Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Arenzano 4 stars

Lungomare Stati Uniti 2, 16011 Arenzano, Italy

#6 of 10 hotels in Arenzano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1723 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Room was fine suited our needs for one night , clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really miserable and grumpy, we were never acknowledged when walking past reception even though we greeted them

    Room was fine suited our needs for one night , clean and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast,room Location, hotel close to bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information about the hotel amenities or surrounding area No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The pool toilet area was very very shabby..not at all 4 star more like one!! Pool area very noisy and generally not very well maintained. No ice machine,we had to ask at reception each day I would have like the hotel to have offered excursions or to link up with a provider. Very limited bar times and choice of beverages. The information on booking did not explain that there was limited access to the beach.

    Breakfast,room Location, hotel close to bars and restaurants. Prices of mini bar and poolside restaurant reasonable. Helpful cleaning staff. View from the hotel terrace,seating would have made the experience better

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel & location - fantastic staff! Good breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were tidy, but there are a few corners in the hotel which need a little more care.

    Breakfast was a really good selection, which I did not expect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    hotel was nice, right across the street from beach, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    hotel was nice, right across the street from beach, the swimming pool was amazing, just as on the pictures; rooms were clean and spacious; breakfast was good, wide selection

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.8
    Very, very, very disappointed! So bad to pay 220 euro for some uncomfortable and unfriendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is NO equal between price en quality. The rooms are really exceptionally noisy! In the middle of the night you can wake up unfortunatly, hearing a big whooosh! of flowing water, when the neighbour above your room flushes the toilet or taking a shower. Really really bad! I don't pay € 220,- for a decorated checken coop or a lousy barn or what ever that may be! An than, when you want to use the dedicated hotel beach, you have to pay another € 45,- (!) to sit on a gravel-beach with unfriendly an grumpy staff! So bad!

    There is a perfect international breakfast, with an overhelling choise. The staff at the hotel desk is freindly and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    A lovely hotel in a great position. Worth a visit to Arenzano, a very nice little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in pool bar and breakfast room were not that smiling and cheerfully efficient standard we have come to know (and love) in Italy.

    A lovely looking hotel, in a great position with a really good sized pool that was refreshingly cool for a change! A good sized, comfortable room overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    It has the vintage charme of Rivera's Grand Hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been more stylish.

    It has the vintage charme of Rivera's Grand Hotels. Great pool area and unforgettable breakfast. Room service within the day and big smiles at our arrival!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    We had an ok stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktails at the bar were poorly made and upon asking for a little more lime we got the biggest frowns and looks of disapproval after which our drinks were reluctantly replenished with the tiniest drop of lemon juice. This says something about the serving staff of this hotel which was incredibly rude and didn’t exactly make us feel welcome during our stay (with exception of the lifeguards and reception). Another example would be the breakfast service which blatantly ignored us during breakfast. After having had eyecontact and even raising my hand several times over the course of three days of breakfast it was finally met with an agitated staffmember who told us to be patient next time we want coffee (after having spent most of her shift on rearranging the coffeecups on her trays, talking to italian hotel guests and pretending to not see us). It is also seemingly ok to leave a towel on a bed the entire day by the pool and thus reserving it from morning ‘till the end of the day. Problem was that most of the people that did that only showed up after 15:00. Rendering the beds unavailable from 09:00 to 15:00. I’d suggest a lunchtime renewal of such reservations that enable guests to use unoccupied beds. If you instead want to go to the beach because all the sunbeds at the pool have been occupied by egotistical hotel guests then you better hurry. The hotel beach isn’t the hotels beach but an independent private beach (that has been stated here somewhere so not new information) at which they only have 10 beds. The beach is not accessible for people that just want to chill on a towel however. The two sunbeds with umbrella are obligatory and cost around 45 euros per day. Which is fine but it gets quite busy during summer so they were usually full. That however is not a huge problem, there is a small public beach just in front of the hotel and one bigger public beach over by the harbour. Public here meaning that you don’t have to be a guest of the hotel to enjoy them.

    We had an ok stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and even the hotel itself is clean and practical. It made for a comfortable home base to discover arenzano and the area around it (if it weren’t for the service). So in essence an ok hotel! Reception made an extra effort to compensate for unpleasant treatment by bar staff and service during breakfast. They offered us a a free drink at the hotel bar (that we disliked since we were met there by cranky faces every time and the drinks weren’t exactly made with ‘gusto’) and a sunbed by the pool at their neighbouring hotel which is managed by the same group I suppose. It was nice that they recognized our complaint and wanted to do something in return so it’s the nice gesture that counts! Thanks for that :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Never ever..please chooese any other hotels, if you wish a nice holiday...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff not really interested. Nobody is able to smile or help if you have problem.Nobody speak good enough english. 4**** hotel: by breakfast plastic cups, no spoon, not salt, no napkins..only if you ask. Internet working on the first day, after nothing..night portier said he have no idea. Wellness under contruction in the middle of high season. Wake up 8:20 of the noise of renovation. And this is the way would all the problem will be solved.Nobody knows and nobody cares. This was the most expensive hotel I ever booked so this is the only reason I offer for nobody to choise this hotel.For this price you could find only better and nicer. Sorry but it is the true...

    Beautiful building but this is the only good thing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was perfect, incredible breakfast, staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning made alot of noise (I didn’t tell the staff during the stay), there were alot of birds eating from the guests plates at the outdoor tables during breakfast, the roof terrace was poorly furnished. Experience of the stay probably varies depending on the view from your room (mine faced backyard and parking)

    Location was perfect, incredible breakfast, staff was extremely helpful professional and friendly, rooms spacious clean and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Family fun in a great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the buffet breakfast was infauktable The evening food was terrible. The main swimming pool had no shallow end.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable with a lovely view over the pool. The pool area was great and very child friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Quality of Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the Personnel in reception as well as in the breakfastroom were really not professional, adequate, efficient and hospitable enough for a so called 4-star hotel. They lack training in hospitality and how to approch guests. They seem to work like automatic pilots without any real personal attention. On the otherhand, housekeeping and Pool-attendants were very good and adequate.

    Quality of Breakfast was great. Rooms and amenities were good. The size of the swimmingpool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location, poor experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool closed at 7 so when we arrived at 5 past 7 we could not swim - disappointing. We had a rear room at 1st floor near the plant equipment - they was a connecting door to the room next door which was not insulated well so we could hear the conversations next door. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows lumpy. Overall not a feeling that the reception staff were trying to be helpful !

    Parking was efficient, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No prior info that the gym was closed due to refurbishing activities. Dated interior. 45 euros per day for a 2 beach chairs.

    Great location and breakfast. Also nice lounge bar near the swimming pool. Easy and secure car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location near the coast, friendly and professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near the coast, friendly and professional staff, clean rooms, private paid parking near the hotel, breakfast was ok but not corresponding to the price of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The extra charge (37€/room per day) for the hotel beach surprised us. We only used the public beach right next to it wich was the same quality. Maintenance was not too good, some things broken, unpleasant smell in both our rooms, either from the bathroom or airco.

    Location was good. We liked the pool side bar. The breakfast was good, a lot of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely lovely place and an enjoyable holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Dog sitting at the dinner table one night (literally) and very small children at dinner creating havoc, throwing food and pencils around after 9.30pm one night. We felt the staff should have addressed both of these issues. This is a good quality hotel and I was surprised that both these issues were tolerated. These were the only complaints after 14 nights.

    Lovely holiday at this hotel. Very clean and beds were super comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very pleased with our choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel with the bad staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost nobody speaks proper English. One staff member literally ran away from me speaking "I do not speak English". The check-in experience was pretty bad. The lady on the reception gave preference to Italian guests who were past me in the line. Then she offered me the room with the window facing the parking lot which one of the Italian guests refused to take right before me, asking if I could understand what he just said. Not the best way of treating guests at the 4-star hotel. The restaurant is a bit overpriced and again no one speaks English and can provide you with the proper information about the food.

    The location and the room were pretty nice. Swiming pool and the area around is nice and spacious. A lot of things to do around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Dissaponting !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived with many luggages and were given a room where, after you get out of the elevator, you have to climb 1 floor with a narrow staircaise, then out all the way to the corridor, go out accross a roof garden outiside, in again, basically 300 meters walking to reach our room, totally crazy especailly that is was raining when going out accross roof top garden :( The room had no window, only a small window in bathroom. I when down and ask another room on lower floor with a window. Restaurant window are so dirty and very depressing decor and lighting that will make you look dead alive... I know this is not an expensive place but the overall experience is not acceptable, except for the Chinese mass tourist that were there... Parking cost 25% of the room price.

    Just the building is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Just what I want from a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dearly love my Full English Breakfast. At this hotel, like most hotels in Italy, that is unfortunately not available. Otherwise, cannot fault this establishment.

    Everything; it is a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice room, great location, good breakfast, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dogs in breakfast room - barking and knocking over chair. Dining and dogs don't go together. And with hot weather pool should have opened.

    Nice room, great location, good breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, terrible restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was terrible. They really need a chef who understands fine dining, because that is what they try to do, without any experience. I was so disappointed.

    the staff was friendly and spoke English. The rooms were neat and the breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a perfect location, very quiet when visitied in May and unspoilt by tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very small and my partner struggled with that. It also needed updating. The bedroom was very simply furnished and a bit damaged in our room. There was a very small bar area for the size of the hotel. However, they have a lovely outdoor area if the weather is good, which sadly it wasn't when we were there at the weekend.

    The bed was very large and very comfy. They supplied a wide variety of toiletries in the bathroom which were brilliant. Excellent location of the hotel and the views are stunning. Everything is within walking distances and there is an excellent restaurant nearby. I was a bit confused about the opening times of the shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our overnight stay in Arenzano.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we were low season we still found there was quite a lot of noise at night, mainly from within the hotel. The bedrooms are not well soundproofed and one can clearly hear other guest returning to their rooms, talking in the corridor, and even toilets flushing.

    Dinner in the main restaurant was outstanding and service was very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was lavish. Bed comfortable and bedroom spacious. Hotel is perfectly positioned for access to sea front. Free parking within hotel grounds close to hotel entrance. Beautiful municipal park just behind the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the tower floor which you have to go by stairs from the 3rd floor. With luggage it's a bit too much.

    Very clean and comfort! The breakfest is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    enchanting stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    spacious rooms, facing the sea, walking distance to the centre. Beautiful and imposing building close to a very long walking track that used to be the old railway, now converted to pedestrian and cyclist lanes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is superb.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is superb. We liked the hotel. However we would recommend some renovations to be made in bathrooms (for example, hair dryer could be more modern in the four star hotel).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    This is a nice place, well located.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are not as nice as they look in the pictures (but my room was not ugly though, just not as good as pictures). For a 4-star, the hotel needs renovation.

    This is a nice place, well located. Nice staff, clean, pet friendly. Nice view to the see.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast for this Yankee. Even in late September (low season) there were plenty of dining options very close to the hotel (as well as within it, including a Michelin chef's restaurant). Great hotel, great staff, great value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, beautiful view, large comfortable room, great breakfast!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was in different and a bit less than helpful.

    Excellent location, walkable to everything you need, and beautiful view from our room! It was a very large room, comfortable bed. Large windows opened to give a great view of the beach across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location and nice little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The very small bathroom in our room (216?)

    The hotel is an old hotel and it seems to be living on its former glory! The location is good for easy walk into the town and right opposite the beach. Breakfast was very good. The hotel and our room was very bland and uninviting and our bathroom was very small. You could sit on the toilet and actually touch the sink with your forehead! Also there was not much space in the shower. We did complain to the manager and they offered to move us to another room but we were only there for a short while and did not want the upheaval. The management did however send us a complimentary bottle of wine to our room. We were late in the season and were told that the pool was closed even though it was warm enough to sunbathe. We would consider staying here again if in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Fair enough. Might we go back there? - Maybe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool was closed (beginning of October) even though they advertise it in their facilities list. They did show us some fine print where it said that it's only in use in the summer months.

    The beds were good, breakfast was good, lovely view from the room, it was quiet enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place - shame about the breakfast ambience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With still half an hour to go in breakfast service an employee arrived and started barking orders, clomping round in unsuitable shoes and bashing cushions. Not at all restful and not acceptable in 5* even if most guests were probably on the cheapo offer too! Also a small niggle in that BBC world service had disappeared from TV channels!

    A glorious location - right on the beach of this charming resort and close to the autostrada! The sea-view room was wonderfully appointed and - for the bargain price - a real treat! We have had better breakfasts in Italian hotels with fewer stars, but not bad, except ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel at the entrance of Arenzano, Spacious rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel at the entrance of Arenzano, Spacious rooms with all you need. Perfectly located at the beginning of the city centre. Breakfast was ok but not corresponding to the price of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed the location of the hotel, facilities and the charming town. Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of our standard room was far to expensive.

    Great staff, close to beach and town, clean rooms. The beach was across the road and the town centre about 2 minutes walk. Lovely Italian seaside resort without the to many tourists

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Just missing the last 15% to make it really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs at breakfast the worst I have ever eaten anywhere in the World. Struggled to get a good hot cup of tea. Ridiculous not having a bar IN the hotel.

    Lovely pool could be heated . Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Slightly shabby but charming hotel in an excellent location with wonderful views of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No bar inside the hotel. Unable to sit in the bar area whilst private function on,had to enter through a gap at the side of the bar and sit outside. Not very private when company functions on, made to feel quite uncomfortable whilst lying by the pool. Hotel seemed to cater for business guests over holiday guests Beach facilities expensive Disappointing but adequate breakfast,same everyday with limited choices.

    Excellent location,near to beach and center of a lovely town,with many good restaurants. Room comfortable and clean but dated. Comfortable bed. Excellent views over poolside and beach front from our room. Most of staff friendly and helpful. lovely pool, area clean with poolside bar, and friendly staff. Great bar snacks Parking limited but sufficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful position and facilities. Spoilt by surly, remote staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This has got to be the unfriendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. We arrived and waited to be greeted (looking at the computer), were spoken to very curtly, then had to wait while a conversation was conducted in Italian. Very brief info-had to go and find the room, pool etc ourselves. Breakfast was awful-apparently designed so that the staff did not have to speak to the guests. You get everything yourself and no one helps. The waiting staff buzz round the tables but rarely interact. On the first morning, there was no hot water, no cups, no teapots/jugs and the nuclear goo which passes for scrambled egg was stone cold because the heater had gone out, but no one had noticed any of this. No one apparently in charge. The pool bar has its shutter half down, even when 'open' and really never looks open. The lifeguard is on the phone or reading a book while people struggle with sun beds. The hotel seems to be dining out on its enviable position-don't need to make an effort so they don't. We didn't feel very welcome at all, which was a shame because it could have been a wonderful stay in a great building and location. Oh and the wifi is different in the pool and hotel and has to log in on every visit. And you can charge unless in the room. Very inconvenient.

    Location and pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    It's a hotel with huge potential but rather squandered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a hotel with huge potential but rather squandered. Swimming pool with a bar that was more often closed than open. A number of nice roof-top terraces not used at all. And don't get me started on the Michelin star restaurant. All in all posh price and average ratio price to quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location and an ideal spot from which to explore the surrounding coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ineffective air conditioning in the room and the mini bar fridge didn't work - we did report these problems (twice) but nothing happened. It did take the edge off our stay.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    The room was really spacious, the bed was big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast is terrible not too many choices, everyday the exact same things (there is only one kind of bread the other one is a foccacia) and there were no vegetables available for the breakfast.The design of the inside of the hotel is outdated, a renovation is in need.

    The room was really spacious, the bed was big and comfortable.The cleaning in the room was really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Non friendly staff. Difficulty of parking. Breakfast buffet could be better for 4 star. Pool toilets were awful.

    Location is excellent. 25 meter pool is lovely. Seaview room was great. Clean, quiet room with big comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    A great piece of luxury at the end of a road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price probably reflected the area in Augustbut was at the high end of our budget

    This hotel is situated in a lovely small town outside Genoa. Both hotel and town are lovely.It is just over the road from the sea. Parking can be awkward but staff will park for you. We had a lovely spacious room on the 3rd floor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Good for facilities but suffered from breakfast problems as many large hotels do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a scrum. Tables left uncleared, coffee awful. Too many people. Tip to others - take fly spray. The room was full of mosquitos. Wall shower temperature control didn't work so had to use less convenient hand shower. Meal in terrace restaurant ok. Portions massive so unless you have a large appetite don't bother with a starter. Cooking routine but this IS Italy where you get 'the same old' in most places.

    Room size; parking; location; facilities - nice pool. Good response from reception when we reported shower not working properly. We don't know whether they got it fixed as we only stayed 1 night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location, spacious rooms, but expensive and disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing breakfast. At a 4* Hotel I expect real fruit juice instead of sugared concentrated fake juice. There was no unsweetened yoghurt, only bad coffee etc. Rooms are quite pricey for the level of quality.

    Nice swimming pool with pool bar, spacious room, convenient location. Good massage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Cosy and charming Hotel in pretty Arenzano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The price of 50 euro per night extra for sea view seems too much to me. Yes it is a romantic hotel but also some things ar a bit worn out. Bed is hard and moves all over the floor. The breakfast room needs an update, nothing changed since the early 90's i suppose. Breakfast itself was ok but a bit messy.

    Nice atmosphere and ambiance, pool with towels, friendly staff, perfect location on the beach, Extensive Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scramble eggs and hum were cold at 9:00 am (maybe they were hot earlier).

    Excellent location - you just pass the street and you are at the beach. Try local cusine in one of many cozy restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    A pleasant hotel in a great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although we had booked at least a month before our trip, and despite the fact that we booked a garden view room, we had a tiny, tiny room at the furthest end of the hotel, far from the elevator. It was clean though! On checkout we tried to change a large bill to enable us to tip the cleaning girl who really was good but the front desk staff told us they would not do it for us as, although they had change, they needed it for people checking out. Not very accommodating. The hotel is very large and a little impersonal and in need of some refurbishment especially in the lovely pool area and we're not sure it merits four stars. The more expensive of the two hotel restaurants, "Cook", was somewhat disappointing. There was no one to greet us upon arrival into the restaurant (which has a view of the hotel corridor!) for almost 10 minutes and although our meal was good, it was not excellent....at a hefty price!

    The town of Arenzano is delightful. Lots of restaurants and cafés and bars, a great holiday spirit. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance of all beaches, shops, restaurants etc. An easy train ride to Genova. Lovely pool and pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel but take care to check their facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a shower in the bath. Bath didn't drain and plug didn't fit Perhaps expect more from a 4star hotel Limited information on the area in the room and from staff e.g how to get to Genoa? A limited number of Sun beds on a beach that will be very crowded in the summer Expensive as well but probably typical of area / Italy

    Dog Friendly hotel Pool was good Resort is packed full of good and value for money restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Room very simple but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During breakfast we had "artificial" scrambled eggs and the fruit salad was fermented.

    Room very simple but clean. Great pool and great position next to the sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    2.5
    Weil never recommend or stay at this hotel anymore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were cheating. We booked two rooms through a mistake. I sent a comment early that we don't need two rooms instead only one. As we arrived at the reception I asked if we have only one room. They said no problem you will pay for only one room. As we left the hotel they changed their mind and said we have to pay both rooms! If they had told us this the day before we would used both rooms. I call that lying and cheating. Full stopp. Will never visit or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nothing, They are lying and cheating see comment below.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.0
    4* location, 3* Hotel, 1* reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are 3* The reception staff were absolutely a generous 1*, by far the rudest staff I have ever dealt with. I was looking forward to using the pool but the foot wash bath was so dirty (grime, grit and cigarette butts) it was a good indication of the cleanliness of the pool, in the interest of health we refrained. Booked a superior double with sea view and after checkin we got a standard double with a view of the back of the building. The reception staff changed this after complaint but were incredibly rude !

    The location is 4*

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You must make dinner reservations or you will be out of luck for literally anywhere in town. The breakfast at the hotel was a bit crazy, ran out of coffee, etc. You need to get there bright and early

    Location is fabulous. The poolside bar is wonderful - especially in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    A nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish more of a selection and not so expensive for meals in the restaurant.

    The hotel is quite nice, parked our car in the parking lot right out front of the hotel doors which was real convenient. The room was clean and big, nice comfy beds and big bathroom. The girl at checkin was super nice and gave us directions of areas to walk. Took a look at the menu before we left and saw it was rather pricey so we decide to eat in the town. Has a pool that looked really nice but since it was raining, didn't get to use it. Greta location though, right across the street from the water! Would stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    mini trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is everyday the same.no changes at all and no variety of veggies.No local products,only parmalat,nescafe which are only commercial brands.There are many italian products very good to be served for breakfast(prosciuto cotto,bresaola,formagio ,etc) and also fresh fruits.

    We have liked the room,its better without the carpet on the floor for a seaside hotel ,the swimming pools and the positios of the hotel.The staff helpful regarding our booking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Good news and bad news.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is much bigger than the photos suggest and the walls between bedrooms thin. The food was very disappointing overall, both evening meal and breakfast.

    Friendly and helpful staff, great location and easy parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    Old fashioned hotel , needs updating but good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in room. Dark room with poor lighting. Could not read book as lighting too poor. Toilet far too close to shower cubicle.

    Good location. Good parking. Room ok .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Reasonably priced room with a beautiful view.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a leak in the bathroom so water all over the floor. The hotel is in general a little tired and could do with some redecoration.

    We arrived late at night and woke up to the most beautiful view. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Room was spacious with very comfortable bed and sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner service was a little disrupted due to a large bus tour occupying a large part of the dining room. Sound proofing of bedroom doors not good as we were woken by people returning to their rooms late at night.

    Room was spacious with very comfortable bed and sea view. Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is a bit noisy, we could hear other rooms flushing the toilet and running water in their bathrooms, the bidet and toilet would have been better the other way around as the toilet is very tight to the shower.

    The location of the hotel is great especially if you book a sea view room. Friendly staff and good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Comfort and very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee could have been hotter but this happens all over the European continent, you always have to ask for it to be hotter!

    a very comprehensive breakfast and a wonderful location, very convenient for the town, which was just the right size!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Disappointing for a so called 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers old and too small. No safety features in bathrooms. Restaurant poor, supposed to be MIchelin 1 star, but our meal was rubbish. I can cook better.

    Location, staff and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.5
    disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad shower Doors. No TV . no bar, but you can sit in the corridor and someone will bring you a drink eventually. Hardly 4 star.

    Showers old and small.baths had no grab handles so showers dangerous. TV not working properly. No digital so no CNN or BBC. Slow restaurant service till registered complaint with manager. We want to leave but are signed up for 3 more nights. Came to book hotel for daughters wedding but so bad will go elsewhere. I cannot get put of this booking and will not be using your service again as you can't cancel when things go wrong.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    We have stayed here four or five times now - always when travelling from UK to Italy . It's a lovely hotel on the sea front and such good value .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.1
    Great COOK and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was rather not cleaned recently = dirty with leaves on the floor

    Spacious room 2nd round /shift of staff - very friendly Great restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.0
    Dilapidated building at great location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While mostly clean, this place is run down. The building and the furniture feel like at the end of their lifetime: Walls with painting coming off, carpets worn, the floor in the hallway to the restaurant was uneven below a rug which was put there to hide whatever was below. Staff just OK, breakfast a disaster: The milk was turned, the food was put there in a completely without even trying to make it nice, melon cuts not prepared nicely and so on and so on. Not worth the price, and a shame for the great location - a true tourist trap,.

    Location is great - walking a few blocks, you have a broad choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Super place, great style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA centre had to be booked in advance, we stayed only for one day and SPA was kind of a reason to stay there, however it was not possible to use the sauna.

    Super place, great style. Bar by the pool serves excellent snacks with a beer, almost had trouble finishing dinner afterwards:)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.3
    A lovely location and experience of authenticate Italy but needs a few attention for perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected Spa to be free, I did not pay the sauna as it was 20 Euros and I was there briefly thinking I can use it after a swim, but it was payment after every use - same for 5 mins or 3 hours - make this clear. I felt it catered more for the business person than holiday people. More information needed on what is to do locally - we would have hiked, bikes would be useful.... overall lovely but one bad information ruins the overall experience. Chirpy staff at breakfast who greet you and offering HOT water e.g. for tea are small things to make the stay lovely.

    Closeness to beach, an excellent breakfast and room wonderful. Reception staff lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    A bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection is slow The water in the pool is pretty cold

    Great location, near the beach Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Location and big swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and big swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    Tried to give us a room with view to “backyard” instead of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to give us a room with view to “backyard” instead of the sea view as booked... not ok!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel with not so great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This year they charge you 15€ a day for parking Room service was poor but food quite good

    Rooms are always good, location prrfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel and pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of pigeons in the outdoor breakfast area.

    Nicely decorated rooms. Nice pool area and pool bar. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice pool and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive money for value

    Nice pool and very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Arenzano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: