Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Dei Castelli 4 stars

Via Penisola 26, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy

#4 of 21 hotels in Sestri Levante

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    The most beautiful location possible, private beach, superb...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The most beautiful location possible, private beach, superb restaurant and helpful attentive staff. We were lucky to get a room with a terrace and the view was spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    A nice town. A great staff. A poor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were stuck in the “old” hotel and could only wonder how nice the new section could be. Our room was very, very tired and not possibly worth $300. per night

    The property is, in general, very impressive but.....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is superb. There is a great restaurant, private beach and a big garden with numerous birds, some goats and cats and great views on the cliffs and the sea. Breakfast was substantial and really nice. Free parking outside the hotel. Friendly staff. Great interiors, spacious rooms with all facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic, gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say. It takes 20 mins to get to Levanto. I'd happily add that to my commute time and stay here again.

    The staff are the best feature, genuinely warm, friendly and extremely helpful. The property itself is magnificent, set atop a cliff overlooking the sea. The photos don't do it justice. The breakfast is absolutely scrumptious, especially enjoyed overlooking the harbour in a panoramic restaurant or weather allowing on top of the terrace. For Cinque Terre, buy a €7.20 ticket, return to Levanto and Cinque Terre card (required for access to the park and trains between the 5 villages)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives

    Location on a hill with wonderful views, gardens and private lift to town promenade. Spacious room, good breakfast buffet and very friendly staff. Convenient to restaurants and train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    wonderful experience in one of the nicest location in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hot&cold tap instead of the mixer in the bathroom and shower (but this seems typical in the high end hotel in Sestri)

    I loved the location, the parc (which is only open to the hotel guests), the friendliness of the staff and their prompt responses to our requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    perfect dream hotel for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the winter rates are great value for the money. This hotel incorporates pieces of medieval sculptural elements into the doorways and windows. The garden is actually a fantastic park with a walkway around the cliffs overlooking the sea. The views were spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing apart from the coffee and tea, which would have been better if freshly brewed, rather than the coffee, tea machine which is never the same as the real thing (although it did produce good hot chocolate!)

    Beautiful views, very quiet, relaxing. Staff were polite and friendly and food excellent. Bed was comfortable although a little basic, as really a metal frame with a decorative headboard. Linen was fresh and clean. The garden was pretty and a nice place to wander in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Quiet location above Sestri Levante, lovely rooms with spacious, vaulted ceilings. Immaculate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facilities (a Nespresso would be a boon, even in the vast hall in the middle of the property). Breakfast is in another building so far to go for an early cuppa. Gulls harass guests dining al fresco at breakfast. Horrible Nescafé coffee machine at breakfast unless you ask for decent coffee from the bar.

    Nice room with high vaulted ceilings, quiet, large bathroom with spa bath and shower. Comfy beds and very clean everywhere. Staff extremely attentive and welcoming. Lovely Michelin dining room with views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No wifi in the rooms or anywhere in the building our rooms were in, or the building housing the restaurant. This had a real impact on my husband who needs to keep up with his work even on holiday. Odd and excessive charging system to use the beach. We paid 56 euros a day to use it as a family of 4, but realised some families were not paying for children (teenagers). On top of this most of the loungers were already 'tagged' by people who weren't staying in the hotel and often didn't turn up. Despite this, the location was very special and Sestri Levante a lovely town.

    The location was fantastic. Sestri Levante is charming. The beach and access to town were amazing (using the lifts) and the views were incredible too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    the Food Hedonism at Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything is OK

    The location of the hotel was first class at all Liguria Coast and the views from the breakfast & dining terasse were beautiful. The staff were helpful and rooms were very clean and comfortable. Multiple eating options across the shoreline is perfect. So Sestri-Levante best restaraunts: 1. Ristorante ai Castelli - trust TripAdvisor!! - this is really the best. Best food in menu: a. Gran Crudo di Mare dei Castelli b. Taglierini Casarecci all‘Astice con Crema di Burrata e Fiori di Zucchina c. Brownies al The Matcha,Mascarpone e Sorbetto alla Pesca Bianca 2. Ristorante Portobello. Best food in menu: a. Octopus with cooked potatoes (slices of octopus with virgin olive oil, páprika and sea salt) b. The fillet in gorgonzola c. Risotto with Lobster 3. El Pescador - for the oysters 4. Restaurante Verve - for the atmosphere THE HOTEL IS A FABULOUS PALACE TO SPOIL YOURSELF - We would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    An awesome place by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed itself could be a little more comfortable. It was on the hard side.

    Location, location, location. It's a really great place to stay, quiet, with a private swimming area, and you can walk to all if Sestri Levante

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointed and Totally Over Priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is totally over rated concerning the money you pay and what you get. We travelled Italy for 16 days and compared to even some 3 Star properties this property lack a lot of offerings. We were attacked by mosquito's in our room and no provision was made like repellent in the room. You don't even get water in your room which we got at other properties.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very spotty in the bedroom would only work fully around the reception area. Room needs some updating and some hanging hooks. Would also liked to have had more shelving space. Also when going to the pool ASK for guidance on rules and facilities, staff at the pool seem very aloof and uncommunicative.

    Breathtaking view. Beautiful garden. Very friendly staff at the reception. Best location in Sestri Levanti. Incredible "pool" in the ocean. Kid friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Luxury Accomodations in a Castle-like Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Wonderful hotel - with luxurious room options. Our junior suite featured lots of space and an updated bathroom. Great views from the room and a marvelous private hotel park to explore. Extensive breakfast buffet with well-prepared offerings. This was a perfect pick for our one-night stay on the way to Florence. The hotel restaurant had breath-taking views of the sea and surrounding area. Food was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    Romantic, old fashioned Castelli charm on a hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor and furnishing are historical, antique style and look a bit tired. The doors to the armoire creaked. But the bathroom was modernized! I should have realized that the Castelli was supposed to give us the historical experience, but I would have preferred a more modernized, better lit room.

    The location was amazing, views were great, room was spacious. Staff very friendly, multi-lingual. There is an elevator to get to the street level to the port area if you don't to walk down the hill the long way. View from breakfast room was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great Old World Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a beautiful property with a great location, the staff made sure all our needs were met. the on site restaurant had excellent food and an amazing view of the Mediterranean. I would recommend this property and would stay there again if traveling to that area of Italy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Elegant surroundings, with awesome views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elegant surroundings, with awesome views. Especially nice is the walk about the private garden which includes the entire promontory point. Breakfast service was good with espresso coffe drinks at no extra charge. Elevator from sea level to hotel makes it super convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Would you mind to rest where Marconi changed the world?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Marconi tower. This is a part of Italian history which should be much more highlighted and promoted. By that tower, by Marconi, by that historical moment, the world has never been the same again.

    Location is simply extraordinary as well as the property. By there you can profit of a great viewing and a relaxing park is restricted to hotel guests only. If you do prefer the beach, one restricted to facility guests only is available by a private elevator running up and down into the rock. This place is a top for families but for business team workshops too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    The property is beautiful and the views are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though they said wi-fi was in all common areas we were unable to access it, even in the reception area, which was very frustrating. We walked everywhere which was great however it was incredibly steep to walk to the hotel which was over 1km on uneven road.

    The property is beautiful and the views are amazing. Our room was lovely and big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Stay in a castle with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does cater to larger groups e.g. walking groups which can mean it's very busy at breakfast and they can be noisy at night.

    Wonderfully atmospheric hotel with stunning views from the rooms and dining room. Friendly staff. A great lift which takes you from the hotel to the harbour. Sestri Levante is great base for walking the Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Friendly, welcoming, quality accommodation 10 out of 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private swimming area was a bit tired and confusing to figure out.

    First impression was the warm welcome from friendly, helpful reception. I'm sorry I didn't get her name but she made our stay special. Showing us the beautiful gardens/grounds and giving us the history of the establishment, Sestri and surrounds. Rooms v clean, quiet and peaceful. Beautifully appointed furnishings and artworks. Tasteful, comfortable and aesthetically pleasing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    perfect hotel at sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A breakfast could be better ( Wasp hive in front of windows makes holiday a little dangerous

    Impressive hotel with spectacular views over bays situated in park. I think location is the best in the sity. Facilities in good condition according to ages of hotel, I would recommend suite. A beach is unique, the restaurant is a gem!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.6
    Grand Hotel on Italian Riviera
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some waiting staff a bit snooty in the restaurant at dinner. The lifts are very convenient but a bit scary. All minor quibbles of course.

    Superb location on the hill with views over the bay on both sides; especially good from the breakfast restaurant. Staff very helpful; private beach area lovely and a throw back to the 60s. Room large and well appointed with sea view. Just a bit pricey but you do get what you pay for.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    The best views in Sestri Levanti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room coffee facilitie

    Location, views, resteraunt easy access safe parking. Staff were really attentive and helpful. Have no problem recommending both the hotel and the resort.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Phenomenal staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff. I had a serious issue with a rental car and they went out of their way to help me resolve it. The issue was a possible vacation "wrecker." Phenomenal help.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.5
    The best view in Sestri Levante in an old (too old?) Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular view, very friendly and nice staff. Premises are comfortable yet furniture needs to be upgraded. The place is nice but feels a bit too much 1980's.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Great location and views but expensive for facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay to use the private hotel beach. Noisy bed. Noisy rooms - could hear everything from room above. No wifi in rooms. No instructions given with booking on how to get to hotel which is at the top of a very steep hill.

    Amazing views and it's a castle!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Just book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is nicely situated: close to harbour and town center nevertheless quiet and secluded. A perfect venue to relax. Style like the Spanish Paradores Hotels, but this "Italian"version with its' own park and adjacent to the sea. Breakfast and diner with a view on the bay. Very friendly staff with a special thanks to Stefanie at the reception, setting the standard for professional approach and assistance. We had two small incidents (inherent to our stay in the hotel) She arranged the planning and appointments with the doctor and veterinarian.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.6
    Tranquility in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel with its own interesting historical background is located in its own magnificent beautifully maintained park ,offers tranquility and comfort in every aspect.All members of staff are very professional, well trained, very helpful, who went out of their way to accommodate the clients wishes.The restaurant offers very well presented imaginative dishes based on traditional Ligurian cuisine. Pricey,but worth every penny.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel with amazing grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location and gardens are probably the best I have visited for a hotel. Views, sun, and tranquility. The beach was very good for a day lounging. The restaurant was amazing for dinner (book ahead) overlooking the bay. Breakfast was good, and the rooms usual but functional. Very much in a castle. Heartily recommend.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    A very pleasant 2 night stay for the wonderful wedding we attended at the Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could say the £300 per night but if you include taxis to and from the wedding from other hotels it would've come out just a little bit less. So go on, spend a little extra and stay at the top!

    Location was beautiful. Staff very friendly. Our suite was amazing, clean and comfortable. Great place to stay, I'm so glad I booked the Grand Hotel Dei Castelli.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Seeeeeehr schön!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service is super!!! I've never met so kind people in a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    An exceptional hotel with helpful and nice stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An exceptional hotel with helpful and nice stuff. The breakfast is great, and the restaurant is wonderful. A great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s ridiculous not having sliced fresh fruit for breakfast in this superb hotel

    Great building, great location, great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    We had a good time and took advantage of its location by taking daily trips in the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good with good quality food. We expected to have some tomatoes too since we were in Italy .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fabulous location gourmet restaurant elevator from the castle to the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, buitiful own park, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, buitiful own park, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    exclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    would receive a 10 if it had a sauna, spa or gym facilities

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Magnificent views! The fresh air is perfumed with sweet flower blossoms!enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cold cuppocinos! ( warm milk minus espresso shot)!

    Fresh bread! Yogurt! Cereals! Fresh fruits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Very easy walk to town, grounds had a nice walk thru the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Very easy walk to town, grounds had a nice walk thru the park, views were beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, beautiful city...we absolutley love it there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Third time here and will always come back...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The private beach and the restaurant next to it. Also the restaurant at the Castelli was excelent the food and the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, relaxing & luxurious resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants

    I love the facility; the location, restaurant, views, "beach", & grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    A vacation to remember!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful scenery from the room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    There was a charge to use the hotels swimming pool which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a charge to use the hotels swimming pool which is unacceptable I've never stayed in a hotel and had to pay for this facility before

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Best swimming in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for swim access the morning of check out.

    No real beach--- just unbelievable grottos to swim into!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    No tea and coffee in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in historic athmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet connection poor, slow and only in lobby

    Athmosphere of the castle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    A castle above the sea and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing walking tour along the cliff and in the gardens. Beautiful view of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    One of my top ten hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great site, breathtaking views and a beautiful park with one of Marconi's experimental towers as bonus

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    beautiful views and property, like staying at a castle in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beautiful views and property, like staying at a castle in a park. Which is just what it was.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    gorgeous italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bar

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff could work on their people skills. Not all rooms are equal.

    Amazing location. Great food and views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Great hotel for weddings
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of charm in the room

    Above all the location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable Mattress Unavailability of iron Poor quality of breakfast, dry croissants and focaccia, old scramble eggs

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    amazing location in a historic castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    amazing location in a historic castle. everything was thought- the furniture , the surroundings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Love the location, the grounds and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds - duvets could have been softer and heavier.

    Love the location, the grounds and atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.6
    Best Location and privacy you can possibly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Best Location and privacy you can possibly ask for on the West coast .. Staff was wonderful Perfect hub for visiting the Italian Riviera

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    One of our best vacation hotels ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes music and noise from city discotheques at night; wireless LAN was a bit slow.

    Excellent location with great facilities!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    Wonderful location but disappointing rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms small for price. Beds too short. Unreliable WiFi.

    Beautiful location and grounds. Excellent restaurant and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Weddings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lost our luggage and they were unable to give us toothbrush and paste

    The staff are attentive

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    The front desk staff were extremely helpful assisting us in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    For us it was a perfect stay.

    The front desk staff were extremely helpful assisting us in planning our visit to Cinque Terre during a local train strike and rough seas which canceled the local ferry. The dining room staff were attentive during our meals and helpful in our wine selection.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    10
    Hotel is stunning with huge character and done beautifully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much ... air conditioning didn't seem to work but early May so likely not turned on fully. I just like a cool bedroom for a good night's sleep.

    Hotel is stunning with huge character and done beautifully. On the hill top overlooking Sestri Levanti.. amazing view - especially from the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    The best Hotel I've ever been in my life.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The best Hotel I've ever been in my life. The stuffs, accommodation, breakfast, landscape and so on, are totally amazing! Congratulations. I'm pretty sure that I'd come back!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.5
    Incredible location, view, huge private park, castle with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room have no anima, the twin beds room we got (#521) was terrible. Like army beds and also noisy. We asked to change and explained there is no better. Very pity for such amazing place Aproppo noisy, every step in the building can be heard, do not plan on noon nap... As everyone complained last year about the WIFI in the rooms, it's all same in 2016 !

    Incredible location, view, huge private park, castle with elevator to city level, accept & welcome dogs, amazing breakfast location & view...but

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    every thing ,the amazing situation,with privat park,for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    dont be put off from the very steep road going up to the castle,could be a bit tricky if wet,there's a big parking area at the hotel.

    every thing ,the amazing situation,with privat park,for the dogs a paradise,the lift to the habour,the views were unbelivable,super parking (for Italy almost unbelivable)

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    The large and beatiful room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor problem, but qiute noisy in the morning when people were leaving the hotel very early

    The large and beatiful room and bathroom. The veiw from our room. The lovely decorated interior. The helpful and very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    The receptionist was the loveliest lady who helped us to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist was the loveliest lady who helped us to our room and provided guidance on visiting the town. We had mentioned it was our honeymoon and the staff very kindly made it very special by providing us a wonderful table in the restaurant and even a dessert specially designed for us.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    We loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything. The staff were great, the accommodation & views were superb, the breakfast was great , the gardens and surrounds were peaceful and beautiful. We cannot wait to go back and stay longer!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    After travelling around Italy for three weeks this hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems

    After travelling around Italy for three weeks this hotel was a gem. Quiet without being out of the way. Beautiful surroundings, wonderful dining room and food was excellent. The staff were helpful and attentive. A unique castle - wonderful way to end our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can't get Wi-Fi signal in the rooms or in the restaurant. It's only reacheable in the loby or in the corridors.

    The hotel was amazing. The view was so nice, you can see whole baia del silenzio. The building used to be a castle, so the rooms and all other indoor places was very comfartable. The hotel crew was very friendly. The restaurant is also very good. You can use a lift to go the beach or to the town. Free carparking is an advantage, when you are in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.1
    Location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was absolutely useless. Booked for "free internet available everywhere." Actually not available ys all in room and very spotty everywhere else. Fobbed off with its an old bulding - ok fine , don't pretend there actually is wifi available

    Location . Large room.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Dei Castelli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: