Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Giardino Delle Ninfe E La Fenice 3 stars

Via Nuova Cartaromana, 133, Ischia Porto, 80077 Ischia, Italy

#156 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 203 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having the time to stay another night :(

    Very friendly helpful staff & owners. Dinner was excellent and great value. Breakfast was all good freshly prepared local produce and offered a wider choice than larger hotels where we stayed in Italy. I booked here to use the thermal pools after an 11 day tour and was amazed by how much pain was taken away by soaking in the pools for 30 minutes. Excellent view directly over Aragonese Castle from our room and from the hot pools. Definitely recommended and I would stay here again. One day was not enough to enjoy all that the island has to offer and I suggest you book 2-3 days as a minimum for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    2.9
    Lovely location but not a good hotel - staff helpful but owner seemed hostile and unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room - hard working staff but very unfriendly owner and noisy generator beside my room making for poor sleep

    Worst breakfast ever in my experience in italy - very noisy generator - affected my enjoyment and sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.6
    the view is nice.... but that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    dirty and dusty room dirty thermal baths terrible food (often old or frozen and everything full of oil) lacks professionality (it looked like we were in someones house) the breakfast food was dry and old overpriced drinks

    we liked the view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    4.2
    Loved the view but disappointed overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    BF buffet same everyday, tasteless processed ham, plastic cheese and hard boiled eggs are the only savoury options. Fittings/furnishing tired looking and interior gloomy. Staff hardly speaks any English so it resulted in some misunderstandings. Taxi ordered for 545am to the port did not arrive, there was no one around to ask for help, no connection so you can't even call for another taxi on our phones. Luckily the local bus no. C13 arrived just in time for us to hop on. Thermal pools disappointing, loose tiles, smells like sitting in a bath of rusty water, no outside shower, dog or cat poo in grass (gross!)...and you have to pay extra for bath robe, cap and slippers unless you BYO...no towels provided and you cannot use the ones in your room. the place is overrun with mangy looking cats, same just outside the hotel. The area outside the hotel could do with some cleaning, rubbish lying around, someone just go outside with a brush! oh, and bring mosquito repellent, we have some nasty bites.

    Superior room with view, it is fantastic from the balcony. we walked to Piazzale Aragonese in about 15 minutes but it is hilly and will not be possible for those with walking difficulty or with children. there is a local bus service (C12 and C13, not foc), to the port area which runs every half hour - one bus goes the long way, does a loop up the hill and the other is quicker, just check the schedule. Staff were nice but the owner and his wife seem cranky and unfriendly, perhaps its the language barrier (but hey, a smile would be nice) but we were in the end afraid to ask anything from them.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    It only needs some TLC to make the most of it's potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall he hotel and fittings were tired, the food was not what we expected from an Italian hotel and the WIFI was terrible, given we had to pay for WIFI you would think it would work, it didn't. We couldn't remember the hotel name and had to have it written down on a piece of paper.

    We liked the location and private beach. We could see Castello Aragonese at all times which is a stunning view to have. Easy walking distance to a lovely town. There was access to a local beach and fantastic beach restaurant & bar (Da Maria)next door which could be reached by boat, from the hotel next door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    5.8
    Great view, bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They asked for extra 30€ for using the facilities and sea for 3 days!. So review your booking.com statement carefully. Internet is not free. Bf ends at 9!!

    Great view of Aragones castle, nice facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location, perfect views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, perfect views! Super nice family owns & runs it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely see view and nice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old and parking is bad

    Nice place good breakfast and the gardens and the view are amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Critical voyagers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is not free. It's 20€ per person

    The view. The staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardish bed

    Lovely hosts

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.8
    Goodlocation but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything cost extra

    Good locacition

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.2
    Amazing views of castle from seaview rooms and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to pay for wifi. Health spa was not open as was off peak when I stayed

    Amazing views of castle from seaview rooms and restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant good value

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    5.8
    It was a very nice little beach that belonged to the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not welcoming, the first day we asked the reception for some directions on how we should find a beach close by and the lady only said that she dont know and she is not from there. The staff speak very little english so I could barely communicate with them, however my partner is flowent in Italian but even if the language beria wasn't there they were very short and not very friendly.

    It was a very nice little beach that belonged to the hotel, unfortunately the sun went in shadow about 3 o'clock because of the mountain. The breakfast was very nice and the gentleman that was serving us every morning was very nice and he made some amazing capuchinos.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    The view of Castello Aragonese from the hotel is stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Be prepared for lots of steps - in the hotel, as well as to the beach. But it's worth it. It's a bit away from Ischia Ponte, but within the walking distance.

    The view of Castello Aragonese from the hotel is stunning anytime during the day. The hotel has its own hot spring in the garden with little basins. Staff is very kind and helpful. We returned already the second time. Swimming around little Cartaromana islands is great and water was still warm in September.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    3.3
    U guys have sent them ur 2012 award which is hung in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    II know the view is absolutely spectacular but you can only live on that for so long it needs repairs it has a empty swimming pool with weeds and two big tanks in it .the property hasn't been cleaned and trimmed the hot water pool is cold !!!there's garbage(old 1/2 a boat + wood) at their private beach to old wooden boxes, tarps up to the upper top property( wer 10 units live)oh yea they Wundt call me a cab that I wanted who I knew but only their pals ( rebates I assume )also they said"the only internet that doesn't work is apple" They need s little shuttle as I found a small very ruff road on the side of the property that they cud bring older people up on!!

    U guys have sent them ur 2012 award which is hung in the lobby!!!!u shud go back and check it out and then take it back This place is like a garbage dump not a hotel??? From the lobby to my room was 125 stairs no elevator no ways of getting up to the property except by steps but they did have a man tae r bags up and down

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    3.3
    Pretty location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were unhelpful and confrontational. Very poor standard of breakfast and buffet was not replenished .staff had little English and had not checked special requests that were sent on booking form .

    Pretty location .nice beach

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.3
    The most amazing views of the castle from your balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very dated property. Lack of privacy on your balcony as your neighbour us sitting righ there. A frudge in the room but nothing in it, could atkeastv have water. Make sure you have door to balcony closed for your AC to work as it's connected to a sensor. Owner grumped his way up the stairs when I went to ask why our AC wasn't working.

    The most amazing views of the castle from your balcony. Really great restaurants close by. This part of the island was our favourite. Hotel set amongst lots of trees.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    3.3
    The thermal pool, but the sun leaves at 4pm and it is windy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to fo up the equivalent of 10 floor of steps to get to our room, which was actually outside the complex area. We were offered to discount becuase of this, even after asking to be moved. Our double bed was two twins, wiht a big ridge in the middle. The bed coveres were itchy and dated. The shower did not work properly. You could not even sit on the loo properly as it was so close to the wall!!!!!!!!! the tiled floor in the room was freezing and there was no toast for breakfast! The receptionists or the eledery couple did not speak english. Other guests were complaining about the same issue at the recpetion!

    The thermal pool, but the sun leaves at 4pm and it is windy and very cold, as it is on a cliff.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    5.0
    View, weather, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was on its last legs, falling apart!

    View, weather, comfortable bed

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Hotel Giardino Delle Ninfe E La Fenice traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: