Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Giotto Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Via Fontebella 41, 06082 Assisi, Italy

#23 of 55 hotels in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 982 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms themselves didn't quite match up to the grandness of the hotel. No kettle for a coffee first thing.

    Fantastic views from the bar terrace and breakfast terrace as well as our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for... pricy but you get better accommodation

    Large bathroom with bath, spectacular views from our room, tea/coffee making facilities, beautiful room, comfy bed. Amazing breakfast. Walk everywhere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super noisy at night, our room was on the -1 level and we had a lot of noise at nigh.

    Great location just steps away from San Francisco Church and with an espectacular view. Breakfast was a great plus on the terrace. We highly recommend to try the hotel restaurant, it is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As someone with mobility issues and needs to use a cane to walk, there was not adequate information about or actual accessibility...climbing and descending stairs when the lift only goes part way was extremely difficult.

    Views were amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was very positive. The gentleman who booked us in was extremely pleasant and welcoming. But the top marks go to the staff at breakfast.They went beyond the call of duty and deserve special mention.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can have healthier options eg unsweet muesli and fresher fruit and fresher salad. It is also a bit far from Plazza di Commune, but ok otherwise.

    The view from the hotel is stunning. It is also close to the bus station ans Basiluca de San Francesco, and the Franciscan Woodland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff aren’t the friendliest. Mattresses are sunken and corridors smelt of a hospital

    Beautiful valley view. Variety at breakfast and being able to prepare our own eggs! Loved the ( squeeze your own) freshly squeezed orange juice !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location above the bascillica but an easy walk to everything. Fabulous view of the valley from our room. Amazing breakfast included in cost of the room. A lovely place, and Assisi is heart-stopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one helped us with our bags when we got to the hotel. The elevator was old and small so we had to do two rides to get our bags in our room.

    Very good location only a few block away form the Minerva temple. The hotel has an amazing view. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very kind. Great city tour with Alessandra form Tours by Locals, highly recommended. There is a parking area right outside the hotel reserved for hotel guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small with no closet, just a rod in the bedroom for hanging clothes and a couple of hooks near the door. This would probably not be a problem if we were there for just a week-end, but we stayed for 4 days and would have liked more space to "spread out" and unpack more clothes. We had difficulty getting the staff to understand the importance of getting our car out of the garage at our specified time (we had to meet friends at a specific time at a meeting point 1-1/2 hour's drive away). Our car was buried in the back of the garage with other cars blocking our exit. We mentioned our need the evening before and then before breakfast and after breakfast and they really didn't want to start moving the cars until we had our bags at the door. We left about 20-25 minutes later than desired.

    Beautiful view of the valley below. It is near the San Francesco basilica. This location was important to us because of the Good Friday (Venerdì Santo) and Pasqua (Easter) activities there. The young waitstaff in the restaurant were very friendly, energetic and eager to please. This facility has nice outdoor spaces, which would be wonderful in warmer weather. We greatly enjoyed the Easter lunch (important to reserve in advance!). The food was quite good, the atmosphere was festive with live guitar music and an Easter decoration on the table. Wine was paired with each course. I had thought we might be served banquet style or be seated at a banquet table and were pleased to discover that we were seated and served at our own table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dowdy, tired decoration. Service was impersonal and could have been much better. Wouldn't go back. Room didn't reflect the lovely pictures on the website.

    Location and convenient for main sights

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets and furnishings were very tired in the room. The lighting was dull. The heating system was extremely noisy.

    The view was beautiful. The water was hot. The bed was comfortable and linens fresh. The breakfast was good. The service was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This time we stayed in the 'dependence'. This could be equally as nice as the main hotel, but lacks character and little things like carpet/rugs, pictures on the wall, the bathroom wasn't as nice as in the main hotel and as it is above the garage, it tended on the chilly side. We have stayed at the hotel before (our honeymoon in fact) and I think that I expected the same as standard of room and it wasn't. Having said that, I should have booked earlier to get a room in the main hotel. I would certainly at the hotel again, as it's family owned and Mom, Dad and both adult children work in the business, which makes it a lovely atmosphere. Note to self - next time book early and get the room you want.

    This hotel is always lovely. The restaurant produces delicious food - we stayed for the Capodana Gala dinner; it was 7 course, all of them lovely (although we didn't finish eating until 11.50pm which was a little late for me.) The staff are always friendly and helpful - special thanks to Beatrice, who was extremely helpful. It's really nice that the hotel is family run and you see all of them within the hotel every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is neat but it's old.

    It's near the beginning of the entrance to Assisi. Breakfast was alright. The usual scrambled eggs, beautiful tarts, bread rolls etc. Beautiful ancient town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Comfortable bad. Special soap and shampoo. Parking near the hotel. Friendly stuff. Excellent breakfast. And eat dinner. The restaurant is very high class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that our stay at the hotel was pushed aside in deference to a larger group of people .

    I was very disappointed that the management of the hotel told me we had to go to another hotel because of a group. I had made my reservation at least six months before. The new hotel where we were moved to is very nice. However I think it is poor business to cancel or move a tourist after arrangements were made to stay in a particular hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floor plan of hotel a bit disjointed. Lots of turns and steps in the hallways

    Perfect location 3 blocks from the Spanish steps Family owned so lots of help from English speaking staff. Perfect 4th floor balcony for both breakfast and afternoon wine. Great service with lots of smiles

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were not stable. Hot and cold.

    It was clean and centrally located between the Duomo and center of town. If you go, without a doubt, a must do is to eat dinner at La Locanda Del Cardinale!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and the staff double booked us for our last stay so we had to leave early. The spa was terrible for the price. 25 euro each to sit in a tiny steam room and a cold pool instead of a hot tub. Very disappointing for the price.

    The view was amazing and the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue I had was with the shower door and breakfast The shower door didn't open properly and I had to squeeze through the gap I could open. At breakfast I found a wonderful table out on the patio, one of the waitresses went to clear away my plate and I said I was still eating, I went to get a coffee and came back to find it had been newly set and people sat there. I then had to find another table to finish breakfast and the only one available was not laid. They ran out of coffee cups several times and the hot breakfast was running out at 8.30am and they weren't cooking anymore.

    Loved the hotel was in the middle of everywhere with amazing views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the breakfast specially the astonishing view from their. it is very closed to the central monuments and the important churches. 5 minutes walking from St. Francis

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on the top floor with 67 steps (shallow rise) to the ground floor. This was okay, just about, but Booking.com have the property ticked as having a lift. The lift only exists between the ground floor and the restaurant, on lower ground.

    Loved the magnificent views across the Umbrian plain from most parts of this beautiful old hotel. The staff were very kind and helpful and their ability to communicate in English, much appreciated. The room was well fitted with a spotless, faultless bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was really small. The pictures showed a large window with small balcony - not what we were given. Our room had a small window, all be it looking over the valley. No balcony. The room was TINY, probably one of the smallest we have had in Europe. The staff desk staff were marginally interested in helping, usually outside smoking.

    The place was quiet, clean and well located. The dining room staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was faulty and my poor husband had to lie on the floor to cool down.

    The breakfast was spectacular - wonderful selection of food, a BEAUTIFUL view of the valley, quiet and really wonderful coffee! The staff was incredibly accommodating. They gave my husband and I a late check out and even held our bags for us while we explored Assisi before our train.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the rooms weren't great looking however I only booked based on close proximity to the Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room, the outside dining area and the bar was AMAZING! The staff was pleasant and helpful. We were in Italy for 16 days and Assisi and Hotel Giotto were amongst our favorites!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Excellent location and attentive staff. It's close to everything, specially to St. Francis Basilica. The ambience of the dining room. The breakfast buffet - freshly prepared food, and well thought out selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor for the price I was expecting something better. Room was clean and a good size but pillows terrible!

    Good position with lovely views. Clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location; eating our free breakfast sitting on the terrace, overlooking the beautiful view of the surrounding countryside; the air conditioned room and friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel, located in the historical center of Assisi, was absolutely fabulous. Friendly staff helping you with all you needed. One of our rooms were booked (accidentally) without breakfast, but the hotel upgraded the booking to include breakfast for free. The breakfast was, by the way, wonderful, and the restaurant had a wide, beautiful view over part of the historical center. The spa area was very nice and clean. We can really recommend this hotel! We came by train from Rimini to Assisi and took a taxi (20 Euro) from the train station. City bus is also an option.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have very small room on the top of the building.Lift doesn't reach this part of the hotel so we were lugging our heavy suitcases by stairs,it wasn't easy.

    Amazing atmosphere,you can feel the spirit of the Assisi.You are just in the heart of the old middle ages town.Parking is small but the staff will help you to park you car.Good breakfast with breathtaking views on the valley of Assisi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were spectacular from our room and other rooms of the hotel. The food at the breakfasts was quite delicious with an abundance of choices and fabulously prepared items. I especially enjoyed watching the swallows flying about outside our hotel balcony while hearing the church bells ringing, so peaceful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One very disappointing thing: The receptionist encouraged us to enjoy an evening drink on the the balcony to enjoy the view. We sat there for 40 minutes - and indeed the view of the valley was stunning. For the whole 40 minutes no-one came from the bar to take a drinks order. We went to the bar twice to try to find a waiter and it was deserted. Not a staff member in sight. This is a missed opportunity for Giotto Hotel.

    The woman on reception was friendly and ultra helpful. She offered helpful advice, and also gave us an upgrade which was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - i was disappointed to learn that the spa was an extra 25 euro. I booked the hotel based on the fact it had a pool/spa and was not aware that there would be an additional charge. I have a 3 yr old child and it was 35 degrees so I did end up using the spa and it was great. They don't heat the water in the pool during summer.

    -The view from our room was incredible so it pays to ask or pay for a room with a view. -breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic. A huge choice of fruit, pastries, cold plates and hot selections. We took our breakfast on the terrace and enjoyed the view while eating.

    The location is fantastic and the views from our room and the terrace is fantastic. The quality of the restaurant is very good and we dined inhouse on on both nights of our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The toilet in our room was spacious and comfortable which is more than most hotels in Italy have. The view out of the window absolutely amazing and worth alone the trip. The Restaurant installed in what used to be a medieval Stable was pure delight and the food up to the best standards.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist at check-in was very helpful and friendly. However receptionist thereafter was the complete opposite and really did not do the hotel justice. The hotel also was not very atmospheric.

    Rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean. There is a wonderful view from the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in the rooms and hallways were scratched up/dirty. We had 2 rooms and both had walls that appeared beat up. They need to paint throughout the hotel to make it feel cleaner/fresher. Also, the carpeting in the stairwell and hallway was dingy, needs updating.

    This hotel has the potential to be exceptional. The rooms were clean, couches and linens very nice, and the bathrooms have been updated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners and reception were very disinterested and unhelpful and unwelcoming upon arrival. I was told to find my own room which was around a number of corridors. the room I was given was directly under the balcony where people walking and dragged chairs until 1am . When I told the reception they said they couldn't do anything about it and showed no interest or sympathy.

    The views from the hotel were amazing... across the valley. The breakfast for private guests (not tours) was very good and the kitchen staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the best hotel out of our two-week stay in Italy (from Calabria to Venice). Beautiful location, wonderful food (breakfast and dinner were fabulous). Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giovanni was our waiter and he was the best we have ever experienced - the BEST! Please ask for him and if you agree he is the best, tip him well for making your night so memorable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic, the people in the adjoining room sounded like they were in with us, soundproofing needed

    Convenient location for everywhere in Assisi, the views were mesmerising

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought their website offered a free shuttle to Perugia airport, but found out it was 30 Euros.

    Breakfast buffet was very good. Loved the "do it yourself" fresh squeezed orange juice and make your own eggs. The staff at breakfast were very sweet and helpful. The view from our room & dining areas was breathtaking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was either on the phone or talking to someone else the entire time and she could have been more friendly when she did speak to us.

    Location, parking availability, easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within walking distance of public car park just outside the old city, very welcoming and helpful English speaking staff, excellent spa facilities, great views from terrace, decent buffet style breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This location was falsely advertised. The view from our room and breakfast area does not reflect what was on the website pictures. I need to be contacted immediately.

    The staff is kind and tries to please.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked a bit spartan, but very comfortable.

    Location, cleanliness, comfort, staff accommodating. Quiet, 5 mins walk to the Basilica. Public rooms with great view of the valley ... as did our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked it if the person checking us in had told us that we would need a reservation for dinner. We came down from our room to have dinner only to be told they we full. They did call another restaurant and made a reservation for us, but we had wanted to eat at the hotel.

    The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was very good with lots of hot and cold food choices. Very nice hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa costs 25 eur/person, ridiculosly overpriced. The bathroom was smelling, we didn't receive the requested parking space, staff needs significant upgrade

    The breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small problem with shower flooded bathroom...nothing that would disturb the whole experience.

    Clean, well located, beaultiful view of fields, breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in our 2nd bathroom didn't work

    The view from the terrace right across the Vale of Spoleto is magnificent. Service was attentive and multilingual.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival at 20h I was informed that the sauna just closed. That is also a fault of booking: opening hours of breakfast,restaurant,sauna should be clearly published in the first page of hotel. Now you have to call always the property. The same goes with parking-who far away, cost...there must be a general standard information for all properties. Now it´s loosing a lot of time!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the spa but be warned that the pool is really a hot tub. My children found it too hot for swimming. Just don't go expecting a pool for kids to splash in. That said, the hot tub was huge with great jets and the other spa amenities (sauna etc) were great.

    I don't usually write reviews but this hotel was EXCELLENT with nice staff and a gorgeous view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Who on Earth would rate it as such!! You have to pay an extra 25euro per person per day just to enter/use little spa. Non guests pay 35euro, so it's neither included in the room rate nor is it exclusive to guests. The corridors leading to the rooms are like dormitories and the rooms are horrid. Needs a total refit, really. The concierge who greeted us gave us the wrong key to our room, didn't realize even though it had a plastic tag, had no uniform and seemed like he was standing in for someone else. Nice tattoo though 😯 Maybe 3 star.

    The bed was comfortable, shower was hot.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had dessert and coffee in the restaurant. Desserts not very good and were expensive.

    Bed comfortable, Room good, view fantastic, wonderful outside seating and nice lounge, great location, liked the spa. I would choose to stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very comfortable and well designed. Buffet breakfast was very enjoyable. Beautiful views from almost anywhere in the hotel. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Assisi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    Location, Cleanliness, Breakfast, Staff, Large bathroom. We stayed in the annex building with great view of the valley. It was very quite. Breakfast was excellent. I don't know why some reviewers were complaining about lack of variety.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no perceivable air conditioning or heat. Luckily, the window opened and it was autumn so we could regulate the heat and cool with that. Also, the room was right next to the bar/balcony so occasionally it was noisy - but that was not a big problem.

    We had a room with a fantastic view of the valley - San Pietro in front of us (the bells were beautiful), the whole valley below. In addition, we could see both sunrise and sunset due to the angle of the hotel. Breakfast was delightful, and it was possible to eat outdoors when the weather cooperated. Also, really liked having a parking place just outside the hotel door!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beatrice was great. The rest of the Staff could be a little bit nicer. The prices at the spa where a little bit high which prevented us from using it frankly.

    A very good location, a spectacular view and private parking where the highlights of the hotel for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the easiest to drive to. Stay to the right when entering the town, stay left once up the hill (and try not to hit any pedestrians)!

    Great staff, location, views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were offered dinner in their restaurant at a discounted price. The staff were great, but the food was not at all what we expected for this level. The bruschetta was inedible and the rest of the meal was pretty average in both taste and presentation.

    We had a room in the dependance part of the hotel complex (it seems that there are about 3 different hotels, all under the one banner). The room was great, spacious and with a fantastic view over the surrounding countryside. The bathroom too was pretty good. Breakfast was what we have come to expect at this level of accommodation and catered for most tastes. The free wifi was working fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot find any fault with this hotel.

    This is a great hotel with an amazng view from its terraces. It is walking distance to all the sights in Assisi including the wonderful basilica.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator did not go up to our floor (6) so we had several flights of stairs to climb. After hiking up and down hills in Assisi, it was not easy getting upstairs. On the positive side, we probably worked off the calories from the pasta.

    There was a great variety of food-all delicious! Staff friendly and helpful. Good location. View from our room was incredible!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little scared for scratches on our car since the parking lot is really cramped and the fact that we had to hand over our car keys so the hotel staff could move the car if need be didn't really help with that fear.

    We had a room that was not in the main building. The room was modern, big and clean. Best of all we had a beautiful view from from the window. Breakfast is good and you can sit outside and enjoy the view. Location is perfect, you can walk out the door and explore Assisi. Parking costs €15 a day and making a reservation in advance is advised since the parking lot is a bit cramped. The "parking garage" that gets mentioned only fits six cars and the lot itself fits another six cars.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! The location is amazing. The view from the terrace is stunning. The room was clean and spacious. The amenities were lovely. The breakfast was sumptuous- the best we have encountered in Europe!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was extremely dusty . My husband got an allergic reaction from dust .! Breakfast was ok.

    The view was excellent ! Hotel room with balcony was great . Staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service not professional Our Deluxe room was overlooking the parking area,noise from early morning As we left and gave the key nobody said good by

    Superb terrace, Breakfast outside

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were not good. WiFi a bit slow.

    Inside the (hilly!) town and was able to park right in front. Near the major sights and comfortable room. Nice terrace with view over countryside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid for an upgrade to a Deluxe room and I have to say I was disappointed. The bathroom was small, there were no cupboards to hang clothes just a rail, the safe was unpredictable as only certain numbers worked the fridge was not working (my wife needs to keep her injections cold) and the aircon was poor. The above was mentioned to little effect.

    The location was perfect, welcome upon arrival very good. Breakfast was fresh and inviting.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac was rather noisy. Information was poor. No room information. Service from staff was poor. Not particularly helpful. Hard to get hold of. Almost indifferent. To boil kettle had to hold on wall. Bit dated. Bit disorganized. Can hear and see your neighbors from your balcony. Cleaning staff chatted noisily on balcony next door on a Sunday afternoon. Missed train leaving waiting for people discussing a meeting...

    Lady in spa was very helpful and spa facility was small but fine. View from room was good. Breakfast and staff there were good too. Room average.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is in the controlled zone, meaning $250 fine if you drive in that zone. That is important to know before you go. The hotel must tell the police not to fine you.

    Breakfast was excellent. Location is excellent. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent check in. Our allocated room had an a/c fault. Immediately moved to a better room, no questions. Fantastic view over the valley and not too far to any of the main attractions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the place sucked and our GPS didn't wprk in Europe.

    Lovely and clean room. An iron would be a great addition. Nice to have breakfast, for a change, in Italy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room facilities were a little dated

    the spa was really excellent. the view extraordinary and proximity to attractions was tops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very close to everthing!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Giotto Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: