Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Giardinetto 3 stars

Provinciale, 28028 Pettenasco, Italy

#8 of 11 hotels in Pettenasco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 732 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Incredibly disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. 104 - supposedly a superior but obviously not. Obstructed view, positioned right above the restaurant and the heavy door to the balcony came of it’s hinges too dangerous to open. Asked to be moved at 10pm due to excessive noise above us that had gone on for hours. A door constantly banging and chairs being dragged along the floor. Reception said it was a room above us but sounded more like a bar. Every time the toilet flushed above it ran down the pipes in our room. No other superior rooms available so we had to opt for a standard and got some sleep. Luckily we were only there for one night. Receptionist at check out covered our drinks bill as an apology. Receptionist was lovely but both times we asked for help 5pm and 10pm they seemed a bit at a loss. Management needs to sort some things out. Don’t offer 104 at a superior rate then customers won’t be disappointed. Wouldn’t stay here again even if it’s lakeside.

    The lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Lake views and a genuine welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This has become a very popular Hotel, but the parking hasn't improved over the years!

    We have been coming to this hotel for nearly 20 years. It is like a home from home for us. The views from the superior lake view rooms are just stunning and the restaurant views are the same. We come back year after year because of the welcome and the relaxing atmosphere. You would be very hard pressed to find these views even from a more expensive hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing stay - hotel has it all (lake, pool, rooftop lounge, great restaurant)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room facing the road .... but in fact it didn't disturb our sleep at all and we knew in advance that we didn't book a room with a view because the hotel was full. Only used the room to shower and sleep - the hotel has such a great location with terraces right on the lake that we were not interested in staying in our room in any case!

    Lovely staff, very friendly. The rooftop lounge is wonderful in the evening - very relaxing vibe. Food in the restaurant is delicious. Location right on the lake is wonderful - plenty of sun loungers. Direct access to swim in the lake or there is also choice of the great pool. Fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    I can’t remember staying anywhere so enjoyable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu needed more variety but nice restuarants locally taxis reasonable and when we did eat at hotel food and service great

    The hotel is in a lovely location Just beautiful well worth the bit extra for lake view Lovely spacious room Staff were so pleasant and helpful Food superb Wonderful roof top bar with snacks Altogether wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is crying out for a make over as the decor in the reception areas is very dated and sombre. There is a good sized pool in the wrong location almost hidden away with very little room space around it to sit and what is there is scruffy. However the seating at the lake edge does make up for that.

    This hotel is in a fabulous location right on the lake edge. The terrace is wonderful for meals and cocktails. The food was good and the staff very friendly and attentive. The room was comfortable and we would recommend a lake view room which had its own balcony with chairs and of course stunning views over this beautiful lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    For anyone whose main goal is to have a very nice view of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For anyone whose main goal is to have a very nice view of the lake, this hotel has some rooms that are almost on top of the edge of the water, with a nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Hidden gem!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Really... Staff is very nice! Food is excellent! Views are breathtaking! Bed is big and comfortable, even pillows are much more better than in many other hotels. Should be at least four star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little. Maybe the pillows could have been a little softer

    The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff and their attention to my gluten free requirements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    The rooms with lakeview are perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway is not rebuilt yet and should be done soon. But all in all a great place to stay.

    The rooms with lakeview are perfect. Super clean, obviously just rebuilt and they give you a great view over the lake. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful stay for my Sisters wedding. Reception held at the hotel, great food, lovely staff
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point, but pillows were a bit hard and flat. Not enough of them. No tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. But, it did not spoil our stay.

    All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Good accommodation in a brilliant situation. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location for Lake Orta, with its own ferry stop. Excellent taxi service provided by Antonio contacted through the Giardinetto. The mediaeval town of Orta was very engaging. Very helpful front desk staff. Breakfast was excellent as well as free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Mostly wonderful!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room assigned had black mould. My son was allergic and was sick for days after. Caterina promised to have the problems sorted,as a definite health hazard. Room 139, in case you have health issues. Had a nice balcony off the side, but was not enough to offset, etc.,etc. No problem with other rooms.

    Just wonderful, once we changed rooms! Everything else, from food to staff excellent. Location spectacular! Almost expected Helena Bonham Carter to come flouncing in! View awesome - although my room overlooked the road, the lakeside rooms book out early as Giardinetto has many return guests. It has a charming eccentricity or "uniqueness" Hi to Caterina and staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Lovely views across L Orta in this hotel that local Italians like as well as travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was a key point in the hotel's offer and many local Italians used it. Indeed there was an Italian wedding in the Hotel on the Saturday. Good fun.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic friendly staff in a well equipped lake-front hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked last minute and therefore, only the rooms facing the highway were available. The noise from the traffic was manageable with the sliding door closed but if you are a fresh air fanatic and like to have an open window during the night, make sure you bring quality ear plugs!!

    The front desk staff are especially friendly and helpful, which makes the stay more pleasant and memorable. The lounge is comfortable and well equipped with everything needed to relax. The breakfast room with the view across the lake is fantastic. The deck chairs for lounging by the lake is comfortable and relaxing. It's also great that the WiFi works well there so it was possible to do some work from there as well. Overall the hotel and what it offers is well thought out, with everything that travellers need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A jewel of a hotel on gorgeous Lake Orta. Memorable and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom is a bit small and the sink could be improved.

    The Hotel Giardinetto is a jewel. The setting is astonishingly beautiful, right on Lake Orta where calm water as clear as bottled mineral water lap up to lush green hills dotted with charming villages around the lake. The hotel's deck allows you to sunbathe and walk gently into the lake for a refreshing swim which even in early September was comfortable. A beautiful pool is just on the side.The hotel has its own dock for the lake boats that take you to town and to see beautiful San Giulio island with its quiet garden, monastery and lakeside restaurant. The staff is friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast is generous, tasty and varied--including amazing homemade breads and pastries. Rooms are clean and neat ; ask for a lakeside even if its costs a bit more. The hotel prices provide excellent value for money. We will return!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Watch out for those mosquitos...great location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos meant we couldnt sit on balcony at night. Bar staff were slow.

    Stunning location and views from our lake view room. Great swim with fishes in the lake and staff wete very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice location with spectacular views...watch out for mosquitoes in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room we were given was dated and bathroom was very narrow. No childrens menu available and mosquitoes were an issue at night. Bar service was slow as reception covered both areas.

    Stunning location and swimming facilities as you could swim in the lake or the pool. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Not a bad stay, but we'd expected more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had expected more regarding the nice and pretty pictures. We would have liked to have a lake view bedroom, the room and hotel itself was a little outdated (though clean). We had two separate beds which were put very close to each other but they could easily be moved away from each other, we wish it was just one large double bed. We expected that the pool and lake were at the same level but the pool was higher than the lake and had a more difficult excess than the lake. The chairs at the lake could have been more luxurious and there were too many of them which was not needed. The main owner of the hotel (we think it was the owner or boss) could have been more friendly.

    We enjoyed the fact that the hotel was at the lake, with a beautiful view during breakfast! We really liked that there was a book in the room which included recommendations and things to do in the neighborhood! We thought the dinner at the hotel was quite expensive so we had dinner two times in a row at the same pizzeria (forgot the name, but it was a very long Italian name) which was very nice and only 600m walking. Definitely recommend that! Overall, the stay was okay for 2 nights and the view of the lake was magnificent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Regretfully, an enjoyable stay ruined by the poor accomodation - the most essential part of any stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked and paid for a Superior Lake View room , essentially the best available on your site and, from your photos, the room was an unimpeded lovely broad view of the lake . We received a room with partial lake view obscured by a large tree and the side of the building. When we queried this ( twice) at the front desk they were unable to change us to another room despite the fact that there was a regular daily turnover of superior view rooms but, I assume, as we were from Aust. and not likely to be return customers we were unable to get what we'd paid for or expected. This was extremely disappointing and and the only negative in an otherwise enjoyable stay. As we use Bookings .com on a regular basis we will be very cautious in future about the validity of your offerings when we cannot be certain we will receive what is showing on the website. As you receive your commission whether the room is what we purchased, or not, then we have no recourse but I believe we were not given what we purchased and therefore should receive some recompense as a result. Our allocated room was 104 and any reasonable investigation by your company would confirm that this was not a Superior Room with Lake View particularly when compared with all the other rooms in this category. In view of this occurence we will not be using Bookings.com for future hotel bookings. Sincerely Peter Fisher

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Adequate facilities. Lovely location with nice views across the lake. Staff mostly unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unhelpful mostly. Reception staff not too bad. Restaurant staff not good - missed one entree and steak absolutely raw (requested medium rare). To be fair didn't charge us for either of those. Also difficult to get a pre-dinner drink. Staff busy having a break.

    Room clean. Nice balcony. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Rooms were comfy, Overall this is quite a dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool was not clean so did not wish to use. No tea/coffee facilities in room.

    Rooms were comfy, Overall this is quite a dated hotel. The restaurant and views were amazing. Staff very very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice relaxed stay at lake d'Orta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are a lot of parking lots available (some rather narrow), but there was a wedding on Saturday and then finding a parking lot is rather difficult and there are no nearby street parkings. The hotel lies a bit outside of the village of Pettenasco which has a few restaurants, but walking there along the street requires to be careful, heavy traffic and no proper walking path beside the street (anyway, it is not too long).

    We have been several times in the Giardinetto Hotel. We always take a room on the lake side, there is no street noise to hear (the street has heavy traffic), and the view towards the lake is phantastic. Good breakfast buffet with a good choice of products. The hotel is directly along the lake and it is easy to go and take a swim in the lake. We also took a dinner in the restaurant on the terasse with a table directly beside the lake. The food was excellent (but the restaurant is expensive compared to other restaurants in the region).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I had booked the hotel on the hotel web site I would have saved money. The price per night on booking.com was considerably more expensive and this price on booking.com was quoted as a bargain price. I am reconsidering my future booking with booking.com as I found this again for another hotel on my holiday.

    The location is good. The public transport boat service on the lake pulls into the dock at the hotel which makes travelling on the lake very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Stunning Lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking can be a pain.

    We have stayed many times at the Giardinetto and we always come back for the friendly welcome and the fantastic views. (superior lake view rooms).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.4
    Lake Orta is nice but not the best hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resaurant food expensive, tasteless and small portions, not wort the prize. Big road just outside the hotel, we got a room facing the street due that we asked for a silent room. Superior room with low class and bad cleaning. No new towels when left on the floor old ones re hanged. Dangerous road, walk path when going to the beach area and other restaurants. Cold room with only option to get even colder. High irritating sound from ventilation.

    The view over the lake was exceptional. Good help from staff regarding maps of hiking trails in the surroundings. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    4.2
    Shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is downright shabby. The hallways, art, paint job, pool, decks, etc are all in desperate need of upkeep, repair and updating. Balconies were filthy -- dirt, bird poop, etc. No pool towels, odd staff responses, and even hygiene issues in the restaurant staff...very strange paint jobs and art. Lakefront location is great, if only it would be well-run and well taken care of.

    View and some aspects of the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Great get away from it all place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was great and fine but small.

    The restaurant and rooftop bar was fab. I would have loved if the bar/snack menu was available in the evening too as the A La Carte could be a bit limited but the food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely holiday on beautiful lake orta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffe served in the breakfast room is bad. We went to the village after breakfast for good coffe. The staff at breakfast were a bit surly. Not very pleasant.

    Lovely location a good breakfast is served.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    A spacious hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of my travelling companions was very badly bitten by mosquitoes. The staff did put out repellent candles but by them it was too late. No one else in our party was bitten so maybe the little devils considered him to be the juiciest out of the four of us :-)

    The hotel has a spacious terrace and the lakeside views from there are magnificent. A lovely place to enjoy an afternoon drink in the sun and to have dinner with friends. I had a large deluxe room which was really nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Lake views are wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, dinner was average. Parking on site although the day we were there a wedding was taking place and parking was unavailable for a time. Lake view with a balcony was superb and the pool was nice and refreshing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Really beautiful hotel, we had a fantastic lakeside room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed by the restaurant, where the staff were not so friendly. Food good but expensive. We had a much cheaper and more enjoyable meal the next evening in the village nearby.

    Really beautiful hotel, we had a fantastic lakeside room with balcony. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent pedalos!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice relaxing stay next to Lake Orta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there were no footpaths from the hotel to the next town or village so you had to use your car to go places as opposed to just walking along the lakeside to the beautiful towns and villages

    The location next to the lake with the restaurant overlooking the lake

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location, hotel average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the restaurant the place feels odd, it's a poor modernist building that has tried to be done up in parts but just doesn't feel very nice to be in. Smells funny in places as well, like off cleaning products or something. Restaurant was lovely food and atmosphere but no atmosphere elsewhere.

    Reception staff are absolutely lovely, but felt other staff were 'just doing a job' no real passion or interest in customers, although seems like they get on themselves. Location is great on the lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Splendid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel right on the lake with amazing views. Charming staff. Excellent food. Very pleasant in every way. Nice terraces right on the water. I am quite a picky hotel guest but found no flaw here. (But the beds are as so often in Italy a bit hard...) Intended to return but it was sold out. Will be back again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.3
    Stunning view onto Lago di Orta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view from the restaurant terrace. Food was very good, but rather expensive when you eat "à la carte". The bed was very good - I slept very well even though the room was facing towards the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Really need to be in a lake view room to get the most out of your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal that we had was rather disappointing, apart from the cheese selection that my wife really liked.

    Great views of the lake, once we had changed rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice stop for relaxing afternoon and evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat ride to a nearby island did not return to land for over four hours and this was more time than we wanted to spend there, so we got off in the city center (last stop before island). Nice shops and restaurants but no taxis around to get back to hotel.

    Nice breakfast, room with working ac, very nice fine dining under the stars, and drinks on the sunning deck made for an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    7.9
    Peaceful-relaxing hotel in superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wi-fi did not work in bedroom

    Great location with magnificent lake view from bedroom.Bed and room comfortable,staff helpful.Good restaurant.Free parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Perfect relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of option around places to eat. Hotel has good food but can be a bit expensive. There is a pizzeria within walking distance but you are limited if you don't hire a car.

    Great location, really beautiful place, the photos do not do it justice! Staff really helpful and friendly. It is extremely quiet so perfect for a chilled out break!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic location and wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    This is a fantastic hotel. The location is perfect and the staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful. Nothing is to much trouble. Breakfast is great - lots of choice We were in one of the cheaper rooms facing the road but it was comfortable and met our needs and great value for money. I cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay - it was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in We will most certainly return. Lake Orta is stunning and a wonderful location for a wedding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    It would have been very good if there was not the noise of the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very noisy room, along a road with traffic. the window does'nt soundproof enough Rooms with view on the lake should'nt have this problem.

    Great location, very good restaurant with a view on the lake

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    One night stand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed to not really care much. Piles of rubbish on view during breakfast which could have been collected

    The view from the lakeside room and the pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.3
    I love the location and the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds really uncomfortable,

    I love the location and the restaurant. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing, perfect choice! Highlight the bar! Perfect gin tonic!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.1
    Staff are great, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a room that didn't face the lake, it faced onto a busy road and this kept us (and baby) awake. Internet connection (although free) didn't work very well and when it did the reception was weak.

    Staff are great, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    the setting, the staff, the lake swimming, food very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    poor wifi, slightly dated public areas, no restocking of toiletries

    the setting, the staff, the lake swimming, food very good value, very good wine list

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    Great place for a break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi reception was sporadic, with no access in the room.

    The situation of this Hotel against the lakeside is first class. The swimming in the lake or the pool is a great choice. The restaurant in the evening has a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    7.5
    A renovated room with the lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A public rooms seemed dark and worn-out,needed update.Corridors seemed unclean.

    A renovated room with the lake view.A good level restaurant with the nice lake view and with the lovely personal service.A possibility to swim in the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant staff that went above and beyond to make our stay special. Lovely peaceful location and views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing and pleasant, most enjoyably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view of our Balcony to the Lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed, lovely terrace and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Machine coffee at breakfast. In Italy! disappointing

    Comfy bed, lovely terrace and restaurant. High quality food and wine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed

    Food, location, views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location right on the lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right on the lake!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    if you get the opportunity to visit Lake Orta and stay at Giardinetto - do not pass up the chance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we had to leave

    The staff made us feel welcomed and made every effort to please us at every possible opportunity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    View from bedroom was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from bedroom was fantastic. Loved being able to sit out on our balcony. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem for them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Have stayed before so know what it is like.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Have stayed before so know what it is like. Wonderful location and good facilities with very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    great place for nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed the lake view aand srrounding activities. Stresa was a great town to visit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kayaks were an extra cost

    The staff and the serenity of the view. Felt like we were on a cruise ship.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok if you want to be really fussy the bathroom fan was a bit noisy

    Great lakeside setting good views from the balcony easy walk into town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ristorante

    The position

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Hotel could do with some renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant was overpriced. Coffee was worst I've ever tasted.

    The view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful tranquil location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful tranquil location , Orta town was an amazing place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    The bed was big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was big and comfortable. Breakfast great, and dinner in the restaurant perfection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu could have a greater choice

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    Very very noisy from two weddings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy from two weddings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Great location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location food wonderful staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    The terrace for lunch and breakfast was delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar was noisy and overall the cost was too high.

    The terrace for lunch and breakfast was delightful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection!

    Beautiful lakeside location & lovely service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Great lakeside hotel, good restaurant & plenty of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous view over the lake. Everything really very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.8
    The view, stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    The view, stunning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    6.3
    Great location but bring ear plugs and get to breakfast early!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms have terrible sound proofing, breakfast is not replenished often enough

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    We will return - which says it all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small fridge in bedroom - it was so hot. Daily English newspapers.W

    Roof top bar! Simple to ask for extras, eg. Fruit in room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Lake Orta stunner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy wedding party

    Fabulous location and views. Good but not great breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Consistently excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay too short!

    Probably everything. It was our 6th visit. Always consistent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.3
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    interior decor a bit dated . need more bar staff in the evening

    unbeatable location , good wine selection !

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Giardinetto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: