Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel & Des Anglais 4 stars

Corso Imperatrice 134, 18038 Sanremo, Italy

#24 of 40 hotels in Sanremo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2671 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Fab value for money and a great stay for our last night in Italy. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the Wifi was slow and the sounds of the piano below and the footsteps above were very clear, sleep was shorter as a result. The breakfast was very average, coffee disappointing. It was decent for Eu7.50 but still it's surprisingly low quality. The staff seemed rather disengaged also.... We were also recommended a restaurant for dinner, but were told "no need to book on a Tuesday night" - turns out it was FULL! I was disappointed that the concierge didn't just pick up the phone and call. Not the best.

    We had 4 in our family and were given a suite - it was really lovely. Spacious and a gorgeous big balcony - very GRAND! Bathroom had been renovated very tastefully and worked well. It was comfortable and the view was delightful (slightly obstructed by the apartment in front, but still wow)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    Will never, ever stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not friendly apart from manager of restaurant. Really old building with paper thin walls and floors, and there were NEVER a second of piece and quiet neither day nor night. Beds were crap. Hotel is close to main street and constant traffic 24/7. Shower is in the bathtub with no shower curtain so impossible not to get the floor wet when showering. The water in the shower was constantly changing from cold to scolding hot whilst showering, so be careful with small children - do not let them shower alone! Breakfast was bad. Selection was poor weather we came early or late. Dry croissants and tinned fruit.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    Staff at the desk was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down, definately not a 4 star hotel. We would never have booked it if we knew how it was. Breakfast was included, but we did not find anything that we liked so we ate at a café instead. Noicy, you heard which language people in the other rooms spoke. Not a nice stay.

    Staff at the desk was really nice. Bathroom, beds and AC was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Hotel with low housekeeping standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping is below standard. We found one of the bed sheet with blood stain when we arrived,but they did not change in the next day. Obviously, bed were not clean every day. Except toilet the room is very old.You can not adjust the air con temperature at room.房間清潔馬虎,酒店非常舊。

    location is close to beach. Room is spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    This is a charming old lady with face lifting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet in room 424. No public beach nearby

    This is a charming old lady with face lifting. Sometimes you can not close the door easy, but large rooms, high ceilings and fully renovated bathrooms make you forget about that

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    No breakfast when leaving early.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast when leaving early. We got a very poor family room. The hotel needs renovation. It could be fantastic, has a very nice view and location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful place, unfortunately ruined by the incompetence and rudeness of some staff members
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, our VERY positive impression of the staff from the first evening had to be thoroughly revised, starting with breakfast on the second morning of our stay. We deliberately came at the end of the breakfast hour, as we knew a big group had to be served prior to us. When, almost 20 minutes before the cut-off hour, politely asking for butter (and, due to allergies, about the kinds of juices offered), one of the young staff bluntly told us that "it's closing time", that we were late, and should have been earlier, if we wanted to have everything. At first we thought to have misunderstood, and asked her to repeat, which she did no less than four times! In the end, only a decisive effort from the manager got us some kind of breakfast served. Not what we would have chosen, but better than nothing. Lame excuses were presented, but not with anything remotely resembling sincerity The already tainted impression of this staff member got even worse at dinner in the evening: After ordering wine (a recommendation of the manager) she apparently had some difficulty opening the bottle in front of us. She then disappeared, and another young staff member arrived with the opened (!) bottle, and very unceremoniously poured two full glasses. When we, slightly intrigued, asked if the wine was not supposed to be tasted, she just answered: "Oh, you may taste it if you want" and disappeared! The same staff member then brought our (delicious) food, and plunked the cold plates in front of us - again not very four-star-like, or even restaurant-like. Of course this led to the manager being called again, and to more lame excuses being presented, but a thing like this should just never happen in ANY hotel, and certainly not in a four-star establishment.

    The property is nice, a "grand old lady" of hotels. In places, the age shows, but our room had been very elegantly renovated and was up to today's standards. The location, right above the Sanremo beach front, is excellent, and the sea view from our first-floor room was only very partly masked by the nondescript 1970's building that has been constructed in a part of the once magnificent park. Charging possibilities for electric-powered cars (including Tesla Destination Charger) was a very welcome added plus. Due to traffic we arrived late, and the manager and the head waiter went out of their way to serve us a light supper - excellent!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    For an hotel called 'The Grand Hotel of the English'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For an hotel called 'The Grand Hotel of the English' one might have thought that a cup of tea might be available with breakfast. (and I don't include that scented stuff that old ladies drink in the afternoons)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful grand building that steps you back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some creaky floor board noise at night but not significant

    Beautiful grand building that steps you back in time. Well preserved . Staff were helpful and very nice and upgraded us to a sea view room. After reading some reviews on here I was a bit hesitant to stay here but I’m not sure what they are based on as the hotel is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is completely old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is completely old. The floor do extremely loud sound when walking. The door of the room opened like no one opened since 100 years. Very big discomfort if stay with babies and children. The song isolation is zero and your hear inside your room what your neighbors around and in the upper floor are talking about. Horrible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Must have been magnificent in it's day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sound insulating doors to rooms, noisy start to the day with loud talking and door banging. Fairly recent bathroom upgrade was done with poor attention to detail.

    Big hotel with fab views of the sea. Slightly elevated from main road so little road noise. Big rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.9
    The room with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything. According to booking I was supposed to have priority late check out which was not conceded. The hotel is very old. They tried to renovate it but without success. There was still a wall in our room that was not painted and halls on that. No comfortable at all. The new furniture has nothing to do with the old building. There was no desk or some decoration to justify the high value that we paid for it. Breakfast was very poor so as internet connection. The hotel is not cosy and you feel not relaxed since you enter till you go out...Sad!

    The room with sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant with a little bit of old charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little renovating would be good - doors to rooms don’t shut securely, noise can be heard from hallways and roof and floors are squeaky.

    Hints of yesteryear and if you get a room with a balconette, it is a nice place to sit and see the Mediterranean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Too sad to see a magnificent asset going to waste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the state that the property is now, shabby turning into a ghost. So sad. But this is the joint responsibility of the Sanremo municipal authorities. The town is managed by politicians who do not have the common good as their objective, thus it is impossible to get positive policies to improve the city. The Tourism Office, it it exists has not done much to prevent the downfall of many majestic hotels, like the des Anglais. Walk around town, check for yourself, it is pathetic. I must point out that also did not like the attitude of the personnel working in the breakfast room. Breakfast is supposed to finish at 10:30AM, at 10:18 they started collecting the food, thus preventing the latecomers from being served, especially considering that it was a Sunday.

    The majestic property and the kindness of the frontdesk and bellmen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in Sanremo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free upgrade to a sea view room. Clean and impeccable room and bathroom. Great breakfast with a free on demand cappuccino. Parking space available next to the hotel entrance. Very welcoming front desk staff even close to 10 PM !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A great characteristic hotel with the ambience of the belle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to give any negative feedback it would be that the parquet flooring in our family room was quite creaky - I wouldn't have wanted the room below.

    A great characteristic hotel with the ambience of the belle epoque. Some say the hotel is dated, I say it's historic - rather like staying in a functioning museum! The staff are great, the food in the restaurant is excellent and breakfast is varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was disappointing, old and tired and badly in need of refurbishment. Creeky floors, horrible yellow walls, rotten wood windows and shutters, no English language TV stations. Bathroom was clean and acceptable. Lots of steps to hotel so not good for elderly travellers, limited car parking spaces, noisy rooms where you can hear guests next door moving around and snooring. I'd try somewhere else next time if I ever go back to SanRemo again.

    I had a fourth floor room with a sea view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall we enjoyed our stay as we had our own car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access was not easy for older customers, Several steps to get into the hotel,and a short but strenuous walk from the prom area

    Comfortable room ,great views,helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Exquisite hotel and service.Sadly town has lost its former glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need noise isolation as everything is audible from adjacent rooms even just footsteps.

    The grand rooms really grand like none other in Europe for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    The staff are all very welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are pretty old. The room was smelling, the door did not isolate it from the corridor, and the bed broke the minute I sat on it.

    The staff are all very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking in advance (last October) the price was a lot more than I could have paid last week!!! The breakfast was a bit disorganised and the food not very hot.

    Brilliant view , free parking and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    The location perfect, nearby the sea and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building from outside is beautiful and looks renovated however, it is certainly time to do also the inside. It would give this hotel really its 4* value for those who are used to 4/5* hotels. Also the rooms including the front door should become soundproof. As a genius at booking.com I would not expected to be given an old room though it had a nice sea view.

    The location perfect, nearby the sea and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    3.3
    Very old building.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old building. just two plugs in the room. Not clean, old beds. Old bathroom. Poor wi-fi. Staff are in experienced and low knowledge. Don't know English very well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    Alas, one cannot live of past glories in the hotel business
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and requires a thorough refurbishing. The property grounds are small and there is little parking space when the hotel is crowded, like during weekends. Local authorities, instead of constantly putting up barriers, should work with hoteliers in Sanremo in order to salvage a few great local properties to reestablish them as local landmarks, Grand Hotel & Des Anglais is one among those that deserve be saved.

    The lovely location and the staff were the only high points of the visit. I did not have time to have breakfast but I think it is not bad from comments of other guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Everything was extraordinary , i would like to just mention...
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was extraordinary , i would like to just mention the uncomfortable beds, we were in suit 318, where those beds were overused and bended. Except those problems, everything was terrific.

    Everything was extraordinary , i would like to just mention the uncomfortable beds, we were in suit 318, where those beds were overused and bended. Except those problems, everything was terrific.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    The location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has stoped in time. Sometimes its good to feel that, but not in this case. It really needs more.

    The location is perfect. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is very polite. The view is amazing. Good breakfast in a beautiful living room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Time machine exist!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is gem! It is time machine and entering hotel you are living this hustle and bustle world getting in some slower time , and you can feel that your inner spin become slower and slower and high halls and rooms with furniture from the past convincing you that traveling trough time is possible and it happens to you. We get sea view and it was pure magic. I love this place and all imperfections in it gives hotel more value, for me. Parking in front of hotel, good breakfast and walking distance to city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Grand experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved, lovex, loved this hotel! Don't miss out on excellent opportunity to feel the grandness of times gone by and get a glimpse to the travel style from belle epoch. Hotel has excellent location very close to the sea with short walk to bars, restaurants and shops. Nice drive through beatiful gardens up to hotel and plenty of space for parking in front of hotel. Hotel Grand really has a grand exterior and wonderful lobby/bar/dining area. The rooms are not luxurious, but rather shabby chic, but for the price it's totally ok, just keep your expectations in check! Absolutely gorgeous sea view from the room, if you have the room with view. Buffet breakfast was exellent, plenty of choice, and breakfast room beautiful with white linens, some silver (real) dishes and very attentive service. You could even have a sparkling wine! It was obvious that the hotel is beeing renovated and will be probably upgraded to the next level. Downside to this will surely be the rise of prices, so go there now, as the price is really affordable at the moment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    NOT TOO BAD BUT XXX ET NON PAS XXXX
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE HEAD WAITER IN THE RESTAURANT DID NOT SPEAK ENGLICH? SO HE SERVED US WHAT WE DID NOT ORDER. OF COURSE WE HAD IT CHANGE!! YOU OUGHT TO GIVE HIM URGENTLY EXTRA LESSONS OF THE UK LANGUAGE ET AUSSI LUI APPRENDRE LE FRANCAIS,

    ALL IN ALL IT WAS OK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    3.8
    Simply a disappointing experience :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looked fine on the photos but at first second we have entered it was clear that this is an old and not well maintained place. It didn't smell nice. The walls, the carpeted floor, the doors looked like it was 100 years old without any renovation. Children told they were afraid to walk - the floor in our room sounded. We felt trapped with non refundable booking and are thankful to the management we could escape with paying only one one night we didn't stay. Leaving was a relief. Another thing - entering the building through the front door with a big bag and a buggy was an issue - stairs and a narrow swinging door leave no alternatives.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Super great value - would recommend if you are on a budget and need a comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could use some updating, bathroom had minor repairs that were needed and the general feel was a bit tired looking.

    Room was spacious, service staff were excellent and the free morning breakfast was excellent in a beautiful grand old dining room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    4.6
    Stay away in wintertime
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel has no sufficient heating , the have some kind of central ancient heating which the turn on for 2-3 hours a day , and by night its freezing , the airconditions cannot heat at all the room as a they are set up for cold . + the windows and doors are from 1800 , and the freezing air just gets throu , i had to sleep with my clothes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Glorious Past, Friendly Staff, Adequate Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel while historic is in sore need of current updates to re-imagine the original period of the property. Paint, room updates, better bedding and removal of all 80's art would improve the property. Just take it back to its historic roots, when it was decorated like an ENGLISH style hotel (its origins) when Winston Churchill stayed there! Chandeliers, ceilings, and other details are marvelous! It helps to book a sea view room, and I suggest you don't pay for the breakfast. Just walk into town and experience the lovely and historic streets, shops, cafes, etc.

    Gorgeous in its day, hotel is a historic property and you can walk downtown in about 10 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    4.6
    Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a shame but the owner of the hotel has done everything on the cheap at least what has been done since 1886 when it was built. The furnishings throughout are CHEAP, The windows and shutters haven't been changed since the orginal construction. The food at breakfast was industrial, but the biggest disappopintment was the coffee. Italy is famous for its coffee but at this hotel it is pitiful.

    Grand Hotel et des Anglais is well located to the shopping district and the parking is just fine. It is a lovely old building that could be stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Surely this was once a beautiful hotel but now needs some modernisation and TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs at the entrance most inconvenient. Paintwork in some places needs re-doing. Windows and shutters difficult to open and shut. Satellite TV not international.

    Staff all very helpful. View of the sea very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice old hotel which needs an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower curtain was a nuisance, there was noise between rooms as it was an old building.

    Nice old hotel , we had an upgrade to ocean view room, meal was good in restaurant, room was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tissues, Cant even hang a dress. No luggage racks, no wash cloths, no ice. Hairdryer from the 18th century. Check your bill carefully, we were charged for drinks at the bar that we did not get. They did remove them from bill.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    Not a re-visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The collar didn't match the cuffs. So grand from the outside, but so sad on the inside. In major need of a renovation. Sad selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful building, renovated but only for looks: very thin...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful building, renovated but only for looks: very thin walls everywhere and the gorgeous hardwood floors, combined with lovely high ceilings make for a rather noisy experience. Otherwise gorgeous hotel, wonderful location and terrific staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Old-style Sanremo Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One small thing - although the bathroom was large there wasn't much place to put stuff. It would benefit from a couple of hooks on the wall or a shelf.

    Good location above the sea, a short walk from downtown, with free parking. I booked an economy room but was upgraded to large, family room. Room was quiet and had good AC and good shower. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Ok, but with needed recondition
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs to be upgraded and reconditioned as some parts of it (i.e. room doors...) are too deteriorated/worn out. There are quite long stairs in the hotel entry and no ramp, so you have to carry your luggage upstairs to the reception desk. Room didn't have hand soap nor tea/coffee equipment. Food from the restaurant is low-quality and the waiters could be nicer. The breakfast was sufficient for us, but there could have been more fresh fruit and dietetic choices.

    The hotel 'vintage' design, free parking in the road to the hotel, close to the centre. Correct wi-fi. Kind receptionists.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electricity system is outdated, The phone adapter burned out when I wanted to charge my phone.

    Beautiful place, but a little old house. Very beautiful outside. Free parking in front of the house. Room with very beautiful sea view. Free internet, good spread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.6
    Go away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The real name of the hotel is Bates Motel. It is horrible (Hitchcock's fans will be delighted). Better to avoid this 2* hotel. Dirty, ugly, decadent, rude staff, bad & poor breakfast. STAY AWAY from this place!

    Position in Sanremo. Is gorgeous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    Parking fine, views great but an old place
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pull up all your luggages from the parking lot - some 20 stair steps and a very narrow revolving door. After that, there is an elevator, when you find it. Place is old. Sufficiently clean, though. By old I mean that not even all balcony doors and windows can be closed, since those are handmade wooden structures with too much of added paint over the years. Floors are of wood and you can hear every step from the room above you. There is no soundproofing from corridoors. Breakfast was kind of weird; you had sparkling wine, but everything else looked like they try to save in everything. Most of the offerings was sweet stuff in plasting bags.

    Somewhat mixed feelings. We had a car, so number one criteria was on-site parking. Another one was to get near-by all services. Seaview was something extra. Parking was easy, but it got full by the evening. Be early. Good thing was that we got upgraded to a bigger room. It was really spacious. Almost too large. If you want to enjoy the seaview, book for that options as we did. That is really great. Also, air conditioning worked OK. Bathroom had been renowated and it was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Great view of the Med, good service, reasonable food, pity was not closer to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the hotel had some grounds to sit in that would have been great - a swimming pool would have been fantastic. A little to far from the front up a steep hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Walk the steps of Churchil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The obvious tear down of valuables within the hotel and its sales at the auction

    Amazing location with the sea view. The property breathes the antient spirit of the past royalties that resided in it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Tapas in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our evening meal was very good but the fillet steak came with no chips and no possibility of adding a potato, rice or pasta dish as an extra?

    Tapas in the bar. The see view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Historic hotel
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a common 4 star chain. The hotel is located in the historic building with high ceilings and spacious corridors. Close to the promenade and easy access by car. The room was clean and personnel was friendly and helpful. Recommended as an alternative to mass market chains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location in San Remo close to everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were a bit hard but in the end I slept like a baby anyway:-)

    It was a beautiful hotel with old atmosphere, rooms were plain and the view of the ocean great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical italian with lots to choose from and the best coffee! Walking distance to the beach, casino and center of town and just beside the hotel is a small pizzeria, does not look like much - but the make a fantastic pasta carbonara!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Hotel is 10min walk from the center, close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls and there was a door between our room and neighbours who were very noisy. Very poor wifi. Nice and cosy but not 4 star hotel

    Hotel is 10min walk from the center, close to the sea. Breakfast is good, although they should focus less things and invest to the quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.7
    The hotel has great location, beautifull entrance, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has great location, beautifull entrance, but unforunately that's all. It's ok but for the price we payed we expected a bit more and it made on us less than average feeling through all the hotels/B&B places we haved stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location, great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't there long enough to find anything we didnt like however it is pet friendly and I was woken by a barking dog during the night.

    Good location, great view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Great value stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant could be better. Plenty of restaurants nearby though.

    I have stayed here several times now. . Lots of character and atmosphere. Excellent breakfast and good cocktail bar. Free secure parking directly in front of the hotel is a real bonus on this part of the coast. friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Perfect first night in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was beyond wonderful and friendly. I rented three rooms and each had fresh orchids and fruit set out for us. The views from the upper floors was spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    It was a great location , the best in Sanremo and a cosy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    It was a great location , the best in Sanremo and a cosy walk to the Ariston Theatre along the promenade. The shoping area is on the way to the old town. Very good restaurants nearby. The building is old but beautiful with the view and parking in front of the entrance. The staff speaks good English and is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    One night stay San Remo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and property is quite old and need a bit of TLC. Typical drains in the room partly blocked, decor etc old, delapidated, but clean. Bed was good but pillows hard and the usual sheets and blankets(old) The surrounding garden and pathway to the street in very poor condition (it could be stunning) Breakfast just poor standard buffe.

    We had a nice 3rd floor room with sea view and a small balcony facing south, Very nice with open window and door to the balcony and view. Good car park . Price correct for what you get

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Old world charm, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel retains the charms of the grand style Riviera establishments, it badly needs some investment to upgrade it's facilities.

    Lovely location, friendly staff and great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    The hotel has such charm and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has such charm and atmosphere. We could feel its history. The sea view is beautiful, especially at sunrise (the south-east orientation is perfect to enjoy it). The breakfast choices are plentiful and all of it good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    7.1
    Everything was great - staff, location, room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor - a lot of sweet cookies, but no slice of cheese(!), no simple bread. Instant coffee only

    Everything was great - staff, location, room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.8
    Turn of the century San Remo hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Old Hotel with style. Very much liked the bar/lounge area with its couches and classic wooden bar. Free wireless/parking/and a nice breakfast make this hotel true bargain. The center of town is a short walk away, the Russian church even closer. Would definitely book this property again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    The staff were really polite and friendly and treated us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were really polite and friendly and treated us really well . Great breakfast . We paid €58 for the night which was superb value for 2 people . Loads of free parking . I would stay there again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very shabby chic. Clean modern bathroom but tired looking bedroom. Clean bedding but basic bed mattress

    Value for money with breakfast and a great location and free parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    Charming Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was ok

    Very nice location outside of San Remo. Older hotel with all what you need for few days off. Bar and Restaurant service and food quality impressive.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    4.2
    Don't forget the garlic!!!! Protect yourselves from Dracula!!! Or better still choose another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like Dracula was going to fly in any moment but we didn't have garlic for protection!!! Extremely poor condition, smelly. We looked at 3 rooms, all of which were in exactly the same poor condition.

    Horrible, old, decrepit, creepy hotel. Horrible, disgusting breakfast. Building was beautiful but extremely rundown. Needs millions spent on it to make it habitable. Furniture was old and in extremely poor condition. 😖😖😫😫

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.5
    Good choice for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned decor but clean and comfortable. A little expensive but pretty standard for this area. Parking can seem a little overcrowded but seems to work...

    Staff at front desk were very friendly. Good selection at breakfast which was served until 10:30 :-). Parking available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    Really charming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some renovations could have been in the reception, just some paint and would suffice to make it look a lot better. Rooms could be larger, but it was perfectly ok.

    Wonderful builing and a very spacious interior. Aircon was wonderful. Lovely atmosphere, and close to the beach. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.3
    Old time glamour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was tired and floors a bit creaky. There is a steep walk up to the hotel and several steps up to the reception. Of course this improves the view.

    I liked the large family room with 2 separate bedrooms. I loved the style/glamour of the decor. Everything was clean and staff were friendly. Breakfast was varied. Parking available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Place, staff, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in economy room was too simple (shower especially had weak water current) for the exclussiveness of such hotel.

    Place, staff, breakfast. And of course the view out of the window. Breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are disaster for 4stars hotel and you can hear everything from the hall...it would need some updates for the pricerange that they are offering...

    Breakfast and the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with really nice flair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with really nice flair.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    It was very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Fantastic views and Ok breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms need to be updated, could not close windows or doors and carpet was not cleaned during the stay.

    Fantastic views and Ok breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.2
    Decoration sooo old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, charming with its history and luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, charming with its history and luxury.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great location, nice balcony with seaview, garden, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great location, nice balcony with seaview, garden, lovely decorations and vintage overall look of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: