Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Della Posta 4 stars

Piazza Garibaldi 19, 23100 Sondrio, Italy

#1 of 10 hotels in Sondrio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 352 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Squeaky bed when you turned over, bathroom lights kept coming on all night and the wellness centre wasn't open.

    Breakfast was great, staff ( only one on ), she was great coping on her own. Great location, you can't get any central than that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The first room we were assigned the fridge was not working for 2 days and we were promised a maintenance person would fix it, which never happened. We then complained and we were upgraded to another room which was a bit bigger but the fridge did work in the new room. As there was no kettle or tea or coffee making facilities in the room, we had to ask for boiling water and was charged one night 13EU which I refused to sign when they presented me with an invoice when they brought to room and then the following night charged us 6EU for the same service for boiling water and I refused to sign again and told them to take the water away and then they still charged for both at the end of our stay. I complained at check out and told them that they should be providing this service free of charge to customers when we were paying over 200AU per night. Management wouldn't budge on refunding us 7EU on the water - how petty. When charging us the accommodation, the first night was nearly double each of the other 5 nights and it wasn't even Christmas day or Boxing day. We questioned as I said why have we been charged so much the first night and then each night after that was nearly 1/2 that rate which was the standard rate. Nespresso machine or just a kettle in the room would have been good. We had the tea, coffee and milk, all we wanted was boiling water and to be charged for it is a joke and insult when we were giving them 6 nights business and also a night in their restaurant which wasn't cheap. When parking in the car park, they don't have a swipe card like a whole lot of other hotels provide to get out of the carpark. You have to ask them each time you leave, could they open the gate. Bit annoying when there is many people at reception and you just want to leave quickly to get somewhere. No double glazing on windows to keep noise out. Can hear everything on the square as there is only 2 levels.

    We stayed here 6 nights visiting family in Sondrio and Castione, Italy. The location was right in the square so close to shops and nice town to walk around, however, due to Christmas festivities, partying went into the early hours of the morning so kept us up awake 4 nights straight, so wouldn't recommend staying here during Christmas period unless you are going out to join the party. Had a lovely view over the square and mountains in the background which was lovely. The room was nice and large. The hotel has been around a long time so the building has nice history. The restaurant was nice with good quality food but not huge servings. It wasn't cheap but guests received 15% discount off food. Bed was very comfortable. Can't comment about air conditioning, however, the heating was sufficient. Good hair dryer. Carpark free and convenient on site, however, could improve with swipe card to get in and out easier. Breakfast was good with quite a bit of variety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was with a very small window and wasn't their best room for sure being a customer of this hotel several times before i expected a better accommodation.

    its very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room didn't have a window, only a small covered skylight. If you want windows, don't have a third floor room. Also the shower had no screen so water splashed all over the bathroom floor.

    The location was great. Right in the middle of town, easy walking to all the sights and museum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was not available in room. Booking.com said it was available in "all areas".

    Beautiful room. Superb location for town centre. Easy to park. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifly renovated old post building. You can see that a lot of work and attention to details was put into the renovation. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Absolutely outstanding location, just behind Garibaldi’s monuments with a panorama on mountains in lovely Sondrio city! Probably the best restaurant in the city! Absolutely perfect service provided by a professional restaurant staff. Well, the price is quite high, but what you get is worth every penny. The same owner has a hotel in Livigno – give it a try as well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly, professional staff in both reception and the restaurant. All in a great building right on the main square. A good room a great food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to criticize...wish we could have stayed longer

    quality in every detail, friendly staff, sophisticated decoration, excellent breakfast, optimum combination of luxury and comfort

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During winter the square outside has a skating pool and plays loud music until rather late which you hear clearly from the rooms. Equally, during new years eve the music kept playing until 3am, which seems random for a public square.

    Altogether a premium experience in a beautiful part of Lombardia.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was cold and not caring. The room was far less good than what you usually get in a 4 star hotel or in that price range anyways. The Aircon was loud and not working well the bed was a 2 small matrass put together bed. We where really disappointed, will never stop there again.

    Good service from the waiter at dinner. Food was good and the wine was well chosen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in right downtown Sondrio and overlooks the main square. From the window we could see the mountains that surround the town. The staff is super friendly and helpful with all sorts of tourist information. They have a great restaurant, but it is a very elegant one, but had no problem recommending other places in town for typical regional specialties. We spent most days going on daytrips in and around the town, and would come back to spend a little time in the hotel's spa. It has a small pool/Jacuzzi, a quiet room, and dry and steam saunas. The bedrooms are unusually large. The hotel has an art collection with sculptures by Arturo Martini. Attached to the hotel is a café with indoor and outdoor seating. During the working week, they have a special lunch time menu and all the time a good selection of local wines.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    separated mattress

    1) bathroom; 2) private parking with protection;

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything from the huge rooms/amazing breakfast and the free spa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be improved.

    Rooms are very comfortable and clean, location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast with really fresh food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in a great place. Look no further. Although might look a bit expensive, it worth it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to go to the spa to get a bathrobe, I would like to find it in my room

    Comfortable room and bed, very nice breakfast and great spa.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is classy and done with good taste. Beautiful and comfortable room with a big and modern bathroom, friendly staff, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with big rooms and a small but nice spa. It is absolutely worth it. Great basement and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. The spa is world class. The one-hour massage was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position nice rooms friendly stuff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    facilities good except for wifi which had problems during stay

    Location perfect, very comfortable,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Located on the main square. Best hotel in town. Everything you need

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast should included in the price!

    The location is very good,the view is beautiful.The room was big with nice furniture and very clean.The lady at the reception was helpful and friendly.Parking in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff Excellent amentities, great location Would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, elegant hotel with friendly and casual staff, nice amenities

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Grand Hotel Della Posta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: