Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel In Porto Cervo 4 stars

Localita' Cala Granu, 07020 Porto Cervo, Italy

#26 of 34 hotels in Porto Cervo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location and great ambience. Too overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited access to other facilities outside the hotel.

    Location was excellent, ambiance was fabulous. Rooms were not that great. Amenities were limited. And the overall stay was very expensive. I think it’s been overpriced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Everything was great, excellent location, delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think bar area needs some redecoration, but it’s not too bad. And maybe more cozy blanket in the room would improve it.

    Everything was great, excellent location, delicious breakfast, beautiful beach, nice swimming just after the sunrise, very pretty and looked after garden, sunbeds, yoga platform with sea view, relaxing atmosphere, helpful staff, lots of parking space, clean rooms etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    We had a great 6 night stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with the hotel . Staff & food for breakfast great . Only suggestion to people staying would be a car to get around . Close to beach & lovely pool area .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    A lot of flyes during all day mainly in the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of flyes during all day mainly in the breakfast. Air conditioning not working, the hotel set off only vent. Small number of TV channels. A sea gulf swimming in the pool during afternoon. The booking was for a room in front of sea and we receive a room with lateral view to the sea. Maybe because the booking was through booking system.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I also found the breakfast delicious. There was a decent beach a 100 metres from the hotel. The is also a really nice restaurant/bar overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice facilities, great location. Dont plan on using the beach though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are a bit basic but they do have a nice view over the sea/pool or garden. not the hotels fault but the beach right next to it is pretty awful, covered in dry seaweed and nowhere to lay down. Hotel restaurants have limited hours and it can be hard to get food at certain times (5-7pm) when kids like to eat.

    nice location, hotel overall has good facilities and a really nice pool. A few restaurants close by that many people walked to. Hotel says there is no parking but there actually is, just probably not enough if the hotel is really full. easy to reach many of the other famous beaches from this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Good but with effort and precision could be outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The small things. First of all the staff, especially in the bar and the restaurant was very ignorant. I am not really used to waving for long long minutes in a half empty restaurant to get another drink, or I think when I ask a few drinks(2 water, a beer and a fruit punch) in the bar it's not a stratospheric expectation from the staff to bring it to our table (the point when I had to ask to at least give me a plate was the down-point). This ignorance was (aside from a few cases) constant. Another minor point is there is no cable TV in the rooms (not even in the junior suite!). Considering the fact that they charge 12 euros for a fruit punch (which I am not complaining in general, I was well aware of the prices in Costa Smeralda, I write it as a reference) it is ridiculous that they are cheap to provide cable in the rooms which costs approx the same amount. Since it's an island and rainy days may occur I think if I'd like to watch the !local! Italian Serie A game in a hotel supposedly with 4 stars it is a surprising answer at least for me from the receptionist that they can suggest some pub to watch it if I want to cause there is no cable. At Orange Beach the daily sunbed prices are pretty high towards hotel guest, we never wanted to spend a full day there, the hotel might consider making an hour or few-hours charging method (but honestly on my opinion the hotel guests should use them for free, calculate the cost into the hotel rooms/ bar costs etc.). Considering that Cala Granu is very crowded and trashy (that was a surprise to be honest) that would be a real feature. Aside from these we had a good time and left very rested, I wanted to share these thoroughly because I honestly believe that from the hotel's perspective these are small efforts to change but can save very avoidable bad feelings from guests in the future.

    The feeling and the view of the hotel was beautiful, the room and the junior suite was very nice as well. The breakfast was decent and at least slightly changed day by day. The bar side and the closeness to the sea was also a very nice. The pool and the poolside is also great. The area was quiet, it was great for relaxing and the cleaning was thorough in the rooms. When there was an issue with the rooms after a few problems the Director was very kind, and helpful, offered a junior suit in exchanged and a dinner on the house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beach was not clean.

    Beautiful hotel. Very nice wellcome, friendly staff. When we arrived, the rooms were ready, we had no problem with the reservation through booking.com, we got 2 rooms with sea view. We had a pleasant stay. Very good breakfast. We had a beautiful party in the hotel on the 14th of August.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    Definitely not worth it the money we spent. And not up to a 4 stars hotel standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff approach. The fact that the beach is not part of the hotel facilities (the fee is 35 euros for beds that are actually NOT on the beach). The breakfast was poor and not particularly fresh.

    The view from the bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is overpriced and not well run
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I returned to this hotel after my first visit 4 years ago. I must say I was really disappointed compared to my previous stay. The management has changed since the beginning of the year and the entire offering needs sharpening up. The hotel has a "private beach", but we were asked to pay €50 to use the deckchairs even though we were a hotel resident. They had some very odd policies - we were asked to pay €10 as a deposit for using one of the hotel's beach towels, and we were also asked to pay the accommodation bill upfront at the point of check-in... The pool was unusable for the first two days as they had put in the wrong chemical mix which turned the water green. We got an ice bucket one day to our room to enjoy some wine - the ice bucket stood outside our room for 2 days after we were finished with it. There was nothing memorable about the breakfast. Overall, the hotel is overpriced for what it offers - you are better off staying at another hotel. We will not be returning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    The beach is very very nice but it's not cleaned and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beach is very very nice but it's not cleaned and is full with seaweed. The sunbed is not included in the price and a pair of bad with umbrella costs 70 EUR/day at the beach and 20 Eur/day at the bar.

    The beach is very very nice but it's not cleaned and is full with seaweed. The sunbed is not included in the price and a pair of bad with umbrella costs 70 EUR/day at the beach and 20 Eur/day at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Location, cozy atmosphere, nice swimmingpool area, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diner at hotel

    Location, cozy atmosphere, nice swimmingpool area, great lunch restaurant at the beach and within 15 minutes by car at superb beaches, restaurants and Porto Cervo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very neglectful and irresponsible in not explaining or pointing out more clearly that it did not treat its water. The water in the hotel was not potable at all and my friend drank the water and became very ill for two weeks afterward. When we approached the staff at the hotel they were rather indifferent about the situation. It was either the case that the hotel does not treat its water to cut costs (and force guests to buy exorbitantly priced bottled water) or it is not diligent enough in consistently explaining this to guests upon check-in. We would not stay at this hotel again for this reason.

    Pleasant location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel with very poor restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very low quality and the restaurant staff are quite lazy. Don't do half board because also the dinner is terrible. You can find cheap places where you can eat way way better. The hotel have no private beach. There is only one public nearby but very dirty and the restaurant there is expensive and low quality. The staff at the reception were nice but they made a lot of mistakes the bookings of the restaurants requested. Zero flexibility on the check out even if i took 3 rooms! At the check out was at 11! Way early if compared to any other hotel

    Location is very good since 3 mins away from porto cervo. The rooms front sea are nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Helpful and very kind staff (all of them), comfort in hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment for camp bed on the beach of hotel

    Helpful and very kind staff (all of them), comfort in hotel, good breakfest and dinner, nice sea, seaview from anywhere in hotel, garden, relax and sport possibilities. Good function of wifi even at swimmingpool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach bar was about to open, but it was still closed at 1st of July. Lack of toilets at the beach.

    I liked the short walk down on a footpath to a small public beach with the nice wiew to the bay. The separated sunbeds for the hotel clients with shower facility and the beach towels they've changed every day for free and the good coffee you could ask at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Excellent location. Beach was full of sea weed when we went. Pool was excellent. Lovely gardens with ambient music and lots of comfy shady spots to sit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    Great location, pool & garden - Poor service & value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not good quality & not up to a 4 star hotel standard, unreliable hot water, extras very expensive, hotel would not provide ironing board & iron forcing use of expensive hotel laundry service, hotel charged full cost 1 month in advance before arrival. In general an uncooperative & arrogant hotel management, therefore would not return again...

    Great location, outdoor facilities, swimming pool, garden and friendly staff service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.3
    Note quite the real deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired, rooms basic. Swimming pool out of action for duration. Living off past reputation Breakfast very average scrambled eggs were not eatable on one day,

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.3
    Overpriced for the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not helpful and didn't provide any information at checked in. Had no idea there was a gym or spa in the hotel. Asked about best places to explore with the car for the day and didn't get much information. The pool was not in use during our stay.

    Beach access. If you do stay there is a nice restaurant 10 min walking towards town / marina. Much better value and food than the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Rooms where quite dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where quite dated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.3
    Bar and Restaurant stuff super slow and lazy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and Restaurant stuff super slow and lazy. No one cares about the guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely surroundings beautifully organized for sunbathing and relaxing sun beds i
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and the choice of menu could do better a nice

    The room on the second floor with sea view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent choice in that area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard for me...

    Breakfast (!) restaurant (excellent!), pool, beautiful gardens:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The beach bar/restaurant was perfectly situated nothing better than to have lunch overlooking beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get a good coffee

    Great variety of food for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    only stayed one night will stay longer next time fab hotel and let us have let cheak out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool area and beach area are great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is very nice and the location very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is terrible. Very poor quality food. Check out is at 10 am... way too early

    The hotel is very nice and the location very convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Everything was fine, very nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, very nice location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Not what i usually expect in italy, but for sardinia's standards it's ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise during the night Bad smell in the bathroom Beach full of seaweed

    Beautyful view swimming pool and beach restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Unused potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No drinking water in bathrooms. The pool was closed for 2 days due to contamination. Weird waiters.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Great time In Grand hotel Porto Cervo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Beach close to hotel. Generous breakfast😉

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay. Expensive for facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi in room very patchy

    Very pleasant staff Lovely pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    The pool was great, private beach superb and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel seemed a little dated, Yoga people slightly annoying, walked around the pool like they own the place. Wifi didn't work in rooms and to stay in this hotel you really need a car which thankfully we did have. Those that say it is within walking distance to porto chervo must be mad, although the marina is close by which we preferred anyway and great restaurants such as clipper also a short walk down the hill, although not the best walking back when very dark and no street lights. Hire a car as we did and you'll have a great holiday as there are many great beaches nearby.

    The pool was great, private beach superb and very picturesque, restaurant overlooking the beach also a great spot to go for lunch overlooking the stunning clear water. Room was nice, good balcony and stunning views.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.3
    Location is wonderful, great pool, access to nice little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is wonderful, great pool, access to nice little beach. Special shout out to roberto at front desk. He was wonderfully welcoming and provided great recommendations for food and beaches.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.8
    Place in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi reception in the room. Breakfast was not the best quality. Costly for random things like a fresh orange juice (7 EURO). Staff not so friendly and English speaking.

    Place in general. Location of the hotel and nice beach next to it.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    location and staff super friendly and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast not healthy and poor choice. they should serve more healthy options- porridge, rice cakes etc

    location and staff super friendly and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.3
    Hotel premises, swimming pool, excellent restaurant, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is very sketchy, to say the least, it seems to work best where one least expects it (i.e. at the beach)!

    Hotel premises, swimming pool, excellent restaurant, very kind and attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful scenery, beautiful buildings, nice and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is artificially expensive in this area

    Beautiful scenery, beautiful buildings, nice and clean everywhere in the surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    5.8
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is not wifi, all very old

    Beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was the worst ever.

    The staff was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Great location, pool, one of the few hotels in Porto Cervo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed a bit too hard, smell of sewage on beach

    Great location, pool, one of the few hotels in Porto Cervo (at an affordable price) to have a beach

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Great staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great staff, great location! Would recomend it Anytime and i Will definetly be back!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    7.5
    Accommodation and pool very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation and pool very good. Town and marina lovely

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: