Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Giuggiulena

Via Pitagora da Reggio 35, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#10 of 149 B&Bs and Inns in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely guesthouse. It is situated in a quiet, narrow street about 30 minutes walk from Ortigia. It is beautifully light and airy with rooms with balconies overlooking the sea. The rooms are also bright and airy and prettily decorated. Breakfast is taken on the ground floor, either indoors or out on the balcony. The breakfast buffet is marvellous with a choice of cereal, bread, cheese, meat and home made jams as well as a range of Home made cakes and fresh fruit. All this is cheerfully served by the breakfast waiter. Sabrina and Claudia are delightful hosts who go out of their way to be helpful and will book restaurants, taxis etc for you. Although quite a long walk from any of the major tourist sites, this hotel is close to a bus stop for the local buses and also for the hop on/hop off tourist bus which operates all day. On the top floor is a lovely little terrace where guests can sunbathe and you can also access the sea from the basement. Don’t worry if you have forgotten footwear for going in the sea (the rocks are very sharp) as there are lots available in lots of sizes. All in all this is a wonderful find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this place very last minute purely because of the views. When we arrived, we were met by the two ladies who run the place - and they couldn't have been more welcoming. They looked after everything for us. It was so relaxed and peaceful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room on the top floor had both a private garden as well as sea views. The breakfast is served on the balcony overlooking the ocean and the service is well above anything else we received whilst in Sicily. It really felt like home. In fact, we checked out the next day and drove down the coast - only to drive back up again and book another night here! We couldn't find anything as nice as this place. Highly recommended! There is access to the sea from the ground floor - and it feels like a private little space to explore on the rocks. They provide diving shoes for walking around on the rocks and there's loads of towels you can take down to sit on. It was a little slice of paradise to swim here in the mornings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was all fabulous and really good value for money

    This B&B is a little outside Ortgia (the old part of Siracuse) but within easy walking distance. The hop on hop off bus also stops just at the top of the road. It literally sits on rocks next to the sea so the views are spectacular and they have a private access to the sea at the back of the hotel. The owners could not have been more friendly or helpful and the breakfasts are superb. Some of the rooms have balconies and we had a room at the top that had its own terrace. We would definitely go back again. You are out of the noise and bustle of the city centre but can get in really easily

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit of a walk to Ortigia and many of the restaurants. Although there is easy beach access from the back of the building, the site is rocky, however, the hosts thoughtfully supply slippers and towels.

    Gorgeous location, the rooms have balconies with beautiful ocean views. The proprietors and staff were extremely welcoming. The breakfast spread was mouthwatering and served in a beautiful room with terrace seating if one preferred to eat outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything is OK

    Exceptionally good views, the building is located on a high cliff above the open sea and, given the great weather that I've experienced, it is hard to beat. The shore at the bottom of the cliff is rocky but it is still possible to swim at the edge of the place and even sunbathe there. The service is very good, a very pleasant ambience, helpful staff, one cannot ask for more. The comforts are adequate, the bathrooms spacious and well equipped. Recommended for people with certain zest for unknown. The place is located some distance (about 15 min. walk) from the Old City of Siracusa and, while the walk is quite pleasant, it must be taken into consideration if you prefer not to walk too much. Also, if you arrive by car, the entrance is in a small alley with little space for parking. Overall, however, it is a GEM of a residence, surely one of the best places one can imagine. Not cheap but worth every penny of its price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walk to the harbour is about 30 minutes, we didn't mind this but something to bear in mind. You are literally right next to the sea so the room can get a little salty but all part of the experience.

    Such a unique hotel. The sound of the waves in the room was wonderful and waking up to the sunrise on the horizon unbeatable. When the weather allowed we had breakfast on the balcony above the sea and watching the boats go by, idyllic. We were amazed at how helpful all of the staff were, especially in recommending places to eat. We ate at most of the recommendations and didn't have a bad meal. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a fantastic place - simple rooms overlooking the sea and the friendliest staff in Sabrina and her team who helped us organize excursions . The property is a little way out of the main town Centre but this is more than compensated for by the lovely sea views from the rooms - especially the roof terrace which is a lovely spot to spend a few hours sun bathing This property wholly deserves its popularity and is ideal for travelers looking for a small and friendly hotel with genuine charm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was this other lady at the property who was not so friendly - we were in a rush to leave the next morning but she just kept going on with the work she was doing on her computer rather than serving customers first, not very customer-centric style.

    This family-run place has an absolutely stunning location, overlooking the water and coast of Syracuse. The main lady who greeted us was so polite and helpful, offering us juice / water upon arrival, and talking us through recommended restaurants and places of interest in detail. To our surprise, we were given a free upgrade to a sea view room! Very happy and the amenities in the hotel were great - the place is modern and comfortable, with a good sized room and large bathroom. Breakfast the next morning was very tasty, with freshly squeezed orange juice served and a selection of pastries / bread / cake / bruschetta. There wasn't so much hot food like bacon / scrambled egg as other hotels might offer but this wasn't really an issue. They also have a balcony for you to enjoy your breakfast while over-looking the waters - wish we had stayed there longer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room closet/cupboard did not work well.

    Owner/manager Sabrina very helpful with local restaurants and information. Location over the sea was fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the view from the terrace and the breakfast. Thank you for the double espresso and the lift to the station. Liked watching the birds and the waves. Would love to come back and swim!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The owners and the staff are very pleasant and friendly.The building is beautiful with fantastic ocean view. Our room also had a private terrace.You can sleep with the window opened with the murmur of the ocean.Breakfast is excellent with real home made delicious pies and cakes etc. served on a ocean front terrace.It is not far from Ortiga that is the old city and not far from the Archeological park.I loved the place and would not mind to have stayed one more day just to enjoy the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had stayed longer.

    This was all perfect. Fabulous location. Walking distance to everything. The old city or Hop on Hop off bus stop near by. Resturants near by. The room was incredible hanging over the rocks and sea. Breakfast was the best we had had in our eight week travels through Europe. The baking was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew from reading past reviews that Giugiulena was going to be good and it well exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 10 days and Sabrina. Claudia and Mamadoo couldn't do enough for us. They are terrific hosts and breakfasts, as had been said before, are wonderful. The 25 minute walk down into Ortigia is well worth it. Although the walk itself is fairly unremarkable. Ortigia is quite simply gorgeous. There is so much to see and do there that we only took one day trip to Noto on the train. We preferred to spend our days exploring the ancient monuments in Siracusa and Ortigia, visiting the incredible daily market, eating the great Sicilian food and swimming and snorkelling back "home". Around Giugiulena itself there is a restaurant just up the road plus a cafe and bar a bit further up. There is also an amazing ancient garden called Latomia which is not to be missed. Sunrise is spectacular and going to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks is magical.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It's an unattractive walk to Ortygia and only the hop on/hop off tourist bus runs through the day. But everything else was perfect!

    We had a wonderful stay at Sabrina's stylish, relaxed and friendly boutique hotel. The breakfasts deserve their legendary status. The staff are delightful and the views from terrace and balcony are breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The owner and the staff were very kind. The view was breathtaking, the room was spotless. The breakfast was tasty (especially the local food) and had our choice from a huge scale. The old town is near, only 20 minutes of walking. If you want to sleep somewhere perfect, then this place is the ideal place for you:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed has been very uncomfortable and loud. We woke up in the morning due to the sound of moving chairs and tables for breakfast.

    Excellent location and access to the sea (thanks for lending the swimmimg shoes for free).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We love B and Bs where the breakfast is served family style so that we can meet and chat with other travelers. Here each couple or family has its own table. But this is just a personal preference, not a criticism. Some people don't like a communal breakfasts at all.

    Most elaborate and delicious breakfast we have ever had at a B and B. All personnel were more than polite. They were delilghtful. The view over the ocean was spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from beautiful Ortygia than we'd have liked. We definitely underestimated how long it would take to walk (half hour) and Syracuse can be quite dirty which doesn't make for the nicest experience. Breakfast whilst homedmade, could be better presented (constructive criticism )

    Lovely view of sea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location is a 20-25 minute walk from the old town along a busy narrow road. The hop on/hop off bus stops nearby but we found it a bit unreliable in its timings. Probably best just to walk it!

    Lovely, homely staff. The location on the cliff edge is magnificent. Breakfast was first class with a good choice of home prepared food. We had the top floor room which had a spacious private outdoor area too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, wonderful friendly owners who went out of their way to look after us. The accommodation was perfect. Great breakfast. Best stay in Sicily!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property with stunning views of the sea. Sabrina went out of her way to make me feel welcome and comfortable and really helped me with my travels. What a wonderful place. I couldn't recommend it more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a room here 6 months in advance of our trip and then received a phone call from the owner as we were driving into Syracuse, telling us that our room was not available. We had 15 minutes notice. The explanation (a sudden broken boiler affecting our room) was highly implausible and the phone call telling us was clearly timed to give us no opportunity to make alternative arrangements whilst ensuring that the owner still profited from the booking. The room we were given instead fell very much below the standard of the room we'd booked. Not on the sea, covered in scaffolding (including over the windows), empty of other guests. The heating was insufficient so we had to use the small mezzanine space to sleep in instead of the main bedroom, which was far too cold. On leaving we were told what room rate we would be charged - which was less than the rate for the room we'd booked, but wasn't negotiated or agreed upon with us, just announced as a fait accompli. We had a car parking space with our original booking; instead, we were offered an underground car park where our (hire) car would be parked by a garage attendant (contravening our hire conditions) and access to the car would have been severely limited during the day. Subsequently, the owner has made several untrue statements to the booking agent, to whom we have complained. The booking agent has offered some compensation. We have received no offer of compensation at all from the owner. If reserving a room at Giuggiulena, please be aware that your booking may well be cancelled just as you are arriving for your holiday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place- common area, elegant in its understated simplicity. Great room, views. Immaculate. Sabrina was Wonderful! A very well run family enterprise- efficient, friendly, caring, helpful. Great for short or extended stay. We stayed 6 nights and hated to leave- it felt like home. Exceptional. We all gave it an eleven on a scale of ten.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were so warm & welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for thier guests. Great breakfast in the morning served with a friendly smile. 10 minute walk to Oritiga. Listening to the sea outside our window.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very clean, there is an amazing view (on the sea) and the breakfast is perfect (homemade). At night, we only heard the waves. The hosts are very friendly and obliging. They gave us brilliant suggestions, i.e. for restaurants. At our arrival they said guests should feel like home. We stayed four days and it was like home (admittedly with direct access to the sea, better sunrise view, amazing breakfast, extraordinary service.. ). Thank you for a tremendous time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on the near street, and it's an easy mile walk to the old city or Sabrina will call a taxi for you.

    The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable, and was right on the sea. The staff was very friendly and we felt right at home lounging in the common area and playing dominos. The breakfast was also very good with lots of choice. Coffee and tea were always available as was a basket of fresh fruit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24 hour reception but you can find things yourself in the hotel - like fresh towels- or give Sabrina a call.

    The location, the balcony view, breakfast on the balcony, comfortable bed, friendly staff, everything simple to give you a peaceful holiday, clean, nice bathroom, parking provided. We just got connected to our room and didn't want to leave. Already recommended the place to friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very comfortable and it was wonderful hearing the waves at night. Watching from the balcony as the small fishing boats went out in the morning was beautiful. Breakfast on a balcony over the sea was also special. Sabrina was very helpful with directions and restaurant bookings. A truly memorable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only disadvantage was it is about 20 minute walk to Ortigia and the number 3 bus was never seen during our stay!

    The situation above the sea is great and the owner and staff are excellent and very helpful. Totally relaxing situation and all is positive about Giuggiulena - good breakfast, clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    Everything. It was chic and elegant, and comfortable and friendly. Amazing location on the dramatic coast. Fabulous breakfast. Great service from Sabrina and her lovely team. We didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we had not stayed longer.

    Sabrina, the owner was fantastic; very warm and welcoming, full of information about Syracusa and what to do there. She spends as much time with each of her guests as needed and with a great chortling laugh to boot. Her b&b sits right on the cliff above the ocean. The breakfast was plentiful, full of homemade and local produce. Not to be missed!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit out of the way with not much around.

    The property is right on the waters edge with direct access to the sea...breakfast was on the balcony with a spectacular view. We had a lovely room with a huge terrace. Sabrina and her staff made us very welcome and could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most enjoyable stay with lovely friendly staff. Sabrina and her staff should train other people In the arts of hospitality. Position of the B and B over the sea has to be seen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming helpful staff. Lovely touches like fruit and beverages always available. Sun terrace with some self-catering facilities was an unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I'm slightly allergic to perfume and cleaning products. The towels and linen were a little strong smelling. I aired them out.

    Wonderful place - will definately be back if I am ever back. Wonderful staff and owner with great local tips, surberb location on the water - literally swimming out the back door (with reef shoes) with the best breakfast in Italy. Be aware it is a walk/bus ride to Ortigia but I think better.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a bit of a scramble over the rocks to get to the beautiful turquoise sea but the rubberised shoes provided helped and it was worth the effort.

    Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea and coast and shaded by umbrellas is something that I will remember for a long time! Wonderfully comfortable and cool main dining/sitting room and bedroom and Sabrina, the perfect hostess, make this B&B a very special place. Originally we were going to hire a car for a few days but, having arranged for a car to meet us at the airport in Catania to take us to Siracusa, decided that there was so much to see and do in Siracusa and Ortigia, just a 20 minute walk from Guiggiulena, that we didn't bother. Siracusa archaeological museum has one of the best collections we have seen, we took the train to Noto which is well worth visiting, hired a car with an excellent English speaking guide for four hours to explore further afield and walked for miles in Ortigia with lots of stops at the cafes there. Sunbathing on the roof terrace which had a lovely breeze was a real pleasure after all the walking!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful located right over the Mediterranean See. From our balcony we had an absolutely stunning view over the ocean. Sabrina was very helpful and friendly giving us useful information where to go. Room was cleaned every day! Garage right next to the house. Because of the narrow streets in Sicily we recommend to choose a small car! :-) We will come back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous seaside location near Ortigia, GREAT sea-view, calm and peaceful, super-kind and nice Sabrina and Claudia, the sound of the waves in the room as in a boat, rich breakfast, fruits and beverage(tea and coffee) available at the salone any time, etc. All just great!! Thanks Sabrina and Claudia!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING!

    Omg where to begin - SABRINA! Sabrina is amazing, she helped us drag our ridiculous amount of luggage down to a stunning room, and offered us an upgrade with a balcony! The property is absolutely stunning and sits directly on the sea - the views are AMAZING! The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and when we asked Sabrina where we could eat dinner, she gave us a delicious recommendation and even called the restaurant to make sure it was open. SHE EVEN PARKED OUR CAR FOR US! The best hotel, without question, that we stayed in on our trip to Sicily (and we stayed in 6!) Grazie mille Sabrina and Giuggiulena, can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    Everything was absolutely wonderful!! Sabrina was the best host. She was so helpful with anything that we needed. She even did our laundry free of charge. This hotel is a must if you would like a nice stay in Syracuse.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Such beautiful views from the rooms, right on top of the sea, can go into the clear waters from the hotel. Bang in the middle of Ortygia and Siracusa and the staff were lovely. Definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Great location, stunning sea view and easy walk to historical sights and restaurants of Ortygia. Large comfortable room with balcony. Good breakfast taken on the balcony. Secure car parking available. Sabrina was extremely helpful with local sights and eateries.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower could be improved, took ages to get hot and low pressure. A little set back from the main attractions (a decent 20-30min walk to Ortigia island).

    Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Lovely outlook over sea, with access for a swim. Secure off street parking on request.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfull friendly family-crew, absolut individual, far away from standard, great location, perfect breakfast on sunny balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good be a bit better. Was a bit boring and not to many choices

    Access to the ocean through the lowest floor Swimming in the Ionian Sea !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great sea view with breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the breakfast in the terrace with sea view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can not find words for the feeling description: Giuggiulena is a dream! My best experience in Sicily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing exce

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place. Friendly staff. Very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Everything. Breakfast was excellent. Room was big. Amazing view. Very clean, access to beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the view and the owners, so accommodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous place. Spectacular view and a perfect swimming spot. A+++

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous hosts, great breakfast and rooms really clean. Restaurants booked for you and taxis sorted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager was extremely helpful. Room had a beautiful view with easy access to the water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice swim before a great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk from the center, but doable

    Amazing breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in the rental of the apartment

    Hospitality, location, size of rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and knowledgable owner. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Great buffet breakfast. Good views over sea towards Ortigia.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer bed and pillow would be nice.

    Breakfast cake particularly was amazing. Lovely atmosphere; comfortable and accommodating. Fabulous views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    It had a lovely atmosphere and our room was wonderful with sea views over the balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced considering all other B&B we stayed at during our holiday

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our room (ocean outside our balcony), loved Sabrina (proprietor) delicious breakfast, excellent service and recommendations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad... all was beautiful!

    All was lovely!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20-30 minute walk to Ortygia.

    Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Snorkeling right out back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our stay here, its a little out from the main town - but the balcony view room was worth it. Best Italian breakfast ive ever had.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little difficult on the privacy of our room: other guests could pass our sea-view window.

    Very nice proprietor, seafront location, good breakfast, relaxed approach to guests, help with parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unbelievable amazing location. Get a room overlooking the sea. Literally you are on the cliff edge. Have experienced nothing like this. Quite simply stunning. Everything else met expectations, but the room, the balcony, the breakfast over the sea was something else. Could have stayed here so much longer. Superlatives are not enough.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a 20 minute walk to the island of Ortigia, but we were used to walking so didn't mind this.

    We had a sea view room, which was lovely! Our room was right above the ocean. Everything was very clean and spacious, and the breakfast was really good.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and fantastic host people there. Definitely a great place to be and to relax profoundly. Clean rooms, lovely breakfast on the balcony in front of the sea. Just a short walk away to the ancient city.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is quite a walk (30 minutes) both to Ortigia and to the Parco Archeologico. (There should be buses, but they don't always ride when they are supposed to...)

    No Italian breakfast can beat the breakfast at Giuggiulena's... and even abroad it will be hard to find a much. Nice view over the cliffs and the sea...

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner, Sabrina, is a fantastic host. She goes out of her way to make you feel at home and to help you navigate Siracusa. Make certain you ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. You will never have a room so close to the water. The views were really sensational. Breakfast was delicious with many home-made treats. The terrace overlooking the sea makes a grand breakfast room.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Giuggiulena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: