Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Certosa 3 stars

Viale Certosa 41, 84034 Padula, Italy

#5 of 10 hotels in Padula

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 206 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Struck gold on a last minute one night booking. Will definitely return for a longer stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed for one night to break up a journey to Naples but would have happily stayed for much longer! The hotel is just a few minutes drive from the A3/E45 motorway but the location and the property are beautiful. Our room and balcony overlooked the Certosa San Lorenzo (closed on Tuesdays) and the views of the town and countryside were stunning. The room was the largest on our trip and the shower was superb. The staff were very helpful and delivered our cases to the room as there is no lift. The restaurant was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend for a relaxing stay with excellent food in peaceful and picturesque surroundings. We will be back, and next time for longer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Value hotel in Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some basics in room (like toilet flush) broken or not working well, so much so that we were moved to a different room for our second night. I got the impression that they were short staffed and there was a backlog of maintenance to be done for the coming season. No elevator, though stairs to second and third floors shallow and easy.

    Location couldn't be better for those visiting the Certosa di San Lorenzo - it's just across the road. Well appointed large hotel with convention and banquet facilities, almost empty when we stayed. We had a well furnished, comfortable room with a balcony and a beautiful view. The bathroom was very well designed. Nice attached restaurant. An absolutely beautiful pool, not open when we stayed. Staff did not speak much English but wewere able to communicate, and very helpful in providing extra pillows and balcony chairs etc. Plentiful parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Country stay with a great ambiance all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unable to find a negative.

    Great location right near the Certosa of Padula, the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and the restaurant has many delicious dishes too many good ones to choose from. Looking forward in going back in near future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one staff member spoke English and he was only there at one morning

    Very nice and comfortable accommodations. Hard to communicate since we only spoke English. Only one staff member could speak English and he was only there one morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Magnificent. Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was excellent with plenty of space,good bathroom,and a massive bed. Better than all of that was the food and service in their own taverna. The pizzas were the best we had ever eaten,and we've had a few. The house wine was really good,and the entire meal,which more than filled us was such good value. I wish we could transport ourselves here every week. Yum.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location and very cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were a lot of events going on while I was staying there so I was unable to use the beautiful pool. Next time!

    The breakfast was delicious and the staff were very accommodating. There is a bar a short walk away that serves delicious espresso and aperitifs as well! There was a lovely view from my balcony into the charter house across the street too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Not a grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow were hard as rocks, air conditioning was poor, hotel was dreary with barely a lobby (2 chairs and one sofa with ripped leather), breakfast was minimal, there were essentially no facilities

    Cleanliness, right across from the monastery

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    We booked the hotel an hour before arriving, as our baby boy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds was a bid hard, no elevator and the Breakfast was a minimum italian breakfast.

    We booked the hotel an hour before arriving, as our baby boy wasn't keen on driving futher. We just found the closest hotel. Our room was very nice and defiantly high standard. After arriving late at night we hadn't noticed the Beautiful scenary around the hotel or the big convent just next door. We were happily surprised.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    5.0
    Has potential but needs to focus on service.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Put us on the storey above a party and in a room right above the DJ booth. The breakfast was not very good. They didn't even have glasses, just white disposable plastic mugs.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Great location right next door to the Certosa di Padula. Modern accommodation with excellent facilities. Good breakfast and easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Padula was our halfway mark to our drive to Sicily, so we didn't need any special place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel and nice restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can be better

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Big room, very good bed, balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated exactly next to the Certosa. Our room had a view on the Certosa. Perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    WiFi was very slow at times one could not connect
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very slow at times one could not connect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    You will not be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't suggest any improvement.

    Surprisingly luxurious hotel for the price. Very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    9.2
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much of a breakfast...in a not to clean sort of conference room :-(

    Very good value for money. Best way to visit the beautiful monastery. Also the restaurant is recommendable.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff are very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was pathetic so very difficult to do any kind of work The breakfast was very poor. Weird communal tables with warm yoghurt and juices. Swimming pool nice but short opening hours and no towels

    The staff are very friendly The restaurant is excellent Good showers in the bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    helpful, friendly staff, fine seafood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    helpful, friendly staff, fine seafood

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The rooms, bathrooms and restaurant were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel did no offer transportation to the town of Padula

    The rooms, bathrooms and restaurant were very good

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Grand Hotel Certosa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: