Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gerber 3 stars

Via Degli Scipioni, 241, Vatican City - Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy

#382 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice weekend at hotel Gerber.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was spotless clean, cleaned every day. Enough of choices for breakfast. Excellent coffee (made to order for free) for breakfast. Fast check-in and check-out. Perfect location - few steps to Metro, 10 mins walk to Vatican.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean, good location. But a bit pricy for a tiny room without a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soundproofing, I woke up because of my neighbour alarm. I had a single room and it doesn't have a toilet and a shower in the room. It is written in the details, but I didn't pay attention while booking a room. It was a surprise for me, I didn't expect it from 3 start hotel, but here is completely my fault.

    The location is good and the stuff was super nice. The hotel provides a regular Italian style breakfast. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, reliable family hotel convenient to city center with good Metro access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing

    Family run hotel in a great location. Convenient to Vatican and very close to Lepanto Metro stop for fast, easy access to the historical center of Rome. The owners and staff are very helpful, and have been so for the 20 years we have used the Gerber when we visit Rome. Good value for Rome. Hotel will arrange for limo to and from the airport, which is recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Near the Lepanto metro, aprox 100 m, just around the corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty, dust everywhere, under the bed, on tv, everywhere. Needs some general cleaning. Breakfast simple, not worth waking up for it.

    Near the Lepanto metro, aprox 100 m, just around the corner. via Cicero is a crowded street till late in the night so, it feels secure to walk back to hotel. Big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super close to the metro to take the train to All the major sights. Manager recommend an amazing family restraurant that had the best pizza and it’s right down the street from the hotel. Great breakfast in the morning to grab and go. Staff was super friendly, and room was perfect for relaxing between sightseeing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Good quality for decent price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small, but one can manage.

    The hotel has very kind staff and the rooms look great. I booked a cheap room without a bathroom attached which was only a few meters away from the room. The room looked great and it’s furiture was decent. Much, much better compared to other Italian hotels I’ve stayed at. Fully recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Good choice if you want to stay close to vatican for considerable price.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator at the hotel is very small and old, it often becomes blocked, if visitors do not close properly elevators door. We were travelling in a group with older people so it proved to be an issue. Towels offered by Hotel Gerber are quite weak, the should be change for new ones.

    A+ for the staff, which was very helpful. Great location, very close to the Vatican (15 minutes by walk), and metro station is just behind the corner. Spacious and clean rooms. Breakfast in Italian style (quite light), but better than in other 3* hotels in Rome than we've visited before. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is a Sushi restaurant next to it, and there are some bars along Via Mercantonio Collonna, and other options in close proximity. In general, if i would have to choose a hotel in Rome for next short trip, i would consider returning to Hotel Gerber. It is just 3 star hotel in Rome - and it is just OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the breakfast bar was good, offering a wide variety of choices, some of the breakfast breads seemed a little dry.

    It was very conveniently located, 2 blocks from the metro and the front desk staff was very helpful. We really enjoyed our evening picnics on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Service was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was really small. Bed and linens could use an upgrade. Otherwise enjoyed stay.

    Service was great. Host very accommodating. Good location in quiet area. Close to Metro.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On photos it looks much better that its in real life. Not sure that it can be 3 stars, its more Bed and Breakfast place. Facilities are quite old.

    Amazing location in the quiet area closed to Vatican, underground, public transport, bars and shops. The owner of the hotel is >80 y.o. man who greets you in the morning when you go to breakfast - it is amazing! What an amazing person. Very comfortable mattresses.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    nearly missed a flight because staff gave me wrong information for bus stops,train timetables
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some night staff does not know where is bus stops, providing wrong information,wrong trains timetable

    Good Location, 100 meters from metro station, shops and restorants near by, 15 min. walk to Vatican, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel to stay, well situated! Small but nice room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airco in the room continued to make noise, even when turned off. It was very noisy when other guests arrived. They suggested to leave my passport at the reception desk, while inspecting the room. I answered I never let my passport out of my sight!

    Breakfast was good, although eggs were cold. Good service, friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.9
    Worth considering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast menu could have been varied, giving we stayed 8 nights, but acceptable.

    Good basic hotel. Comfortable bed with good air conditioning. Breakfast room and service good. Directly on bus and metro routes making access to city centre easy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was my second stay at hotel Gerber. I am very satisfied with accomodation, breakfast, location of hotel and especially with polite and professional staff:-)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoyed my visit to Rome , this hotel is in an excellent location ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Excellent location , nice comfortable rooms , beautiful rooftop terrace , very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Walk to the Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its located about 10 blocks from the Vatican. Close to many great restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    I was lovely. Nothing at all to complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, everyone without exception, was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    location are good, 5 mins walk to the Lepanto station, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location are good, 5 mins walk to the Lepanto station, easy access!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    the breakfast is gooooood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is gooooood

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small bathroom

    very good espresso.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell blankets

    Convenient location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    short stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staffs were nice, room was comfortable, location was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    10/10 awesome hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gery roomy and a safe place for a young american girl! Felt at home!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    The location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was awesome. Close to train and very walkable. Everything was awesome although matress alittle firmer than I like.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Excellent Time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was extremely kind. Every worker was nice. Room was clean and breakfast was lovely. The rooftop was an excellent relaxing spot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite for money value

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel with wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was excellent and the location was in a quiet neighborhood yet very close to the Vatican City.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    8.8
    More than excellent position, few second to reach the metro...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    More than excellent position, few second to reach the metro station, clean and comfortable room, excellent price, friendly and welcoming staff: thanks!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Staff were very good and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NONE

    Staff were very good and professional Flavio, Peter and Alexandro were best front desk people. I will miss them. The Chef Romeo was always full of smile and happy. Overall, best hotel in Vatican

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    1. Kind and Polite staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Bed cover's fabric feels rough.

    1. Kind and Polite staff. 2. The hotel is located at quiet place. I like that. Because Roma is so comflex city, so i didn't want to be sleep in the center. 3. I stayed in single room. There is a good balcony.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    The location is very safe and the place is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shared bathroom is shared with whoever else wants to use it: that's not right. It should be shared with one other room - possibly - but not with whoever wants to use it. The breakfast buffet is not as good as it was (I have been 5 times in this hotel).

    The location is very safe and the place is clean

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    I liked absolutely everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked absolutely everything!Convenient location, quiet clean and tidy room, helpful and polite staff, rich and delicious breakfast, the best in the city capuccino!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.9
    location was great for metro and transportation, quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was average wi-fi was week, tv was complicated, never got new towels over 3 days, front desk was not that helpful in evening hours

    location was great for metro and transportation, quiet area

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.5
    - Friendly and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Common bathroom is too small..I did not like. - Walls are very thin so noise can be heard from other rooms. - No safe-box

    - Friendly and good staff - Good location - Balanced price/service - Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    The staff were always smiling and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were always smiling and helpful. The location is 50 mtres to the metro and bus stations. The breakfast was wonderful and fresh. The room had a balcony which was good to smoke. The hotel was always clear. Thanks for them

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.6
    very close to under ground station (3 min), bus stop (3min),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very close to under ground station (3 min), bus stop (3min), Sushi restaurant (Next-Door) and Vatican (able to walk there). And we could enjoy fruits and fresh coffee every morning.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    8.3
    Considering general price level in Rome the hotel has a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It depends on your travel but night life is far a little- it could be something positive with some people or families.

    Considering general price level in Rome the hotel has a good price- it's not right in the heart of the city but it's close to Vatican and there are restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.5
    Quiet location, away from the tourist hussle of the historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Zero soundproofing. We could hear *everything* that went on in the room next to us: from talking and SMS notifications to sounds coming from the WC. It was very difficult to sleep. It's a pity, because, apart from that, everything else was very good.

    Quiet location, away from the tourist hussle of the historic centre, and near the Vatican. Bus, metro, and a couple of nice restaurants and geleterias around the corner. Strong wifi. The owner and the staff were professional, polite and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.2
    Free WiFi, good breakfast, helpful staff, I got a free room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free WiFi, good breakfast, helpful staff, I got a free room upgrade, very clean, few steps to metro stations, walking distance to major monuments, neighborhood full of restaurants and shopping places. My room was small but comfortable, had a balcony, reasonable minibar prices.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff. Good location. Clean and tidy rooms.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    All..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    All.....the staff..the rooms.....the breakfast .....the location.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    COMFORTABLE BED
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NOTHING!

    COMFORTABLE BED QUIET ROO0M AS REQUESTED UPPER FLOOR - PERFECT STAFF ATTENTION

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is good. We walk to Vatican in 20 minutes and Angel's castle in 10 minutes. The staff are nice and helpful. Also it's quite.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location. Very friendly staff. Cleanliness rooms.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    7.5
    The bed was too soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too soft. Uncomfortable. Need to be change.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Very good location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Very good location, helpful staff and clean rooms. Breakfast was very nice nice with lot's of things to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff. Room is clean and comfortable. Good location

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location to the heart in Rome so close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location to the heart in Rome so close to the Vatician and cafe sections

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    6.3
    area arround
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    room decoration and facilities, price

    area arround

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.6
    Willingness to help, taxi, dining recommendations, directions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing notable

    Willingness to help, taxi, dining recommendations, directions

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    No tea or coffee in room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tea or coffee in room ....or did I just not see it since we slept so well!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    8.8
    Location,staff their restaurant recommendation and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Location,staff their restaurant recommendation and the weather.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.8
    It's location near the metro station and close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's location near the metro station and close to the Vatican. The breakfast. The family atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    8.3
    Close to the underground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the underground. Saint Peter and Piazza del Popolo within walking distance. Quiet and very Clean. Recommended

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing we could complain about.

    Perfect location Comfortable and clean room Very friendly staff Tasty breakfast Good WiFi

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    10
    Excellent facilities, staff, and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent facilities, staff, and service. The location was quiet and in an excellent part of the city.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Gerber traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: