Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Irpinia 4 stars

Nazionale, 83013 Avellino, Italy

#13 of 17 hotels in Avellino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 408 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower slightly 'worn' and slight initial smoke smell, but it was a budget room anyway, so no complaints.

    Even our budget room had a balcony with view, and the staff were first class (spealing English). We had to leave early but were given a voucher for their separate cafe about 300m away which was serving breakfast from a very early hour. Incredibly convenient for the motorway access when returning car to Naples airport 40 mins away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room, as announced/expected, was a bit small.

    position of this property is excellent for those who, travelling by car, prefer to stay near highway exit (it is at max 300 meters). Very good, considering cost/rating, breakfast with fresh oranges (in quantity available near tool to make fresh juice) and different fruits and sweets. At only 200 meters a nice Beer/Pizza/Texmex restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes very load partys. Personal could be friendlier. Front desk better should speak englisch language.

    Good outdoor pool area. Good breakfast with fresh fruits and on two days (of four) fresh lemon and orange for selfmade fresh juice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small, location is not the best for going around. We had a car and did roadtrip to Amalfi Coast and Sorrento, driving was about 1-2hours.

    Friendly customer service, pool open 24/7, parking, Lidl foodmarket close by

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to do some work as we arrived: the wifi did not work, our fridge did not work and we had no table on our balcony. The wifi and the table were fixed, though we were told the fridge were not included. We had to pay 5 euro extra a day (35 euros in total). We chose a room with balcony, which were only on the pool side. We were told there would be parties in the weekends by the pool - we still chose the balcony room. We thought "weekend" meant friday and saturday, though there were parties both wednesday, friday, saturday and sunday in the week we stayed. We were never informered about this, nor the (very loud and late) fireworks the parties included. The Music volume were okay for sleeping though. We felt quite "in the way" when there were outside guests for the parties, and felt like the staff tended for their needs more than ours. During the days the pool bar were closed, and it was not possible to buy cold drinks. The breakfast were quite bad, only very hard bread with cheese and ham. Eggs, no sausage or bacon. Many types of cakes, though Scandinavians usually don't eat cake for breakfast, so it did not really help. Many of the staff members were almost impossible to communicate with, as they only spoke Italian, though they tried to help us the best they could. An OK hotel, but would not exactly recommend it to any of our friends.

    Nice pool area and view. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to Avellino and the highway. It was a good (and relatively cheap) starting point to Explore the Amalfi coast, Avellino, Napoli, vesuv and Pompeji IF you have a car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the weekends the hotel is also a party centre. We had to move in the middle of the night to an other room becouse of the terrible noise. The hotel staff could have informed us about this.

    Breakfast is good, location is good if you want to visit Napels, busstop is near. Hotel has lots of facilites, and own parking place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't receive a warm welcome due to language difficulties.

    Good breakfast included, lots of restaurants close by and quite close to Naples, Pompeii etc. but away from the hustle and bustle. Car parking great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    aircondition poor. hopeless fridge.

    Quit location, nice hotel surrounding. lots of restaurants and shops around. Good parking area. helpfull reception staff. Antonio sie GRANDE. if you like a quite hotel with good connections to visit Naples, Pompei, Capri and Amalfi Coast. this is the one.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great.

    Bathroom was great!! Decor was very nice. Breakfast was good. Loved the old fiat out front!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, smelt of cigarette smoke on the 2nd floor. Breakfast very poor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twisty road going up to it

    Lovely pool area and views. Nice meal in restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com gave wrong address which created us on the Austrada for 5 min no ticket at gate came thru got fined 5 mins later. We finally find hotel after numerous asking, I am allergic to cigarette smoke, non smoke room but wreaked of stale smoke in room, curtains etc. changed room but mildly better! 😨 Horrible had to shower to get smell out of skin & hair twice a day.

    Cuisine was amazing! One of the best meals in 3 weeks! Although staff not know much Englush & found quite abrupt. Doesn't matter what your language & understanding is, a smile goes a long way!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Avellino does not have a good taxi system, and it is alittle bit away from my place.

    Location: it is very close to the first stop out of the toll booth out of highway if you take naples-Avellino bus. Food is very good and relatively cheap.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little outdated.

    Nice friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit lonely in the hotel.

    Great location for site seeing Naples and the coastal towns.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Couple

    Staff so helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool is nice but watch out for them trying to charge you and extra 30 euro for actually using the pool.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice staff, room and restaurant.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: