Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Baia Verde 4 stars

Via A. Musco 8 / 10, 95021 Catania, Italy

#37 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1235 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place, great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked “ocean view” - when checked in, we were given room with mostly view of pool an sliver of ocean. After some complaining, gave us nice room wit full ocean view. Aside from that, staff and experience outstanding!

    Beautiful hotel, excellent staff, 28 meter salt water pool! Shore is rocky, but water clear. Ladders down into water, but we did not use

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Because of the breakfast room/food/staff, I probably wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was atrocious. I have NEVER been in a hotel with a worse breakfast room. It was chaos. The breakfast is only open from 8 - 10 am. Which for us, with no kids, is finishing a bit early. And, because it is only a period of 2 hours, means that everyone is there between those times. We arrived an 9.30am and there was no food. All the plates, and bowls and serving dishes were empty. There was no bread, no juice, the boiling water for the tea was empty and what fruit that was there was bad or just out of tins. The eggs were empty. And there was mess everywhere. Cereal, dirty plates, cutlery. It was really disgusting. I actually took photos and complained to the manager. He apologised and said he would speak to his staff. The next morning, we just couldnt face going there again, so we ordered room service, thinking that we would at least get something to eat. Again, it was awful. The poached eggs were overcooked, stringy and floating in a dish of water that had been scooped up from the pan. They didn't come with toast or tomatoes or any presentation. Just 2 hard eggs swimming in a dish. I am not sure if the restaurant is under a separate management team or different external company, but the difference in quality, presentation and professionalism of the staff was huge.

    The room was good and the bed was comfortable. We had a deluxe room with a sea view. The pool bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful, as were the evening restaurant staff. Choice was minimal, but the food was nice. And, I have to say, they were happy to make us something different when we asked. And it was delcious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Good location, good swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t ready and when we went back to reception to tell them (3 out of 5 beds not done), they seemed up-set. Aside of the maids, none of the staff smiled or said hello at any point. Breakfast wasn’t great. The whole property looked very old and in need of renovation.

    Good location, good swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were almost no sockets in the room. They don’t have irons, so you cannot iron your clothes.

    Amazing see view, big pool, great spa, super relaxing massage, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice property just north of Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool snack area had a very limited menu and was expensive for food and drinks.

    The room was large and modern The pool was large. Lots of lounge chairs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.5
    Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very aged. All furniture and bathrooms are very old. Parking is very dangerous to park as the lanes are very tight.

    Good Location. Nice beach. Good breakfast. Clean Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely sea front location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from anything, car recommended I thought the hotel was lovely and I would go again. Was only there a long weekend so didn’t spend much time in the hotel as we went exploring in the car we hired

    Lovely sea front location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Great place, and good value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Surroundings (aside from the pizzeria) are dull. There is no place for a nice evening/morning stroll, no shops/souvenirs...

    Great hotel. Also - nearby there is a FANTASTIC pizzeria, one of the best in Sicily. I would come here just for this pizzeria... There is also very nice diving at the facility, and snorkelling from the facility beach. Great place !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Super location with a great pool and sea access for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff just look miserable! Poor welcome and the bar staff took a very long time with no smile (except for the lady). Also lack of the nice touches that you expect at a four star. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, almost no WiFi, aircon poor. Could be a great hotel but needs to improve a lot. Definitely not four stars.

    Super location with a great pool and sea access for the children. Diving off the rocks was a treat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was very good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was badly let down by attention to detail. Only flimsy plastic cups for all drinks even in room. Do you take a gin and tonic from the mini bar and have to drink it out of the plastic cup in the bathroom l. Breakfast was poor. No service st all. Very average quality food and insufficient staff to top up the food. Cereals were cornflakes, chocolate balls and a very poor muesli. The car park is very small. Be prepared to park out on the street.the property is built on the cliff edge so there are many steps. This property would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems

    The location was very good; the pool and ocean swimming area were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    The most relaxing vacation I had and been pampered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing to complain about.

    The breakfast buffet was great, lots of choices. The room was kept clean every day and retouched every evening while we were out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Very successful stay. Beautiful old hotel with style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was uncomfortable. We paid for a 3 bedded room and the sofa was not sufficient. The pool area could have been nicer.

    The size of the room was generous. The reception staff were very helpful. The access to the sea was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bowl of fruit in the room and it was full of ants. The shower was giving 10 seconds of cold water and 10 of hot and the staff did nothing about it. At arrival we only had one set of towels. The plug socket was broken so we could plug in and charge any phones.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Swimming pool and location right at the sea are amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't helpful throughout (although some were friendly), bathroom was very dated and not up to four stars-quality, noise from adjacent rooms travels very easily.

    Swimming pool and location right at the sea are amazing, comfortable big bed, nice breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    The pool, the access to the cliff and seaside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hotel ca be reached only by car.

    The pool, the access to the cliff and seaside. The room is big, comfortable and clean. Good choice to be in relax near Catania.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a relaxing holiday. Amazing location and views, I truly recommend this place. Beautiful pool area. Excellent restaurant with professional staff and fresh delicious food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    V pleasant apart from noise on first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room on the middle floor overlooking the restaurant where a wedding was taking place - very very loud music until midnight. Rooms not well sound proofed. Cd hear the TV on occasion next door and scraping chairs on floor above. Take ear plugs.

    Lovely grounds. Great pool. Good pool bar (nice food). Good location for walks along coast road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    A nice hotel for a weekend break away from Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole complex is a bit 'tired' however the room rate is probably a fair reflection of that given the rate charged by the big chain hotel up the road. The breakfast was average. On most mornings, you had to be quick to get the basic things. They were topped up but it seemed like you always had to ask. There are also not many other alternatives to dining in the area.

    Spectacular location, room was great, large, clean and in good condition

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent territory and sea view, good rooms, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity that swimming pool is operating only from June. In May it was quite hot already and as the beach swimming is hard due to rocks, the pool would be very useful

    Excellent territory and sea view, good rooms, very clean and cozy. Nice breakfast and restaurant with the panoramic terrace. Very useful individual terraces in the rooms on the ground floor, very large privat parking, friendly staff. Large supermarket is located just in 10 minutes walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    I will Return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went there for a relaxing few days and it was just that. The food at the hotel is good but not exceptional. The services in the Spa are good too but i was taken aback when i was asked to pay €20 for using their pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok stay, not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No map of hotel, no USB ports in room. For the price you pay for this place these things should be part of the package price. Most recreational areas of the hotel were closed related to being broken and delapitated. Patrons of the hotel acted like they were in an upscale hotel, which it is not.

    The hotel overall was nice. The included breakfast was ok, bacon was a little on the raw side, did not touch it. Eggs were watery, but other food choices were good enough to fill the tummy until supper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited restaurant menu and prices for food and drink were too high. I was also charged £20 to use the indoor pool, despite being told it was free.

    The room was a decent size and had a lovely view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, lovely friendly helpful staff and beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would've been nice if the poolside bar had been open but as it was pre-season, I guess this is understandable. You could still order drinks inside and they would bring them out to the pool.

    I loved the old fashioned genteel feeling that the Bar and reception area gave, the rest of the hotel was very nice too and the rooms fresh, modern and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    A bit mad. Great food n wine. Hassles with transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great but it’s a boring walk to station. Buses are quite rare and there are no bars and only 1 restaurant in easy walking distance. If you want to stay in resort. Great. As a base to explore Sicily this hotel was not ideal.

    Lovely hotel in great location by the sea. Fantastic sea views. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views away from the bustle of Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite a bit of food, but if you got there too early, it was not hot (eggs, coffee, etc.). The gym was quite small and some of the equipment was not functioning. The walls are a bit thin, so you can hear people in the next rooms and the halls.

    The hotel was very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were many cosy areas to sit and relax. The pool area was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel, albeit bit expensive, great location. Room 330 great view,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Young waiters need to smile and acknowledge guests, even if they only do it in Italian.

    Location on seafront, although on main road no traffic noise, room was on third floor with good sea view, rooms on lower floors obscured by trees in some cases. Pool closed till April. Hotel is south of city centre so car is essential, parking is free and lots of space, good wifi throughout, Breakfast included with good selection, although no full English available, plenty of alternatives. Bed very large. Staff very polite and helpful, although amount of English limited in some cases. Some of young waiters, did not communicate well and need to smile occasionally. Bar and Restaurant prices high, compared with local bars. Check in and out simple and easy. Disabled access good with several lifts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    There are much better places in Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for a nye and attended a gala dinner which costed 120 e pp. to say the least, it wasn’t worth the money - the food was ... 🤭 and we were served with ordinary wine. We also had lunch in the restaurant - which was a mistake, too. Terrible. All in all, I wouldn’t recommend eating at Baia verde. Hope that the situation will improve in the future!

    Our deluxe room was nice - beautiful sea view, nice and comfortable furniture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    It’s a 5***** location, stunning view over the sea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had many problems during my stay. First of all it’s rather far from Catania centre, city visitors be prepared to commute. It is advertised as a wellness hotel, but you have to book an appointment in advance if you want to use the pool (there is only one) and it costs you €20/capita every time you wanna go there. So no early swim and a late afternoon one after you get back from the Etna just like we planned. Facilities, breakfast, room size, etc are 3*** quality. I have been to hotels like this before: their property is on a really expensive piece of land so they make good photos, meet the bare minimum requirements to call themself 4**** and ask for a high price. Don’t make my mistake, avoid the hotel. It’s heavily overpriced, minimum English from the staff, they don’t help you in anything so your overall experience will be a disappointment.

    It’s a 5***** location, stunning view over the sea and everything. Breakfast terrazzo is amazing as well. General cleanliness is ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.0
    Nice breakfast, but 15 minutes before closing time they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we returned to the room after being gone all day we found the door open. Nothing was missing but we got scared as the hotel seemed deserted (we stayed for two nights beginning of December). Very noisy in the morning, slammed doors etc The window did not close. Every time we opened it we had to call them to send someone to force shut it. Toilet was broken.

    Nice breakfast, but 15 minutes before closing time they stopped making any refills, so there was no water, no salads/greenery or fruit left. Very clean room and good quality bathroom amenities, nice towels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but a bit off location wise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area wasn't great during low season. Many of the restaurants and stores were closed.

    The breakfast was great. The view from the breakfast balcony was beautiful. The staff at the reception was very helpful when it came to booking a car.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    Nightmare to sleep at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightmare to sleep at night! One can hear everything from the room above...flushing toilet, voices, moving furniture and so on. I asked to move to another room due to noise from above and it was granted, though the same happened in the other room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Overall ok but pricey stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfortable. Our rooms were on the 1st floor leading to the restaurant. Unfortunately this means that it is noisy in the evening and at night. The cleaners make a lot of noise in the morning. I think this all comes down to the doors and walls being quite thin. We could hear our neighbours coughing. Breakfast was ok. Not a lot of salty stuff on offer and the bacon was hardly cooked. It is also far from Catania and it cost 50 euros to go and have dinner in town. There is only one pizzeria 5 m away other than the restaurant from the hotel which is ok but limited in choice.

    Great access to the beach and good swimming pool. Beautiful area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing Hotel on the beautiful Sicilian coast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we had to leave too soon ! Also some work needs to be done on the street entrance , curb appeal , you are not aware of how beautiful the hotel is on the inside .

    Brilliant establishment , lovely pool and deep sea swimming . Great staff and an excellent restaurant . We will definitely return but for at least a week or more ! We were treated to 5 star Sicilian hospitality , a must stay when visiting the island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.6
    Over rated for what it is.. £90 per night never again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too loud by night and first thing in the morning.. menu at dinner was terrible.. too fussy and expensive.. transport from the hotel to Catania was extortionate €20 each way for 5 miles.. public transport runs once an hour.. nothing around..

    View of the sea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely rooms & great views - overlooking cliffs. Kind and helpful staff. Old style four star charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was good once in but you need a card (which you get at check in) to access it. We drove around at first not sure how and where to get in. The entrance is narrow so careful with your car. Spa lights were chipped in the aromatherapy shower.

    Really good service with friendly and helpful staff. Nice sunbeds overlooking the sea. Nice breakfast and breakfast room. Lovely rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    The perfect place to stay for rest and beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property was beautiful. Our room was very comfortable. The sunrises were extraordinary and worth waking up for. The complimentary breakfast was served in a room overlooking the sea, which was my favorite part of the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    A very enjoyable second visit to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of food at the breakfast buffet with very little choice if you are vegetarian or vegan.

    Comfortable rooms, beautiful scenic location and an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and an outstanding service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and an outstanding service. Thank you all for making our stay a pleasant one! Nino, the receptionist was so helpful..such a gentleman - thank you! Will definitely return here again!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.6
    Pleasant but Iam glad it was only for two nights, motivate your staff and have a good deep clean!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff seemed low energy and demotivated. The hotel is dated (1980). And in a worn-out unkept standard. The carpets are threadbare and the cutlery in the breakfast room old and un clean. The furniture is dated and worn-out and not clean, the sunbeds have a yellow tinge to the area where guests’ feet have been. I meantioned when checking out the hotel needed a refit and the receptionist laughed. The American Bar was closed without explanation...

    The posistion of the Hotel ovelooking the sea is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.3
    leasant location but the hotel needs a shake up by or of management to make it better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bearing in mind most of the people staying in the hotel were not Italian, there were only Italian TV stations available. Internet is extremely slow Restaurant only has main courses which were average good compared to other places we stayed. Staff not very attentive, maybe end of season?

    Location is good with the hotel perched on the cliff. Good poolside bar for cocktails etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel and views - terrible location - food and drink very overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is terrible if you don't have a car. Very few restaurants in walking distance. The two that are were very poor. Food and drinks are hideously over priced.

    Rooms were beautiful Stunning views Nice staff Hotel very well kept Always very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Car park was disorganised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was disorganised. The first day I had to wait 10 minutes for somebody to move the car as there were no free places. People had the cars parked between two slots and some places were way tooo small. Breakfast was not the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel but breakfast needs improvement!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and service was very poor. The tables were not cleared quick enough One hour before the end of breakfast some food was not available at all.

    Nice room with air conditioning. Great pool area and restaurant. Easy transport to town. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful seaside retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was weak..... Needs a taxi to get to Catania.. . But worth it given the great seaside location

    Spacious gardens pool and access to sea... Restaurants were lovely..nice food great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed the resort, we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room, offered a king bed and a pull-out couch. The pull out couch was not comfortable at all the mattress was old and you could feel the springs. There is enough space to put in two singles or a double bed, that would be better than the pull-out! We would not be able to stay for a long period of time with that accommodation. We felt that some of the pool restaurant staff didn't enjoy dealing with foreigners, we had to wait a lot! But if it wasn't busy they were fine and friendly!

    The hotel and property are beautiful! The pool, the pool bar, the restaurants, the walk down to the sea were all wonderful! If you are happy staying at the resort, which we were, it is great! Excellent breakfast and nice restaurants for lunch & dinner! Very relaxing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    Seaside located, free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and inefficient, and serving quality also poor and unprofessional Free parking is ok but you should be earlybird unless you couldn't find a space

    Seaside located, free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit secluded although the bus stops outside bringing you into the town's. The bar is a rip off. €20 for 2 shorts with mixers.. 600m down the road is a bar that's half the price.. The need to look at their prices. Food also a rip off... 5 euro for a toasted sandwich.. Half the price and double the size down the road

    Beautiful hotel.. The staff were so friendly. Especially Nello on receipt. He was an absolute gentleman looking after us booking excursions.. Breakfast was brilliant every morning. Couldn't fault it.. Rooms were spotless and cleaned every day..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    Way overpriced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness poor, way overpriced food and very limited menu;

    Cleanliness of the hotel is very bad, bathroom was terribly dirty, full of hair, only 1 towel. Menus: very poor, only 3-5 items to choose both for lunch and dinner; heavily overpriced for what you get; Cocktails were good and breakfast was good; Restaurant staff was good but reception very rude; Hotel is dated, bedrooms have been refurbished but the pool and the building is very old and dirty;

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Short relaxing stay
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of drinks and food too high for the area. Room maintenance should be more attentive. Staff at reception could be more friendly and customer oriented.

    Beautiful hotel and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.6
    The location is very nice as it is nearby the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surely no value for money. This hotel is over priced. Aged hotel which needs a general overhaul. The rooms are very old, altough must say that cleanliness is good. The breakfast is not organised and you have to struggle to be served and to help yourself.

    The location is very nice as it is nearby the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok for one night but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall very expensive for what it offers so not good value for money. I don't mind paying top rates for quality product but service was very spotty. Some people very helpful, others either indifferent or even aggressive. Very poor breakfast.

    Great location by sea. Nice pool area. Resturant location on terrace was nice and some pasta dishes very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    4.2
    Nice pool, but hotel needs lots of improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel looked worn. The buildings were tagged and their seemed to be an abandoned restaurant attached to the location. Parking was very cramped; we had to park next to their dumpsters. The room was very expensive yet very small. My family and I were so disappointed, we did not stay overnight.

    The pool was really nice. The hotel has direct access to the water and diving available to all, including lessons.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in restaurant was not good. Breakfast very basic. A/C not functioning properly in our room. Hotel dated and has seen it's best days. Disappointing for the price.

    Friendly staff. Good views and nice to sit outside in the terraced restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money; be prepared to max out your credit card!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The prices at the pool bar were very very excessive for both snacks and drinks. Two cocktails were 20 Euros which is extremely expensive. A simple cheese and ham toasted sandwich was 8 Euros and the worst was a mozzerella and tomato salad 18 Euros and consisted of a plate of tomatoes and three lumps of cheese. To get drinks from a local supermarket was a good 20 minutes walk and impossible to try and get a taxi back so quite arduous. The local places to eat were also a distance. To get a taxi into the city cost a minimum of 25 Euros each way which meant any trips automatically cost 50 Euros. The television in the room only has Italian channels so was useless for us; no kettle or tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a very small fridge which was barely useable as it was full of expensive drinks each costing 8 Euros each. The restaurant at the hotel only served fish dishes and each one was 18 Euros so too expensive to eat at the hotel. I felt bearing in mind it cost me well over 1,000 Euro for a weeks stay plus food it was very very over priced.

    The view from the hotel at the back over the sea and coastline was spectacular and the option of bathing in the sea and sitting looking out to sea was a great blessing. The pool area was also very pleasant and the area near the pool bar. The hotel room was adequate and the bathroom was nice. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and spoke English which was a bonus. The breakfast was okay but the same every day. The best part of the hotel for me was a stray black cat out the front of the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.8
    An horrible stay in Aci Castello near to Catania!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not an hotel to recommend to a couple because we can hear everything in the bedroom. It was noisy with the other people and with the bathroom. We could hear the piping (faucet and wc of the neighbours). The bathroom was completely old-fashion. The staff was not friendly. This is not a 4 star hotel compared to the comfort of the rooms and bathrooms, and the services. Not recommended!

    RAS

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    First class hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu at the restaurant changes every day for lunch and dinner. Also excellent snacks at the pool bar all day. Great sea swimming off the rocks with a lifeguard present and a very large pool with planets of sunpoungers and space. Easy walk to Aci Castello and the Norman castle and bars. Hotel is also only 15' walk to station with trains into Catania

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay - beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a little worn down. Neither the sink or the shower worked properly at our arrival - these were fixed the next morning.

    Beautifully located at the cliffs. Great restaurant, nice staff, great view and beautifull surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Good first stop from the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection was a little sparse and the rooms although clean were a little dated - expected a little more for the price

    Good location next to private rocky beach area with access to beautiful sea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location, nice beach, the pool was fine also for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was very poor, not for a four stars hotel and for the price of the hotel. Very few products, the same every day: just one kind of cheese, one bacon, tow salami, no Sicilian traditional food and as a vegetarian u can chose only tomato and some fruits.

    Good location, nice beach, the pool was fine also for children . They have a scuba diving school and the very good spot for diving with a lot of nice fish and octopus. Big garden with nice flowers. If u come from airport u need to take Alibus and to change at Central Station with AMT line 534! The 534 Bus is only one bus every hour! and usually is late 10-20 minutes. The trip take 30 minutes for only 6 km. So if u visit the town or other places will be little harder.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Proximity of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid a room underneath the breakfast room: you can hear all the footsteps and creaking of the chairs on the floor in your room thanks to the bad design of the structure of the building.

    Proximity of the sea. Width of the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location, needs a review of food variety, room upgrade and staff friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a sea view only got side view of sea. The breakfast and the limited variety of snacks

    Always sun beds available. Location, swimming pool and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Management & Staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love more real Seafood choice in the restaurant. They have excellent view..

    Incredible Seaview. Excellent Management & Staffs, great location, easy to find. The Staff has given a recommendation for dinner and we have been back to the same one 3 days in a row.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    Business trip maybe, lesuire holiday perhaps not
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was tedious and more than once ran out of supplies. Our room was left open daily by the maids which made us uneasy. Mentioned this to reception yet, door was still open. The reception staff were rather abrupt to our welcoming and we're ignored on more than one occasion when approaching with questions. We had to figure out everything ourselves (the hotel is maze like) and upon check out the most rudest service with no apologies. The hotel is situated along the sea and close to train station and bus stop, nothing else around hotel a few restaurants (3) close by that's all.

    The cliffs for relaxing and swimming was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    2.9
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old structure, badly maintained, dirty carpets and sheets, dirty glasses and cutlery. Bar man complaining about his wage with another employee + plus they were talking about the bad treatment of the cleaning standards of the rooms. Breakfast rediculous, at 9.15 all gone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Our family really liked this hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We missed fresh tomatoes and cucumber and many other things because we came a little bit earlier to the breakfast. Please fix these things because they are easy to fix!!!

    The pool, the view and the sea was extra ordinary.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous sea view stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A very minor quibble but the supplies at breakfast could be a little erratic & the breakfast room itself was very warm but this was possibly due to a malfunction with the air-conditioning which technicians on-site seemed to be trying to rectify

    Fabulous setting overlooking the sea. The room was spacious, extremely comfortable & spotlessly clean. Every member of staff was extremely friendly, helpful & professional. The hotel was in a very busy area but still always felt an oasis of calm and tranquillity

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Hotel on the coast outside Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu in the Restaurant was set for the day , not enough variety for lunch and dinner.

    Pool during the day and Pool Bar in the evening was very enjoyable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Staff were great very warm and comforting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great very warm and comforting. The bed was actually good for a hotel and we got a great nights sleep. Loved the pool area and access to the sea from the cliff face, it was also great having the scuba school on site as an added activity. The whole vibe of the hotel was great would definitely come chill out here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Remodeled rooms very comfortable but overall properly is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good food options. Bad hotel food

    Remodeled rooms very comfortable but overall properly is aged and needs a lift. Great big swimming pool and swimming in ocean from back property. Great to stay with kids before flight next day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from Catania if you want to explore there (we didn't). Ants in our room which was a bit annoying but not a major issue. Breakfast was ok but after 9 the options became a bit limited. Quite expensive (rooms, food and drinks) but it was a posh hotel.

    Beautiful hotel. Lovely private beach and pool. Let us check in early for free. Very good food at the restaurant there. Location was peaceful and pretty. Perfect for relaxing and not doing much. Helpful staff. Some nice beachfront restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Catania option outside the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was OK... we found the egg system at breakfast confusing. The hotel layout is very maze-like.

    Beautiful views, friendly staff. My room was quiet and clean. Nice location outside the hustle and bustle of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Peace and beautiful views
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Here and there the hotel would need some revamping. Pool was not heated.

    The view of the sea and coastline is astonishing. The family room was recently renovated and was excellent. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    A lot to offer but we were dissapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little to expensive if you compare to other hotels in near. Big minus was breakfast. Extra crouded, noisy, had to wait 10minutes for a seat and food was constantly running out.

    Big comfortable rooms, clean, newly equiped, outside pool, perfect view, private beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Good to stay for trips to see the city's around not for holiday at the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service stuff don't see anything and don't explain anything. Towel's for the pool? Cafe? Cappuccino? So you have to ask for everything. The problem a lot of chief's and a few worker. The breakfast is not worth the money, for example in a country that deliver the best fruit's to the rest of Europe and you find a very rare selection of fruits for example.

    The Location, the free Parking and the super fast wireless Spots. The Pool and the room's.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Good facilities. Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the hotel's fault, but roadworks immediately outside made a lot of noise.

    Comfortable large bed. Good facilities with pool, lounge area etc. Good choice at breakfast - more extensive than some other places in Sicily.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Baia Verde traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: