Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Baglioni 4 stars

Piazza Unità Italiana 6, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#145 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2044 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Very close to train station, stately, quiet, great service...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner came on with a great deal of noise in the night. Quite expensive comparatively. Very busy in roof top bar with party and music

    Very close to train station, stately, quiet, great service and amazing roof top bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Didn't get my luggage quickly enough, only after I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get my luggage quickly enough, only after I repeatedly told the staff that I had a train to catch in 15 mins, the luggage boy went to get my luggages.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Loved it and wished I book same hotel chain in other cities. Loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff - very helpful. Great location-safe area. Free mini bar was such a nice welcoming addition. Beautiful views from restaurant & bar. Terrific breakfast included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    This is not a four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great, bar staff and men on reception 2 out 10 they all seam to make there self busy when you want to ask a question Most of the hotel closed off on the first floor is shut of ???? Breakfast is so so Very clean hotel Maids are great looking after the bed room People stand right in front of the entrance smoking and you have to push passed them not good for children or grown ups Hotel is now looking tired needs a re mod Only a few seats in reception as most of the seats are roped of,I ask a porter and he did not know

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful rooftop terrace to relax with a drink or dine, comfy well-appointed rooms, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Fantastic hotel with the most amazing roof terrace - so whether seeking a quiet spot with an amazing view over Florence for a drink to a wonderful open-air dining experience with superb food watching the sunset over the rooftops and sights of Florence, this is a beautiful space. Room was large with comfortable bed and shutters to keep the early sun from waking us too early (we had a superior double room). Good bathroom with robes and slippers supplied. Nice touches including a smart phone supplied loaded with Florence sights to make sightseeing easy plus free minibar with soft drinks and snacks. Very near train station but minus any noise. A ten minute walk (if that) to Duomo and easy access to all sights. Staff were helpful throughout. I would happily stay again. Not cheap but this was a special stay for us and certainly lived up to and exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Central location, the rich history and very accomodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the age of construction our past nights sleep or lack there of due to a very noisy guest next door. We had to contact the hotel which they handled quickly but the noise continued. So be aware the rooms are NOT quiet

    Central location, the rich history and very accomodating staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Central location, excellent views, average food and unhelpful / possibly overworked staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was made to feel that the reception staff found us rude and annoying, lots of eye rolling! Food very average nothing to write home about. Florence itself is now tourist central - crowded and out of control which is a shame.

    It is an excellent location and the roof terrace has absolutely outstanding views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Excellent,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not have been better!

    Very helpful staff, no wait at check in/out... received an upgrade to my room and received a complimentary bottle of wine due to road works outside. As I only had a reservation for one night I switched rooms on the second evening as a colleague left early and let me have his room , staff helped and cleaned new room and changed linen and towels. Breakfast good with fantastic views as does the roof terrace bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location across from the train station, but a bit congested with construction in that area. Good access into town but not a great view. We were given a free upgrade so room was larger than expected for European Hotel. Breakfast included was ok, not great but overall would recommend staying here for convenience and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great view of the Cathedral on the roof floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main reason I booked this hotel is because of the restaurant on the roof floor, which have a view over Florence, including the dome of the Cathedral. We had breakfast there and the experience is incredible. Also, the breakfast buffet is really good. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral and the Baptistery. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The minibar in the room is totally free and refilled everyday!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    This is the kind of hotel you want to stay in anywhere, even better in Firenze - wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so great that they could train staffs in other hotels anywhere. The room was perfect - elegant and had everything I needed . The breakfast would have been nice with more whole fruit (bananas) and maybe a bit better quality juice, but the view from the restaurant was fantastic, the location is a dream. I will book this hotel any time that I can.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    The location was good and the roof terrace was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit tired and worn. The room was dark and tiny. The bed was hard. All could do with a bit of refurbishment. The breakfast was very average.

    The location was good and the roof terrace was lovely. Our room also had an outside terrace. The staff were helpful and very obliging when I asked if we could keep the room for an extra hour on the last day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Helpful staff, beautiful building and lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In some areas it's outdated. The shower was in the bath, but I couldn't fit under it. Rooftop terras and restaurant are great but could be excellent if maintained properly. It looks like a five star hotel, but no freshly pressed orange juice at breakfast and the eggs tasted a bit funny.

    Helpful staff, beautiful building and lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    A great place to enjoy a short break away visiting historical places
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately there must have been a breakdown in communications and though I had requested and it had been confirmed, we arrived to find a double bed instead of 2 singles. The hotel found us another room with beds that could be separated and a maid arrived to make up the beds.

    Location, it was near to the station and not too far to walk to central attractions and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Rooms, service, breakfast, view were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, service, breakfast, view were superb. We didn’t expect that it would be that good so we didn’t want to leave. Thank you very much Maximilian for your help, excellent service and treats. It was our first night in Italy and my parents, my husband and I were amazed by luxurious we got into., Beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean and nice. Breakfast was delicious, pastry, fresh bread, nice view, good coffee. It’s definitely worth its money and this is definitely 4 star Hotel. Thank you very much for making our first night in Italy so special! Grazie mille

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel, beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they'd finish the endless roadworks for the new trams outside in the square. There was a free bottle of Chianti waiting for us in our room with a note of apology from the hotel, even though it wasn't their fault, and rooms are pretty soundproof anyway. Real Florentines are embarrassed by the duration if the works all around the outskirts of the city. Funny though, we weren't allowed to drink the wine on the hotel's lovely roof terrace; a source of amusment for us, rather than annoyance. A very lovely hotel

    Stepped back into a time and place where travellers were valued guests, not just a source of income to be processed. We felt special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The room was lovely, with a small terrace, and the food in...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath lacked a shower screen

    The room was lovely, with a small terrace, and the food in the fifth floor restaurant was delicious. The staff in all parts of the hotel were friendly and courteous, and the view from the restaurant and the roof terrace is wonderful. We hope to return soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    We love this hotel - you feel like you are in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping could use some tips for cleaning.

    We love this hotel - you feel like you are in Italy! Location is great for access to the train and also to walk the city. The Handy Phone was a welcome surprise. Our room was very comfortable. Breakfast view of The Duomo is stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing they upgraded us to a room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were amazing they upgraded us to a room with a view free of charge as it was a special trip! The restaurant recommendations were also fantastic, overall they went above and beyond to make our trip extra fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice breakfast and you can enjoy the fantastic view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very good sound isolation.

    Very nice breakfast and you can enjoy the fantastic view when having breakfast. Stylish hotel design. Nice service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Your wonderful hotel was the icing on the cake thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything...this hotel was exceptional and being upgraded to a suite when we arrived was great. The restaurant views are spectacular and you could hear guests take a sharp intake of breath when they walked in. All the staff were friendly, professional and extremely polite . The cocktails were amazing and sipping them on the roof top terrace with 360 degree views of Florence was breathtaking. The food in the restaurant was so good we didn't choose to eat anywhere else in our 3 day trip .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent excellent excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well Firenze is kinda under some retouch up so the piaza infront of the hotel is kinda mess.

    The hotel itself is already a museum. Well over hundred years old. The whole ambiance is really good and it’s close to everything we wanted to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Not so grand hotel baglioni
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, very hard bed, very small and weak shower. Breakfast was just ok.. better options for value for money in Florence.

    Good location, building was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    If you arrive in Florence by train, don't call a taxi. The hotel is two blocks away and a short wals
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Musty smell throughout. Rooms were warm and unable to be controlled.

    The breakfast on the fifth floor - with access to a rooftop lounge - was the one thing you cannot miss. The views of Florence and the region surrounding it was well worth the cost of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    great location, few minutes walk from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Faster and more reliable internet bigger shower glass. The floor gets all wet and I am a small person.

    great location, few minutes walk from the train station. plenty of shops and restaurants. Rooms are spacious and kept well ( for an old hotel). The roof top restaurant has excellent view. enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Some noise in the guest room, but the hotel staff cordially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise in the guest room, but the hotel staff cordially tried to resolve the issue. Great location, great view from the restaurant, highly recommendable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Historical hotel, good location, horrible breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was horrible!! Poor selection! Did not bring coffee to the table!? Did not have salt & pepper shaker at each table; only one at the main buffet table -that’s ridiculous!! They also wanted to charge 7.50 Euros for two fried eggs. Horrible breskfast experience; the worse I have had in my whole lifetime!

    Location, size of room, historical hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved every minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning in the rooms but difficult with an older hotel, but we like old styled hotels...

    There is no aircon at the hotel, heating only and controlled by reception, so it gets warm and our original room had a problem with the window so we were moved to an upgraded room. The staff were great. The restaurant is lovely. The roof garden was only opened on our last morning, you can get some fantastic photos from there. Old world charm, beautiful rooms and well positioned, we had a great time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Old charming hotel with professional and accommodating amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little stiffer than I would have liked. View from our balcony was alright. Nothing to write home about. Hotel was clean however there was a musty smell around the elevators which usually comes with old hotels. It was mild and just in very small areas. All other areas were fine.

    Location is close to train station. If traveling to other cities it was very easy to walk to station. Older hotel with upgraded amenities and cool features. Romantic. Great breakfast every morning with amazing views. The outdoor balcony on roof was not open this time of year (March) but got to site see from it. Beautiful. Bathroom was very adequate. Great water pressure. Room and maid staff did fantastic job every morning. Loved the surround around the bed with night time reading lights and how the lights in the closets lit as you open. Great feature.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant enough but for the money rather disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and this was a real issue. Unfortunately there was a lot of unsightly roadworks as our view.

    The room itself was beautiful, the bar and staff pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Beyond Words
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner resturant closes at 9:30 so no late night bite at the hotel unfortunately

    Everything! Its a historical building with lovely art and old furniture. You truly feel in Florence. I had a room with balcony which was lovely during rainy days for a nice warm cup of cappuccino!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Ideally located close to the train station and central to all the sightseeing attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay but not brilliant

    The food at the restaurant was excellent and the drinks at the bar were very good also. All the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Classic Grand Hotel near the city center with spectacular views over Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Current downside: Major construction work in front of the hotel (building of a new subway line). The staff was very nice though and brought a complimentary bottle of Chianti wine as an apology. Anyways, I'd rather recommend to book a room to the side street or back to avoid noise.

    Fantastic Breakfast! Wide variety of foods, spectacular view over Florence. Nice rooftop terrace. Hotel is very close to the Sta Maria Novella Station and also only a 5 min walk away from the cathedral. It oozes old school Grand Hotel elegance - if you like to stay in historic places this is your hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Charming old historic property w great local and excellent staff in all departments.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is such a beautiful historically significant and original property. Google it. Very very charming and a great staff. From a solo dinner late night right through to check out the whole team we're very attentive professional and pleasant at all times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Pleased to stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pleased to stay in this hotel. Interior and location are very good. Very helpful complimentary smartphone with free voice and data service. Restaurant at the roof top has outstanding views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Located with firenze cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive park price EUR45 each day Old smell no air circle at the very very old building Not comfortable bed No hygiene.

    Located with firenze cathedral. Good breakfast Nice terrace Large room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a great location, we visited in February...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely hotel in a great location, we visited in February and will definitely return in the warmer months to have dinner on the rooftop terrace. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms are lovely. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    It is a four star hotel with more than 100 years history,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a four star hotel with more than 100 years history, looked very antique and all the staff are perfectly professional and hospitality. We got an extra bed for the kid before even asking for. We got a booking in the local restaurant for Valentine’s Day suggested by the receptionist. The rooms is clean and bed is cozy. It is very close to Florence downtown, five minute to every where and is just opposite to the train station. We had a wonderful stay here. The breakfast was very delicious with a lot of choices. The restaurant B roof had a lovely view over the Duomo and was very popular locally.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    convenience place, great breakfast, but relatively old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    equipments and towels are generally old

    the location is irreplaceble, which take only 2 mins from the railway station and surrounded by shops and great Chinese restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before the check out I left my my personal things (brush, touth brush, day cream, shampoo etc.) in the room by mistake. When I came two hours later and asked the personal to give it to me back, the personel lied to me that they did not find anything in the room, so the cleaning leady just stole it... for such hotel it is very awkward situation and I was very upset since it is inappropriate and my stuff was very expensive. I’ve never had such situations in any other hotel all over the world....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing breakfast and frustrating check in process and difficult door opening mechanism .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - and door opening mechanism is very poor .

    Breakfast was very poor - great views which deserve a sumptuous breakfast but tin fruit , only 3 star but hotel could be 5 star - the breakfast is important and was very poor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not attentive - we had to bring our own bags to the room - a staff member was outside smoking when we arrived with 4 pieces of luggage and just walked into the circular door in front of us - cutting us off - the beds were extremely uncomfortable- very hard - the room was hot and the hallway smelled sour every time we left our room. The furniture was old and very worn- some were stained- I posted pictures .

    Not really anything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Perfect for Short Business Stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room Size is small, needed to change my first room due to smell and humid furniture!

    Location is just amazing next to Santa Maria Novella Station! The rooftop is spectacular, 360 city view!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Traditional Italian style property, great locations.Stayed here before.In need of a little updating
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Smart Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited plug sockets in areas where you think there would be.

    Breakfast is lovely & views amazing. Location ideal. Hotel staff very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Best choice in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I have disappointed.

    When it comes to the location,it is very clos to the railway station. It took only 3 minutes for station. The atmosphere is very beautiful and antic. Speaking about the restaurant that I could have breakfast has best view of Florence. Everyone was kind and professional in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Near the heart of Florence and nice views from 5th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All around, we would've stayed again. Nothing disagreeable about this place.

    The hotel was a short distance from all the main Florentine attractions (Duomo, Academia). The hotel is a stone's throw from the train station, however if you bring your own car, they recommend you park in a private garage which is around 30Euros a day. The hotel itself is a bit old and has some interesting smells but the views from the breakfast area/restaurant on the 5th floor is spectacular and rivals that which you'll see anywhere. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. We traveled with little kids and the room was more than spacious and the bathroom was plenty big (compared to other European hotels we've visited).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful location in a historic building. Amazing views of Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy walk from the train station and to all the attractions. View of the rooftops of Florence from the restaurant is amazing. Large rooms with modern bathrooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Alltogether excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Smart Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too warm in the room, not possible to adjust temperature in the room

    Breakfast was good and the facility has ecellent view on the town. BEds were very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel and Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue was the major roadworks going on outside the Hotel entrance

    Great Hotel in a great location. The staff were very helpful and able to answer all questions and requests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    We will remember our stay at Grand Hotel Baglioni forever!!! We hope to return one day!!!💖💖💖💖💖💖
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Smart Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!!!!😘

    Everything was perfect!!!! A glorious historical oroperty where it has not lost its old world charm!!!!💖 Everyone was so sweet and helpful and respectful!!! The bartender was a gem! So personable and kind!!!!💖🎉💖

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay in beautiful hotel steps from main Train Station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Classic city hotel with old-fashion but still well maintained decor and fixtures. Old-fashioned but charming ambiance in main Hall, hallways and all common areas. Quite comfortable rooms. In frigobar, some drinks are offered free of change. Superb rooftop restaurant areas (where also breakfast is served) with breathtaking views over the center of Florence, including the Duomo.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Cozy Hotel that is 3 min away fr Train & bus station + Great View of Duomo,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of the Duomo in Breakfast area and B a roof. The staffs are nice and have the initiative to help us with our things. We arrived 12 noon but they gave us a room already. Really thankful since it was raining and cold outside and I was not feeling too well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing given the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of information regarding arrival by car during nearby roadworks. Parking charge higher than local private garages. Cold room with mosqutio in it - in December.

    Individual staff on reception who were very friendly and helpful, especially the man who eventually put his coat on and came outside to point the route into the piazza by the hotel. The view from the restaurant is one of the best I have ever seen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Would stay again and recommend to our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent. We were there for the Florence Marathon! I managed to lose my passport for a stressful 12 hours! The staff were really helpful and reassured me It would turn up, it do! Food was lovely and views outstanding!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Great views of the duomo from the breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The queue at breakfast - they breakfast room is not big enough to handle the number of guests ninth hotel. We had to wait around 15 minutes to get seated and the queue was quite long.

    Great views of the duomo from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is the most enjoyable part of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing should be rquested in order to get nooting that it should be available all the time such as Napkins, Complimentary tea, coffee and water, most of the electricity plugs are not working in the room. Room are standard are below average and below expectations.

    The location is the most enjoyable part of this hotel. In addition the reception stafd and housekeeping staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    We had trouble opening the door till a staff member showed us. When you see a handle you tend to turn it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were delighted to be upgraded to an executive room with all the trimmings. Also pleased to receive such an elaborate take away breakfast for an early tour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and would stay here again on another trip to Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to control temperature in the room, and make sure you get to breakfast early, otherwise you will have a long wait!

    Excellent location, close to the train station and all the major sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Enjoying the amazing view of the Duomo during breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service throughout our stay did not meet my expectations. Staff was not engaging, I felt there was no effort being made to pay attention to detail. Small details make a difference, specially during a 6 night stay (well above average).

    Enjoying the amazing view of the Duomo during breakfast and exploring the terrace for views of the whole city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Ok - but not as “Grand” as name suggests!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rather firm. Room not very sound proofed. Could hear lots of noises from other rooms such as bathroom water flushes and voices. Television only had news channels in English and no sports channels. (On previous night in a guest house in Rome we had good English movie channels and sports channels.) Hotel a bit tired and past its best. Not great value as stayed in much nicer B and B in Florence for two nights subsequently which was €100 a night less.

    Upgrade to superior room. Just as well as original classic Room was cramped and pokey. Shower good. Lovely breakfast room on top of building with great views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent flavour of Florence here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath robe to go with the slippers would be welcome

    Great traditional Italian hotel - really hospitable and helpful staff - complimentary mineral water in mini bar. Impressive wood panel room with shutters and stylish bathroom - fabulous roof top terrace and breakfast room with stunning views of Florence. Great location for all attractions and railway transfer from Pisa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Love this property. It’s location, accessibility, decor and service quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They switch off AC at night making it too sultry in rooms. It seems it is the usual practice in winter, but fortunately I got transferred to a more airy room

    Location was excellent, just infront of Santa Maria Novella Station. Efficient staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent choice in Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Smart Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room a bit small but good for european standards.

    Breakfast very good with variety every morning. Hotel well located and a few blocks from Duomo and other attractions. Room clean and tidy. Hotel staff personnel very attentive and with good disposition to help with directions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    For the price we will probably not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been to this hotel before and thought The breakfast choices were fantastic and this Visit we did not think so

    The staff was very nice. The location is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts and corridors take a little navigating due to the age of the building.

    Fabulous location, very close to the train station, great shopping and landmarks. Wonderful breakfast with breathtaking views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location but very uncomfortable room ie bed, pillows general feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The pillows were flat. The room was large but bare of any decoration leaving it feeling cold and empty.

    The roof top bar and breakfast area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location, clean rooms, helpful personal, good, complete breakfaste, very good dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bread was not good, but maybe that is the italian bread. The rest was very good.

    Breakfast was good: Birchermuesli, fruits, tomatoes, ham, cheese, eggs, bread, etc. Good coffee, my daughter loved the hot chocolate. The view from the restaurant is awesome !! For dinner ask for the Florentine meat, it was delicious, a must. We also ate the vegetables and the pasta, just lovely. The service was very good, friendly, helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Great location in a lovely vintage property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothings perfect, but truly we enjoyed our stay very much.

    We loved the old world charm of the Baglioni. The property is very well preserved and taken care of. Our room was large, well lite and the bathroom was very modern and comfortable. The front desk was very helpful in making dinner reservations that were exactly what we asked for, not touristy and not the typical places front desks send you because of some kickback they receive. The roof top lounge was very pleasant and the breakfasts were some of the best we had on our three week trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.0
    The location was good, however, road constructions were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In past I have stayed in Grand Bagnioli in Milan and in Bologna. Indeed the standards there were very high, the food, the restaurant as well as the service were simply excellent. This one was a great disappointment! The room service was non existent and although the restaurant has excellent views, it was very noisy, the food served well below the standards expected of such a place and the final bill huge. In general I wouldn't regard the place as value for money.

    The location was good, however, road constructions were taking place in front of the hotel and below our room window and that wasn't very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Perfect Location, history at its best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we attended breakfast the next day we were greeted by George Clooney look a likes but they only asked us for our room number and then proceeded to chat to one another, we were a little confused so we found our own table, just thought a mantra d should show us to the table.

    Location was amazing straight across from the train station, staff were very pleasant and check in was a breeze. The room itself was huge, comfortable and a private balcony to watch the hustle of Florence on the streets below. The interior of the hotel is as old as the history perfect match. A rooftop bar is a great escape to view this magical city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful stay the center of Old Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satisfied with my stay

    Location is in the center of old Florence. You go anywhere by walk. Many restaurants and shops around it. Thanks to receptionist Teresa who was very helpful to guide us around the hoteland we have been upgraded to junior suite. Bed is comfortable. very good restaurant on top of hotel with a fantastic view of old Florence. Halal food can be found in many restaurants around the hotel. Everyone in the hotel can speak english well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    3.8
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms...first room builders rubble and dust from workmen Second room squashed flies and dirty marks on walls

    Disgusting breKfast first time I have ever had to help myself to stewed coffee from an urn!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many smokers on the rooftop bar made it annoying. This is a problem for European hotels catering to US guest who are used to non-smoking facilities as the norm.

    Th room was huge even by American standard. The staff at the desk, at the bar and the restaurant all were attentive and friendly. The breakfast was by far the best we had in all the various locations we stayed. The location was perfect for seeing Florence sites and being able to stroll in the evenings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Glamorous historic hotel within walking distance of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were tired the first night after a long trip and tried to go to the hotel restaurant but were met by whom I assume is the night manager, who rather coldly told us that without a reservation we could not be seated. The restaurant was rather empty so we asked if we could make a reservation on the spot but were denied. Turned out it was for the best as we ended up having amazing meals around the hotel instead.

    Great location within walking distance of the train station and very accessible to all main sights. The front desk staff were very helpful with dining and activity recommendations, they even helped us book a tour. Room was amazing, very spacious with a giant bathroom. The breakfast had great options and the area was on the top floor with amazing view of the city. Area has plenty of restaurant options nearby, including Chinese food if you need a break from pasta/pizza

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Smart Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Second time I have stayed at this hotel...LOVE IT! The staff's friendliness and willing to assist us since our luggage had been lost by the airline AMAZING. Would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Baglioni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: