Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ginori Al Duomo 4 stars

Via Ginori 22/24/26, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#101 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1154 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was quite small and there were A LOT of stairs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small and there were A LOT of stairs! But it was in a great location and everything is super close by. The staff are really friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    we had a lovely stay the staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room overlooked the street which was noisy at times but we were not unhappy as the room and bed was very comfy.

    we had a lovely stay the staff were very helpful and friendly. Excellent location. Breakfast was good and again staff very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Fluffy pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool not included in stay! Main reason for booking, the fact that we had to pay for the pool was a huge let down! This information was hidden at the bottom of our booking confirmation, so we were a bit surprised. Not the hotels fault.

    Fluffy pillows! Wonderfull staff, great coffee and breakfast was cosy in the back yard! Would stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Tha staff was wonderfull, very helpfull, especially Irina...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tha staff was wonderfull, very helpfull, especially Irina (she speaks russian) - her hospitality is on the highest level! This hotel is in an ancient building, so the rooms are rather old fashioned, not modern renovated, but it makes the atmosphere there so special. The location is perfect - eshort scroll from Duomo and other attractions. We loved our stay there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location for sightseeing. Get breakfast elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated decor - sense that the hotel is ‘run-down’. Noisy at night - outside. Noisy in morning - walls & doors cheap/thin so could hear other guests/staff coming & going quite early - woken from our sleep. Poor quality breakfast - everything from a machine, and food not replaced at all/quickly enough. Seemed to be family hotel, so avoid if you don’t want to see lots of children.

    Friendly staff. Good location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    A Must Hotel if staying in Firenze.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.........What a lovely Hotel and a perfect location

    The Hotel and Staff are superb.......Would without a shadow of doubt if I return to Firenze would Definately look into this Hotel again!!!The Room we had was lovely....a very modern up to date Bathroom with plenty of room.The Swimming pool is very small but as long as it's not busy can feel cosy.A Very good Hotel all round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    A stone throw from the best bits of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little disappointed at the 25€ charge to use the pool. It's not somewhere you would spend a whole day and it wasn't worth it to pay that to pop down for an hour or so. Shame.

    Couldn't ask for a better location. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Did not meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking process through booking.com is innacurate. I requesed twin beds and we were given a double. This is a fault with booking.com however and not the hotel. The room we had was nothing like pictures. It was small, tired and with a very small bathroom. Needs updating. Having travelled a lot I would say that this hotel is not a 4 star but more like a 3 star.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    We recommend this hotel. Great location and excellent, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room was poor. Old eyes need more light to see and read.

    Excellent staff, was very helpful. Wonderful location. We were in the middle of all the key sites, yet walked to the train station when it was time to move on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    Delightful boutique hotel right in the centre of it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were at the front of the building so on the pedestrian/road side and the worst thing was the disruptive noise from revellers in the early hours. A couple of our party were woken up every night and could not get back to sleep. Obviously this is not something the hotel can control, but try and get a room off the front. Also the stairs are quite steep to the bedrooms so if you have trouble with stairs this may not be the place for you.

    Great location, really central so within easy walking distance to lots of attractions. Great breakfast and the decor was very traditional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location! Don't book for the pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a make over, very dark. Booked to use pool facilities & have a chill but it cost 15 euros each for a quick dip so did not use! very disappointed.

    Beds were comfy Location great friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very crowded - too small for the furniture and all the 'added extras'.

    Very good location. Quiet rooms. Good shower. Complimentary bottle of wine in room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, great location, nice rooms, bit noisy in street side, if room is in the qwiet side you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was toward street and it was noisy even with closed window, my sister had a room in opposite side and she said it was qwiet

    Extremly professional, polite, war-nice and friendly staff, welcoming, great location, large room, nice old fashioned classic decore and wide variety of breakfast option in a nice atmosphere, and I liked the cellar and the wine tasting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Florence is a wonderful place, and hotel is ideally situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the economy room was very small and a lower standard than we expected...but, we were upgraded for free, very quickly, without having to make a fuss.

    They responded quickly and positively to any concerns we had

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location, however noisy at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little basic the bedding could be more sumptuous. The stairs were steep to the rooms and there were three levels to climb, we were fine but it would not do for anyone who may struggle with stairs. The worst thing was the amount of noise from revlers in the early hours each night. I was woken up but could get back to sleep however, some members of our party could not get back to sleep and were very tired most days.

    Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. Lovely towels in the bathroom. The location is the best thing, you are in the centre with so many places of interest in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location with a comfortable room and bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bathroom was a little on the small side and felt very cramped, however, I understand that these are older buildings and to alter them can be an issue. The television was on the small side and not very many channels to offer (I could only find 4), however, wasn’t that bothered as I wasn’t here to watch tv. I thought the breakfast was a bit boring but it was continental.

    Excellent bed and the general room size was good. Storage for clothes was very good and air conditioning was excellent actually did the work it’s supposed to do. That there was no lifts, we were on the 3rd floor and it was great excercise to get up and down 3-4 times a day. The hotel is in a fairly quiet location, but turn left and within 2 minutes you are within the area of bars and restaurants and within 5 minutes you are at the Duomo, can’t fault the location. Food and drinks are reasonably priced as opposed to other parts of Italy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room right next to the breakfast area and with the only window out on the terrace on the ground floor which was noisy in the morning and was a little different than the pictures. Wifi didn t work

    Great location Very good breakfast Nice rooms Very nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect beautique hotel experience in Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent, the location was perfect, the courtyard pool and hot tub area was small but beautiful and the ancient wine cellar was spectacular!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Would rather have stayed further for a nicer experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior hotel colors were dark and the room was always dark even with all lights on. The bed was hard with little cushioning with thin blankets. There was no tub only a shower. The breakfast buffet was not very tasty and the restaurant room was poorly appointed with no windows or view.

    The location was excellent, the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for a short stay and charming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a tad dated but that’s not so important.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful, e.g. printing off online tickets for attractions I’d prebooked, and for general enquiries. Bags were carried up to and down from the room, which was a great help. The cleanliness was top notch. Wi-fi worked well - good for the pre-bed kid’s streamed movie!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Happy with the service of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is still dark. It would be nice if rooms will be bright too for those with poor eyesight.

    The staff are welcoming, helpful & friendly esp David in reception during our check in & another lady at the reception on our checkout the next day , also the staff who helped us carry the luggages to our room in first floor & the staff at the restaurant during the breakfast .Well done to all of you...excellent job !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated near the Plazza del Duomo. Is right in the city center. The rail station is 15 min away walking. The personal from the hotel is very kind. The room is confortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful city, delicious food and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit disorganised and could have been a better quality. But the staff did try.

    Great location and the staff very extremely helpful and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Six days in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Though the breakfast choice was very good, the "hot" food was sometimes tepid and never varied. Plenty of tasty pastries to make up for it.

    The hotel decor is superb with paintings on the ceiling of the room. The staff were friendly and professional at all times. Located 5 mins walk from the Duomo and surrounded by restaurants, it is comfortable and features an extensive wine cellar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Strategic for site seeing and SHOPPING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    My stay was wonderful. David helped me all along from the beginning. Met him and he exceeded expectation. There was a petite girl at the counter / the morning shift. She was excellent as well. They are both just great and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Florence in January
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is great close to most of the sites and yet not right in the middle of it all. The staff was very helpful and responsive. The breakfast was generous and varied in offerings. I felt that the hotel was good value for the money paid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    It was really nice stay in the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast has be a bit better

    Best location, the renovated rooms are really good, I lost an expensive fur jacket and Alena the receptionist was really helpful, she helped me after checking out and travel to another city to find a courier and ship it to my home in London.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    The hotel has a great location in the city-center, just 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a great location in the city-center, just 5 min away from Del Fiore. The staff is exceptional, especially Josef. The breakfast was substantial enough. The hotel’s cappuccino was amazingly tasty!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay at the hotel
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine bar was closed

    The staff, bed comfort, and the location are all amazing. The location of the hotel is very impressive, near to the main train station, most historical locations, bus station, resturents, shopping area. It is just wow

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    A "jewel" by the Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed with extraordinary affability by the personnel of this beautiful little hotel. Its courtyard, its reading nooks, its little lounge and the whole atmosphere are arranged with taste and kept tidy and in perfect order. Our room was cosy and very quiet. The bathroom was roomy and absolutely clean. The breakfast was rich and various and the serving personnel very kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff was amazing .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was amazing .. specially Davide ! He was super nice. Very welcoming & informative . The location of the hotel was great .. very close to the centre & even to Fortezzo Da Basso .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Breakfast was amazing (and included!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was amazing (and included!), rooms were beautiful, the location was perfect- Duomo was steps away and a bunch of awesome places to eat nearby as well. The staff was exceptional and went out of their way to help us numerous times. If we are ever in Florence again we will be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    The room was nice, good shower and comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guy at the reception did not speak English and messed up the reservations. Therefore it took us 1,5 hour to get our room keys at 00:00 which was very frustrating.

    The room was nice, good shower and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Another gem to add to our favorite Florence hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the street and was subject to noise late at night due to a bar/ristorante nearby.

    The Wine cellar was a unique and fun experience. The Staff was exceptional. The restoration looked great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Nice breakfast, friendly people, enjoy three nights here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, friendly people, enjoy three nights here! The location is definitely perfect. It takes several minutes to arrive to many famous places!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were superb . When we first arrived we were in room 15, however it was very noisy due to being front facing. We asked to changed rooms, and the staff couldn’t be more helpful. We moved to room 24 which was excellent. Loved the tour of the wine cellar and the glass of wine to taste.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, since this is part of a historical building. Breakfast is very basic

    Excellent location- walking distance from train station and Centre. Superb staff, especially Alina at reception. Would stay again, pls excellent value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    The staff was GREAT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was GREAT! The night I checked in, I was given a special tour of their cantina and learned so much about wine and history of the hotel in 20 minutes. My room was also exceptional, very comfortable and great size.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would prefer a little bit longer bed because I am tall.

    The location was fantastic. I can't ask for a better one. Very close to everything. The room was very clean and the bathroom spacious. There is no lift, but personally it didn't bother me at all. Anyway the personnel is always eager to help you with your luggage. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Need better 4 star management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a standard room in first floor was noisy. The a/c is not good. The bathroom is not to a level of 4 star hotel. Still room facilities poor and cleanliness need to be supervised. The breakfast has to be better served. Wifi disconnects in the garden area.

    Friendly staff. Location. They upgraded my room to suite ! Historical building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Central location, friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Central location, friendly & helpful. We extended one day, staff gave excellent directions and called the taxi to the airport. We passed through 3 locked doors to our room & it felt secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    The staff were very helpful and friendly, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the shower did not go down and started pooling around your feet if taking even a short shower. The property is really three star, but the price was that of a four star hotel. So a bit overpriced.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, the location is excellent and the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location. Great staff. Quirky configuration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our economy room was 50 steps up 5 or so flights of stairs—no elevator—to/from which the staff carried luggage. Room was small, tucked in attic roof. Bathroom and toilet area was dysfunctionally small. At first room smelled a bit of mildew about which staff was responsive.

    Great location. Helpful and friendly—and nearly enthusiastic—staff. Extensive breakfast options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    very very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioner in one room is cold only, while the other one has a cold/warm mode both. it is very cold in the evening in late October without heater and air conditioner. shower water is not warm enough either. Hope it is the only room with such problem.

    very very good location. decoration and small reading places in the corner are lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved this hotel, very convenient and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs so if you have mobility issues ask for room on lower floor. However the porter carried all our bags up to room.

    This hotel is very well located for restaurants, markets and all main attractions. Staff were so helpful and were very informative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    The worst hotel in our five-city tour of Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While I had high hopes for this boutique hotel, I was completely disappointed. The staff was friendly, but the hotel itself is dark, dated and in need of a a major upgrade. I never felt safe in our room.

    The only good thing about this hotel is its location. It's walkable to the train, Duomo and points of interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Can't wait to go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was so helpful and helped us solve a huge booking problem that was our fault! It was wonderful to be treated like a person and be cared for in a country where tourists often feel like cattle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Excellent small hotel in the centre of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was excellent, a little quirky with a sauna cabin (ideal in the winter I would think) , with the terrace with sun loungers and umbrellas was great. The pool was a bit crowded so we didn't stay beyond a quick dip! The continental breakfast was good and all the staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    An enjoyable stay with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the only thing might have been the lack of variety at breakfast. But I am just being picky

    Just liked the feel of the hotel, the location enjoyed our stay there very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious city stay, ideal for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The pool was a great addition especially after a long walk around Florence in the humidity! The first day was great as we got to sit by the pool, however the second day it was very busy so would reccomend going earlier in the day. Lots of choice at breakfast, make sure you have a look at the wine cellar and complimentary wine in the room was a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and great location in this nicely furnished hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge applied for each day you use the pool.

    Location was great for touring. Room was comfortable and quiet. Well air conditioned. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Florence Old Town stay - pleasant, unique, and pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All these quirks are perhaps inevitable if you want to stay in Old Town Florence, so take this with a grain of salt: The pool is actually accessed from a building next door, and is in the garden among other buildings. This being Florence, is understandable - and the pool is very cute and pleasant - I just wish I knew that there is a complication to access it (you have to ask for keys, walk out to the street) and that they actually charge 10 Euro or so per person per visit. Another thing I didn't understand is that the parking is 40 Euro per day, in a remote location, and somehow I didn't notice on booking.com that the breakfast is also not included (again around 10 Euro per person). Finally - the headboard of one of the beds in our room made the overhead lights go out when you lean on it. The staff was puzzled when promised to take care of it. The water pressure in the shower (we were on the 2nd floor up) wasn't great (WC and sink were fine).

    This is not your typical five-star hotel. It is set in an old building, and getting to your room leads via rather narrow carpeted stairs and other in-between rooms. Each is different, with old and tasteful furniture and details. Rooms are also different. Ours was large and nice, with a built in all-new bathroom essentially in a closet - clean and new and small. A large beautiful closet with a big mirror was our favorite piece of furniture in the room. Breakfast was served in a nice atrium on the main floor. The barista was excellent. The pool is actually accessed from a building next door, and is in the garden among other buildings, so your kids will have a sense of small adventure going there. The staff was helpful and pleasant. You walk out of the hotel onto one of the streets and are immediately swamped with the atmosphere of Florence: the Medici mansion is just down the street, so is the St Lorenzo church / Medici chapel, a few amazing cafes and restaurants, souvenirs, Galleria dell'Accademia is a couple of blocks away, and you don't even need your car as long as you're in Florence. Do not count on a late checkout - the hotel is super-busy and they just cannot afford it. When getting to the hotel, your GPS may freak out due to narrow streets and re-oriented one-way streets, so do download / research ahead of time the map of the block surrounding the hotel. The hotel itself is in a pedestrian-only zone. We drove in very very slowly that one last block, and the cop let us be. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Good central location, great wine tasting/food as an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electrics kept tripping but they moved our room whilst an engineer came to investigate. There's no lift therefore if you can't manage steps easily it might not be for you. You could pay extra to access the pool, it was attached to the sister hotel next door. It was nice and relaxing but small (only 2 sun beds and a few chairs) and no toilet there so you had to go back to the hotel, again no easy access, all by stairs.

    Good central location, great wine tasting/food as an additional extra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous location with tremendous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The staff were fantastic. We got a free room upgrade, our luggage was moved between rooms and then stored after we checked out with no fuss. The receptionist printed out bus and train timetables and the night porter fetched a jug of milk at 2300 so we could have tea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice, but served in a squishy indoor space. Hot food meant going behind the staff counter for self service. 3 types of cooked eggs on offer - all completely over cooked both mornings. Nice outdoor eating area, but completely taken over by small birds hovering overhead and landing on tables in search of food. If this dining area was improved- our score would be 10 out of 10.

    Central location. Friendly staff. Very comfortable bed room. Complimentary bottle of wine both evenings. Lovely small swimming pool - real bonus in hot weather. Valet parking (extra charge).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, the room was large and clean. We were given room 10 (the one right outside the breakfast area), and the manager asked us if we wanted to change, due to the noise of the other hotel guests having breakfast (tip: we both sleep with earplugs, and were absolutely fine - not disturbed by the noise at all). Altogether very nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Vacation trip to Florens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived by Taxi and that worked out fine. Use of own car would have been a challenge. Also note no evaluator, but the staff assists with the luggage.

    In general a good hotel, nice and helpful staff, good breakfast outside. Very good location near the Doumo and all the other sites. Walking distance to all the sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Location was excellent however disliked the hotels facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift available, very steep stairs. Power blackouts approx 4 daily. Hotel is very tired room was clean however very small for 4 people, beds very uncomfortable.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said the room was available at 1.09pm and it wasn't available until 2.00 pm.

    This was a quaint hotel in the middle of Florence. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommend places to see and eat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They gave us only one set of keys, which had a heavy weight attached to it and were told to always leave it at the reception desk. That is not always very practical.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful, romantic and quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place is fanstastic every one there is friendly and helpful and the room is quaint and makes you feel like you've traveled back in time to a romantic Italian Hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely traditional style hotel in the centre of Florence, with a pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm not fan of the two single beds together, would have preferred one double.

    The staff made lovely cappuccinos for breakfast and the honeycomb was gorgeous. It's certainly is a bonus to have the pool. It was lovely to take an afternoon chillax there in-between the walking and sightseeing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful Florentine classic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opening the windows let a couple of mosquitos in. They had a nice time, for awhile.

    Super courteous staff! Pasquale was super cool to chat with. Excellent breakfast buffet and espressos, grazie Julia!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    Not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and ceiling were in yellow stains, parking located somewhere away and it costs 40€, room smells of mould, very little choice for breakfast, swimming pool located in another property...

    Good location, fast internet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Good Location, Rooms a bit inconsistent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked a Superior Double Room. The room we were given for the first night was very small, just got a double bed, desk and wardrobe in. Very small bathroom, just big enough to get a toilet, washbasin and shower in. Managed to get moved to a bigger room for the other 3 nights. Room much more comfortable, but still the same small pod bathroom which had a slightly musty smell. Also being at the front of the hotel, quite a bit of street noise even with the double glazing.

    Hotel well located for getting everywhere by foot in Florence. Friendly, helpful, English speaking staff. Good breakfast selection, with Cappuccino made to order. Room comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    An economical stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decor inside the hotel was too dark for my liking and seemed very old. A brighter coat of paint, new blankets and updated carpets would make this hotel really shine. Basically, it's in need of a face lift.

    Size of the room is comfortable. Breakfast served each morning was helpful so that we didn't have to spend money on each meal. There was a nice spread of options served each morning. It wasn't anything fancy or super impressive, but it got the job done. The location of this hotel was very good. It's up the street from the duomo and very walkable to most of the attractions we visited during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Also our room faced traffic area and one night was very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a good location for anyone with mobility issues The hotel has no lift and the stairs are quite steep Also our room faced traffic area and one night was very noisy

    Breakfast was very nice variety of meats cheeses and pastry with some eggs and ham and I just discovered on the last day they had a pancake making machine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel close to the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Swimming pool was additional cost/invoiced.

    The normal cofee was below standard. However the hotel served specialleties free of charge :-). The breakfast was included however, not ekstravagant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Expensive but nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather expensive place, but a great location. Parking costs 40 Euro, which was a bit rough.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.0
    W
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highlight room is on the main drag, just too noisy-cars-scooters-work vehicles & restaurants Staff very accomodating Facility very tired Rooms very dark

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Overall good Standard at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Overall good Standard at the hotel. Location was very close to centre. Room adequate, but with small bathroom. Traditional European breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    A Gem in the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That my stay was not longer!!

    I was so beautifully welcomed at the hotel & even though I arrived late I was invited to enjoy the delicious buffet breakfast that was still out. All the staff were very gracious & very helpful. All so friendly! And what a wonderful little pool garden to relax in the afternoon heat, when the city was so full of tourists in the heat. I had the pool all to myself & could relax beautifully. My room was spacious & comfortable & the small touches made all the difference. I felt really well taken care of. I enjoyed breakfast in the small outdoor courtyard, & great coffee!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with character, charm and warmth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very convenient in the centre of Florence. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and cleaned really well every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    The Hotel is in an amazing position and the staff, especially Guiseppe, are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo showed on booking.com for a superior room was with painted ceilings and sitting area. We booked this room, but the hotel said these were the deluxe rooms in a different building?? The first night we were given a room next to the breakfast room, no seating area and so dark my wife could not read a book with the lights on. We were kept awake all night by noisy people next door. To us it appeared to be a less than standard room.

    The upgrade to the Garden Suite made a big difference. Guiseppe (Manager) was professional and very unstanding when we complained about our original room. His ugrade was much appreciated and his managment and handling of the situation exceptional. Thank you again Guiseppe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient location for immersion in old Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very old,historic building so the stairs are a bit of a challenge but that is part of the charm.

    The staff was exceptional. Friendly and helpful. We really felt taken care of.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ginori Al Duomo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: