Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5 stars

Via Santa Maria Vecchia, 2, 80066 Vico Equense, Italy

#5 of 15 hotels in Vico Equense

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Breakfast at the terrace with a splendid view. Also enough to choose from at the buffet. We had a room with gardenview and were pleased with the space and it was very clean! Very friendly staff, especially at the bar. They really made us feel at home because of their very personal approach. Easy access to trainstation for trains to Napoli, Sorrento. The staff at the reception were helpfull in finding the best way to reache your destination.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    One of the very best hotels anywhere. You will not be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Absolutely magnificent hotel. Beautiful location, very professional and pleasant staff, lovely grounds and above all else strong sense of tranquility and well being.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous room with a stunning view and so beautiful designed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants - the food in the formal one is aiming for Michelin star style but is not quite up to standard and is over priced. They would do better with a simpler menu and more choice as the setting is stunning and the staff especially the maitre d are charming and professional. The pizza restaurant downstairs is horrible - rude staff, below average pizza and an uninspiring interior The shuttle buses are quite infrequent but maybe they have more in high season

    Gorgeous room with a stunning view and so beautiful designed and decorated Whole hotel is beautiful and clean The staff are polite, thoughtful and charming - they helped my boyfriend organise a wonderful surprise for my birthday and everything is done with style and class - this I d of service is really not a given in southern Italy! This hotel exudes luxury and little things like room service are done very well The bathroom was particularly lovely a with a huge bath and lovely products Breakfast is good and the staff are attentive Everything is spotlessly clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    It was a treat to get away from the kids for a few days, the location, Hotel & Staff were a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was very small, ensuite was small and shower extremely narrow. Kept hitting the taps which constantly adjusted the temperature hot or cold. I think we were given one of the smallest rooms, had I have known I would have asked for bigger at time of booking. Would not stop me from going back.

    The hotel itself was beautiful, the bar & food excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly could not do enough for you, beautiful town not too busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    Definitely not a 5-star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was far below our expectation of a 5-star property. On top, we got food poisoned from the fish we were served at their so-called empty fine dining restaurant. Despite the fact that we both broke out with clear symptoms of poisoning after that specific meal, the management denied its responsibility, barely feeling sorry for our state, not even suggesting they would investigate their kitchen “where it would be impossible for such thing to happen” as they said. Next to that, we were assigned a small room no more than 14m2 in a category that claimed room size starts at 27m2. To this, management replied room sizes include terrace space?!? We literally had to unpack our suitcase on the terrace. Better to drive further to Sorrento and stay in another 5-star than this one.

    The view on the bay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast, clean nice room and also servis was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Electrocity and lights in our room were not working properly. Need some repair. Lout old air-condition.

    Good breakfast, clean nice room and also servis was excellent. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    A lovely place ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two many good staff in this small luxury hotel to name , very helpful and informative, they generously booked for the shuttle bus although according to the season they had a limited timetable regarding the timing for the shuttle service also when I was out and sent them email for booking they responded very quickly which was impressing It’s a train station five minutes walk to the hotel also with good links to different towns including Napoli and Sorrento The views are amazing with the sea and the location is on mountains .. The breakfast was excellent , I had my dinner mostly at L’Accanto restaurant the same place where breakfast is served , which really is magnificent as the site says with an amazing chef!! There was a gentleman named Govanna ( hope I’ve got the right spelling of his name) who was very professional and kind , The pasori restsurant was very nice too the staff were very really nice and caring , I felt I’m at my second home ... something special about this hotel which made me very emotional when I was leaving ... I’ve very good memories with every person there that will be treasured forever from the receptionists , the waitresses , the housing service honestly with everybody the housekeeper was excellent I had fresh pillow sheaths every day and I think she changed the other sheaths very regularly , quite pleasant ... Overall my stay in Angiolieri Hotel was very comfortable and relaxing and definitely will recommend to everybody

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing an disgusting !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room booked with sea view did not have shower facility. To get a safe shower facility we were forced to take a much lesser room with no sea view. Manager refused to lower rate for lesser room initially and only agreed to a partial reduction after some aggravation. On second morning of occupancy of lesser room, raw sewage bubbled up in large quantities from bathroom floor disgusting. Problem rectified while we were out that day but no explanation or apology offered. Staff had a very superior attitude that was extremely irritating

    View from bar and breakfast room were spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    "double bed" was actually 2 singles pushed together. Pool was cold, but guessing thats because it was a infinity pool and expensive to keep warm. Hot tub was too cold to use!

    Awesome hotel. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful way to finish our 2017 Italian holiday, thanks to amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out! We will be back - soon...

    Beautiful location, view, accommodation & staff extremely professional & friendly. Several local weddings during our stay which indicates 'how special' the hotel is in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.0
    it was my fault to choose this hotel to have our last night in Rome....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room, not only the design, also the facility was soooo old and seems not that clean... it was like a hostel not a 5 stars hotel....the price for one night was quite high, and totally not worth it.

    the lobby and the restroom(?not quite sure what the place it is) of the hotel, and all the public places such as staris are all fabulous and luxury, like in the film. unfortunately, we don't have enough time to enjoy it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Loved the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My friends and I booked the same "level" room and yet our room was significantly smaller and had no view. It is disconcerting to know that the same price does NOT guarantee the same product.

    Loved the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Great views and breakfast, quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was problematic as priority was given to people visiting the restaurants than guests. Hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the pier and 30 minute to the beach. Best to have a car/scooter. Does not have direct access to the beach

    Views from hotel were breathtaking. Breakfast was scrumptious. Rooms were nicely decorated with high ceilings. Great location and fantastic beaches of Seiano

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Amalfi Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is located in small town Vico Equense, which is quite close to beautiful cities of Sorrento (30min.), Positano (40min-1h), Amalfi and Ravello (1.5h), Pompei and Naples (40min). It stands on one of the rock hill, from where fascinating sea view opens. The restaurant and a bar overlook the sea, so that you can enjoy the masterpiece of Mother Nature every moment you come for breakfast or just for a glass of Aperol. The hotel itself is very stylish with all indoor finished with luxurious marble, glass and wood. The pool is enough big and also overlooks the sea panorama, with comfortable sunbaths and always available big towels. The only thing which shocked us at the beginning was a super cool water in pool! But then we found out that in the afternoon, closer to 4-5 pm the water warmed up from sun naturally and became very pleasant and refreshing. We had suite room on the third floor, also with sea view and large terrace with outdoor furniture and even a tree, which makes the terrace more lively and cozy place to relax. The staff was all super- friendly and cheerful, always helpful and interactive. Breakfast was tasty with good choice and always fresh bakery. We tried their pizzeria L'Accanto and I understood that I had never eaten good pizza before... it was just amazing! Must try! The hotel also has own shuttle taxi service taking you to the centre of Vico Equense, which was also comfortable in case if you don't want to take a car. Vico Equense is not kind of "places to visit and die", but just a small town with its own life. There is a small central "piazza" with couple of bars where people mostly meet up. You can find there supermarket and pharmacy in case if you need smth. I would recommend this hotel of course and especially to couples without kids or with kids of 6 yrs and older, if you want to travel around (and indeed you want! there are too many things to see!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Our best find in all of Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't book a longer stay.

    We had a junior suite and it was unbelievable! A view overlooking Naples Bay from our terrazzo, with Mt. Vesuvius directly ahead. Spectacular!! Eggs were not warm, but properly cooked. Coffee was great and ample; other bread items just right. Food was great (it's Italy) and we enjoyed the ambiance of the bar food. Special car service was out of this world!! - a new Mercedes sedan picked us up at the train station and returned us there. During our stay, another Mercedes took us to town for shopping, to the boat landing to catch the ship to Capri shuttle, and to Pompeii, waited for us, and took us to a lovely outdoor restaurant for lunch. Drivers were really nice and helpful and informative. Couldn't be better!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Stylish hotel in a wonderful position but the accommodation was something of a let-down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accepting that we booked a room in the lower price bracket, we still felt it was rather small and was below the standard we expected in a 5* hotel. The ensuite bathroom was a bit shabby with the shower head loose and not adjustable. The basin was mounted on a chipped plinth and the shower door was very stiff to open and close. The safe was in a drawer inside the wardrobe. The front of the drawer came off in the hand of the member of staff who showed us to the room, who said he would get it fixed, but it remained un-fixed at the time of our departure. The prices charged at the hotel restaurant and at the bar seemed excessive to us. The hotel says it runs a free shuttle bus service and we had assumed it would be to and from Sorrento; but no, it simply ran up and down to the port about 200 metres below the hotel. Sorrento, a 30 minute drive/taxi ride away, was quite hard to access.

    The hotel, although not in Sorrento itself, is in a stunning position, has an excellent roof terrace with Jacuzzi and sun loungers. It has a wonderful breakfast terrace with panoramic views. It serves a brilliant breakfast. The infinity pool is also spectacularly located. The reception area is pleasant and the staff there were approachable and efficient. The hotel provides a free underground car park for guests who have requested it. The pizzeria immediately below the hotel (probably part of the business) provided a more reasonable alternative to the hotel's restaurant. There are other restaurants and cafes in the port which are within easy walking distance. It would be a good base for those who wish to spend their time in or near the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were over priced. I expect to pay more in a good hotel bar but not treble compared to other bars in the area. There were 11 in our group and we would have made much more use of the bar if it had been reasonably priced.

    Room and facilities were all very good. Views from the terrace across the bay are stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Simply superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been improved.

    The staff were simply superb. The hotel was immaculate and they could not do enough for us. It is probably the best hotel for service I've ever stayed in! Breakfast was amazing and the views were stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.0
    Not a 5 star hotel - avoid if you think you are going to get luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a 5 star hotel - far from it. I agree with other comments, it is 3 star at best. There was no shower. The bath Jacuzzi had not been cleaned and ejected dirt when turned on (see photo). There was a smell of sewage around the building. My daughters room was tiny. Pics say all. Towels hang over bidet.

    The sunset was nice. The room size was fair. The bar man was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful trip back to the home where my parents were born in 1880.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtubs were tall to climb in. The road to the hotel were narrow and hard to find at night.

    I liked the complimentary breakfast. I liked the La Bar with the view. The pizza restaurant downstairs was delicious and filling.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent hotel on good location to visit surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is relativelly small, and so the bathroom.

    Superb location with view on the bay of Naples. Rooms are well furnished. Excellent breakfast. One star Michelin restaurant. Now there is also a Pizzeria annexed to the hotel with top quality pizza, as well as salads and other light fare.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.0
    Fantastic staff, hotel does not live up to expectation of a five star. This should be a 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely not a 5 star the rooms are so expensive for what they are. Also location is terrible and costs 50 euros to get to sorrento by taxi. The place is not in sorrento. I was disappointed by the location

    The staff we amazing and the food was delicious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.3
    لا يستحق العناء اليه - not a 5 star accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- I got this hotel as there was no availability in Sorrenteno, Amalfi or Ravello. The location is away from any services or good restaurants. 2- there is no gym in the hotel. 3- although classified as 5 star hotel, which I don't agree at all, they don't have iron machine in the suite. 4- the breakfast was modest at best. 5- their restaurant is not good and toooo expensive. 6- the wifi service is so bad. 7- they don't have a business center.

    1- The staff is wonderful, they are cooperative and they do their best to help. We appreciate their efforts. 2- they care very well for cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not much in the immediate vicinity, 1 coffee shop, 1 restaurant but shuttle bus availability to next town & harbour very useful. Air conditioning can be noisy.

    Beautiful setting. Shuttle bus to local town & harbour very useful. On train line to Sorrento, Naples. Pool is small but plenty of space on roof terrace for sunbathing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Originally being put in a very shabby room but thanks to very pleasant man at reception we were transferred to better room. Beware the shabby room as it really does need attention.

    Amazing location...nice and quiet with stunning views. Lovely infinity pool looking out over the Med. Friendly staff. Well cared for gardens and easy accessible to train station to Sorrento and shuttle service down to Vico Equense.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Setting For A Romantic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower in the en suite, just a shower hose from the bath which meant water spraying about everywhere. There was nowhere to hang damp towels or a toilet bag in the en suite. There are no iron or ironing board available in the hotel, which was a pain the first night as, after travelling, I wanted a fresh, ironed shirt for dinner; the ironing service was quick and inexpensive for subsequent days.

    Great location with easy access to Naples and Vesuvius in 1 direction, and Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast in the other. Fabulous views from the balcony of the Michelin starred restaurant and fantastic staff who couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful holiday overall - would stay agat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard - a mattress topper would have made for a better nights sleep

    Excellent location and well maintained property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic views and fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views and fantastic staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and very lovely staff, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Excellent location and very lovely staff, excellent restaurant with experience staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    No shower in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in the bathroom. For elderly people risky as it is a big step from the bathtub into the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Room with a view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom. Heating system.

    Room with a view ! Reception was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice place but would not recomend or go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms

    The view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful friendly staff. Excellent dinner in the restaurant and lovely views from the bar terrace. Fabulous!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay. Loved everything about the hotel especially the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, shame the sun doesnt shine on the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sun doesn't shine on the property at all, so if you have a terrace it will never be in the sun.

    Room was very clean. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall very good and would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and could be a bit more sound proof

    Excellent staff Amazing views Great breakfast and nice pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.5
    Incredibly rude staff
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly rude staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    not bad, but 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are not as good as on the picture

    amazing pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel, with amazing service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Hospitality, cleanliness, helpfulness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't offer iron in thw room.

    The staff, the location, the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovey place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bar restaurant was way overpriced.

    The Pizza Restaurant downstairs was fabulous Sapori!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    A great long-weekend destination but allow yourself a little longer than usual !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The views from our balcony and from the restaurant terrace were exceptional

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and the facilities were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Smell from the drains in the bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell from the drains in the bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Will definitely be back... amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing and always there to help. The hotel was beautiful and even though a five star hotel it still felt like home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous view from the balcony overlooking Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    The staff is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was basic for the class of the hotel. The quality was good, but I expected more variety and the "home-made" bread was often out when having late breakfast.

    The staff is great! The hotel room and the facilities are of good quality. The views from the hotel are spectacular. The location was the big bonus. The hotel is in a small town with few nice restaurants, while Sorrento is a short train ride away. We will return again to his great small luxury hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.0
    Lovely location and stunning views from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Grand Hotel Angiolieri does not live up to its name. Total rip-off, felt cheated. Booked a standard room, however room in no way reflected a standard 5*hotel room. The shower was a small plastic cubicle, you could barely turn. Had no place for 2 medium sized suitcases which stacked on a stool next to the bed. Cheap, inferior furniture & bedding. Adequate food, certainly no Michelin star. Could not sleep as clearly heard guests next door using bathroom facilities. At breakfast heard similar complaints from other hotel guests.

    Lovely location and stunning views from the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Magical place with breath taking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Magical place with breath taking views. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.9
    Staff very helpful, courteous and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of local facilities (bars, restaurants, shops) within the immediate area and within walking distance. Our room was small for what was described as a 'Superior Room'. The coffee at breakfast, which was probably from an urn, was not of the quality one would expect from a 5 star hotel.

    Staff very helpful, courteous and friendly. A beautiful hotel with character and amazing views if you have a sea view room. Good breakfast buffet with plenty of choice. Nice bar with terrace and bar food if not dining in the more formal and expensive restaurant. Matteo, the bar manager, was a great character, efficient, friendly and quite sociable and entertaining at times!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.6
    Almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathub/jacuzzi was old and uncomfortable to function even as a simple shower

    Almost everything. The view over the sea and the surrounding hills from our terrace was superb. Room was very comfortable and spacious and the staff was very friendly helpful and kind. Breakfast was excellent, especially the home made pastries with a lot of variety, looking at a perfect view while eating. The one Michelin starred restaurant at the hotel was wonderful, and we ended up eating there twice

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    6.7
    The view from the room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We waited a long time until we were able to park.the restorant was very expensive and did not meet the michelin standart at all.

    The view from the room was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    Really clean and well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be careful you don't miss the signage from the road if driving. Poorly signposted from the roadside.

    Really clean and well run. Beautiful grounds with fantastic views. Staff are helpful when you need them and don't bother you when not.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff were charming and helpful andworked really hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were charming and helpful andworked really hard. The views from our room from the bar and the restaurant were stunning. Such a beautiful location. Michelin starred restaurant is very highly recommended. Lots of luxurious extras to treat you.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were excellent. hotel was very clean and chic. Try the restaurant...fabulous food! Location is a short distance from Sorrento, but local attractions are easily accessible by train which is a five minute walk away. Ask for details about shuttle bus to the beach, station and Vico Equense on arrival...avoid taxis if you're watching the pennies!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel with stunning views of the Bay of Naples and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom but great shower to compensate!

    Fantastic hotel with stunning views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Michelin star restaurant. Hotel and restaurant on the expensive side but worth every penny!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is bad

    The view

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    5.4
    The staff worked hard to make it a good sray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a horrible room and the toilet was to close to the tub. The pool shut down to early.

    The staff worked hard to make it a good sray

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    daily changes to breakfast menu can be implamented
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    daily changes to breakfast menu can be implamented

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Perfection in all ways!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfection in all ways!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Beyond excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Beyond excellence

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the views, location ,staff, food, drinks

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: