Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Bristol 4 stars

Corso Umberto I, 73, 28838 Stresa, Italy

Review score

Based on 1816 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows at the room were rather strange. The quality of wireless internet was awful

    The room was quite cozy, clean. The staff was very professional and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. Too hard. But staff brought soft ones.

    Croissants were great. The whole staff was great. All 10s. But Elizabetta at front desk was a 20. The best ever. I’m now in Milan. These people need a lesson in service from Bristol staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An elevator took us to a different building behind the main building, far from the lake. Very inconvenient. But they changed our rooms when we asked for bigger and closer rooms because we were traveling with children

    The hotel looks great and the location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free water service when arrived. No tissue papers provided in the room nor slippers. No hot water or coffee self served facilities provided. The location bit far from city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Location is about as bad is it can get in Stresa (maximally far from the city, train station, and both harbours) - Aging hotel that has from 4 stars only the lobby armchairs and prices. As far as the rooms are concerned, the service is kept to the bear minimum, the amenities descriptions are deceptively stretched. Beds are hard and uncomfortable, noise isolation is almost inexistant. One of the two elevators was out of service during the whole stay. List could go on forever...

    The free candies at the reception desk, maybe(?)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was a little small for the amount of equipment. The hairdryers are not very good.

    Breakfast was good. The indoor pool was excellent for exercise or swimming with children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a large hotel- it feels like the dining room can cater for about 500 people- and it feels a bit too big. It is also appears to be on every guided bus tour route. Every single day a new bus packed with hordes of mainly elderly people with matching chinos and plaid shirts arrived or left! Our room was a bit strange- it was on the fifth floor, behind a sliding door- then up a steep set of stairs. View was amazing-but if you were old and infirm I don't think you could have managed them. Our dog who is 11 did struggle a bit..

    We have a huge gorgeous dog and this is one of the hotels that allows dogs, staff were really nice and he was treated very well. Lots of fruit and salad options for breakfast- which were great for me. This hotel is great value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs renovation. The bed sheet was ripped and had weird stains on it, there was no blanket in the room. The blinders weren’t working. And there was a strange step inside of the toilet so you had to be very cautious not to break your neck in the middle of the night by tripping on it

    The hotel has a very nice territory and an inside pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable and hard. Barking dog in room above us for up to 2 hours one afternoon.

    The swimming pool was excellent-25 metres and hardly anyone using it whenever we wanted to swim. Staff very attentive and seemed cheerful throughout hotel. Stunning sitting areas and orangery and bar. Outside gardens beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from my room

    The location, the hotel is right in front of the river, unfortunately the room i got was facing the escape exit, meaning in front of the hotel food store

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning team might want to consider making less noise in the morning.

    Perfect stay. Very nice architecture, recently renovated. Pool indoor and outdoor. Helpful and friendly staff at the reception. Location within walking distance from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service in the bar, even without many people We decided to leave after waiting for 40 minutes

    Old style decoration, great indoor swimming pool and beautiful garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if breakfast is open until 11.00 instead of 9.30...

    Our favourite place in Stresa! Really Grand experience. Pool is so nice and warm. They gave us a free upgrade, lakeview suite, it was gorgeous! Always feel like a millionaire staying here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was 25 Euro each and was not special at all compared with other 'included' breakfasts I have had in Italy. That was the only disappointment of the stay.

    The property is excellent, romantic and very much the best of the old world. It felt very elegant even being there. The service was excellent in every way. Parking is 10 Euro a night on site but there was plenty of street parking nearby and I had no problems parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No coffee and tea making facilities, no slippers and bathrobes, we were stuck at the back of the hotel and it was quiet so we could have been put at the front as we had asked if that was possible. It was a four star hotel so expected more added extras in the room.

    The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't close the curtains and when I wanted to exchange £ sterling into €s the reception were effectively charging me 15% commission.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were promised a mountain view room but did not get one. The room we stayed in had a view of the second floor overlooking a patio roof. The bed was hard and was a Murphy bed.

    The hotel lobby and gardens were beautiful. The hotel is across the lake so does offer some beautiful views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have breakfast there. It was 25 euros each per day

    We were upgraded to a room with two balconies! One overlooked the mountain, the other overlooked the pool, the Lake and Isola Bella

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too small for the price we paid. I`ve booked a superior-Room and it was not as i expected. i will not book this hotel again

    Bathroom, Indoor-Swimmingpool and ok...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed that the hotel reservation did not include breakfast. Very few hotels that I have stayed in, in Italy, come without breakfast. So I guess I took it for granted that it was included. I wound up having a croissant and coffee in the bar.

    Very easy to find the Hotel Bristol, and we were pleased that the parking was there and readily available. Also the hotel was close to everything that visitors are looking for – restaurants – entertainment – transportation and shops

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was miniscule, no place to put your suitcases. I am quite tall and had to sit sideways on the toilet because there was a bidet positioned approximately 15 centimetres away from the front of the toilet. I think we were unlucky because we have stayed at the Bristol before and the rooms then were adequate. During our stay one of the elevators was out of service most of the time.

    Great position. Excellent restaurant. Good service, nice pool area and freshly decorated common spaces. Good reception check in, helpful and informative. Staff were attentive and very helpful. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel during our stay and found the restaurant and cusine well above average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was a bit underwhelming. While it seemed like a lovely space, lavishly decorated, I was surprised how at how they nickel and dimed you for everything. For example you had to pay for parking, and fast internet (free internet was virtually impossible to use), and the breakfast was an additional $30. For being such a fancy hotel, this part was disappointing. I didn't find the staff very friendly either. They didn't have any suggestions on where to go and seemed somewhat surprised when I asked any questions.

    The pool was very nice to sit by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The cost of food and drink in the hotel is expensive and does not represent value for money.

    The room was spacious and we had an unexpected view of the lake. The staff throughout the hotel were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Funny smell in the room Not enough space/sunbeds at the pool if you didn't come early in the morning

    Very nice location with private parking Rather small room with balcony on the backside of the building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I thought I booked breakfast throughbooking.com I did not but then checked and if I had done it would have been more expensive. So bad score booking.com

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are really small. We had to ask for a change of room because our bathroom was extremely small and every time we took a shower it got flooded. But the staff solved our problem right away!

    We loved the location, the swimming pool area with its beautiful mature garden, and all the common areas with their rich classic style. The staff is extremely helpful, respectful and kind. The view from our room was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The part of the hotel that they put us in was in the back of the hotel with a long walk to our room. You can take a Willy-Wonka-ish sideways elevator to get there, and then another elevator up, but the wait for the elevator can be long. There was no view in our part of the hotel, but there was a balcony. The room was outdated, to the point I would not have wanted to stay more than the one night we stayed. The room was very expensive for what we got, but we traveled in July, at the height of the tourist season.

    Location is great. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the train station and the center of town. The water is across the street with the promenade in between. Hotel is old and pretty with a great swimming pool. Room and bathroom were large.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though I reserved for 2 adults and a child they insisted charging EUR 30.- per day for a child bed. At the end it came out EUR 35-- per day, not what they had told me at the time of checking. They had mentioned nothing about parking charges. It came out that they charged EUR 10.- per day. Above all, I found the front office manager (lady) quite unpolite and unfriendly.

    I liked the view from the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. It was all suberb. Our room seemed slightly on the small side but we did have an extra single bed in there for our daughter. Some of the suites are probably bigger and better for families.

    The staff were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very comfortable, ours had a great view of the lake/pool. Food was excellent, served in a lovely restaurant with stunning views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing absolutely nothing! Everything was topnotch . Thank you!

    Hotel Bristol was wonderful! The staff was so helpful and friendly. Always serving with a smile and making sure that we were always satisfied. The room was lovely to say the least. We will be back next year. Wouldn't stay any where else. The pool was so clean and beautifully maintained. Thank you for a fantastic visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and with no view. It was on a weird corner of the building. Breakfast was crazy expensive.

    Beautiful old hotel right on the lake . Convenient to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No visible signs of any management . Slow bar service and surly bar staff , always talking to each other and complaining . Easily locked ourselves on our balcony .Had to shout to attract attention . No indication that this was possible . Tired looking carpets . One elevator out of order at peak holiday time .

    Receptionist Alessia was very professional .Had luggage taken to room immediately . Waiter Giatano was the only waiter who put customer service above getting the job done .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    property is getting on and needs a revamp. Staff could smile at least but they did do their job efficiently.

    location was ideal and the views were really nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room (very small, very noise, looking towards the back of the kitchens) service average

    swimming pool, location (close to boats, close to train station)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside swimming pool was really cold in August Heavy gold / silver and marble decoration

    Conveniently located not far from the city centre Nice view from the pool Quite an old fashioned hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not recommend breakfast, too expensive and nothing special.

    We've stayed at Bristol several times and it's always perfect and great value for money. Love the classic style of the hotel, pool area and views of the lake and islands and walking distance to city center. This time we travelled with our 3 year old son and we got a triple room with large sofa bed without extra charge though we had originally only booked a double. So considerate and really made our stay even better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff (all male) were atrocious! Very rude! In general we found all the waiting staff in all the restaurants and cafes/ shops not at all friendly or happy. They are all so miserable. Is it bad times in Italy that is making them this miserable...why when they have such fantastic views. Well we didn't let them spoil it for us. I think the head bar man, he had a bald head needs to go on a customer service course about motivating his staff and himself! Also cleaners did not replenish the shower gel,,I had to ask every day.

    Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice hotel in a good location. When I booked through booking.com I swear I selected the room with breakfast included, when checking out I hadn't and they charged 32 euros per day for a poor quality breakfast. Double check when you get your confirmation through if breakfast is included or not. Personally I wouldn't bother and go out for it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My single room was very small, though perfectly comfortable

    Beautiful location on the lake, a pleasant 10 minute stroll along the lake into town. The hotel has a luxury feel, nice pool and gardens with bar service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk can be a little moody. And the restaurant food not as good as it claims.

    The views are beautiful, the hotel sophisticated, the service polished, the facilities plentiful and the cleanliness excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I guess as it is a big hotel, the reception staff was a bit impersonal and not as warm as at other properties I'd stayed. They should also be more informed of transportation around the area. For instance, one staff told me there is no direct public boat to Santa Caterina del Sasso, yet there has been for a while from the navigation center of Stresa. As this is a big hotel catering to international guests, the English in general should be improved- We filled in the hotel's review questionnaire online and it was full of spelling mistakes. Besides, the shower design needs to be rethought, the shower door can only be closed half way and so lots of water can get out in the room when the shower is in use.

    The hotel is located at an excellent location at the lake front, and at walking distance of everything you need. It's full of old school charm and luxury, and the pools are great. The outdoor pool is beautiful with nice pool staff, although it could easily become a kindergarten playground with lots of kids. Our room offers a perfect view of both the mountain and the lake. It was spotlessly clean and so comfy, and the cleaning staff was friendly. I particularly loved the elegant interior.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard Rooms are small (esp 138) and air con is noisy and not effective. There are no nice lounges outside of being in the bar. The competition even within its own group in the area is making this a weak choice.

    The staff were perfunctory

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Standard rooms are very small. The bathroom design means that the whole bathroom gets soaked when you use the shower, really poorly thought out. There was no variety with breakfast, same on offer every day.

    The pool and sunbathing area are really the best bit of this hotel, having an indoor pool is a nice option too. Location is good, short flat walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast stops at 9.45, which is early. It was not included in the price and to be honest, 28 euros for one adult and one child is a lot of money compared to what we pay at breakfast cafes. So we never had breakfast there.

    The lawn with Italian-styled pool and view on the Lago was so amazing. We also used the indoor pool because it was slightly warmer and not as busy. Dinner by the fountains looking over the Lago. Classy interior.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated now when compared to more modern hotels but then this could be argued is the charm of this hotel , it is of an era

    Location , parking, pool and air con in rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels old and dusty. Overpriced for quality offered

    An old structure, need renovation. Breakfast buffet is abundant but low quality! Coffee is not even good for Italy. Have a Nespresso machine at least!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature of the water: a bit cold. This time we were in a room with mountain views. If possible try to stay in a room with pool or lake view, as the rooms are nicer (bigger and of course with a better and nice view)

    This was the 3rd time that we have been stayed in the hotel. We like the location, the hotel itself and the pool with the garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more flexibility to check out later. The room was very tight for three people, my wife and young son. The bathroom also was very small and tight space.

    Excellent location for sightseeing and near a number of decent restaurant. The restaurant had very nice facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Great location. Near the station and ferries to the Islands. Really nice hotel in keeping with the atmosphere on Lake Maggiore. 2 swimming pools and a small gym. Staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were mallards swimming in the pool several times (and their poo all over the pool area) and none of the hotel staff did anything to remove the birds. Baby cot costs 16€ per night and it's old travel cot. It would be cheeper to buy new in Stresa if you could easily find one. Quality of cleaning varied day to day. Some days the cleaner had thrown our clothes and other stuff all over the room e.g. We found the bed cover on top of our clean clothes, 3 towels changed in to 2...

    Nice property with pool area, plenty sun beds with umbrellas. Especially the waitering staff was very friendly and spoke English well enough. Good beds and a/c worked well. Breakfast 16€ was ok, nothing special. Wifi worked well but you can use 1G for free and after that you pay extra.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could be a bit wider. Access to tub/shower not properly effortless

    View. Peaceful room but for noisy wedding party right below with late night fireworks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast closes at 9.45 and you really have to be there by 9 to have enough time for the buffet. This was too early for my son who likes an early morning swim. Guests are allowed to bring dogs apparently, which I find very unhygienic and certainly bothersome in the garden. Fortunately we only saw one dog.

    Beautiful pool in lovely garden overlooking the Lago. Staff great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fitness centre is very small with only four pieces of equipment. One of which didn't work. The indoor pool however is very nice indeed.

    The outdoor pool setting is beautiful and large.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need a bit of an update

    Staff were very friendly. Our family room had an extra bit for the single bed, which was like my daughter having her own "room" and gave her some extra space

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a few beers next to the pool and they were 8 EUR a pop which I thought was a lot for a small beer in a plastic cup.

    The location is awesome and just driving up to the hotel is very grand. Easy check in and the staff here were very friendly and helpful. Parked the car with no problem and straight to the room dropped the bags off and we were able to walk into Stresa along the path next to the lake which is rather pleasant. The pool area is really pleasant with great views. I was working in Malpensa which was only 30/40mins in the car and was a lovely drive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfortable. The rooms were full of chintz, thin bedspreads that didn't appear to be washed. The air conditioner was loud and ineffective. Great pool. Food overpriced. Great location. The hotel rooms need to be renovated to a more streamlined, clean look. The rooms also need to be deep cleaned.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast buffet lacked originality, heavy cakes/pastries, bland breads and no fresh fruit juices or prosecco (but good fresh fruit salad). Ask for fresh coffee, don't use the self-serve urn.

    Compact room, beautifully furnished with inlaid wooden furniture, and small sheltered balcony with lake view. It turns out that 'pool or lake' view actually means: north side for pool & islands; or north of east side for islands & lake; or some recessed east side rooms with mostly just the open lake - but all are good. Truly great pool, lawns and pool-side bar. Nice spaces in the hotel for bar, terrace and lobby. Breakfast served in large room with terrace facing the lake. Very convenient location with pedestrain crossing to lakeside promenade. Central between the train station, old town (bars, restaurants, ATM, Carrefour, main lake ferries) and Carciano pier (island ferries and cable car) - all flat and easily walkable in 5-15 minutes. The hotel is itself a stop for the 'Alibus' to/from Malpensa MXP (book online).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was perfect from the breakfast served to the pool facilites most courteous staff at all times . Will revisit without doubt .

    Stayed at a suite it was bright with two balconies overlooking the lake a delight

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen was very poor. Omelette from a box and very greasy bacon at breakfast, the salad and club sandwich at the pool, all below standard.. We asked for a wake -up call at the reception desk, but were happy to wake ourselves 15 minutes late..

    The Bristol is located on a very nice spot opposite the Borromean Islands, which were visible very well from our oom on the 5th floor at the right side with lateral view of the lake. The room is posh old palace style, with a very complicated user-unfriendly switch board for the lighting next to the bed. The shower in the bath with a good screening was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service was a little hit and miss. Biggest issue is that I was charged much more than quoted for the room rate and the man o reception didn't speak any English so I couldn't get it resolved at check out (6am in morning) and now need to follow up. I had I had a lunch that was forgotten in the kitchen but everyone apologised and it was put right. Not enough staff taking orders for drinks at sunbeds...would have been handy.

    The room was well appointed, the wifi worked brilliantly. Always enough sun beds and they were comfortable, plenty of towels available. Pool excellent. Brilliant location, fab breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic things were missing in the hotel like slippers, bathrobe, body lotion. We had to ask for slippers before receiving them. There was no kettle. Overall it is too pricy

    Location, swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel with it surroundings is excellent. Awesome trip. Beautiful hotel with excellent concierge and housekeeping.Food fantastic. Walk distanc from CBD. Lovely restaurants. Stresa is a must for everey traveller

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was terrible...a real letdown in the hot weather. They gave us some credit but were limited because they paid your organisation 20% so we will be booking direct next time you can be sure.

    Pool was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have decided to stay one night longer in stress but the hotel we have been in they did not have rooms to offer as they where fully booked. We have found for almost the same price your hotel and a we have been disappointed by our room. Air conditioning was very poor in our room could not sleep half of the night. The room was small for two people and in the bathroom it was very difficult to take a shower as it was a bath+shower so the cover glass was not covering the area where was the shower allocated. For that room the money we have payed it was not worth it.

    Love the service Swimming pool was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer a shower to a spa bath. The shower was a bit small, but the pressure was excellent.

    Everything was fabulous. The best room I have ever had. Balcony overlooking the Lake. We had room service so we could dine on the balcony. The staff came and set the table. Staff were very helpful. The room was very thoughtfully laid out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A no-fault hotel.

    Right on the promenade. Outside pool is lovely. They provide pool towels. Views are awesome. They upgrade if they have space. Linens and bed comfy. Good soundproofing between rooms. We didn't eat breakfast there but chose to eat our own breakfast on the terrace. Loved the terrace overlooking the pool and the lake (side view). Staff helpful and courteous. Parking is 10euros. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. Staff at the pool bar were disappointing. Air Conditioning not working properly ... if it was air conditioning???

    Fabulous location. Lovely hotel. Very clean. Nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With this amount of money I could book (and I did in the past) twice a nice hotel. The decor of the room as well as the view were ugly as hell

    The pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite near the railway station and not too far from boat terminal, many small bars on the nearby shore to have a nice breakfast, nice staff, nice room with great view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was lovely, really good value although the pool could have been heated and the tv in our room was broken. I really look forward to coming back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a deal considered the level of the property. However, at checkout we were charged for breakfast. We thought it was included in the booking. We were also charged for the parking and each of the dogs.

    The hotel is quite grand and spectacular. The location is prime, next to other similar properties and walking distance from the ferries. The rooms are clean and quiet. It has both indoor and outdoors pools.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a triple room with a mountain view. The room was nice, however, for a 4 star hotel I would have expected to have a coffee / tea machine in our room. Although the room was clean overall, there was a lot of dust which was easy to see because of the wooden floor. The parking is not free (10 euro per night!) but you can park outside free of charge.

    The location was very good and the hotel looks nice and luxurious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a very strong smell of cleaning products downstairs that wasn't pleasant.

    The bikes were great and it is a really pretty hotel, pool and outdoor area. Great view and location for us. We liked La St Hall as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Powerpoints in our room turned off when we turned the lights off (even with the key card in the slot), which meant we couldn't charge batteries and computers overnight. Nothing done about it when we asked. The shower fitting made it well nigh impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom.

    Gorgeous view from our room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service from staff and restaurant was very poor, in terms of value for money, flexibility with room upgrades or getting back to you with more information... As requested... This was very poor. Meals are very pricy and parking which was underground was pricy as well. Noisy room with sound of lifts going up and down and very small shower cubicle...

    Location was close to the boulevard, lake views and cafes and shops. Nice verandah on all rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could differentiate themselves from other hotels by offering better quality breakfast items. Location is good but is a 10-minute walk to town.

    Adequate 4-star hotel overlooking the lake Good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: