Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel De La Ville 5 stars

Largo Calamandrei 11, 43100 Parma, Italy

#11 of 31 hotels in Parma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was advertised as "THE 5 star in the city", but outside from the reception area - the 5 stars were hard to find. The rooms were more like a 2-3 star business hotel than what you would expect in a 5 star luxury hotel.

    The property offered valet parking, was clean and had a nice looking reception area. The hotel is located just outside of the city centre (about 15 minutes walking), but next to a small mall with a number of different restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't exactly know what makes this a 5 star hotel. At least our room was more like 3 or 4 star place. The room was not like in the pictures. We tried to make a bath, but the water tap didn't work properly. At the breakfast it was difficult to get a table, and many beverages were finished when we got there. It would have been nice to have some vegetables at breakfast.

    The room was clean and it had modern facilities. Wifi was great. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was ok. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not too sure I agree with the star rating. The freebies in the bathroom had been opened by someone else and hadnt been replaced.

    This was a nice hotel. It has everything we wanted for a one night stay- secure parking and a restaurant. It was a good location, able to explore parma in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was in a bathtub and old. Safe was not working. Definitely not 5 stars standard.

    everything was good not great, the room was nice, breakfast very good. Rate would be 10 if was a 4 star hotel. Park service was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to locate parking garage for the hotel. The entrance is on a side street. Look for the indicator carefully marked on street sign.

    Location, outdoor patio, room was well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about the hotel, although the reception could be warmer.

    The location of the modern hotel is excellent, being within minutes of walk away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Runny eggs, poor meat selection

    Fresh squeezed juice and tranquility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean room, nice lighting, in the heart of town. Great coffee shop next door. Helpful staff who were accommodating. Safe feeling to the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man on the reception It was not Ok

    Food and restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit tired

    Main lobby and bar area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired

    Main lobby and bar area nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit busy.

    Nice modern comfortable design.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Modern clean hotel in a quiet area Our little dogs were made to feel very welcome Secure Parking for our car was arranged on arrival

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charge for the parking , 17€ per two days ???!!!

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location close to shopping district. Clean hotel and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value tasting menue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee / tea facilities on room! Very small TV for 5* Hotel. Toilet seat broken at arrival

    Location, Dog stayed for free

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More water at the gym.

    Front desk. Barbara was extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found out when we got there the turkish bath and sauna were both out of order

    Great linens, breakfast was the best yet in Italy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs were not natural, but there was a very good selection for breakfast.

    The staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no drawers in the room the bed was too rigid

    the foods in Parma are fantastic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Passage outside room smelled very strongly of carpet cleaning powder or similar.

    Excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it took a while until someone showed up at the bar

    the big bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this is our first review on hotels we have stayed in and the reason being our unusual stay at the hotel. This hotel begs to question how it became 5 star, its the worst hotel I have stayed in and that is due to the lack of hygiene, regulation and cleanliness of the hotel. Its not worth any money if a hotel lacks in cleanliness which the hotel didn't seem to grasp the idea of when we asked for cancellation of our booking based on this. When I took a cold shower (as the hot water took its time), dirty yellow water came out over me. We found a spider web on the wall.. hairs and stains on the carpets and thick dust trails. After an upgrade, skid marks on a robe, pee stains on the floors etc its clear that the hotel reserved luxury for the lobby area and restaurant. It doesn't matter what room type you take as the level of cleanliness is a problem. In the morning we didn't even want to take a shower. Ive spent two days cleaning everything the minute we arrived home as Ive never felt so disgusted with a hotel and sorry to say a silver fish came out from one of our bags. The staff were arguing with me that nothing was wrong with the room. They took no responsibility or initiative to explain people waiting right outside the hotel, who I assume try to sell you something. The hotel has no standard, the hotel refused cancellation of the booking as it was booked online with no cancellation and obviously offered no re-imbursement or even apology. We were going to leave but my husband was sick and since i thought the suite might be barely used that I should just accept the offer which I wish I hadn't and just called it a loss. I really would like to know how the hotel has such a high rating for cleanliness. You just would not expect it!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Club nearby, so opening the windows was not helpful.. Likely an issue only on Saturday.

    Great comfortable place to explore Parma. Not totally central, but everything important can be reached on food. Gave good recommendations, very attentive staff. Perfect for business but also good for a weekend trip!

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, easy to reach by car (note the GPS address on your booking confirmation to get there). Nice, clean rooms and excellent breakfast: lots of fresh fruit.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    No coffee facility in hotel

    Excellent location in central Parma Close to local restaurants Excellent in hotel restaurant and well priced Staff are attentive and provide advice as required

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we were enjoying a huge discount on our stay it seems a little churlish to mention that one of towels was dirty and that the hotel was not really up to five star standards, nor was the very adequate but not special, breakfast, whereas dinner was definitely five star quality.

    We found the staff extremely helpful and the bedroom comfortable if not luxurious. The hotel is easy to get to and near the town centre. We could not, however, find a restaurant within walking distance. This proved a blessing since the dinner at the hotel restaurant was one of the best we have had in years of enjoying Italian food. And the price was very modest. The wine we had was excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not as comfortable as you would expect from this type of property.

    Location was great. Restaurant food and staff were very good. Room was very nice with plenty of marble in the bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Courteous, efficient and helpful staff. Extremely comfortable room with tasteful decor and everything working, including free WiFi. Valet carparking at a reasonable cost, but that's OK. We chose to have dinner in the on-site restaurant for the 2 nights of our stay. We experienced an excellent menu, great wines, and professional advice regarding choices. Thank you Allessandro, Ivan and Luca.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was super quiet, and while the view was not the greatest for our room, it was still much more than what I would have expected for the price...would definitely come back

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The neighborhood had something to be desired. Thankfully one of the best restaurants in town was in the hotel.

    The hotel was the refurbished old Barilla company, very chic and Italian modern

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room very small which is surprising for a 4-star hotel; hotel staff rather uptight and not very friendly -some training in service-mindedness could be helpful; comparing to a stay in 2008 there, the quality of the service had deteriorated

    Breakfast was diverse and of good quality which is hard to find in Italy - even in 4-star hotels; good mattress

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really kind staff

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture in the lounge not real comfortable.

    Bathrooms were very nice. Breakfast was good, but did not vary day-to-day. Staff very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothinf

    All good

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely staff, impeccable service, comfortable room and bed.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hotel was one of the best that we have stayed at.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good hotel. Close yo the centre of tiwn. 2 step from Bailla cooking school. Very ckean. Friendly team..

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    missing tea & coffee making facilities

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems

    We stayed in a suite which was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would not rate it 5 stars, 4 stars would be more appropiate

    The personnel was very friendly

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: