Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Imperiale 5 stars

Via Mazzini, 20, 55042 Forte dei Marmi, Italy

#23 of 38 hotels in Forte dei Marmi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 191 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't compare to other 5 star hotels on many levels, beds are especially horrible, have to shower in the bath in a suite, need to request to have room cleaned properly, no coffee machine on the room, no water at the close down service, do not restock mini bar

    Great location Staff is friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    too classic and old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They did not allow me to iron my own clothes, they offered to do so according to italian law. Then they charged me for this service at check out. (i didnt ask for it though)

    world cup matches playing in an outdoor seating area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    This is nice hotel with a great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We have stayed in several 5 star hotels and with this price we definitely expected more. We requested a baby cot for our room and they wanted to charge us EUR 50 per night extra. Only 2 complimentary bottles of water (1 still and 1 sparkling) during our stay, yes I know small detail. In the end you miss some extras you expect in a 5 star hotel in this price range.

    This is nice hotel with a great staff. We arrived a day earlier then expected and luckily they had a room ready. We received a nice upgrade. The entire staff in the hotel is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    The Hotel is great and cozy, the staff are friendly, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the price was so expensive comparing to what we paid, the pictures of the rooms was misleading, The pool was not clean, the spa and health care was always full, there is NO beach access and you need a shuttle to go to the beach AND YOU BUY FOR YOUR STAY AT THE BEACH, the public beach is 30 min walking from the hotel( Not worth)

    The Hotel is great and cozy, the staff are friendly, the atmosphere was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    Horrible in the hotel, beautiful in Forte de marmi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. the hotel is old and too eclectic 2. dont expect the look and feel of the five star hotels in Florence or other places in Italy 3. Our room was a suite but it was really basic and by no means was it worth the money 4. We were pomised two full fledged bathrooms and showers but one of them ended up being a bathtub without a shower handle. we asked to be moved which after a long pressure from our side it happened and we ended up in a better suite 5. the restaurant doesnt serve Pizza believe it or not nor do they accept us ordering pizza from around the area for delivery 6. if you want to rent boat trips to nearby areas like CinqueTerre dont go through the hotel because their affiliation with only one supplier means you are stuck with a large bill with a very small boat 7. honestly i intend to go back to Forte de marmi for next summer but i will not subject my family to such a hotel.

    the conceirge is the best component of the hotel as they have tried to support us in every possible way

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are really tiny Although I booked a suit but still very very small and not worth the money I spent for, Moreover, the wifi signal in the rooms is really weak, basically always disconnected and bad environment for business

    I liked the location and the outside cafe inside the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    2.5
    Nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is absolutely can't be 5* star hotel, very bad service and very bad rooms. Also staff are not so friendly and sometimes not polite. I don't recommended this hotel at all

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    STAFF WERE VERY GOOD & GENERALLY TRIED TO FIX OUR MAIN...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt very badly of mold & they tried to cover it up with perfume odours but it did not work. Chmbermaids knew of this issue but they still rented us the room. We both had asmatic effect of throat & streaming eyes the next morning. They did cange the room after the first night which I asked for free. We are negociation but there offers are not timings we can work with

    STAFF WERE VERY GOOD & GENERALLY TRIED TO FIX OUR MAIN ROOM PROBLEM

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    A very good vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the concierge trying to convince us to use the beaches that has contracts with them and when we used other kinds it was cheaper and by far better than theirs

    Service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Lovely stay, we'll return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No price list for mini bar, and we were initially charged for peanuts which we did not take(15 euros!). Staff refunded with no problem. Usually 5 star hotels supply bottles of water every day for guests. The whole beach procedure is foreign to us, as well as paying to use the hotel's private beach ($250 a day), but we were told this is not unusual.

    The staff was great. Facilities were very clean. Pool was well-maintained and lovely. Very nice beauty spa with great massuese (Elinora). Liked having use of the bicycles. Location terrific.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location, amenities and service needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and mattresses are really more like a 3star hotel. My husband and I both have sore back and neck after this. Furthermore, we found some little boy's dirty swim trunks thrown over the shelf where the robes were folded, meaning they didn't replace robes after previous guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.3
    Location is great-everything is within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to the hotel had to enter transport limited access area, the only way to get out of fine is to park in the hotel's garage for a fee The room was poorly decorated

    Location is great-everything is within walking distance

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was fine, the location was not for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Immediate access to the sea and beach was impossible. No views of the sea for miles, the area is geared only for rich shoppers.

    Cocktails in the bar.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The right location

    Amazing staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.2
    They give me Disabled room and they change my room 2 time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They give me Disabled room and they change my room 2 time when i ask them why they say you make reservations from booking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Not value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of everything is ridiculous Fluctuations in shower water temperature is not what you would expect in a five star hotel

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Un week end stupendo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Albergo stupendo! Il top in tutto!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    I stay there for a day and enjoyed enough my time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool

    The person in reception. He was extremely kind and professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    overall it was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice boutique hotel in the center of Forte dei Marmi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Land plot around the hotel was super small

    Wonderful location, personnel super nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel, value, and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach club was great but pricey Hotel was excellent , very close to everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    great location and friendly helpful stuff , very good big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Swimming pool is too small and not deep .

    great location and friendly helpful stuff , very good big room with nice view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Low cost furniture, dusty, slow wifi

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed

    The location

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Weak wifi all over property; food and drinks most expensive I've seen in Italy

    Location was perfect

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.8
    It was nicely situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel had a poor finish. The beds where bad and the pillows where hard like bricks.

    It was nicely situated

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Nicola abd Ceasar were cool and made everything relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nicola abd Ceasar were cool and made everything relaxing.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: