Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gli Dei 4 stars

Via Coste di Agnano 21, 80078 Pozzuoli, Italy

#7 of 16 hotels in Pozzuoli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 467 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ‘tired’. The rooms could undergo a serious upgrade. Even the tourist brochures and room menu are ‘tired’ not having been replaced in a long time. At breakfast juices can be consumed from (small) plastic cups! It does not deserve a 4* rating.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.8
    The view, nice big terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, the hotel is really old. We could see that many parts should have already been replaced. Airconditioning worked, but it was very loud. The minibar was rusty. Some spots in the room were really dusty. We were unlucky, because for 2 of 3 days the pool was closed due to a private event (which is mentioned more or less on booking, but they don’t tell when exactly it will be closed). We had a continental breakfast with plastic cups. At least the waiter was nice and made us a coffee even with soy milk, which we appreciated a lot. On the first day the receptionist was nice and helpful and she let us cancel the last two days of out 3-day stay, thankfully. On the second day, another receptionist was unfriendly and didn’t even find the time to say „goodbye” at the end. We really don’t recommend Gli Dei hotel. It definitely doesn’t deserve 4* anymore and for this price you should rather look for sth else, like we finally did.

    The view, nice big terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Perfect view Only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only Juli you can use sweaming pool, everyday wedding ceremony there:/ in this temperature Its hard to exist Without... hard to comunicate With personel Only italian speeking...

    Perfect view Only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    The swimming pool is open only in August - although it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is open only in August - although it was written somewhere when we booked that the pool does not work, we missed that and it was a great disappointment to see that the pool does not work in June when it was very hot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    With fabulous views this is a nice hotel, in a difficult location, but we really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We only found out that the swimming pool was closed when we arrived. Very disappointing! Also, the hotel is very busy with conferences and weddings. During our two week stay there was a conference on most days and around 9 weddings. We felt as though we were in the way.

    Wonderful views. Very good staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall, it was a pretty decent experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed more utensils for the dishes. There was a little boy grabbing the food with his hands and eating it. That was pretty unsanitary.

    -Room The room was clean. The bed is firm but comfortable. The view was incredible in the evening as much as it was in the morning! -Breakfast The assortment of food and drink options for breakfast was nice. The table were beautifully organized. When we walked in we were greeted with the option for coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    I must say that this is a none smoking hotel but not at 03.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must say that this is a none smoking hotel but not at 03.00 in the mourning as the nightport had been smoking in the lobby with an ashtray full of buttends shame

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Great views over bay, somewhat difficult to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel caters to bus tours; as individual travellers we felt shut out in the dining room - particularly at breakfast. At dinner the waiter and/or chef made a gross error in our meal, no effort was made to recompense us or replace the meal.

    Good location on top of a hill overlooking the shore. Nice balcony comfortable room and bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.3
    View are amaizing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff there is terrible not friendly and really poor service for a 4* hotel (for me it's a joke.) Only 1-2 people from the personnel speak English but in a very low level. No spare key to the room caused me to sleep on the front desk in the chair tell my trip partner will come back, also the rooms are not really clean 4 days same towels, bathroom are really dirty when we come first day. This place never should to have a 4* - maybe 3* with this primitive way to treat a guests !!!!!

    View are amaizing !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Really fabulous views, a very peaceful and relaxing holiday location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Really fabulous views! Quiet hotel, almost private pool most of the time. Really pleasant and helpful staff, friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated at top of very steep hill with no easy access to town, taxi is very expensive. Restaurant menu needs more variety but good food.

    Beautiful hotel overlooking bay. Very friendly and attentive staff. Lovely views on all sides. Would definitely come again if in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Really nice view from the spacious balcony, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a pretty disgusting smell in the air, which was sometimes ver strong and sometimes not very strong, it seemed to be something like a sewage plant in the close area and depending on the wind it was hard to even enjoy sitting by the pool or on the balcony. We could even smell it in the room.

    Really nice view from the spacious balcony, very friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at gli Dei were incredibly helpful. We were actually staying there after a short trip to Ischia and they worked with us to arrange parking and transport to the ferry. Everyone was super friendly and accommodating. The property has a great view of Ischia on one side and Vesuvius on the other. The rooms were functional and larger than most I've seen in Italy. The only caveat about the hotel is that it pretty much requires a car to get to or you would at least need to orchestrate a transfer of some kind. There is not anything immediately near by in terms of restaurants, but there is a nice restaurant on the property and the friendly staff even helped us to order pizza and had it delivered to our room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only part that was a bit tough was walking into town-- it is a long walk and the walk back requires quite a hike up the mountain, and is on the winding road, which has fairly steady traffic. Still, taxi rides can make that a non-issue.

    We got a room with a sea view and the view was spectacular! Loved sitting in the balcony with a up of coffee each morning. We also got a standard room for the kids and both our room and theirs were very spacious and well kept. The air condition felt great after spending the day outdoors in the wonderful sun. The staff was very helpful and friendly-- they helped us book a trip to Pompeii with driver Roberto, who was GREAT and took great care of us. The restaurant was very nice, with fresh seafood meals and scrumptious antipasti options-- especially love the way they warm the rolls. The grounds around the property are beautifully maintained and provide peaceful, comfortable options for relaxing outside while taking in the views of the sea, the town, and the volcanic mountain. Love the proximity to the Pozzuoli harbor and center (by car/taxi), and to Pompeii, Amalfi coast, Naples, and other lovely Italian cities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Great view on Procida & Ischia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the airport (with car), great view on Procida & Ischia, hotel provided a shuttle to port of Pozzuoli and picked us up again later in the evening

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Magnificent view and nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: you had to poor yourself juice in a plastic cup! There is no real lobby. Didn't miss it but if that is what you want: it isn't there. Come here for the location and the pool. By the way. There is a wedding each Saturday it seems and on that day the pool is closed from a certain time. If you are only there for two days and on one of the days the pool is closed...not so nice. Food at the hotel over priced. Much better to get a lift to town: 5 minutes away, attractive non touristy town with parade of restaurants along the bay.

    Super friendly staff who was happy to jump in the car to drop us off in town whenever we liked and however many times a day. Room very large. Most amazing view I have ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    Amazing accomodation that cannot be topped by another!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel should implement, if not already established, a form of mosquito control(torches?). Wifi does not extend past entrance of hotel.

    I enjoyed everything from the room, breakfast and view of the harbor. Staff were always helpful and carried a positive attitude, Service with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    3.8
    Poor service, ageing hotel but great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor cleanliness of rooms and swimming pool, no warm water in bathroom in the evenings, staff can barely speak English, pool closed on Saturday due to wedding organised at the hotel. Ageing hotel in great need of refurbishment (cracks in the wall)

    Sea view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant is quite expensive and posh and would have liked to be able to buy cheaper snacks. A car is useful, though the hotel do have a shuttle service, taxis are available and it's a 15 minute walk to the train station.

    The location of this hotel is breath-taking, so try and get a room with a sea view. Swimming pool was lovely, but not good for little children as no shallow end. We loved the volcano next door, but there is often a whiff of sulphur! The staff were friendly and a good base to explore this wonderful part of Italy and Pompeii.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel with fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a negative but you do need a car for this hotel. It is a very steep hill and too hot to walk. Also there aren't many restaurants within walking distance.

    The hotel, grounds and pool are beautiful and the views are amazing! We are a family of 5 and they provided us with two interconnecting rooms. These were spacious and comfortable. The balcony for each room was really spacious with fantastic views over the bay. The view at sunset is spectacular. The breakfast buffet was really good with lots of choice, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast and a pancake machine my children loved! It was a great location to explore Naples and a short drive to the nearest Metro station. Also right next to the Solfatara volcano which is really interesting and with a visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    3.8
    Definitely avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds, filthy pool, over priced tasteless food, awful breakfast buffet

    Staff on arrival were friendly but other staff were very rude so it's luck of the draw as to who you get

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite isolated but for who wants privacy it’s perfect

    Comfortable and beautiful location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Everything the view the food the service it was excellent...
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the view the food the service it was excellent will definitely be back next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Very nice view, confortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the swimming pool was not in use for hotel guests in due of a noisy wedding party.

    Very nice view, confortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable with a lovely view of the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast was poor. The shower in the room was broken.

    The location. The layout of the hotel. Comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The staff was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was fantastic. Very attentive and great anticipation of what we would want and when we would want it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    2.5
    Brilliant choice , go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving the hotel , lol

    Everything about the hotel was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    The View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoking just outside our rooms on the second floor, Breakfast was a joke

    The View

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful views, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV controls were outdated. Air conditioning subpar

    I enjoyed the staff and the front desk were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Great view!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, steep hills.

    View was amazing. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great location and views, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and views, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Great stay, relaxing after hectic days out. Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sulphur smell from volcano.

    Size of the room and view from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    We stayed in the "suites" annex, lovely big room partitioned to allow comfort for the whole family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The range of fresh cakes at breakfast were superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the fantastic view. The wonderful room. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Hotel in pozzouli!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and very accommodating. I arrived early and they helped me to store my luggage while I payed at the pool until my room was ready.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get up the hill

    Antonio was so nice to us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Loved the views and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bar access after 9 pm, limited restaurant menu

    Poor room service , no access to facilities when functions are on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    2.5
    Everything's
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything's

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    great swimming pool and view to pozzuoli bay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool and the view were great!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    What a view!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The View

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Extrordinary location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stairs to reach the main entrance. Difficult access if you have luggage and trolley

    The location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    8.8
    View of the gulf was fantastic, staff couldn't do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View of the gulf was fantastic, staff couldn't do enough to help, even collecting us from the station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    6.3
    We booked a room with a sea view, we didn't get a sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Sea View (5 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too high up the mountain and it had a funky smell up there?!

    We booked a room with a sea view, we didn't get a sea view!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    balcony & view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    balcony & view breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    Service by the waiters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service by the waiters

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    stunning sea bay view, nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the furnitures are a little old

    stunning sea bay view, nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    Very nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room had weird smell.

    Hotel gives you ride to a near by metro station until 10 pm. They have good breakfast. It has very good view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was very good, the food was good in general.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was nice and clean but a little dated. We stayed in the 7 person room which consisted of 1 bed and 3 couch beds.

    Breakfast was very good, the food was good in general. We were there in the winter so we didn't get to use the pool but the outside view was really amazing. Good location

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful setting and view, would be very nice in the summer...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a good distance and quite a slope if you wanted to walk into the town

    Beautiful setting and view, would be very nice in the summer months. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.7
    nice location, stunning views
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Many weddings are celebrated during the week. The music is really loud as it is in the swimming pool and it is impossible to sleep. At 1:00am the music was still playing. The second night they changed us to another room. Although the staff was really nice, they should tell you if there are going to be weddings when you book this hotel, so you can decide what to do. If there are weddings, the swimming pool closes earlier

    nice location, stunning views

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.1
    Great staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I missed the information that the hotel specializes in wedding events . Which are almost a daily basis.

    Great staff . Beautiful place , the hotel has a wonderful view . The kitchen specializes in seafood and fish. Kitchen is for Michelin's 3 stars!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No band experience except you will need a car to get to and from places. There are no close eateries nearby for evening meals.

    The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Refurbishment was happening at the time we went but this did not spoil the holiday. The views to Naples, the port and Mount versuvuous are magnificent!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    Lovely location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location and views.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Great location, nice view and an awesome pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, nice view and an awesome pool!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    6.3
    Nothing special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only blanket in the room, not comfortable for sleeping

    Nothing special

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were a little small

    Breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.5
    Very nice hotel staff was very helpfull nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    To far from centre of town you need a car was impossible to get taxi at night to return to hotel

    Very nice hotel staff was very helpfull nice view

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.5
    As above in the headline
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast wasn't great, although acceptable. Hotel was a little hard to find.

    As above in the headline

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Gli Dei traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: