the airport and she just tried to facilitate all as much as she could. It couldn't be better. I am really pleased and grateful of her. Unfortunately, I am a very absent minded person and already forgot her name but what I still remember is that she is from Yemen. Thank you so much!! you are absolutely great not only as a worker but as a person.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    8.8
    Overall amazing and I would 100% stay again but I’d make sure I’m not next to this type of closet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was located next to what I think was a staff closet maybe for the cleaner or supplies. But every morning quite early that door would be slammed often which would wake me and keep me awake.

    The bed was super comfy and the room had everything you could ever need.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    8.3
    Nice hostel close to the train station&City center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to bring your towel or rent It at he reception. The price of printing my flight's Ticket (0,20€ for 1 piece of paper B/W).

    The facilites, the location, the bedroom was clean and neat. The vibe is good 😀

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    3.3
    Look for another hostel it’s just not worth it
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because they charge extra for everything. The charged me 6 euros because i arrived 2 hours early to insted of just putting my bag in the room. Also when i booked another night in another room they wanted to do the same. When i said it doesn’t make sense, the guy at the reception told me it make sense to me. It’s just not good enough of a hostel to endure such greedy people.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.6
    Clean, convenient and Roomy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was staying on the 2nd floor and there was no free WiFi, so I have to go to the common area to use internet.

    The bed was big and comfy, girls room has only 4beds with a private bathroom w toilet and a private toilet. Very clean and roomy, it was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    9.6
    The room was spacious and looked exactly like the picture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was spacious and looked exactly like the picture. Bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable and well equipped with personal light and plugs.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    10
    The best I ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit dangerous district with immigrants.

    Great location (20 min to Colloseum, 30 min to Trevi) on foot, friendly staff, extremely clean room ( I lived in a single room and it looked like a room in a hotel with big comfortable bed and all necessary, including bathroom), close to railway station to continue your trip in different cities and to get to the airport faster. I like my journey with you. Thanks!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    7.9
    Very clean and quirky design!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't too comfy, we requested a double but ended up with 2 singles pushed together.

    Very clean and quirky design! Great location also, close to the station.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.6
    Nice hotel to meet fellow travelers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s been stated before, not the greatest neighborhood BUT I never once felt unsafe or in danger walking through it at night or in the day. No one bothers you at all and I was walking thu it at 3 am alone.

    The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The bartender Luca was excellent! All in all a great stay and nice hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Generator Rome Traveler Photo Gallery