Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Giardino 3 stars

Via Magnolfi, 2/4/6, 59100 Prato, Italy

#5 of 15 hotels in Prato

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast ample in quiet surrounds. Staff always cheerful, helpful. Location perfect for persons attending conferences at the Monash Univ Research Center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I stayed 5 nights. My room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The staff were all friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great, and even greater once I found out I could ask for an espresso coffee. The location in Prato was near major sights, good food and a train station. And Prato itself was a superb base for exploring Tuscany. I'd happily stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, very friendly and couldn't do enough to help! The breakfast was super, so tasty! Restaurants served wonderful food near by and everything was close to the hotel! I would 100% recommend this place as the family run business is so welcoming!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was horrible. They guarded the door and we're judgemental. I brought a work colleague to help me carry my bags down and they wouldn't let them come up for 10 minutes to help me pack. They made them wait in the lobby and treated me like a child. They also we're more expensive than other much nicer rooms all around. I will never stay at Hotel Giardino again and I will tell my colleagues to avoid this location too

    The breakfast was not bad. Everything else was weak

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    This is a small family run hotel. Rooms were spotless, breakfasts simple but fresh and tasty, atmosphere very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend to anyone going to Prato. Will definitely be back! Thank you to all for making us feel so welcome. Kind regards, Lorna Maclellan, Australia.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Comfortable accommodations. Great location. Within walking distance to train station, shopping, great places to eat. Breakfast was included and the pastry was amazing. Wish they served espresso or cappuccino instead or perked coffee, otherwise perfect. Cleaning staff lovely. Windows open to the outside creating a comfortable breeze even in warmer weather.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very kind and helpful. The recommended restaurant was perfect. We only stayed one night as Prato was one station of our round trip, but I would go back anytime.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a bit updated decorations, furniture, etc. Smell in the reception area.

    If you come to see the town, or have a meeting in the center, hotel is at the doorstep of duomo, 3 minute walk from train, rooms are clean. Very basic, no extras, parking alowed for guests on the street next to hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet is a bit of a hassle, you have to get a code for each device, etc.

    Conveniently located near the historic Duomo and a short walk to the train station that goes into Florence. Hotel owners were very helpful with information.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The street a little bit noisy, and early in the morning at 7 o'clock you will be awaked by the bells of the cathedral, but sometimes this could be a good thing for the travelers. The breakfast not so various.

    Position - very near of the "Piazza del Duomo" and the center of the city; the bathroom very clean; the towels have been changed each day; very good and free wi-fi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were dated and not as comfortable as we would have liked. The street below our room was very loud all night, making it very difficult to sleep. Obviously the hotel can't control what happens outside, so no fault to them. It was so hot that we needed the window open, but then couldn't sleep due to so much noise outside at night.

    It is close to the train station and the staff were incredibly kind and helpful. They went out of their way to be helpful, which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is need of decoration and updating. The breakfast is also in need of improvement.

    The bedroom was spacious and the bed was comfortable, staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not the best area near the railway station, so head toward the city and stay in the bright lights! better as a couple than solo. Difficult to find without a sat nav due to one way streets etc

    great location, great value, friendly staff. old hotel but spotless and comfortable. Parking difficult but they found me a spot outside so lucky. Superb spoot right on main piazza of the old city so easy walk to bars and shops etc. mainly italian tourists here and locals fom university etc.textile musuem worth a visit. City very livley on saturday night!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kettle/tea/coffee in room - usual in UK but perhaps not in Italy? Streets/square outside can be very noisy but it is absolutely fine if you close the window and make use of air-con instead.

    Staff/Owners very nice. Location great. Clean. Nice family hotel feel. I stayed here on a business trip last year and was happy to return again with my wife.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Help with my bags when requested would have been nice. When I did request help, and even offered to pay for help, every male staff member disappeared.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast (they even let me grab fruit after uni!) super friendly and caring staff (got concerned emails during my first vacation!), fantastic location, helpful when it came to finding locations, getting to know prato. Spacious room with competitive rates. Staff really made sure that i felt safe (and that my luggage/belongings were secure). Amazing hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. I can't think of one thing that I would change, I will be back.

    The stay was quiet and the staff were very helpful, I loved the ambience of this place, I did not want to leave.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel's lift is really noisy...and it's very bad for guests with rooms close by the elevator's column

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all is well

    room is very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    god breakfast, central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly people!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to main square restaurants and shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Delightful homely hotel with very friendly staff. Excellent location in the heart of Prato

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ability to adjust temperature in the room.

    Excellent location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to park

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast... was poor !!!

    Excellent staff...very clean and big beautifull rooms.. Very good location !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming and helpful hosts. One of the best places I stayed on my recent trip.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old furniture, poor decoration, small bathroom

    the frienliness of the staff and the hotel location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect location friendly staff that helps you in parking although you re exactly at piazza duomo

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower.

    Good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit so-so. :-)

    Very friendly staff made it feel like coming home each time we came back to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only able to connect one device to the wifi

    Great location just by the Cathedral in Prato and a handy alternative to staying in Florence

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is an older style family-run hotel, well run, and perfectly located for the experience of Prato - and the short train ride into Florence.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poorer value than other hotels on the railway line between Lucca and Firenze, at least when we were there at Easter in late March - other hotels in Prato seemed no better. Poor breakfast. Public areas cramped.

    Good location on the cathedral square and only 5 minutes walk from Prato "Porto a Serraglio" railway station (not Centrale). Very helpful, pleasant staff. Prato is worth a stop for the recently renovated Lippis, cathedral museum and the walled and well preserved medieval centre but maybe as a day trip. We had a very enjoyable meal at Aroma di Vino, behind the cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The beds were terribly uncomfortable, no tea or coffee making facilities. The breakfast choice was poor.

    The staff were excellent, so friendly. The location was also very central. Good price for stay also.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Wonderful, friendly hotel. Breakfast was great! All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Location is terrific, able to walk everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hospitality was warm, welcoming and always friendly - both from family members and from all other staff - in this family run hotel. The hotel is very central and in a great location both for Monash (work) and for the train to Florence (fun).

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was bad and sometimes down and you have to pay for it. "Italian breakfast"

    Nice place near Duomo. Nice Italian Family running the restaurant. Some streetnoise that I like during daytime. It was quiet after closing the window.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Intermittent WiFi coverage and none in the bedroom. Nowhere communal to sit outside such as a balcony or terrace.

    Very nice helpful staff, central location and 3 mins from the train station. Everyone went out of their way to answer queries, print off information and generally provide an excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Be great if there was an iron in the room plus kettle with tea/coffee making facilities, otherwise perfect.

    The staff were amazing. Very helpful and caring. Great location just 200m from train station and less than 5 mins to Monash University Prato campus.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heading system was sbuffo catino, and the air was worse than stale. Leaving the windows open and turning the heat off did'nt help that much, and then there was the traffic noise.

    Very good location and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Helpful, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy neighbourhood. Extra charge for wifi

    Parking available

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You need to pay for Wifi, Not many options for breakfast.

    Friendly Staff Close to the Train Station. 5 Minute walk

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing negative!

    very friendly and helpful staff; very well equipped rooms;

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location . We did not feel safe .

    Very helpful staff .

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed quite hard

    Friendly and helpful. Thank god for the aircon!!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Centre town for walkabout

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel and its proximity to town square, shops, restaurants etc.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paid wifi

    The friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    camera essenziale.

    Staff e colazione

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Brakfast is unacctepable this age.

    Perfect location, very nice family atmosphere, old town

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Uncomfortable beds very soft.

    Good location.great staff. Spacious rooms. Really great staff!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Pay for the wifi 2euros per hour poor breakfast

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    poor brecfast.and pay wi-fi.

    the very polite staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    noise coming from the bar ? over the road

    staff friendly and welcoming , good continental breakfast

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Hotel Giardino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: