Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Italia 4 stars

Via Di Piazza Del Popolo 13, 05018 Orvieto, Italy

#27 of 34 hotels in Orvieto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Location was perfect as was the staff, accommodations and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult as the hotel has no parking close by and is hit or miss. We got lucky and we paid a fee for the one spot in front. Do not know what we would have done without it. Trade off of being able to walk to everything vs parking.…

    Location was perfect as was the staff, accommodations and the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Location is excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent. Spacious terrace was unexpected but very welcome. I didn't have breakfast or eat any meals at the hotel so can't rate it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable room and bathroom. Noises from inside the hotel were amplified in the room. Curtains were ineffective. Four stars is certainly overrated.

    Breakfast was excellent. Location perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    The hotel smells,looks very oldfanioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was hardly smiling and very difficult to give instructions The breakfast room was very dull and there was no sound isolation at the rooms The bath tub was very small and the cleaning things poor in quality

    Τhe position was good for walking around but no good for a car

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Great time in a great town. Wished we could have stayed another night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car was parked by valet in small lot behind hotel. We had great difficulty exiting the parking lot. Narrow alley with cars parked in the alley by the gate. No valet service when we left which I don’t mind, but I needed a lot of help getting the car out through the gate and backing it down a long narrow alley because there was no maneuvering room and no way to turn the car around.

    Location was great. Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Very recommended hotel right in the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit complicated to get to the city center with a car. The gps didn't work well inside the city, and it took as a while to find a way to get with our car near the hotel. But- as soon as we parked, we could get everywhere by foot.

    This hotel is located in the center of the city- near many restaurants and shops. (The location is perfect). The hotel is very nice- the room was comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had an damp smell. Decor was tired. Could use a refresh of linens, blankets and towels. Pricey for what was offered.

    Room was large. Very central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    Orvieto beautiful,hotel grand Italia very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception very indifferent....didn't offer any advice on Orvieto at check in unless prompted...no map was offered Breakfast very disappointing cleanliness around the coffee machine disgusting....over our stay the table clothes weren't changed Coffee machine was not working properly Very overrated breakfast...bacon rashers looked like offcuts.. Bathroom so small it was difficult to move around...very out of date facilities No proper ventilation in bathroom Our room view very disappointing Cleaning staff were very helpful and helped us what the Heating rail in bathroom was malfunctioning.

    the entrance and foyer appeared very inviting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a wonderful medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had a limited view but we did not spend much time in the room or the hotel.

    The location was great. Parking was limited as would be expected in a medieval town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Very near the Saturday market and only a short walk to anything important to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was poor and very intermittent. When it was connecting at all, the bandwidth was very low, but more often than not it didn't allow any access at all. There was no shower curtain, so the bathroom floor tended to get wetter than the floor mat could absorb.

    Breakfast buffet was good. Mattresses gave good support and were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    A short but very sweet stay in this delightful hotel in the enchanting Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can think of that I didn't like was receiving an email from the hotel a few weeks prior to our arrival telling us we might not be able to have a room with a balcony. The way it was set up on Booking.com was that some of the rooms in our category had them and some did not. Since I booked several months in advance I requested a room with a balcony and had already received a reply that my request would be accommodated. So I sent the hotel a copy of this email and was overwhelmed on our arrival by our incredible room with it's fantastic balcony/patio.

    The pictures do not do this hotel justice. It was much more modern & elegant inside than I was expecting. We had a huge room with a huge patio overlooking lovely tile roofs and double doors overlooking the enchanting clock tower. Even though other patios were overlooking the valley below I believe we had the best view in the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cappuccino machine wasn't functioning properly in the breakfast room We had to park some distance from the hotel and walk with luggage. Perhaps we didn't understand where we were supposed to park. Not a problem for us, but may be for someone with mobility issues.

    Beautiful place, central location, fantastic views from room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Central location, good value, unremarkable complimentary breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet was not replenished, had little variety. Machine coffee was deplorable!

    very accommodating receptionist small room, but with natural light

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.5
    Orvieto is like a huge castle and almost self-contained.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the rooms, there could be extra power sockets for electrical devices such as laptops, tablets, phones etc.

    Orvieto is like a huge castle and almost self-contained. At first glance, one things the place is isolated but at a closer look, it have everything it needs. As for the Grand Hotel Italia, I found everything I needed there. I must give them high grades for cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    Decent hotel, great location, double beds are really just two twin beds pushed together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC did not work and the shower leaked so there was a little water damage. Also it said double bed but it was two singles pushed together. Main thing was no AC so it was hot and humid in the room at all times and we mentioned it but no one ever go to it. Though it was only a one night stay so not much time to fix. These things would be miner in a 3 star but 4 stars should have these things solved. I would say it was in the past a four star but currently feels like a 3. Lastly the whole room smelled like cleaning supplies, bleach and stuff like that just had an acidic mell to it which was hard to be around so had to air out the room, not a huge deal but you know.

    Great location, nice enough hotel, I would say 3 star not 4 star but it was still good. Staff was friendly when you saw them.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facilities ir iron in the room. For such a fabulous hotel the breakfast was very basic

    Location. Spacious Room. Comfy bed and pillows

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Great place to visit better than we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find but worth it.

    The personal attention at the front desk very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    A nice hotel in city centre close to great restaurants bars and sites to see in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City centre shops restaurants bars all great nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend this very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal attention

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable stay, central, with very helpful, English speaking desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had no fresh fruit or juice. Rather dreary.

    Desk staff extremely helpful. Room spacious and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Orvieto - Great destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple ramp for disabled guests.

    Convenience and within easy reach of local attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Spacious room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room and bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Orvieto elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and large hotel rooms in central Orvieto. This hotel had some history and style!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    Location, big terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean , dated

    Location, big terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    location good, and nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location good, and nice place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    The area was idyllic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk, eat & shop

    The area was idyllic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Hotel in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    The location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Charming taste of small town Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all!

    Loved the proximity to all the shops and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Visiting Orvieto
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too hard

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Location in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good Hotel in beautiful town Orvieto. Big bed for single people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our gps took down a very old narrow road off the top from the hotel. Just a warning.

    Location Hotel parking $15, paying a parking ticket , if you chance to get one,? Is $14 so we didn't feel bad about it.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    The room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff. Extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. Never said hello when I entered and exited hotel. Didn't warn me about video monitoring of cars--nonresidents cannot drive in certain places in town. You get a ticket if camera catches you, but hotel can register you with the police so you don't get a ticket. Fortunately, I didn't get a ticket (at least yet), but they knew I had a car and should have said something.

    The room was nice

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    Lovely room, large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not great. Staff helpful but sometimes hard to track down.

    Lovely room, large and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.6
    Lovely large room with great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the desk personnel were a bit standoffish.

    Lovely large room with great view.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    5.8
    Great Loaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast,

    Great Loaction

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    The location.
    • Solo traveller

    Everything worked well, but the atmosphere/charm of the hotel wasn't that special.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Very nice interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice interior.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Coffee at breakfast was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee at breakfast was not good. One must ask for capachino to be make on the machine rather than what is available in the dinning room.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.1
    The location in the to historical center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Air conditioning didnt work.

    The location in the to historical center.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: