Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel De La Minerve 5 stars

Piazza Della Minerva 69, Pantheon, 00186 Rome, Italy

#345 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Was fine because of location and because didn’t stay in room for very long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms all need to be refurbished and bathrooms upgraded, at least our room did. Furniture very dated, bed hard and uncomfortable. The lobby is beautiful but our room had dated furnishings and bathroom definitely needed to be gutted. Our window didn’t lock so could hear lots of outside noise at night. Also no cold water to brush teeth always warm.

    Liked the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very sad that such an famous hotel has gone so down , it is a tourist factory for groups and even in June the individual do not have much attention . Most desapointing stay in this old palace , where the rooms are small and the bathrooms was small and old. i changed after one night

    the terrace and the location .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Location and staff made this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Superior room and paid £400 per night. The room had a view of a wall and rooms opposite. Asked to move and was told hotel full. Also no breakfast included it was €35 each extra. Felt overpriced for what we got.

    The location is excellent you can walk to any if the major sights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Just a fantastic location with major sights within easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Just a fantastic location with major sights within easy walking distance and world class restaurants just around the corner. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Want to go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    third time in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    third time in hotel. everything is perfect. we received upgrade of our room) reception confirmed late check out 13.00 good rooms, good breakfast, good staff. incredible roof terrace view hotel is in the very city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Had a good time . Won’t be back in a hurry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices very expensive. We had a trolley of dirty cutlery , plates and glasses for the 3 days we were staying there by our room floor 5. Waited 40mins for 2 drinks at bar . Waited for our bill along time .

    The location is fantastic. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was clean .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok for a weekend visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was ridiculously small - could not swing a kitten, let alone a cat - while the room was massive. Hotel is not cheap and is beginning to look a bit tired now - air con is noisy and does not work very well. We had a room on the 6th floor and there was a lot of noise - no carpet in the hallways so everything echos and doors banging plus people going up and down to the Roof Terrace late at night. Breakfast is served on the Roof Terrace which is a great location but at 30€ per head for a continental breakfast it's way overpriced for the quality of food on offer.

    Staff are nice and friendly and the hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Minerva @ Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit on the expensive side for the incidentals. Breakfast is outrageously expensive.

    Amazing location, beautiful decor and furniture, professional and very helpful staff who go to great lengths to help you, 5 star hotel treatment all the way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location and walking distance to almost everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning (thermostat) was not always working - room was always very warm - however you could open a window which fixed the issue

    Fabulous location and walking distance to almost everything - bar staff are sensational!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    I liked the staff, location, property it self
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, and I paid extra for fried eggs , which I never paid in other five star hotels, cleaning was not perfect, but it was ok

    I liked the staff, location, property it self

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very good happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking with you misleading and cost more than the hotel quoted - we will always now check hotel before booking with you which is a shame. The only complaint is ridiculous price of breakfast - 25 euros for a coffee and a mediocre croissant.

    Hotel Excellent - lovely roof top restaurant charming staff and a really quiet room - much appreciated by us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious but mediocre at best. Cheap beds + pillows. hand held overbath shower -awful. When attached to wall had to stand end of bath so water could reach ...had to use as hand held. Hallways miserable + needed painted. Checkout was early morning- guy was miserable unshaven took payment didn’t say thanks / need a taxi/ nice stay... nothing.At €400/night location only thing going for it.

    Location. Roof top bar - pleasant staff but overrun with pigeons.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Only worth it for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast extortionate 35 euros for buffet. Better to choose a la carte. Drinks even more extortionate 13 euros for 0.33l glass of beer! We only ordered sandwiches once - awful - stale white bread with hardly any filling.

    Great location within walking distance of many attractions. Beautiful roof terrace with bar and restaurant with both covered and open seating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a “tired” hotel, they need to “freshen up” the facility, worn and stained carpets, need paint job—nothing structural, mostly cosmetic

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this wonderful hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Less expensive breakfast. Went out to have breakfast and got coffee from room service.

    Wonderful hotel in the middle of the historic district of Rome. Friendly staff, nice rooms and fantastic bar / restaurant on the roof with great views of the city and wonderful selection of drinks and snacks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    it It not only location and cleanness that create the whole experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not paying attention to details like not checking that breakfast was paid in advance as part of stay at the hotel being a wedding present for honeymoon vacation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    It was a very pleasurable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most of Europe air conditioning can be fickle.

    Location was fantastic. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    The facilities and check in staff were wonderful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities and check in staff were wonderful, the breakfast (staff were not attentive & food was just ok) was a little disappointing which is a shame as it is such a beautiful spot to enjoy breakfast on the rooftop!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some details need to be updated like the hallways carpets and the lighting in the bathroom of the hotel room, which was poor.

    The rooftop bar and restaurant is terrific. The staff was attentive and accommodating. The location is excellant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.3
    Never again in Rome in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities old, lifts old, staff nosy and not friendly . Not clean .

    This hotel has " grand" only in the name. 10 years ago it was one of the top hotels in Rome. Now it is run down, not maintained and would qualify for 3 stars, not 5. Very expensive for very poor quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Outstanding location for Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The roof top bar was very, very expensive.

    Outstanding location for Rome. Pretty much in the middle of everything (only a walk away) and right beside the Pantheon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    The Hotel has a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel has a nice location. The hotel is in bad conditions. It is an old , used hotel and must be urgently refurbished. The carpets on corridors are dirty, also the floor in the room was destroyed and dirty. The view from the room was a disaster, an old dirty courtyard. It is not for sure a 5 stars hotel !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    Great location...but a lot of money for very little else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very dated inside; staff are a bit blasé and not that interested if you are not of a certain age profile (older the better; under 45...not so much); quality of the rooms for what you are expected to pay is pretty poor. Service can be sketchy.

    The location of the property is excellent to explore central and historic Rome; it's a famous brand name hotel and easy for any taxi to find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    A Grand Old Hotel that is a bit seedy. Wonderfull location. Good A/C
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpets in the halls and the room are old and worn and dirty. We also hated the old mattresses that should be replaced too. Bathrooms are dated but adequate.

    I really enjoyed the rooftop deck for a full breakfast, it's only 35 euros. The main looby is also quilte lovely. Staff were attentive and were accomadating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent room and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping let the hotel down . We didn't have our room cleaned one day and the following had to ask for dry towels and although we received them quickly we had no apology.

    Room was large and delightful and the location was perfect overlooking the pantheon. Concierge and reception staff were excellent. The rooftop bar and restaurant were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we loved it. The hotel was beautiful and one of the oldest in Rome. I will give it a 9 and 1/2 because it did not have a pool. But is in middle of city. It is extremely hot in the summer time so would have been perfect.

    The hotel was next to the Pantheon and the location although packed with tourists was superb. You could walk to almost everything apart from the Vatican. We visited this July which is the busy season. Best time to visit is September.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Warm welcome in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor directly below the rooftop terrace has a lot of noise at night especially when they are shifting furniture around for setting up for breakfast. 630 has a stunning view but beware some noise.

    Concierge and reception team extremely helpful!! Great assistance on booking a day tour. Very friendly doormen. Only service letdown in the hotel was at the bar- sooooo slow, a glass of prosecco took over 30 min to pour, and unfortunately was the same every night. Gorgeous rooftop view though so just be prepared for a bit of a wait.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room Wassink noisy ( external air duct ) that it disturbed our sleep In fact , it is as so noisy that we moved to a different room for the second night

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    Very poor value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated and the hallways especially are very dirty. Needs to be upgraded if they wish to charge this price. The breakfast was very limited and poor quality and the service was terrible. My husband described it being like Fawlty Towers. It does not deserve the 5 star rating, it is more like a three star hotel. Would never stay again.

    The view from the roof top and the location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Traditional hotel in a fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel promotes a Sunday Brunch breakfast, at 35 Euros each served on the roof top terrace. We expected something very special but it was dreadful, hardly any choice, some hot food but bacon very fatty and eggs stone cold. limited juices which were not refilled. It was a total waste of money and though we complained nothing was taken off our bill.

    The location was fantastic! literally next to the Pantheon and the busy square. Lots of restaurants in the square nearby and in the little streets off the square. Hotel had a lovely lounge with stunning art deco glass ceiling. There is a roof top terrace serving drinks and snacks which was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was very easy to find which was good as we had never been to Rome before. It was very central within a short walk of lots of interesting places cafes & bars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Location conquers all
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small - but that is a universal complaint in Rome, in Italy, in Europe.

    The location is perfect. Being next to the Pantheon means that you're in the heart of Rome, and within walking distance of nearly everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Different rooms, mix feelings, we will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. On our arrival we recieved a twin bed room on the 2nd floor. Our reservation was for a double bed but the lady in the reception tried to argue and said that this room has two beds. Only after I insisted we got a Double bed room. This time we got room 625- lovely room but as we found out during the night it was imposible to sleep. The six floor is just under the dining room and bar- it was terribly noisy till 2 o'clock and than from 6 am the noise started again. We complained and as a compensation we got a delux double room on the fourth floor- beautiful. To conclud- out of two nights we could not enjoy the first night. Got the worst feeling from the staff ladies in the reception. We would not return.

    Just at the backyard of the Pantheon

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Perfect Luxury in the Heart of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodations and services provided by Grand Hotel De La Minerve are 5 star. My husband and I married in Rome two years ago and our reception was at this lovely hotel. We returned to celebrate our anniversary for the same reasons we chose to celebrate our love here. The proximity to the Pantheon, shops and restaurants is incomparable. The General Manager and staff are kind, professional and ensure that your stay is luxurious and stress free. I love Grand Hotel De La Minerve and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Rome's City Center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is the best I've stayed in in Rome. Very good service, lovely bar and excellent rooftop restaurant serving breakfast and lunch/dinner. The hotel is so close to the Pantheon yet Piazza Della Minerva is quiet and there is no noise at night even for rooms overlooking the square. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in excellent location
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is Italy so it was not quite as clean as other hotels in the same star rating in other countries. The breakfast was very expensive and every morning the orange juice was not refilled once it was empty.

    Hotel was located next to the Pantheon which placed it in the middle of all sightseeing attractions. Hotel staff was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    Grand stay in a Grand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showing its age in parts particularly the bathroom but plenty of class remains. We were able to check in very early - looked quite for a 6 Nations weekend in February.

    Grande Hotel indeed! Great location just by the Pantheon in a quite square.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.4
    Excellent location in very pleasant surroundings with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and beverage in the hotel was very expensive. €18 Gin&Tonic. Disappointed that the roof terrace with such excellent panoramic views of Rome is only accessible at breakfast time during winter months.

    Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Location magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, location, location. Pantheon right at your front door. Beautiful foyer to relax in. Great base for a holiday. Lots of fantastic restaurants close by to dine in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.1
    Short business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel of this quality, I thought the beds were in poor condition. The mattresses were clearly well worn and uneven. A nice bathroom was undermined by a shower with very poor water pressure.

    The location is great and being away from busy roads with traffic, it was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.0
    Overall still good; the price paid was much more reasonable than of recent attempts. Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i used to be a frequent travel to this hotel when it belonged to a different hotel chain. Furniture was of better quality and there was a general higher quality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    8.3
    Good quality comfortable hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor throughout the hotel tranditional not inpressive

    Lovely restaurant on the roof with fabulous views of Rome.Good service and helpful ,friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    elegant grand old hotel in bustling historic area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    this elegant grand old hotel is very dated in the room we had although clean. The rooms, hallways needs a new paint job, carpet and drapes everywhere upstairs very dated and were not clean/fresh. the room was small. This was majorly disappointing as the hotel is so gorgeous elsewhere in public areas and it is not a low cost hotel. not having an indoor restaurant for cold/wet weather could be seen as a negative, however there are so many good restaurants nearby it did not detract.. As elsewhere in some hotels on our trip, the a/c was disconnected for October requiring the windows to be open (doonas are always hot) and there is street noise if you have the windows open. this is a bustling area of Rome so I would not be put off by the street noise (voices not traffic) as it quieted significantly by 10 or 11.

    This hotel is ideally located next to the Pantheon in the historic area. it is close to everything, lots of cafes,restaurants and shops close by, mid-way between Navonna Square and Trevi Fountain. the hotel is beautiful downstairs and has lots of facilities on main level in top order and the restaurant/bar on the roof terrace is gorgeous with lovely views, good drinks although service was very slow. we did not have a meal there so cannot report regarding that. staff were very accommodating and pleasant. I would definitely book into this hotel for return trips but hope they update.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    A deluxe stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff tried to make the stay as comfortable as possible , rooms cleaned and tidied at least twice a day. Rooftop breakfast outstanding, Restaurant delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful place to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location!! Cleaniness of the hotel , friendly staff , I really loved the welcoming candy box and a greeting letter that arrived aftte my check in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.2
    Will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very friendly, especially the Concierge. Also, they try to impose additional charges unnecessarily. Room had no kettle and no coffee, sugar or creamer packets. I made it very clear when I ordered for the packets but they brought freshly made coffee instead. The lady apologised for the mistake but insisted we pay for the coffee that we sent back. She was rather rude when we insisted it was NOT what we ordered. She made some rude sounding comments in Italian as she left.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    2.9
    DISGUSTING. Disappointing from check in to bags out the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly AWFUL hotel, has aged badly. No a/c as it's turned OFF other than Jul & Aug, hotel general areas were filthy and staff was dismissive at best but generally just rude & prone to shrugging their disinterest. Dirty dishes in the hallway for 2 days. I'd NEVER recommend this property which is a shame as it used to be nice. I'd give this less than one star if I could.

    The location is convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.4
    The location is excellent for seeing the sights in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was dirtyand out dated.Our room as well as the lobby had a very unpleasant smell.

    The location is excellent for seeing the sights in Rome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    5.8
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5th floor was horrible Make sure you don't stay at it, the noise was unbelievable we've had to move to different rooms on different floors

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.9
    Great location, lovely roof top resturant and bar, we really enjoyed the salt encrusted sea bream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just that the hotel should have known about the WIFI, we had to call down to get our code, so it was a bit odd, maybe they thought we did not need WIFI so did not bring it up, until we did.

    We were in room #346 and the WIFI did not work, it took 24 hours before anyone came to see if could be resolved, then was determined, we could work on WIFI in the hallway , not in this room. Must have been blocked. It was fine to go in the hall, there was a couch, would not always want too, but no worries. Conceirge was very helpful and we really appreciated his attempt on the Borghese garden tickets, arranging our transfer to the airport when we left and sending our painting :) Housekeepers were friendly and the waiter we had at dinner was most friendly, very nice all in all! Thank you, Fred & Barb Mahlke

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Staff and service were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility could use some paint and new carpet. Beginning to show signs of wear that is out of keeping with its luxe rating and prices.

    Staff and service were great. Location is the best.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.4
    Great location so so amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in need of repair such as paint,room vents grossly dirty,carpeting in the halls very worn and dirty. Small tiny bathrooms and gross vinyl floors in the rooms that felt and looked dirty.

    Loved the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location right beside the Pantheon. Comfortable bed and pillows. Good size room and close to loads of restaurants. Easy walk to all the attractions. Fantastic roof top bar for a pre dinner drink as the sun set.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff in a comfortable atmosphere led to a very enjoyable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not eat breakfast because we felt it was too pricey. We would have preferred a lower cost with a few selections to choose from.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a great location. We checked in early but did not like our room (double beds). The staff moved our luggage while we were out to a larger room. This was a huge plus!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Classic elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    The location of the hotel was outstanding. We could walk to so many incredible sites. The views from the roof top restaurant were breathtaking, service and food wonderful as well. Hotel staff from bellmen to concierge were friendly and helpful. Great outdoor restaurants also within easy walking distance. We loved our stay here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic Hotel! Great Location! Wonderful Stay in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the rooftop was wonderful! We also had dinner there which was fabulous. Staff was friendly and helpful. Very clean, well apponted room with comfortable, soft bedding. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    The best hotel we've stayed in in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a bit pricey, but the garden roof terrace a perfect setting.

    Brilliant location. Beautiful room - and private terrace. Roof terrace brilliant for evening prosecco. Loved it and will be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.5
    Good location, small rooms, dont forget things in the rooms, you wont get it back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, receptionist not a 5 stars one. We forgot one of our phones in the room , but the housekeeping staff said they did not find it.

    Location was great . Restaurant and resraurant staff was great . Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Best piazza in Rome and you are RIGHT there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing. It was perfect.

    Right behind the Pantheon which is the BEST location in Rome. The hotel staff was so nice and accommodating and the room was fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Pretty much perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooftop restaurant staff at breakfast on my first day. I was given the impression that they had far more interesting things to do so was in their way. Subsequent days I took breakfast elsewhere to give them their space. I'm such a thoughtful man

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff on reception. Could not fault the room or the "front of house and domestic staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast on rooftop with gorgeous view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on rooftop with gorgeous view. Room was very clean and good sized for family. Location was excellent - practically within walkable distance to attractions and good food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    7.9
    Love the location but hate the AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning is weak. We were there on a fairly hot week and it was hard to fall asleep on air conditioning that barely works. There was a strong sewage smell after every time we showered. It came from the drainage below the sink. I just put our used towels over it to cover it but I really hope that the hotel can fix that smell.

    This place is a little bit on the expensive side but you are paying for it's location. You walk straight out to the back of the Pantheon and my god that is a beautiful view. The staff were friendly but nothing over and beyond. The internet is not as slow as many people say. I've stayed in multiple 5* hotel and this was one of the faster ones. European 5* star hotels just have slower internet in general.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful Minerve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Reserved a deluxe double. Check in smooth and was presented with voucher for 2 free drinks on the roof terrace. Room was huge and nice bathroom and looked out over the square. Bottle of complimenary wine delivered 10 minutes after we entered the room, then a box of sweets appeared plus notes from housekeeping and the manager wishing us a pleasant stay and to get in touch if we needed anything. We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment but did have lunch on terrace which was fine, although it's more of an international choice (club sandwiches, salads etc), no pasta dishes to be had. Location excellent. I would highly recommend this place, the staff were attentive and special thanks to Marco on the concierge for his assistance in tracking down our daughters missing suitcase. She was not even staying in our hotel but he went above and beyond to help which is more than can be said about the place she was staying in. I would stay at the Minerve again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast is expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and comfortable, clean room. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was perfect and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast, disgusting.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    location top, behind Pantheon
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price

    location top, behind Pantheon Terrace overlooking Rome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    restaurant on 6th floor (hotel roof) was super with...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    restaurant on 6th floor (hotel roof) was super with excellent sightseeing point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We never tire of visiting this wonderful City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Enjoyed the roof bar and restaurant , great location next to the Pantheon. Room upgraded without asking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Can't wait to return - awsome hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was brilliant. Staff were very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was very unexpected but a fabulous and very much appreciated gesture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    All the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff. Very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.3
    BAD hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and cleanliness at the three-star hotel level!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very nice and helpfull, we Had a great stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpfull, we Had a great stay and will come back again with no doubt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Very good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was way to expensive

    Very good bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Short one night stay but perfect location for short amount of time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice large comfy bed and plenty of space in room. We were upgraded to next level without even having to ask.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel De La Minerve traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: