Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Elba International 4 stars

Località Naregno, 57031 Capoliveri, Italy

#10 of 53 hotels in Capoliveri

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 451 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to and from the hotel is complicated. The road into the hotel is convenient but leaving the hotel you must use another road that makes the traveling from the hotelsometimes extremely longer. I guess if time is not an element and you are on vacation it shouldn't matter but does make a difference

    Breakfast top. View from hotel if you are on the right side amazing. Staff throughout very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have a beach . Totally false advertising Decking over rocks does not constitute a beach. Whilst address is Capoliveri that town is a 10 minute drive away, impossible to get to without car/taxi. Photo of balconied room looks good but reality, above reception vehicle delivery, drop off roundabout and smoking area made opening balcony door impossible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor beach facilities and restaurant evening meal not good value for money given the mediocre quality of food served.

    Lovely pool, approachable staff and breakfast good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no real beach And it is dangerous with kids We stay on the "beach " 10 minutes only because my son wants to run and this is impossible with deep water under the stand Fir me was disappointed going to Elba and cannot swim in the hotel beach

    Staff are very friendly, they arr speaking English and Deutsch Room was good and clean Swimming pool was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bar keeper at the beach bar was really unfriendly. My son was quite unhappy for being told of by the rescue guy. It is not allowed to jump into the sea, from the landing stage, it is not allowed to jump backflips into the pool etc. Quite disappointing for a 13 year old.

    The view from the pool to the sea is great and there is an elevator down to the beach which is cool too. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel up to the nearest town which is worth seeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for dinner at the hotel were not on the menu- and it worked out to be the most expensive (but nowhere near the best) meal we had in elba Also - wifi VERY unreliable

    Rooms super clean, staff fantastic, pool and beach facilities top notch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea by the hotel beach on the first day was not so clean, but as I was explained, the cleaninless of the water depends on the wind and prior to my arrival it was blowing in the direction of the bay where I stayed. However, the reception staff may give you recommendations where to find cristall clear water on a specific day. The other 2 days of my stay, the water was amazing and transparent.

    I stayed overall 3 nights at the hotel. It was amazing stay. All staff at the reception were so friendly and informative. I highly recommend the rooms with sea view, it was stunning. The main restaurant personnel did a great job, suggested good wines and helped to order the dish out of the menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little to hilly for evening walks after dinner

    The views over the bay magnificent. The food top class The peace and quiet The salt water pool really warm The exercise class and aqua erobic class

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in could have been better as didn't tell us where car park was or code to enter. Also didn't tell us wi-fi code or breakfast times etc. Think may have been a language issue at busy arrival time though as all other reception staff were fantastic.

    Lovely hotel in fantastic location with panoramic elevator down to well equipped beach and water taxi from there, across bay to nicest town on Elba. Nice cool clean room with fabulous view. Almost all staff were amazing and went above and beyond.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi isn't working so well, disconnects a lot and you need to sign in every time u use it.

    First of all Elba is an amazing island. The location of the hotel is perfect, everywhere you go there's a breath- taking view. The pools are warm and nice to have salt water for the skin. The beach though, that's the real pearl of the hotel. There's an elevator that takes you from the hotel to the beach (since the hotel is up on the mountain) and back. There's a beach restaurent and bar so it's all u need to spend the day at the beach. Sunbathing beds on a wooden-deck and direct access to the clear water. We loved it so much! The staff and service are exellent, so kind and helpful, and everyday there are events hapenning- wine tasting, happy hour snaks at the pool, live music at night. There's are nice citis 1-2 miles from hotel in which you can enjoy great restaurents and stors. Overall- a perfect vacation! Very recommended, we will be back! Thank you, Grand Hotel Elba International for a great honeymoon!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very hard but otherwise the room was comfortable. It was also necessary to drive into town. I didn't see a way to walk safely along the road because there were no sidewalks.

    The views from this property are just gorgeous. But it was the staff that really made our stay exceptional. We got a parking ticket while in town for dinner and when we came back to ask at the front desk how we should go about paying it (since it was totally in Italian), they said it could only be paid by bank draft at a local bank. Since we were leaving the next morning (a Saturday) and the bank would not be open before we left, the front desk agent actually offered to go to the bank for us Monday morning and pay it. We gave her the amount of the ticket and she emailed us a receipt for the payment a few days later. Definitely above and beyond our expectation of service and we were extremely appreciative. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had internet wifi problems and the staff could have been more helpful.

    Elba is a great relaxing island - easy to explore and easy to find beaches. Peaceful and restful. The hotel location is good for that end of the island, was clean and great - very very good breakfast. We drove to Port Azzurro for a wonderful evening dinner & octopus salad. Bianco beach is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous views overlooking Porto Azzuro , great position. Breakfast was great and the staff were all extremely friendly. We had a third floor room with balcony but no sea view which had a side view of pool (too salty for us to enjoy to the full). Don't eat in restaurant if there is a big function (a wedding in our case) as the restaurant struggled to cope. Fortunately we only booked breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is undergoing updates (it looks like) and is a bit bare right now. The sound insulation between rooms is not very good, so if you have a lively neighbour you will hear them clearly.

    The location is wonderful, with a private beach that is accessed with a small train lift. The terrace on the top floor is simply a spectacular place to relax at any hour of the day or night. The breakfast buffet is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole interior was outdated. We stayed in a junior suite but it was everything but a suite. Lacking the details in the decor. Plastic mugs, no slippers/bathrobes. The staff was helpful when we asked for something but did not bother to be proactive in their approach. Typical Italian breakfast with poor selection of fresh fruits and veggies.

    The view from the room and beach was nice. If you like sweets in the morning then you'll maybe love the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have expected a bit more for the price, and the breakfast selection could be improved. The beds were rather hard and uncomfortable, and the water in the tap was salty which made showering brushing our teeth very unpleasant!

    Absolutely stunning views, great location, helpful staff, nice beach/swimming area, nice pools

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -

    - Location of the hotel. - Pools - Great view - Free parking - Staff - Breakfast - Tennis court - Clean big room - Everything was very nice !! -

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening buffet was over priced for the quality and selection of food, I would recommend going to Capoliveri to eat in the evening. The roof top bar is a glorified creche. If you want to explore porto Azzurro you can only get there by driving or water taxi which is 8 euros per person.

    The pool was fantastic with great views. The pool bar was very good with a good choice of light snacks. Andrea was very attentive and gave us excellent service. There is a lovely old town Capoliveri just up the hill from the hotel which is great for wandering around in the evening. It has plenty of ristorantes to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was the room smelt slightly of smoke when the air con was on.

    Lovely staff, fantastic beach area, great views from rooftop bar, very relaxing in every respect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I book a Junior Suite with balcony and sea view but the room is on the 1st floor and the balcony at the same level of the reception's roof. So what we see is the roof when we sit on the balcony. The king size bed is in fact 2 single bed stick together and not comfortable. Too expensive for that. It is more a 3* than a 4* Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awefull, and the attention in the dining area was not good, people there were rude. Front desk attendants nice but some not knowledgeable of services or phone usage! Beach lunch area poor, very rude!! Did not know what was for lunch after 3 times asking!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the pool water was salty. The breakfast staff could be more cheerful and friendly

    The staff were very friendly and helpful on reception and the views were stunning. beach was lovely and clean and relaxing pool area was clean, with good amenities

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu didn't cater well for vegetarians and was expensive. Kids price the same as adults (€30 per head ex drinks.)

    Amazing views from our sea view junior suite. Loved the huge pool. Staff were great. Will definitely be back! Photos don't do it justice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and mattress could be updated. Especially the pillows.

    We liked the location, value and all the space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View, beach, pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe weather. :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good selection of fresh products for breakfast.Very spacious bathroom and bedroom.Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is too narrow.

    Swiming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view would have been nice

    Room was clean and comfy for family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner, the restaurant.

    Sensational sea view and two beautiful pools.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote location

    Private beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, also my room was very large and clean. Wonderful view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view from the room (sea view). Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe a slightly bigger selection for breakfast. Slightly repetitive after 5 days.

    Loved the outdoor space and private beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water of swimming Phool I never seen in any hotels salty water in swimming Phool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice heaten swimming pool with beautiful view, clean and quiet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not with Sea view , 2. Floor over kitchen area

    Location, good Parking great Pool ,close to Porto Azzuro, super clean Sea water

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired and in of need total updating

    Location and views amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast, luxurious hotel, nice staff, stunning view. Everything was great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the beds uncomfortable and pillows lumpy

    Loved the jacuzzi pool, the views were amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food at dinner was very cold. We overheard others complain as well but nothing seemed to be done to fix the problem

    Pool and access to beach were great

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is well suited for holiday makers who want to spend most of their time at the beach, but it is situated at the end of a long and difficult winding road - and we were there mainly for the Napoleon thing.

    The restaurant was magnificent

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was very good with good facilities and lift to the beach, saving 100's of steps!! Fantastic pool facility and very good breakfast selection!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was so so,not poor choice for 4 star hotel, awful coffee. In general, hotel already needs a good renovation. A lift to the beach is like from horror movies,last century or worse, very untidy area, very badly kept beach, didn't want to stay there even for a minute.

    Great views from the room and pool area as well as bar on the 4th floor. Friendly staff, helped with everything with a smile. Spacious parking area. Room was clean with nice balcony, comfortable for 3 adults. Nice restaurants in a small town Capoliveri just few min drive from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To receive better "concierge" service in helping with suggestions on what to see on Elba Island. Maybe give the guest a map, so they know where things are located.

    Front Desk Staff, especially Valerio. He went above and beyond by making a call for us to a shipper as we were expecting a package. He translated for us and requested documents be sent to the hotel's email address. He was great!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is on a one way system so annoying when driving around.

    Make sure you book a seaview as the rooms at the back are very dark. But if you are lucky enough to get a first floor room it has a little private garden! The 2 seawater pools are fantastic and have wonderful views over the bay and across to mainland Italy.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1. The hotel lady attitude is bad! When we checkout, we asked the hotel lady to make an order for a taxi, at the beginning, She was nice and made the call to the driver, but we waited for one hour and no taxi came! And called back to the hotel,to make sure if the car coming or not, or how can we catch him, the old lady lost the patience at all, Just told us the driver came again and don't call them back at all! And hung off the call badly! It's really not a way of 4/5 star hotel! No taxi from the hotel was coming at all! At wasted our time for catching the ferry! The bad attitude It's really destroy the feeling for the vacation! And talk to the other taxi who took us back to the port, he said the hotel just cooperated with the taxi from port azzuro, so it's not the closed one, and maybe also they just don't wanna come, because it's cheap, and that's Sunday! 2.the sevice They said it's possible to make the order for the breakfast in the room, and the price was no sign on the list, also the snacks and drinks in the room( they put drinks together but the water was free). no price was on the list, but was charged later. 3. The traffic It's good position with a good view, but the public traffic is bad, no shuttle bus, just a boat taxi to Porto azzuro. Too far from the main port from Piombino. if you don't have a car, maybe it's not a good choice. Because the bus is also not convenient, have to wait for the bus for long time and transfer 2 times to arrive the hotel. Too much mountain road on the way, we also got car sick. And the text charged a lot!

    The view is nice from the hotel, Very good breakfast, and nice private beach, also the swimming pool!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast coffee wasn't very good. I suggest ordering a special coffee (rather than a general pot).

    The hotel was extremely friendly and comfortable, beach access was excellent, the beach area wasn't overly crowded, the breakfast was huge and diverse-- something to satisfy everyone. They offer a room for you to shower and change in so you can continue to use the facilities after check out.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Air conditioning not good enough. It was working all the time and still kind of warm inside the room. Breakfast could be improved by adding vegetables (at least 1-2 kinds) which were totally absent. Otherwise breakfast was very rich in cereals, meats, cheese, sweeats...but not one vegetable.

    Private nice beach. Helpful staff. Nice view.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This hotel has the wow factor. Great views. Great food. Have dinner there. It's a 5course feast for 30euros! Go out of school holidays if you don't like kids. This is a place the Italiens go and they live their kids. Very well behaved kids

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a beautiful location with easy boat access to Porto Azzurro. Lovely private beach with free use of kayak. Beautiful pool area and an incredible view. Front desk staff were very helpful. Within walking distance of waterside restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant staff could improve. Bad coffee. Saltwater pools but no options with the water supply. Beds could be better.

    Nice clean hotel. Private beach super. Nice food and friendly reception.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities look like a dorm hall from the 60's and I don't think that is consistent with a 4 star rating

    The location was amazing with incredible views

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not a lot. Hard beds, but they gave us extra pillows to help.

    Fantastic location. Lovely beach area. Great views. We loved our stay here.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dinner menu.

    The room given. Location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noicy aircondition !!!! Awkward wi-fi connection ...

    Very relaxed. Friendly and helpfull staff !!! Nice beach area !!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The salt water pool was disappointing.

    Location to the beach, room view, Elba Island, good choice of food

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee service too slow at breakfast.

    Great facilities in lovely location.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow wifi and internet access

    Great views from the room towards the sea side, very helpful & friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hold Building Bathroom to small

    Position Good Staff

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very comfortable hotel with first class amenities. pool and restaurant superb with great views.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: