Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Giulio Cesare 4 stars

Via Degli Scipioni 287, Vatican City - Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy

#262 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1835 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent clean accommodation, breakfast wonderful would not hesitate to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have just stayed two nights at this hotel and we were really happy with the location, close to quality shops, restaurants and walking distance to vatican, spanish steps and metro. The breakfast was wonderful and extensive and and the staff make the best cappuccino at breakfast time. Every effort was made by staff to ensure all was well with our stay. We would not hesitate to stay there again and look forward to doing so next time in Rome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The staff are superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are superb. Knowledgeable, kind, understanding, patient, and so very friendly. The rooms are charming, clean, and everything was in good shape. I can’t say anything negative about our stay. My husband and daughter were equally happy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is in a small tub with a glass panel very difficult to have a shower and water sprays out everywhere.Room small for to large suitcase's.

    Perfect quiet location.free parking at hotel.location perfect for walking to restaurants and all main attraction's in Rome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice but not a real 4*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a room in a side building, out-dated and with no safe deposit. Definitely not a 4* room... clean but very small and basic, bathroom also old and rusty. Needs improvement.

    The location is great, the breakfast far better than in most italian hotels, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Hotel definitely needs a inside/outside renovation to be 4stars level again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very oldish hotel, uncomfortable beds, old furniture, no lift in the second hotel building, staff did nôt help with heavy suitcases, internet did not work properly in the evening, when we wanted to drink our breakfast coffee in the hotel terrasse garden, possible only in plastic cups, lack of hot water, toillet splash worked quite funny: after using we had to run away not to get a water shower from upper splashing part. We asked for another room, in the main building but possible only on the last night of our 4days trip. Rooms in the second hotel building are no way 4 stars, hardly 2..

    Quiet location near Vatican and shopping street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    I found the hotel quiet, Its relatively close to the end of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I found the hotel quiet, Its relatively close to the end of a major avenue/street that leads to St. Peter's, but very central. I have visited Rome before, and stayed in the Prati district, but, although I enjoyed both visits, I would return to this hotel. It is central and has excellent staff, especially Patrik at the front desk who recommended a couple of great local eateries. The staff, the setting and the cleanliness were all excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location in quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit hard, and toiletries could have included body lotion and hair conditioner. Oh, and to be able to switch air conditioning off and on in the room; had to call down to reception!

    Good location in quiet area. Just close enough to the city centre to walk in and see the sights, but far enough away from the crowds. Just around the corner from the nearest Metro station. Felt safe walking around the area day and night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    260€ for 2 nights and they gave me a room at the basement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I say at the headline, I payed 260€ to arrive at the hotel and the receptionist give me the room 111... as I head to the elevator to go to my room he told to to go downstairs... 260€ for a basement room... Of course I ask them to change it and the gave me one at the first floor... small but not in the basement. I would not visit again Guilio Cesar hotel. I use to live in Rome and there are many other 4 stars greater than this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff in general are very helpful, breakfast is quite good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was annoyed with the fact that upon arrival receptionist who wasn't much of a happy chap said that booking.com did not inform them that we had an infant with us, where confirmation e-mail clearly had included it, so he said he needed to change to room and really showed he was annoyed. Secondly I was very surprised that hotel does not offer simple boiling water to fill a baby bottle. When asked receptionist said that bar opens after 5pm, if you need some hot water you would need to walk to the first restaurant which is three blocks away who also refused to give us 100ml hot water for a baby bottle. Apart from that all was great.

    Staff in general are very helpful, breakfast is quite good and hotel decor is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable and calming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather !!!!! enabling an outside breakfast

    Lovely quiet-ish neighbourhood, (for Rome). Elegant hotel and rooms, and very near the Tiber. Metro a short walk away. A drink in the charming garden was perfect, and breakfasts superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Service was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant in the hotel and no possibility of coffee or snacks until 5.30pm when bar opened not even coffee in room.

    Service was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    We loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Morning reception staff welcomed us but sadly map was not helpful as covered with advertisement. Good to have information about best way to get to sights - metro station/ buses/ taxis.

    The staff were so very helpful - loved Manuel the dry humoured bar man, the very lovely chambermaid, the lovely breakfast lady and the reception staff. The room was a good size with fine furnishings, security safe and a good fridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful breakfast, staffed with friendly employees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Final billing was difficult for non Italian speaker/reader to understand. Front desk gentleman was somewhat impatient in clearly explaining my bill.

    Wonderful breakfast, staffed with friendly employees. Clean rooms, good bath facilities. convenient for subway travel, but long walk to St. Peters & Vatican area. I would recomend this hotel to my friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    All the staff were great and very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the shower could have been bigger

    All the staff were great and very helpful . The front desk was quite knowledgeable and knew who we were by the evening of our stay. The room was really neat and very clean. lighting was good and we could see the street . Breakfast was a great extra and they even packed a breakfast when we had a early day trip . Loved the shampoos and amenities. Location was really good- easy to walk to most everything or catch the subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great sleep conditions, nice and big room, cleanliness, breakfast, friendly staff, not very far from main objectives (around 20-25 min walk), very close to metro station (3 minutes).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    I would definitely come back again♡
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a self-service (coffe machine/ water boiler) in the room, that would be perfect to use at night.

    The staff were friendly, smiling and greeting all the time. I liked the classic style of the hotel, and the location was perfectly near the center. The area is quite and not disturbing at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, accommodating, very welcoming and I would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff. I was very late arriving due to a delayed flight. I sent a message advising of this through the booking.com website. They accommodated me without an issue. Food was good! Room was nice and clean. I liked the location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful! Would love to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi didn’t work consistently, the breakfast food choices were many, but not any fresh fruits, or american breakfast items. For example, waffles, pancakes, oatmeal.

    Customer service was great! Very helpful. Towel warmer, good water pressure, and very quiet when sleeping. Great location! We were able to walk to all of the popular sites and attractions!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.4
    Nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not the best one ( bad quality of the food, very cheap products have been offered). People could not purchase coffee before 6 pm, the coffee bar is closed during the day. It is impossible to take a shower in the morning - lack of hot water.

    Nice garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel and location was excellent. Nice in a residential area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the room didn’t work and was very hot!

    The breakfast was lovely, nice choices and set you up for the day! Lovely coffee and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one very boring English Chanel on tv .

    The hotel was in a great location very near the river and metro . The staff where friendly and helpful with good English . Breakfast was lovely , nice fresh salad and fruit and bread . It was so nice to meet the hotel owner who popped in at breakfast to have a chat and make sure that everything was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel und very helpful and nice staff, late check out,...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes poor WiFi connection. Breakfast choice quite small and absolutely the same foods for 4 days.

    Nice hotel und very helpful and nice staff, late check out, great bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    The hotel staffs were all nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the smell of the room

    The hotel staffs were all nice and helpful. We tried all the restaurants that were recommended to us by the staff, and no regrets about them. The bartender named Emmanuel was really friendly and fun to talk with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    Not a Second Chance
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed for the quality of the whole thing. The place is tired having seen much better days. No hot towels and cold. It was no space in the parking lot which was one of the reasons why I choose the hotel. I was lucky and got a spaces just outside the hotel entrance tho. Stuff unimpressive just like the breakfast. About 15 mins walk to the very heart of Rome which is good, but through a dodgy, very dark, lonely streets at night and being on my own I didn’t felt safe.

    I liked very close to nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel but for 4 stars I would expect better service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air-conditioning and lack of setting temperature in the room in the winter, on arrival we received room very small, changed next morning for better one.

    General impression good with helpful, communicative staff . Perfect location. In the bathroom was bath which was over ordered standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Fab location for our first time to Rome! 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of music and ambiance in seating area by bar.

    Staff lovely- especially bar man Rossi. Bathroom compact but extremely well equipped! Super clean and has a lot of character!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furnishings of hotel as well as hotel rooms need renovation but the price of accommodation was adecquate. Breakfast was nothing special, especially variety of pastry was below-average to italien standard.

    All members of the hotel staff were very kind and willing to help you. The hotel is located close to Vatican and a city centre, you do not need to travel by public transportation assets to see historic sights. We used hotel arrangement of transportation from airport to hotel and everything was OK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, great breakfast, polite staff, shame about the noise coming from other rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from other rooms,voices easily heard,couldn't control the temperature of the room ourselves and had to hand in the key every time we left the hotel

    Polite staff,breakfast was nice and location was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Typical Italian Hotel, lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar prices were high

    Style of hotel, location, easy access for both sight seeing and Stadio Olympico. Patrick, the receptionist could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening food wasn't good but not sure if that was simply because restaurant was closed out of season?

    Staff couldn't have been more helpful when we found the bed too hard resulting in back ache. They moved us to a better room at no extra cost even though the hotel was extremely busy. The staff were excellent, receptionists, waiters and cleaners. Loved the hotel decor, completely "romesque" and the breakfasts were scrumptious. Could not speak more highly of them and would use again when returning to Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful old hotel, great location with wonderful staff- we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attitude of the bar man, they ran out of beer and closed the bar early. Wifi connections were poor

    Staff (apart from the bar man) were great- excellent service with a smile. Patrik on reception deserves a special mention. Location for walking to bars, restaurants and the stadium (this visit was for watching the Six Nations Rugby) was perfect. Parking was easy. We had no hot water on the first morning but when we informed the reception the problem was fixed. The hotel was well cared for with lovely internal decor. We look forward to visiting in the warmer weather to enjoy a drink in the pretty, little garden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant, comfortable, terrible wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WIFI was DREADFUL. One if the worst I have ever had too deal with, as it varied from strong to inexistent and so often cut one off mid activity. This is a serious draw back today, as the web is the source not just for work but also leisure needs.

    The breakfast was good, the staff were efficient, the location as great, the hotel was very quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Front desk manager did nothing to inform the guest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk manager did nothing to inform the guest concerning possible strike of the staff of ATAC. So we could plan our day in the other way. Unfortunately, we were not completely informed about that, so we could not visit planned spots of interest due to the stop of public transport. He did not agree that this situation might be predicted and the guests might be informed of it. In other cases the hotel is excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Classic family-owned hotel, in a good location near the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Classic family-owned hotel, in a good location near the metro and the centre, and in a quiet street. Breakfast was good (some more fruit would have been welcome). Kind and helpful staff. Quality/price was excellent in January (very low season).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    3.3
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic 4* facilities were absent--- eg 1. functioning telephone 2. working remote for the TV 3. Glasses for drinking water 4. facilities for making tea/coffee or access to hot water etc

    Breakfast croissants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.6
    Elderly owner of the property, I didn’t have the heart to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in late night with a sick child and infant but heating didn’t work in the room. Spent hours arguing with the staff which didn’t help. Was later provided with a temporary oil heater due to which room light kept tripping while night. When complained at Reception, they said you got the room cheaper so you shouldn’t complain !!!

    Elderly owner of the property, I didn’t have the heart to complain to him!! Such a shame that staff isn’t like him (Resautrant staff was good!!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.4
    Hotel prices should be reduced for the value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking are limited, some days reception staff simply will tell you sorry no parking is available. Hotel is classic and outdated, everything is very old like 20 years old, bed linings and towels smelled weird like some sort of chemical.

    Location & staff are very helpful specially Mr. Victor, I have to mention that the did upgrade our rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    The service at the front desk was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very stuffy as the air conditioning was off during winter. However, when we opened the windows to let in cold air, a lot of mosquitoes flew in as well.

    The service at the front desk was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.7
    Room not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not comfortable. In the first room they assigned to me, the toilet did not work properly. The room I was moved to was very hot the entire time, even though thermostat was set at 16C and outside temperature was 40-50F. Very difficult to sleep. When I opened the window to cool the room so I could sleep, there were no screens, mosquitos came in and I got bit while trying to sleep. Closed the window and ended up pulling the bedsheet completely over my head as a makeshift mosquito net. They sprayed the room for mosquitos after I reported the bugs. But the room remained very hot. Later I was sitting in the area besidw the lobby and got bit again by mosquitos. Aside from that, the hair dryer in the room has very limited capacity. I ran it on high speed and it shut off for overload after about 1 minute. After that, the dryer worked only on low speed, which meant it took a very long time to dry hair. Overall, this hotel needs to "sharpen its pencils."

    Location, very close to Metro and eating places.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay at a clean room but old room and a poor breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast not as rich as other 4-star hotels in Europe. Almost nonexistent options for vegans and gluten-free diet. Fruits, nuts and vegetables lovers are not going to be happy. The bathroom, the wallpaper and the furniture are old. One does not expect a 4-star hotel to have stayed that behind as far as renovation is concerned.

    The bed was very comfortable. The internet is very good. No problems with it and fast. The staff was very friendly, very polite and very helpful. Very clean despite the fact that the room was old. The breakfast room was renovated nicely. The garden is wonderful and an oasis within the city. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous classic Italian hotel with beautiful helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was charming from the staff to the location and decor People have commented saying the hotel is dated but it simply suits its surroundings, authentic Italian feel!! The owner came around in the morning at breakfast time on our last day and introduced himself, he is 93 and it's little touches like this that we will always remember.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Cute, friendly, good situated hotel with good price/value ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating is noisy a bit. The bathroom heating was not working and the whole bathroom needs renewal.

    Braekfast is perfect quality and quantity. ECO room is acceptable. Very kind hotel staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.8
    It was ok. The manager was helpful the resolve some issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better, if they take car of the bathtub door, the water from the shower was leaking on the floor. They also need to change the blow dryer, it's very old, I burned my hair. We've changed the rooms for three times, because, what they offered to us in the beginning it didn't fit our expectations. Some rooms are too dark and old fashioned, but in fact, they gave us discount and didn't change an extra money, despite that they offer us to upgrade the room from the very beginning for an extra cost.

    my girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel fir three nights. Staff people was quite nice and helpful. The best part of the property is breakfast. Food was a good quality, tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    1) Good Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) There are some times that the hot water wasn't that hot/warm enough. 2) No tea/coffee/water boiler/coffee cups. If you want to borrow them, go to the bar. It was 6 euros per night. 3) There aren't many good restaurants. Staff even recommended us to go to Piazza Popolo. 4) Staff can be sarcastic whenever you ask something for your room.

    1) Good Staff 2) Close to Vatican and bus station 3) Nice breakfast. Various options. They even have salad. Breakfast menu doesn't change but only the dessert. Breakfast was really good! 4) Good amenity

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    An elegant and comfortable base for a few days exploring Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Giulio Cesare is a classy, old style hotel conveniently located within walking distance of many of Rome's famous sights. The service is excellent and the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast is very good with a great selection of sweet and savoury dishes to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful older luxury hotel, excellent staff and breakfast. Good (and quiet) location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Terrific older small luxury hotel. Beautifully designed and furnished rooms, excellent service, protected parking. Breakfast was fantastic. Walk to Roman ruins, Vatican and Borghese park areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Exelent hotel!with amazing beautiful smell in the room😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love Gulio cesare hotel! I was second time here,exelent service,food for breakfast,exellent staff in breakfast room,very clean room!loved! Defenetly will return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.2
    Very dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel. Paid for a superior room. 3/4 bath, terrible shower and leaking around cubitcle. Breakfast was awful in dark basement looked like something out of 1970s. Coffee machine out of orders and tepid breakfast and only syrupy tinned fruit on offer. Location was great and rooms comfortable. Shame they did t make outside terrace or bar accomadsting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Not a sleek modern cookie cutter hotel, but comfortable and friendly and in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we like local atmosphere, we have nothing to complain about.we

    Beautiful mid size older Roman hotel with atmosphere. Cozy garden and bar, very good breakfast. One block from Tiber river. Vatican City on one side of the river (15 minutes walk), old Rome on other side, all in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hair dryer did not work, the toilet seat was broken. With one restaurant staff attitude was rude and arrogant, this reported and corrected. He needs to be retrained. He has been in the job too long. Disappointed in the size of the room. We have been visiting the hotel over the past 12 years, surely our pending visit should have been flagged in the system. Our name should be flagged respectively how we booked directly or indirectly.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    I would not stay there again for the money i paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and dark, no proper bed quilt- there was only one blanket. I had to ask for 3 times to bring my room a warmer quilt. First 2 times of my request was ignored by ththe staff. Reception staff was not smiley, grumpy faces. For the money i paid, i had a very small room, and it was annoyingly dark.

    Wifi was fast, breakfast was decent, hotel was clean. Location is 15 minutes walking from the main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    Neighborhood was very safe, but a little far from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the start I had the impression that management was very cheap in the way they ran this place. The breakfast was disgusting. The eggs were from a carton and the rest of the food was of similarly low quality. This could be forgiven if the food had been stored properly and prepared in a sanitary manner. It was not. The cheese and meat selections were sweaty, warm and entirely unappetizing. The chafing dishes and associated hardware were not well cleaned and the coffee machine looked as if it had never been cleaned. The yogurts seemed to have gone back and forth from cold and hot several times, although they hadn't expired they were already spoiled. Even the plates and mugs on the table were stained and poorly cleaned. As far as the room itself goes, we immediately noticed peeling wall paper and when I dropped a white towel on the floor after using the bathroom for the first time it was covered in dirt. Additionally the tile in the bathroom was seriously in need of new grout. While the tiles were in good condition and their design and layout in good taste, the grout was cracked and pitted and the presence of black mold was apparent immediately. To top it all off, on the last night of our stay we discovered, to put it politely, what appeared to be the remnants of a "love" stain that had been deposited on the wall paper near one of the beds (I've included a picture of it, quite disgusting).

    Neighborhood was very safe, but a little far from everything. We walked at least 20 minutes every time we left. The design of the hotel was aesthetically pleasing, but in need of better maintenance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt a little rushed out by the breakfast staff. We knew breakfast closed at 10am, but at 9:55am it felt like everyone was watching to make sure we were getting ready to leave. A little flexibility to allow guests either to sit a little longer and finish coffee, pastry etc. would be great, or allow guests to take coffee out of the dining area would be great to see.

    The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. Advice on where to eat, how to get around (public transit vs walking), neighborhoods to explore were all very helpful as we had only 2 days in Rome. The room was clean and well maintained. WiFi was great! The air conditioning worked well, and kept us quite comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and had everything we were looking for. The bed was a little low to the ground and slightly tired, but was more than sufficient for our needs. Breakfast was included in our rate, and offered a variety of options one would expect to cater to a variety of guests from all over the world.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Value for money stay in Rome, away from the frenetic tourist hustle and bustle, but also close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Old classic style hotel, all amenities, except for safe in room, worked 100%. Location perfect across the Tiber river, some of Rome's main attractions within walking distance. Road street cafes and restaurants around the corner and very close Metro station. Safe neigbourhood for walking at night. Probably one of the best breakfast spreads that you will find in Rome at the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    The property is fabulous by all means.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything!!!

    The property is fabulous by all means. We enjoyed stay in this hotel so much that booked it for our return trip as well. I highly recommend everyone to book this hotel, because it is located in a quiet area in a minutes walk to Vatican and Castel San't Angelo. Breakfast, cleanliness, comfort are 10 out of 10 for me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    We booked a room in next door building fortunately they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for baby cottage and they said it costs 20 €per night

    We booked a room in next door building fortunately they offered us a room in main building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.6
    I strongly suggest to pick any other hotel in Prati, luckily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I strongly suggest to pick any other hotel in Prati, luckily there’re better options. The score for this one on Booking is misleading, and 8+ is substntial overestimation. Actual level of the hotel is weak 3* and no more. It’s absolutely mediocre. The biggest issue is breakfast which is even worse than in some 3*. By the way, it’s not held in the garden (pretty small room in fact). The meal selection was so poor and amount of products was very small with staff not rushing to replenish them. For instance, there were barely 4 boiled eggs available. An absolutely unacceptable thing is only 1 free cappuccino per person (you’re supposed to pay every other cup). This is mean. It’s one and only hotel with such odd limitation I have ever come across. Even 2* hotels didn’t have it. Eventually it was more convinient for us to have a breakfast elsewhere. Besides the breakfast there were issues with safety. During last night of our stay somebody entered the room while we were sleeping in, though “don’t disturb” sign was on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. I really liked the breakfast and felt quite comfortable in my room. Although at first glance it seemed to be far from the city center, later we realized it was in the best possible location. Most attractions are within walking distance and the Borghese Villa is very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Very nice personnel, parking available and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean but it was an Economy one... underground, smelish and oldish... So avoid to book the economy.

    Very nice personnel, parking available and tidy. Nice breakfast also. Good value considering the position.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit of a walk to the Vatican, but was close to the river, which made the walk to the attractions on that side great, including the spanish steps.

    The breakfast was great, many selections and the breakfast staff was friendly and welcoming. The beds were a bit too hard for us, but the room was nice. Upon arrival our AC did not work well and the WiFi did not work in our room, but the staff at the front desk had fixed it right away. The room was quiet and dark.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel with great staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only nitpicking negative could be the addition of a kettle in the room for making your own hot drinks but that is severely nitpicking.

    The room was spacious. The staff were excellent but in particular front desk and Yuosseff in the bar / restaurant was fantastic. Always friendly and personable and the staff on desk were also very helpful and pleasant. Bathrooms were of decent size with enough room compared to other hotels I've stayed in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Spacious room, quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mosquitoes in the room - that was real problem. Ironing in the room was prohibited as usual for Italy. Internet didnt work for several hours one evening.

    Spacious room, quiet place. Hotel is really close to the Lepanto station, 10-15 minutes on metro from Termini. Had windows to the inner garden, nice bar in the lobby. Breakfast wasn't bed, with fresh mozzarella :) Not just sandwiches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.0
    It is very close to the subway but everything is in walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It needs renovation. The breakfast is rather poor and it is the same thing every single day. Not even close to 4 stars.

    It is very close to the subway but everything is in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Comfortable stay *breakfast *friendly staffs * location ( near lepanto train station) Or around 15mins walk to go to Vatican Basilica Or if you go the other side (bridge) it's already a tourist spot and just walk more minutes and you will be in Spanish steps. (Taxi from airport around 55€)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative can be said :)

    I like everything about this hotel. Excellent location, friendly staff, beautiful interior and very silent neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel near Vatican city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed two nights and the first day wi-fi worked well but the second day it had a connection problem.

    Breakfast is mazing and very friendly staff. Room is very clean ans well decorated. Bathroom is very nice and spacious. Metro station and bus station is very close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.8
    criminal zone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    during my stay i had a terrible experience. i parked my car just in front of the hotel after i heard from the reception it's safe. but my car window glass was broken and my belongings were stolen as i came back from the day trip. so i have to quit all the rest of my travel and go to the police station and car repair center. but all the procedure was not easily going. the parking garage of this hotel is capable of just 5~6 cars and always full. the hotel is totally old and the room i stayed first day was very pity. the air conditioner couldn't be operated. especially in bathroom, bath tub and water basin is so old and even don't be flushed.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Best area - reasonable price - great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. The area of the hotel is close to metro station Lepanto, near by the river Tevere, close to the Vatican, close to Via de la Rienzo and...... Perfect!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Very classic and old world feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very classic and old world feel. The room was comfortable and a lot of attention to detail was evident. The breakfast was plentiful and very delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Not so much like my other 4 star hotel stays...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath/shower did not have a curtain and the floor, toilet seats and bidet gets soaked whenever we shower. The water pressure on the shower/bath and bidet was too much, water was very difficult to control. The room did not have a clock. The room also had two electrical sockets only which was difficult for us since we have a lot of electronic gadgets to charge. The bed was big but it was two single beds put together, it was not a proper king sized bed. Also, the bed was stiff and hard, not very comfy. The fleece or probably wool blankets they provided was very itchy, I would rather have a cotton duvet. They did not provide Slippers abd Bathrobes straight away, it needed to be requested from the reception, and the receptionist said that we had to collect them from reception (probably because it was late at night and they did not have enough staff to go around). The bar food at night was below average, the "risotto" I ordered looked and tasted more like paella. It also seemed like it was just heated from the microwave. The smoked salmon sandwich I ordered still has some plastic in it while I was eating it, and the bar staff didn't even apologise. Finally, the free printer provided did not have enough ink which printed our boarding passes too light and the airport scanner could not read it. I have used better serviced four star hotels before and this hotel might have 4 star decor and location but the service seemed 3 star. Do not get me wrong, they were always very friendly and professional but for me it's not just about that especially if you claim to be a four star hotel.

    Breafast was amazing, a lot of choices with really good waiting staff. Special thanks to Eddie and Jessica who were really helpful to us during our stay. Interior decoration very elegant and extravagant. Bar area beautifully decorated as well. The owner himself visits guests during breakfast to say hello and ask about their stay, he is a very nice man.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Location, beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom two seperate faucets for hot and cold: uncomfortable especially when traveling with a baby. Wifi didn't work the entire time we were there

    Location, beautiful building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Classy Rome accommodations for one heck of a value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have been a bit more room between foot of the bed and the wall.

    The breakfasts were outstanding. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful - truly friendly, helpful people. The physical plant of the hotel - design, condition - were extremely nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Beautifull place, well situated but not for those traveling on a reasonable budget. Few amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they have no irons or boards, no ice or ice bucked unless you negociate with the bar tender and the restaurant recommendation was pretty ordinary. The feeling is if you are traveling on a reasonable budget, you will not feel welcome.

    The building is beautifull, the room spacious, great neighbourhood. They have a superbe garden .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Not worthy 4 star rating. Possibly had this a long time ago xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a bit of tlc. Dripping shower when using bath, fan in bathroom not working. Very basic toiletries and no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Only a fridge with water and some strange fruit juice flavours plus 2 cans of pop, all of which has to be paid for.

    Liked the style of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    A most enjoyable stay with attention to guests first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was well from arrival to departure.

    Overall an excellent stay. We stayed in this very hotel many years ago and both stays were excellent and attention to the guests by all was a joy. It won't be our last visit to this wonderfully run Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: