Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Centro Benessere 4 stars

Corso Umberto I 133, 97015 Modica, Italy

#15 of 16 hotels in Modica

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, but the room was so old.. and I heard wild cat(?) or rat(?)'s footstep all night. And actually I left my jacket and shirt in the ancient closet.. (Totally forgot.. weird..)

    The location was really great. Center of the oldtown, Modica. And the room was clean inside, kind of.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    3.8
    Definately choose another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wanted to use the indoor pool bur we were asked to pay an extra €40 daily to use it. When I booked the hotel there was no where written that it was at an extra charge.

    We were given a humid room with loads of stairs and no lift but since we were alone in the hotel they have changed it for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    A fabulous location in a jewel of a town - but not the lap of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit 'tired' where the décor was concerned and because of the ancient nature of the building, few of the rooms seemed to have much daylight. The 'spa' was a joke and shouldn't be included in the description.

    Brilliant location and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    3.8
    Damp smelly room with delusions of grandeur. Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tiny and claustrophobic and damp! Triggered severe asthma attack. Air-conditioning not working. Had to leave a day early as imposdible to stay on health grounds. Had only booked the night before at 7 pm and they refused to refund the second night accommodation. The manager was conveniently not contactable. Receptionist was kind and tried to help but had no authority.

    Central location. Striking entrance hall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Characterful hotel in the heart of Modica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit hit-or-miss at times; probably better in the high season with more guests.

    The hotel is, in English terminology, "a listed building". Full of character, with furnishings to match the style of the rooms (large, high ceilings, period-style furniture). Somewhat understaffed, but the staff were responsive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    3.8
    Never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Room was musty. Internet was not available in bedroom. Staff gave poor directions to locations about town.

    Breakfast was uninspired. Little choice and boring fare.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    Charming hotel in the hub of Modica!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in the room not very efficient. Bar service to enjoy terrace in the evenings would have been nice as we could have sat there for a good couple of hours. Minibar contained water the first night but wasn't topped up and no other drinks available. Not advised on arrival that Spa had to be booked and were unable to make use of it.

    Great location. Charming entrance off the street with nice friendly relaxed restaurant inside the stone arch which didn't appear to be part of the hotel. Up attractive stone steps to the hotel. Lovely building of character with a great terrace over looking the bustly street. The road outside was pedestrianised at the weekend after 9 so enjoyed being in the hub of things. The mini train to take you to the higher parts of Modica started a few yards away from the entrance which was handy as one of our party couldn't walk far. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. Our quadruple room was a good size but due to layout felt we were squeezing by a bed to get out of the room, but on the plus side our room opened straight onto the terrace which we loved.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.2
    Unbelievable value right in the centre of the city but the free parking offered is street parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had a bath that was also actually in our room which would be perfect for a couple travelling together but not ideal for a group of three friends! Also the free parking offered by the hotel is actually street parking which is difficult to find and the parking attendant is on the street issuing tickets and 8.30 if you are in the blue zones.

    The staff were so helpful and carried our bags in and out of the property.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    7.9
    LOVED IT !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was exceptionally dark, badly in need of more lighting. The bedroom had NO MIRRORS so had to rely on the small wall mirror in the bathroom which was practically impossible to see in! It was also advertised as having a restaurant but infact only served breakfast.

    Staff were all charming and helpful! The location was excellent and the little courtyard was a perfect end to the day in Modica enjoying a glass of wine from the traditional friendly wine bar below.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice little place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky hotel right in centre of Modica. Breakfast was limited but ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Room next to the reception
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room next to the reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    It was ok but it is Not 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    not worthy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    too barocco, nothing for breakfast, nothing to drink, unconfortable rooms, bad shower,

    location, front-desk people, bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Very special rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast probably, though I'm not so a breakfast eater myself

    Wonderful hotel, very special

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    10
    Friendly personnel, historic place, baroque surroundings.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly personnel, historic place, baroque surroundings...if it was good for a Modica noble, I could be convinced to stay here...just.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    A great location to visit the surrounding sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but italian breakfasts are never great so in comparison ok

    The location was right in town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Just outside in road was the little tourist train so a visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just outside in road was the little tourist train so a visit all round was so easy and great value. Great restaurant just up the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    The room was clean, the staff were friendly and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, the staff were friendly and the location was great. I really enjoyed the spa and sauna!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent baroque palazzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are so close that it can be noisy depending on the room.

    Excellent baroque palazzo. Incredibly cozy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.9
    More selection and more fresh foods
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More selection and more fresh foods

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotal in great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything abt this hotal was fantastic and we only wished we had stayed for one night

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room could be more comfortable.

    The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.5
    Good price, pleasant room and staff, good breakfast for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hard to find parking. Our room faced the Main Avenue and it was noisy with traffic from early in the morning. We could also hear some noise of pigeons who live in the façade of the building during the night.

    Good price, pleasant room and staff, good breakfast for the price.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.8
    Location, personal, interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, personal, interior...

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Very eclectic, quite the mix
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a single room that was a bit dungeony? I am sure the other rooms would be great

    Very eclectic, quite the mix

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    Interesting hotel with lots of quirky features perfectly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Interesting hotel with lots of quirky features perfectly located. Interior decor was splendid.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    perfect location,warm service,fantastic facility.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    perfect location,warm service,fantastic facility.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: