Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Excelsior's 4 stars

Via Vittorio Veneto, 66, 89123 Reggio di Calabria, Italy

#3 of 10 hotels in Reggio di Calabria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable room, disinterested staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely disinterested staff especially in the breakfast restaurant. Terrible breakfast, very limited selection unless you just like cakes!!! An hour before breakfast finishes the food is being put away and you feel like you are putting staff out by asking for it. I feel this is not a family or couples hotel but primarily aimed at business people.

    The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Good location close to the ferry port, train station and city centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    It was convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is so old and so slow I had to use the stairs to be on time. The bathtub clog didn't work so I could only shower. I missed the bathrobes.

    The staff were nice and the room service good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Hotel grand Excelsior Reggio Calabria
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like absolutely beautiful!!!

    The room , the view, lovely bathroom..very clean and most of all the kindness of the lady at reception I am only sorry I did not get her name... helpful and friendly..will stay there again definitely 👍👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded our expectations in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is ideal for sightseeing (only one block to the superb archeological museum), the seafront promenade, shopping, excellent restaurants and gelato. Great view of the sea from our room and the breakfast area. Most important, all the staff we encountered were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Location, lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ordinary not only with choices but the staff were not attentive enough when things ran out to replace them.

    Excellent Location, lovely rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant overnighter in centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early, left our luggage at reception, but my room was still not ready when we returned from the museum around 4pm. There is a hotel car park but it is difficult to manoeuvre into and out of, but on street parking would have been much more difficult.

    Central location bang next to the museum, our main reason to visit Reggio. An efficient hotel suitable for tourists and businesspeople, but nothing exceptional. Fair value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel in Reggio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, very clean and comfortable. The food and view at the restaurant were both amazing, and the hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location but hotel could do with a facelift. On the other hand, it's not that expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is somewhat dated. Although the staff were very pleasant, it took several times of asking to get a glass for the room! (And I would have expected glasses to be standard in a 4 star hotel with minibars stocked with prosecco, etc. - sparkling wine out of a plastic cup???) The room wasn't particularly clean.

    Superb location. My room - an executive suite - was very spacious with nice view of the sea and Sicily beyond.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellently located hotel with a great view of Mt Etna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffe making facilities in the room would have been nice.

    Location - The hotel is next door to the National Archaeological Museum of Reggio Calabria, which is a must-visit. There is a fantastic view of Mount Etna and Sicily generally from the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    If you will be stayng in Reggio you shouldn't miss it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast variety could be improved by offerng hot food.

    extraordinary staff (both reception and restaurant): friendly and helpful; location; prompt valet service for car parking; space and furniture of the room ("superior"); comfort of bathroom; cleanliness; excellent food in a very pleasant topfloor restaurant; quality of breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    I probably will stay closer to Piazza Garibaldi next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had a view of the back of a run down apartment building. The decor was 1950s. The staff was kind and helpful. The hotel was spotless and well-maintained. Thank God that the restaurant Via Veneto was next door!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel on toe of Italy. Ideal for Riace Bronx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a town that is only 110 years old (rebuilt after 1908 earthquake) the hotel seemed a little old, but otherwise very comfortable. Not many cafes or restaurants. Taxi ripped us off. Must negotiate!

    Dinner was first rate. Unfortunately we were almost the only people there. Very close to famous archaeological museum. Close to ferry for Messina. Lovely walk along the seafront.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.2
    Time Travel back to the 1990s
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelled like old tobacco, was really disgusting, so i asked for another room. Same issue but i gave up trying to ask for another one ... i opened the windows and went away... i thought firdt that it was cause somebody smoked at the window recently but more and more i think it is just that the hotel is so old and has never been refurbished, that it is all the smells impregnated in the walls (and though even the bathroom smelled disgusting...) Except that was dfficult to park around. So they make you pay 10€ fir parking at the hotel and you cannot use your car anymore for the evening without bothering everybody. The Hotel has all the lastest technology and design from 25 years ago. It was probably modern in that time. Not very friendly staff, slow as hell (maybe they would need two persons at reception for such a busy hotel cause all the time was a good 5-10 minutes wait at the reception.)

    Located next to the place where i ahd to work. Amazing view for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    The food offered by the hotel's restaurant is delicious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food offered by the hotel's restaurant is delicious. Try it. No need to go for lunch or dinner outside. Amazing view to start the day from the breakfast room: blue Mediterranean sea with Sicily and the Etna volcano at the other side.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.1
    Right beside the museum and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curt female receptionist. The bed needed the option of a lightweight blanket rather than just a sheet and the heavy coarse bedspread.

    The man at reception was very courteous and helpful: he booked restaurants for us and gave us a map. Breakfast staff prompt and attentive. Great view of Etna from breakfast room. Nice décor including padding of bedroom walls.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was poor on occasion, no bar for pre dinner drinks

    Excellent location, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    A great location with a clean, comfortable room, and friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great central location, a receptionist Irene, who showed great understanding to meet our needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Best hotel in our tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It could not have been better

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Great in every way that I needed and perfect for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Foyer bar was hard to get service.

    Open spcvious clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First person I encountered didn’t seem to have a clue what was going on.

    Location was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a busy place

    The room the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    After a somewhat slow start staff became very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready when checking in at 3.30pm

    Helpful staff who organised taxis when needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Location , staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee and options. Too warm in room at night.

    Location , staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Size of room, view from room, good bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bar service in lobby.

    Size of room, view from room, good bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Strategically located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small.

    Strategically located.staff is v helpful.good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    The views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting on the old side.

    The views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and breakfast lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location valet parking breakfast in the terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Very spacious and comfortable room, balcony with sea view, nice bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Reggio Calabria stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, bar opening hours Coffee expresso not the best Breakfast staff not very friendly ALESSANDRA on the front desk was very helpful

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel close to everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel close to everything we needed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in room Bar not open

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    OK hotel for a short stay...but could have found better for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too small, room too small, bfast nothing special..no eggs, no toast

    Restaurant on top floor..we had a very good meal. excellent service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Theresa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfectly oksy

    Close to ferry terminal.. And loved the main boulevard..walked out at nite ... Great breakfast .. Fab room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.8
    Enjoyed the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    5.8
    Premises were clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A receptionist appeared to be very unhappy to be at work and their customer service was reflected very much in that persons attitude. A service mentality did not exist.

    Premises were clean and tidy. The staff who cared were very good.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.3
    Location and availability of parking for our car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOISE - loud - every night from along the beach. Why so loud? Internet didn't work very well. This Hotel has surely seen better days, but perhaps like a lot of places in the south, no-one can be bothered taking care of things.

    Location and availability of parking for our car.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    The location: next door to the Museum with the Riace bronzes;
    • Couple

    The location: next door to the Museum with the Riace bronzes; close to the Promenade and sea; easy walking to the centre of the town; close to the seaport. The view from our balcony: of the town, the Straits of Messina and Mt Etna. The breakfast: quality and choice was good...and the outside rooftop added to the pleasure. The staff: most helpful and friendly (especially in following up with lost luggage from our flight). Would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.3
    Luxurious and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Impersonal, though efficient, atmosphere. Breakfast disappointing: poor bread, too few savoury items, cooked items unsatisfactory.

    Luxurious and spacious room. Splendid view of the straits of Messina available from upper rooms and the excellent top floor restaurant. 200 yards from the Archaeological Museum (currently only 8 exhibits, but including the Riace bronzes).

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.1
    The best reason for a tourist to visit Reggio Calabria is to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a "former" grand hotel, now quite tired. The restaurant was closed for no stated reason. The bathroom was not well cleaned, with water and clumps of hair on the floor.

    The best reason for a tourist to visit Reggio Calabria is to see the Riace Bronzes in the National Museum of Magna Graecia which is just next door to the hotel. Despite its faults, this probably remains one of the best hotels in the city.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    5.4
    Near THE museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was indicated room with Seaview but I had 10% Seaview By Guly street

    Near THE museum

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    7.5
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice bar in foyer BUT not open. So, no apertivo, no digestivo, no night-cap. Could have been in a quality B&B.

    Location! Location!

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.0
    The second room we had was much better and seemed cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first room had revolting carpet And the bathroom was dated

    The second room we had was much better and seemed cleaner

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    Location and bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast variety very poor

    Location and bed

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: