Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel De Rose 4 stars

Lungomare Mediterraneo, 87029 Scalea, Italy

#2 of 11 hotels in Scalea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    We keep coming back to The Rose. A classic hotel with the best position overlooking the beach. We feel like friends now. Thank you again for another wonderful week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    According to the photos and price level we were expecting Luxurious hotel, we even paid for the best room, so expectations were high, but then we found out that everything in the hotel is super aged (80s ?) and not in a pleasant "retro" way. To name a few things: once you get into the hotel, you have to drag your luggage to the elevators through the staircase, as elevators does not stop in the same level as reception. The room had a great sea view, but it was so small that you had almost no place where to put your luggage. The AC was so smelly that we were not able to use it. Everything was aged and worn off. Our bathroom had even a moldy ceiling. And to top it up was a breakfast where I've really felt like being in a 2 star hotel.

    The location is quite nice and the beach is really just a 1 min walk from the hotel. Breakfast on outside terrace overseeing the sea is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could use some modernization especially of the bathrooms, but not too much. I would leave 95% just as it is, because it is what creates this special, charming and romantic flair.

    I loved this hotel and definitely want to go back. Love the architecture, the positioning at the seafront, the atmosphere. Right in front of the hotel there is a little free access beach (spiaggia libera) and the hotel beach is only 100m further, with a nice little bar and very relaxing overall. Went for a swim first thing in the morning, then had a good breakfast on the lovely terrace with sea view. Staff s very friendly. Whatever one needs they will try to satisfy the request. We arrived in the evening and went out for dinner. Close bye along the promenade there are lots of restaurants. We had a delicious fish and seafood dinner, for a very good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water from the bathroom, generally smell terrible .. we used mineral water for the face and teeth. The receptionist with dark hair must to listen to the guest and do not insist and argue. The corridor where was located the room smelled like pipi The girl from the breakfast was always serious

    In general was fine. The guy for the breakfast and beach was very friendly plus the gentlemans from the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi!!! they advertise Internet throughout the resort but you can only get it in the lobby but barely Some staff do not communicate well as to what they offer and when they offer it. As we were left without breakfast the early departure we had one morning Lack of amenities in room Ex: lack of towels,coffee pot, tea,coffee which makes you have to buy these simples things on your own which is a 20 min walk away. Restricted pools hours as the pool shuts down at lunch in the middle of the day and also early evening They offer beach towels for the beach but when told where to receive them the location told us to ask reception for them. Complete lack of knowledge and misguided information After calling a taxi we were told they offer complimentary rides to the nearest train station. When requested the time I needed it they completely refused to offer it as it wasn't at a time they deemed Acepptable(7:45am) The only thing this hotel offers are the views of the beach other then that I would avoid it as they offer no value for money spent.

    The view and nice room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't have much fresh fruit or vegetables, and there was no fresh coffee. The Wi-Fi was not strong, it only worked in the hallways, not in our room. Decoration of the hotel was a bit 1970s, still had the old radio installed above the bed.

    The room was a lovely size with a great balcony and lovely beach view. The bathroom was very clean with some lovely toiletries. The lido for the hotel has a nice cafe and is free access for hotel guests, but there are other people there are too. The chocolate croissants at breakfast were yummy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. We stayed an extra night just because we liked it so much.

    Everything was amazing. The sea view from the rooms, confortable bed and the nautical theme was beautiful. Great pool and 3minutes walk to the beach with free chairs and umbrella. Also a light lunch menu at the beach super affordable. Free parking at the hotel and they speak english!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved where it was but no elevator to beach floor up and down 38 cement stairs everytime u went to beach and back if you have any kindmof keg knee hip isdurs or handicap FORGET THIS PLACE

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi (one code per person) and it only worked at particular places in the hotel. Air conditioner really noisy at night.

    Location is excellent. The swimming pool was great. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The wi-fi dosen't work from time to time. - The coffee machine, from the breakfast room isn't the best one. - During my stay, every night was noise until 3 AM from a nearby local.

    - The hotel is very close to it's private beach. There are free lounges with umbrellas, showers and toilets. - All the places in the hotel are clean, like the rooms, the pool area and the eating zone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was rather dated, a bit smelly and scruffy. Elevator starts a half floor below reception so you will have to negotiate some steps with your luggage. Just 4 tables for breakfast outside, rest in a noisy basement room. Breakfast itself fine and helpful waiters.Parking was a challenge as the access road are very narrow and steep. Places are limited. Generally italian guests.

    Beautiful location on the cliff overlooking the bay within walking distance of scalea town, reason why I would book again despite some minuses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of some decorating updates. It looks old, but everything was very clean. The advertised fitness area was a disappointment. It consisted of an old treadmill and bike but I did see some people using it. First day the jacuzzi wasn't working. It looked like they were working on jacuzzi when we were there. We never tried it.

    We traveled for a week to enjoy the beach with 2 adults and 3 teens. Our goal was relaxation and enjoy the sea. The hotel is in a great location. Short walk- 5 min to a private beach with guaranteed chairs and umbrella. Beach bar offered drinks and light lunch menu which changed daily- perfect. They were open late into evening as well. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Called ahead and they picked us up at train station about 10min drive from hotel. After first day, the staff recognized us and were very accommodating. Breakfasts were good selection of fresh pastries and ham, cheese, yogurt eggs,bacon, toast, fruit, coffee and tea. There was also a pool and another bar. The pool was large and very clean. Lunches were at beach. A 5-10 min walk into town and we found several restaurants and pizzerias to choose from for dinner. The beach and sea are beautiful. Pebbly beach but not terrible. Beach shoes suggested if you have sensitive feet. Water was great for snorkeling. Could see fish even without masks. AMAZING!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Lovely room with view over the promenade. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Staff friendly and very helpful. Convenient for ferry to Sicily or Aeolian Islands.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down common areas. Staff ( one person in particular) not helpful. No air conditioning in one of three rooms.

    The views are incredible. The rooms are clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast at 3 stars hotel standard. The hotel should be refurbished to adequate at 4 stars hotel. ( furniture, elevators, air conditioning sistem, curtains ....)

    Good position near the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bathroom was a bit asking for renovation-old shower, toalet ring cracked. We had 2 rooms and batroom at second room was very fresh and nice.

    Very friendly stuff ready to help all time, good lunch offer at beach bar, comfy beds, cleaning and new supplies of towels every day, perfect view from room balcony-same for breakfast tables. Breakfast itself- good enough, but if you love vegetables -you will miss it there, planty of fruits are offered anyhow. DJ party at beach bar was very cosy -all stuff gave mtheir best to make it. Thanks a lot for good service guys!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, staff were very helpful even organized a staff member to drop us off at the train station at the end of our stay, fantastic view of the beach and Scalea from our balcony. There were some issues with the air conditioning but were quickly resolved. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This is our third stay at The Rose so it's obviously one of our very favourite places. The hotel is a grand old lady... classic, majestic, refined and elegant. Presentation is immaculate, staff are warm and friendly, courteous and always eager to please. The facilities are all you could want, the location is spectacular, right on the beach with the lido bar to add every comfort, from lettini to lunch. Why would you stay anywhere else?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms with the same status are not equal. The 4th floor with sea view are much smaller than same rooms overlooking the sea.

    Private beach with sunbeds and umbrellas, perfect location for the beach vacation, clean sea

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For that what offers, the hotel deserves 2 stars. Very old and outdated, nothing invented in renovation at least 30 years. Rooms are not in good condition, shower leaks, water on the floor in the bathroom... Old furniture. Not smoothed walls, only painted. Neglected green area and the pool, umbrellas and awnings full of dirt. Need more care and urgent renovation.

    Beautiful location, the best position in Scalea, just at the end of the beach and above the rocks. Beautiful view from the garden & terace to the beach. I really enjoyed in the good breakfast in the garden with a view and listening a local trumpeter playing "O, sole mio" from the beach. Great experience

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was tbere for 6 days in July and the air conditioning was broken although they said they brought someone in to repair it, it still didn't work. Hence, I was told that my bill would be adjusted accordingly and it was not.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioned not working properly, rooms would need some renovation. Some of the staff could be friendlier.

    Nice breakfast, private beach, cool pool and jacuzzi. Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Worst wifi ever, you basically get one code which can be used to one device only per room. Log in is required every time if you don't surf for 30 minutes. 2) female receptionist (not the blonde one) looks stressed and annoyed by the simple sight of guests. 3) air conditioned has some problems. No matter the intensity you will just get a weak air jet. 4) Rooms are nice but definitely need some urgent renovation.

    Great location, private beach access, nice pool and jacuzzi. Rich breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    --Staff. There was 1 friendly staff member, all others (no exaggeration) clearly wanted to be elsewhere and felt disgruntled by customers. Reception staff uninterested and plain rude, despite being utterly kind and respectful to them. --Gym weight machine broken, could only be partially used. Also dirty, and outside in the heat. --Outdated wifi; consistently disconnects, requiring new login data.

    --Private area at the beach. --Pool facilities. --Breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is was perfect for us to enjoy the beach in the day time and at night there is a great walk along the water front with great restaurants. Our room had a great view of the beach and the breakfast was outstanding. We also enjoyed the pool area with the lounge area surrounding it. We also enjoyed a little bike ride in the pool. Nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was to stay again I would pay extra for a Seaview room as the rooms at the back of the hotel are a little dark inside...it also would have been nice if the beach bar prepared food other than sandwiches because there was no where to eat in the hotel

    The location of the hotel is stunning and at the far end of the beach in an elevated position...it also has a private beach which was very close to the hotel and also free so it's nice you don't have to pay...The hotel is also very close to Scalea 5 mins walk

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the night by motos

    Seaside, view, services

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another mirror in the room near a plug. The air conditioning was ok but could be better.

    Breakfast was good, the room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms and hallways had a funny smell also no wifi in the rooms

    The hotel is across from the beach clubs It also has a great pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful view from the breakfast table

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is poor

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ocean view room was stunning. Great way to start the trip after a long flight and drive. Free beach cabana access was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dated furniture needs a refurb and very hard cushions.

    Excellent Location and friendly helpful staff. Very Clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the hotel wasn't great. Also the wireless could not connect.

    Location was great and the hotel supplied free day beds on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Help from reception

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent combination of quality and price. Very good location. There is always fresh air and breeze compared with other parts of town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible atmosphere, lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little outdated. Some rooms are in need of renovation. Wish the bed was a little softer.

    The stuff is amazing. Do everything possible to make your stay comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    nice bright and spacious room with a comfortable bed and a great view. the hotel has a very nice oldfashioned, faded glory feeling to it - only the bathroom facilitites were just a bit too outdated. We loved that checkout was at 12.00, which gave us time for a last morning swim on the pleasant little pebble beach.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the good restaurants in town were all booked.. so guess you need to be on time and to make a reservation. Hotel tried but could not really help.

    Good location and very good breakfast. Pool looked nice but went to the beach and used their chairs instead, very nice. Hotel is nice just at bit old fashioned and could use a bit of an update.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needed updating.

    Fantastic views across the bay. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast terrace. The Lido was an excellent place to relax.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant bar facilities in the hotel

    Extremely friendly staff. Breakfast good outside in garden. Beach bar good food drinks and fair prices. Lovely pool clean and with comfortable hammocks. Many good eating places nearby.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Décor was a bit dated, reminded me of the first hotel abroad we stayed in as kids in the 80's. The resort is mainly for Italian families and we did experience some casual racism out and about in the town

    Great seaside hotel with a pool overlooking the beach

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Il materasso forse è un tantino duro. Superiamo il falso mito dei materassi ortopedici. A volte, l'aperitivo serale sulla spiaggia è rovinato da un incomprensibile sottofondo musicale composito. Occorre assolutamente negoziare con gli altri stabilmenti e accordarsi almeno su uno stesso genere musicale, se non proprio sullo stesso disco.

    La posizione dell'hotel: meravigliosa, a picco sul mare. La spiaggia: pertinenziale. Il profumo dei gelsomini sulla terrazza. La terrazza, e la colazione ivi imbandita: un occhio al mare, l'aroma del caffè che si mescola alla fragranza della ciambella appena sfornata e al profumo di gelsomini. L'arredamento: mogano e stile marinaro, semplicemente perfetto. La rigorosa pulizia delle stanze. L'inarrivabile gentilezza del personale.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi problem so no wifi connection available which also meant I had to pay with cash.

    Friendly efficient staff Location and beautiful garden & planting

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wow, this place was great, amazing location and amazing setup!! We have a ocean view which was well worth it!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The view from our balcony was absolutely astounding. Wonderful and helpful staff. Wish that we could stay for a couple of days

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Grand Hotel De Rose traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: