Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5 stars

Via Stabia 500, 80057 SantʼAntonio Abate, Italy

#3 of 8 hotels in SantʼAntonio Abate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    It felt like a fairy tail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather in the morning just before our leaving started to pour down.

    I liked and enjoyed everything about the hotel itself location,staff service and specially the food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, close to Pompeii/Vesuvius.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel, close to Pompeii/Vesuvius. The hotel is very well maintained and it is used mainly for weddings. It has a very nice swimming pool but be aware that, in most days, it can only be used until 1pm. The family room was very clean and spacious – the only item missing was tea/coffee facility. The hot food served at breakfast wasn’t fantastic but if you stick with the lovely croissants, yogurt and fruits, you won’t be disappointed. Very nice & friendly staff – they treat you like you’re staying at a truly 5-star hotel! Overall a great experience! The kids loved the place – especially the hotel decoration, the swimming pool and the view to Vesuvius.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    2.9
    Do NOT stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Based on our experience this hotel in no way deserves 5 stars, maybe not even 2 stars We stayed at room 404 1 night incl breakfast, July 2018 Welcome drink was meant to be included because we have genius on booking.com (we never got any welcome drinks) Bad: -Check-in was slow, impersonal, noisy and they did not listen at all to what we said and did not focus on us at all. It was like we were a burden and not really welcome -They gave us no info at check-in (what time to check-out and what time breakfast would be served the next morning) -The hotel could not offer us the room we had booked on booking.com but only a room of lower standards. This could of course be an error by Booking.com but unfortunately it’s the hotel that comes across as unprofessional. The receptionist said he could give us the room a little cheaper than it normally cost (not much cheaper) and we said ok because we were tired and needed a room. But when we saw the room we were very disappointed and it was not worth the 100 euros we had to pay. - Our room had some kind of water damage in the cealing with huge stains -The television did not work (froze all of the time) -There was only one night stand lamp (3 person room) -There was dental floss in the bathtub -The small shampoo bottles in the bathroom was already opened and used -The showerhead was bad and the water sprayed all over the place -The showerhead and the faucet in the bathtub did not work together as they should because suddenly the water switched from the faucet to the showerhead resulting in water splashing everywhere -There was no ventilation in the bathroom so it was damp and wet everywhere -The toilet didn’t flush everytime -There was no info in the room (about, for example, during which time breakfast is served) -Aircondition did not work as it should and cooled only occasionally -No kettle, cups or tea in the room.

    Good: -View of Mount Vesuvius from the balcony was nice -Free parking in front of the hotel -Good WIFI -There was a refrigerator in the room -The hotel looks nice from the outside

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    a very aesthetic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was average and it was not fresh. As it is a 5 stars hotel, breakfast should be improved.

    The hotel is very aesthetic, it has a typical italian atmosphere and a lot of soul. The choice of materials in the hotel lobby and outside, the choice of furniture, the flowers and everything else is excellent. Nice swimming pool. Good value for money and kind staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    The service was fantastic and the family room was a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs a little more attention to increase the quality. It wasn’t bad but wasn’t great either.

    The service was fantastic and the family room was a great size and great value. Our kids loved it too as it is a hotel that is totally dedicated to a style of luxury that couldn’t exist anywhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Simply the best hotel you can go into you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit away from the sea but very well linked to motorway, easy access to Amalfi coast, Sorrento, Naples and the airport.

    Decorations are top. Simply the best place I have ever been. There is so much to see around this area you can make this hotel a perfect stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    Outdated and Excessive Noise,no room service,pool is used more like a fountain,midnight parties!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated,needs total renovation,Excessive Noise all the time,everynight there is a DJ party till midnight,sometimes continues after midnight,no room service,very basic breakfast,restaurant basically not working becouse its booked for the parties,noisy,noisy,would never come back!!!

    House cleanning was perfect.Large parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    An unforgettable experience, fantastic hotel with an amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary bottled water and coffee in room would have been nice. Extra and softer pillows required

    Croissants were so good, staff friendly and helpful, room and hotel is amazing. Jet tub was so good after walking so much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    A fun place to stay to get to Pompeii/Vesuvius/beach - what a shame about the pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Watch out for out of 'season' bookings (although not sure what the season is...) and use of the pool. We specifically booked this hotel for the pool for our children to have a bit of fun/cool down after all the historical visits. We had 4 days of good weather that we could have used it (20+ degrees is good enough for us!). the first day it was out of action due to a wedding on site. fair enough (ish), told we could use the next day. Next day we went ready in costumes and it was empty - being cleaned but we could use the next day. The next day there was a problem with the pumps - still empty.... etc till we left. The staff did try to solve it and took us to a sister hotel up the hill to use their small pool but my teenage daughter was not so keen on being the only swimmer being watched (literally) by 12 men and boys who interrupted their dining in the restaurant to stand in a line 2 meters away behind the glass in the restaurant and stare at us... super odd. They all disappeared when I went to take a photo of them...! A shame, and would have been nice to be told about the pool in advance/at the start rather than finding out every day that we couldn't use it....

    The staff were lovely and tried to solve the swimming pool issues that we had (below). Very clean and our room was big (a triple) and had a balcony which was lovely. As other reviews have said it is like a disney castle - rather out of place given the local surroundings but good fun and reasonably priced. The location is pretty good - about 30 mins to pompeii (we hired a car which I think you'd have to do to get anywhere) and 45 to the bottom of vesuvius. We wanted to use the nearby beach but it was awful - so covered in plastic :( and so instead went over the hills on the motorway (about 30 mins) to near Salerno which was a nice beach and much cleaner (but still not totally clean).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Very impressive but noisy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good, but dishes and glasses were dirty. Еvery day there were several weddings, and it was very noisy and hard to find a parking space

    Very impressive hotel near Vesuvius. Staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.6
    Unbelievable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never stayed in a 5 Star Hotel which would be a strong Competitor to Fawlty Towers. The staff in the Dining Room were incompetent, I ordered a Main Course of Yellowtail and expected Fish. The dish arrived and the waiter was unsure of it's origins eventually deciding on Veal. We were upgraded to a Suite but the toilet failed to flush on a number of occasions. We were charged 60 Euros for a taxi from Pompeii to the hotel which seemed excessive.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    It's Kitsch but very well maintained with attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast is a disaster and disorganised . For example , they heat the water for the tea on top of a toaster, it's all very faulty towers esque

    It's Kitsch but very well maintained with attentive friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful castle and luxurious atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Holding a wedding at the hotel must be nice - for those attending the wedding. For other guests it means not being able to go to the pool, not being able to walk around freely (although it was never explicitly forbidden to walk freely) and listening to partying and fireworks all night. I also didn't like it that they gave as a car ride to a close by swimming pool (because of the wedding) but did not come after us for over an hour when we called for them.

    Beautiful castle and luxurious atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    A true diamond in the rough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not exciting at all with eggs being the only warm thing on offer. You need a car to visit as it's quite far away from everything. We didn't enjoy nearly being hit by a firework whilst relaxing on our balcony!!! The hotel puts on firework displays for the wedding guests, they are timed fireworks shooting off from the balcony's. The staff did not tell us this and the fireworks had NOBODY manning them for safety. We were relaxing on our balcony when a firework shot over near where we were sat. I went to complain and felt like I was an inconvenience to the staff at reception - SO DANGEROUS and it could have ended VERY BADLY if I hadn't jumped out of the way!

    This palatial paradise definitely shines through its surroundings! It's an absolute dream hotel to stay at, completely unique with beautiful decor!! The staff were (mostly) friendly. There were two weddings on the two nights we stayed mid-week which made the hotel quite busy but everyone was dressed up so it felt quite fancy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a disaster. They weren't serviceminded at all. Didn't speak English, the food was not good, they served wrong wine, had people cleaning after a wedding and they smashed and sounded a lot. The parking were full of ants so we had to take the car to recond after.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed to find 5 start hotel with poor facilities as no clean pool, we had to go 1.3k to other hotel's pool, the breakfast was without fresh products, the hotel is function for weeding we had 3 weddings every night we stayed , very noisy!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Fun place for the family. Outside the busy Naples metroplex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding it was a bit of a challenge. Google maps got us close but took a route thru some back roads rather than stay in the main road. The main enterance, driveway to the main road, doesn't even show as possible on google maps. Even though the map has the hotel marked. If you are arriving at night give yourself extra time.

    Very friendly staff. Nice garden. Standard Italian continental breakfast was good. Excellent coffee and capaccino prepared by the staff at breakfast - we had to get seconds!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    Poor pool and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was open only in the morning and there was huge Bee nest next to pool. We told the staff but they didnt do anything.

    Thousands of bees around the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    A Palace as a Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished at 09:45 on a Sunday which I believe is too early.

    It is an 18th Century house 'palace' as your hotel - only seen the likes of its decor in historic museum places of look don't touch! Staff are incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    Grand, tacky and extremely ornate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather outdated and needed a lot of work to return it to a 5* standard. A bit unclean too in parts eg. the corridors. It's located close to Pompeii, but it would be very difficult to get to without a car as it's kind of in the middle of nowhere in terms of public transport. Breakfast was the worst I've ever had in a so-called 5* hotel.

    Grand, tacky and overtly ornate decor, which made a lovely entrance. Free ample parking. Great service from staff, who were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    the decoration of the property outside and inside .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    first of all MAINTENANCE of the rooms and in general. breakfast trying to be generous but missing the little importing things like having hot eggs, working toaster etc. the coffee. is bad .

    the decoration of the property outside and inside . style of late rococo. the staff made efforts to give you a good feeling.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff was top level especially the most lovly emma
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wedings that are almost every night can be disturbing if you go to sleep before midnight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashion, no taste at all. Very poor breakfast and very poor area

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Great design, clean and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit better

    Great design, clean and great service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Fun and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little lost

    Love the extravagant style Kitsch but fun Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful and clean hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of the way, no shops or restaurants to walk to and hotels restaurant menu quite basic and the same every day

    Beautifully clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel can be noisy because of the weddings take place in the hotel.

    A great hotel! and very good breakfast! great staff!! very helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic weird kitschy place with great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lacking atmosphere and care.

    Fantastic weird kitschy place with great food!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Very comfortable. Great location to visit Pompei
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food snacks in the mini bar fridge

    The bed was very comfy. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Extraordinary architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor for a 5 stars hotel...

    Extraordinary architecture... in front of the Vesuvio... Very large room including jaccuzy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is historical, so if you visit italy first time, this hotel could be life momories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without Car, it is not easy to reach.

    Hotel is very beautiful and safe. If you have car and planning to visit Pompeii & Sorento, it is best place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.5
    Too fake and Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too fake and Noisy No access to the swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited choice in restaurant, breakfast finished too early, pool opening times were limited and closed during weddings.

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Disney land
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the frequent weddings

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Pool not for use
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool CAN not be used after 1 PM due to ceremonies daily held Too bad We had the alternative to join another hotel located 10 min away

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful but uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television and lamps don't work

    Decoration is nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    The hotel was stunning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was a little out of the way . The bus service seemed to run when it felt like it .you had to travel a bit in order to do anything through areas that have seen better days .

    The hotel was stunning . The staff very helpful .

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.1
    "
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast was to be served until 10am staff started clearing off food from 9am !

    "The "kitschiness" of the whole place way OTT, one night here is plenty ,I love to people watch and it was fun looking at wedding parties but can get boring after 3!!! A good wedding venue only"

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.8
    This has to be the funniest hotel we have ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not that good

    This has to be the funniest hotel we have ever stayed at. A bit like a Disney fairy tale. This hotel has gone "over the top" but in a very cosy and calm way. Smashing hotel with a decor out of this World.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    Staff were so welcoming, it felt like a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little tricky to find for a tourist.

    Staff were so welcoming, it felt like a family. All rates were very reasonable. Everyone is justifiably proud of their grand hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When booking It does say a kettle is provided in the room, we didn't have one in ours, the staff were wonderful though, they bought a teapot of hot water whenever my husband wanted a cup of tea! No trouble at all. The bed was very firm, great if you like that sort of thing, we would have preferred something a little softer, but that's such a personal thing. The food from the restaurant here is very very salty. Beautiful ingredients just too liberal with the salt I'm sad to say.

    The staff were wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The best gem of the hotel! And that's saying something in such an opulent establishment. When we arrived on our first night, for our January honeymoon the restaurant was closing as it was so quiet but when we expressed an interest they were so accomodating, didn't even bother with a menu, could have what ever we wished for! We had a wonderful stay! The staff here feel so much like a family from the MD, to the singer who serenaded me, just because he wanted too as he was passing, to the cleaners. They all obviously love where they work and who they are working with. Highly recommend the junior suite. Worth every penny! We will be telling friends to stay here!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is magnificent and made even more so by comparison...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was maintenance time, and a few things weren't working, eg the spa in the room. Rattling leaking window, but there has to be some time of the year when these are attended to.

    The hotel is magnificent and made even more so by comparison to the surrounding areas. Well placed to see Pompeii from - which is why we stayed there, but we did have a car. Carmine in the dining room was wonderful and so welcoming, Rosalia at reception was a great help as was Julia. A few of the other staff could have made a bit more effort to be welcoming

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Excellent service , specially Antony at the reception and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit tricky to find this place in the town.

    Excellent service , specially Antony at the reception and another Antony from the restorant service , and staff at the bar make visitors feel special and always act professionally .

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff were excellent particularly Danilo at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At breakfast one domestic toaster is not sufficient, A pot for Tea would have been preferable, But the choice of food was good

    The staff were excellent particularly Danilo at reception

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel with a "special" style, the kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Eating in the hotel is expensive.

    Nice hotel with a "special" style, the kids absolutely loved the decorations, bed, ceilings ... The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Great place to stay and relax, while exploring the surroundings by car. Close to Pompeii and Vesuvius. The swimming pool is fantastic, especially in the hot summer.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.1
    A great place, reminded us of Portmeirion in a way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The real shame is that the surrounding district doesn't match up to the hotel and grounds and is a little down beat.

    A great place, reminded us of Portmeirion in a way. Everything is so ornate that it has a charm rather than being in bad taste. Some things are a little dated but it doesn't spoil the overall experience.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    amazing staff and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location and expensive food at the hotel so didn't eat there, but we did eat across the road at the local restaurant which opens at 7pm.

    amazing staff and lovely hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.1
    Very impressive hotel very clean and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location poor need a car to go around the amalfi cost. The bigger problem is that hotel is mainly used for weddings and parties which means you cannot use all of facilities and noice levels increase worst of all fireworks are let off at midnight which caused sleepness nighs for children. We were there 7 days and had interupted sleep for 4 nights with fireworks in hotel

    Very impressive hotel very clean and excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    Weird but kind of well, weird, stay if you are passing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weird but kind of well, weird, stay if you are passing and need a fun place to sleep (look at the 'architecture' in the pictures). Staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is good. They are renowned locally for weddings so be prepared for this at the weekends.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    4.6
    The receptionists were kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not have hot water for the first 3 days!!! No wifi!!! Nothing from the things that was written in the order confermation like- bathrobs, electric kettle, and more was not in the room, the room we got was not at all as in the picture or what was promise. The breakfast was poor and the coffee was watery and cheap. The staff at the dining room was not nice or carting. Very bad hotel. Ones was very rich but not anymore.

    The receptionists were kind and helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    Good service, helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower and crane in the bathroom could be replaced.

    Good service, helpful. Pizza made on the terrace! We liked all the weddings!! With check inn the ladies got a rose: it felt so welkome!!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    Hotel is absolutely beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are a lot of weddings and parties going on but we didnt mind. The shower was not working properly and wifi only worked if you were close to the reception

    Hotel is absolutely beautiful! Swimmingpool, nice decorations in room, even the annex building looked great, very good breakfast. The place islike a castle with a beautiful garden and fountains

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    The hotel excluding the room was very nice and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was maybe a 2 star and the hotel was very noisy due to the hotel having functions every night until very late.

    The hotel excluding the room was very nice and the location worked for us.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel staff always get you smiling and always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet does not work outside the rooms and the pool area shame

    Excellent hotel staff always get you smiling and always ready to Lazortmid gives us a feeling of family. Excellent reception staff with Mr. Danilo Abrasha and the other staff I do not remember their names. The dining room staff were always willing to help. I promise I will return to you in my next vacation in southern Italy

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.8
    Loved this hotel, with the Venetian styling and super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Furniture is a bit tired. Located about a 45 minute drive from Sorrento and Positano. Must have a car to stay here.

    Loved this hotel, with the Venetian styling and super friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.1
    Convenient location for day trips to Pompeii, Amalfi coast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neighborhood was very unappealing, congested and had little to offer except for its proximity to the highway access and Auchun shopping.

    Convenient location for day trips to Pompeii, Amalfi coast and Naples, but immediate neighborhood is congested, gritty and has little to offer. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, breakfasts above average and plentiful and the grounds were quite elaborate as well as the hotel and the pool was a pleasant surprise which I had all to myself both mornings I had the time to use.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.2
    We most enjoyed the level of service provided to us by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very firm. However, every hotel bed where we stayed in Italy had very firm beds.

    We most enjoyed the level of service provided to us by Antonio and Danilo. Both of these men made us feel as we were the only guests at La Sonrisa. The grounds and facilities are beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, adequate star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location could be better. Could have more variety at the breakfast.

    Excellent hotel, adequate star rating. Very nice garden with couple of small pools.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.8
    Incredible decoration in and outside of the hotel, typical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both internet computers were broken, the TV did not work. The hotel is not located in a beautiful area of the town.

    Incredible decoration in and outside of the hotel, typical for the area. Very friendly front desk. Had a fantastic lunch at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    The 12 year old in our party summed up the hotel when she...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The 12 year old in our party summed up the hotel when she said she felt like a fairy princess staying at this hotel. It is beautifully ornate and certainly value for money. There isn't much to do in the surrounding area but we were only using it as a base to visit Pompeii (15 min drive) so it was ideal for us. My only negative comment is there was a wedding reception being held in the grounds, and as beautiful as it was it did feel at times as if we were intruding.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    We made the right choice selecting junior suite overlooking...
    • Couple

    I was a bit cool in the room at night, but fortunately the outside temperature got warmer as the days went on.

    We made the right choice selecting junior suite overlooking the main square within the property. Gorgeous, beautiful view.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    I think it is a wedding hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If u dont have a car, u cannot reach the hotel.

    I think it is a wedding hotel. The staff was perfect. They tried to help us all the time we stayed in the hotel. The room is Venetian style decorated. Very big garden, free wifi, free brealfast, free park. I felt like i was in Vito Corleones's house:)

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.8
    The staff, service, our suite (wow).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only downside is the noise when they have parties/functions. I do appreciate that this is the core business for the hotel but 2:30 in the morning with music still playing is a bit much. Also the location leaves a bit to be desired - the surrounding villages are a bit scruffy and very busy.

    The staff, service, our suite (wow). So clean and truly beautiful. If you are not a night owl ask for a quiet room. You will sacrifice the view of the pool and vesuvius but you will at least get a good night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    Danilo,Antonio and two of the other male staff Both very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It would be good if staff wore badges. It would be good to have some information in the room, Eg breakfast times, room service menus, times to use the pool, where to find areas of the hotel etc.

    Danilo,Antonio and two of the other male staff Both very tall with good English but I didn't Catch their names were very professional and helpful. Alexander was the perfect chauffeur to and from the station as we didn't have a car. I went with my son so we could visit Pompei, Opolontis etc and the rail way was a 45 minute walk so the shuttle between the two was very helpful. The location isn't ideal but Alexander is there to sort that out and is very reliable. Great spa baths in the room.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    7.9
    Public areas in perfect condition, the overall image of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast and some of the facilities were not up to 5star level. Partly due to material used, the noise isolation was not proper.

    Public areas in perfect condition, the overall image of the hotel. Perfect if you travel by car.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    8.8
    As a very regular hotel user around the world, I really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As other guests have commented, the surrounding town to the hotel is rather less than salubrious. However, once within the grounds all that fades away and you are enveloped in the magnificence of the hotel and it's wonderful staff.

    As a very regular hotel user around the world, I really place value on the quality of the staff care and attention. this hotel has to rank among the best I've ever stayed in. All the staff were attentive, friendly, helpful, and unceasingly happy and smiley! In particular our waiter, Antonio was a joy to meet. The hotel itself is quite magnificent, the decor and interiors lend a feel of luxurious high Italian splendour, all very carefully maintained and looked after. We throroughly enjoyed our stay at La Sonorisa and would be more than happy to return and recommend to others.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    9.2
    The food was great, the decor of the public spaces was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The drive down from the motorway was a bit unpleasant, lots of traffic and potholes, and narrow roads. Hotel a bit empty in February, but the couple of events on brought it to life.

    The food was great, the decor of the public spaces was splendidly over the top. The staff were warm and good.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    3.8
    location pleasant for everything around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booked a suite got a double room outstandingly noisy no fitness, no spa, no sauna shape of room not very well, dirty shower did not work properly

    location pleasant for everything around

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    The hospitality of the staff and the unique decoration of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The surounding area.

    The hospitality of the staff and the unique decoration of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    7.5
    Interesting Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Interesting Great hotel

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    5.0
    Staff went out of their way to help but they were challenged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff went out of their way to help but they were challenged

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Quirky hotel which made it an experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed and pillows very hard:-(

    Quirky hotel which made it an experience. The whole family loved the pool. Great value last minute deal.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Excellent staff thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent staff thanks!!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast poor,room facilities inadequacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast poor,room facilities inadequacy

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Everything is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything is perfect.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel La Sonrisa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: