Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Menaggio 4 stars

Via IV Novembre 77, 22017 Menaggio, Italy

#6 of 10 hotels in Menaggio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a stuffy type smell, but this didn't last.

    Great view, lovely building, free parking, great restaurant. The hotel is a little dated but still nice, like a 1990s Maserati.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ventilation quit after the first day so room got a bit stuffy.

    We had a room with a terrace overlooking the lake. The ferry terminal is around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus parties. The restaurant was not what we wanted and the "a la carte" restaurant was not open on the two nights we stayed.

    Our room had a view of Lake Como. The ferry terminal was next to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in Menaggio is fantastic as you are right next door to the ferry terminal to catch the ferry to Bellaggio, Verana or anywhere else really. The staff at the hotel were friendly, though a few were a bit abrupt and didn't realise I speak fluent Italian so could understand them when they muttered inappropriate comments. The breakfast and dinner is very limited and was more catered towards the elderly British that seem to overrun the hotel when we were there. The hotel is close to many restaurants in the piazza at menaggio. I'd highly recommend taking a ride on the little train...very scenic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We did feel it was overpriced partly due to lack of other hotels in Menaggio. They served coffee as soon as you arrived at your table therefore it was usually cold by the time you were ready to drink it.

    The hotel location is great...especially for the ferry terminal and it is an easy walk into town. The fact that the dining room, terrace and swimming pool look directly onto Lake Como is lovely and very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very very old and poorly maintained. It is terrible value for the money. Bathroom was worst, with pealing paint and silicon filler everywhere. Breakfast terrible. Would not recommend to anyone. We have bin to many hotels in Italy, so I know what to expect..

    Good parking facilities and nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't eat in the restaurant, it's not very good. The surrounding are has much better local cuisine.

    The location, surroundings, and overall feel of the property is perfect!! The hotel is slightly dated, but it is still classy and charming!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not kitted with an iron and upon request we were refused to have one in the room for insurance reasons. They do offer ironing service but this is sporadic and expensive. The room does not have tea&scoffer making facilities, if you want these you call room service, yet another cost! The only hotel in the world I've know not have these as standard facilities, spoilt our stay as it would of cost too much to have all of our clothes ironed.

    Beautiful lake view room, bed very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fine, but seemed a little dated.

    Very friendly staff. Allowed us to check in early upon arrival and also stored our luggage for us the day we checked out early for a day of sight seeing in the area.Short distance and easy access to hotel from both the public bus stop and ferry, landing. Beautiful view from poolside and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in pool could have been warmed. Jacuzzi was not easy to use. Breakfast could have been more extensive.

    Excellent location. Amazing views. Beautiful interior.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The custom of guests claiming sunbeds with towels by 7am each morning - and then most were unoccupied for rest of the day.

    The amazing scenery. Helpful and courteous staff. Lake view from room. The pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny, though nicely finished, one could hardly move around in it.

    Beautiful, classic, old world charm. The hotel's interior is a mixture of modern comfort and classic finishes which captures the historical grandeur of Lake Como. Sitting on a lounge chair, looking directly onto lake Como, is a visual treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in the bathroom. Club next to hotel was noisy on Friday and Saturday Evening meals were generally very good quality but very conservative

    Wonderful location. Good room with outstanding view over the lake. Breakfasts were excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should've been a few more options for the breakfast buffet

    The room was extremely comfortable and very cosy The view was fantastic The facilities were great The staff was always helpful and kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What was there not to like !!! Just Fabulous!

    We stayed 4 days, we were extremely well looked after. We loved this Hotel . Special thanks to Aramis (concierge) Roberto and team ( Restaurant ) If we ever return to Lake Como, we will certainly return to the Menaggio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The Rooms are adequate but not special, style is very old fashioned, and not worth the money really, as we were disappointed with the room we were giving we up graded to a suite, which although £80 more was a better room, with a balcony. Staff on reception bit miserable not really welcoming, staff in restuarant a bit better but this place should be more welcoming, we felt like we were putting them all out by being there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing, it seemed to be very standard and not what you would expect from a 4* hotel. There was not a large range of food (for example only a couple of Danish pastries) The milk for the coffee seemed to be something like UHT rather than fresh milk.

    The view is amazing! We were in room 312. On the third floor we had French windows and a wraught iron railing so we could have the full benefit of the view. The room is comfortable, bathroom has a good shower and a shelf to put everything on. The hotel is very convenient for the ferry as it is next door. One time we bought tickets for the ferry but had to wait 40 mins so we went back to th hotel and wait there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel. Really enjoyed our stay. It's not a cheap option but the hotel is right on the lake. It has a swimming pool, although not a proper beach on the lake. There is a dock, with steps to the right of it, where I managed to dip in. Water was quite cold but refreshing on a hot day. The ferry terminal is just next door so very convenient to get across the lake. Rooms look much better than in photos. Staff were very helpful. Good breakfast with some strong coffee. We had dinner one evening at the hotel restaurant. 4-course dinner for 45 euros which is not bad for lake Como. The windows of the restaurant open so you feel like you are eating your dinner in the garden. There was some live music outside some of the evenings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table d'hote menu was very average and overpriced. Restuarant staff at dinner, very slick ... too slick! Place order, food delivered, eat .. next course, eat. Little time to enjoy surroundings and food. More like a fast food restuarant. Get the people IN fed and OUT again ready for the next person.

    Wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the Lake. Well kept grounds with a swimming pool. Bar served excellent coffee. Good shower, not having to step into a bath.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room; no tissues in the bathroom. The breakfast choices could have been better, together with the coffee at breakfast time.

    The wonderful view; the swimming pool; right next to the ferry

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was very poor and the evening meals were on a fixed menu. A la carte menu with greater choice would have been better

    Location,ni9ce hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in the room didn't work we came late to our room we tried to call no one pickup , luckily the weather was nice we open the window , however is get very noisy early in the morning , I guess it just our bad luck

    Location is good in menaggio ..next to the ferry station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't very clean and there was no complimentary bottle of water - after a long drive it's what I was looking forward to! The bedding was strange - probably not very clean as it was a woolen blanket. The bed and pillows were very hard and quite uncomfortable

    The aspect of the room was fabulous. Also the decor was gorgeous. Breakfast was lovely. And the location was outstanding, along with the pool and garden area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is far away from the city center what makes the transportation between the hotel and center a little bit difficult

    great location, so romance views from the windows,excellent place, Thank you

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the scrambled eggs or the fact that we had to pay extra for boiled eggs. Did not like our 4th floor room which had the bedroom upstairs from the rest of the room. First step was somewhat dangerous in the middle of the night.

    Nice open air restaurant for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, is very poor standard especially as it promotes itself as a gastronomic experience - well it depends on what sort of experience you were after I guess. Would completely disagree with the four star rating. It's a big hotel which caters for large tour parties and it shows. Not my cup of tea for certain.

    Good location and nice view but noisy from the ferry coming and going which is just below the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were very satisfied with the accommodation service and staff, and would recommend the Menaggio hotel to those requiring a restful stay.

    There was five in our party to celebrate our 50th anniversary with our daughter, son in law and granddaughter who was three.The staff were extremely helpful, especially to our granddaughter. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff excellent, great food. My only complaint the beds were hard and the pillows horrible, when asked for softer pillows there was a definite no reply . We bought some at the local shop!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like many of the hotels on Como, it's been around for a long time and rests on its laurels. Some things are very old fashioned and the restaurant was dreadful. Overpriced set menu and the food was sub par. There are plenty of other places to eat in Menaggio so don't waste a meal in the hotel.

    Great location, beautiful grand old hotel. Front desk staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No greeting by the staff on arrival, just asked for our passports. The staff seem to have an attitude to anybody that is not Italian. We stayed on a B&B basis, this was the worst breakfast I have ever had, It was the same thing every morning with no variation, cold overcooked greasy bacon, cold scrambled egg, tinned fruit that looked like it was just topped up each day, the worst coffee out of a machine I have ever tasted. There were bread rolls, cheese, ham and jam and cakes but little else. The worst thing was the usual sunbed 'bagging'. This wouldn't be too bad until you see the porters running around like headless chickens first thing in the morning saving them in the best places for their favourite clients who most of the time didn't use them. The pool is not heated although it is a good size. There are no parasols and don't even think of moving the sunbed onto the grass. I think you would get better value elsewhere.

    The location was excellent with a lake view. The ferry terminal is right next door. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, but make sure you buy tickets at the newsagents or anywhere there is a big T sign before you use it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough beds around the pool. Most beds had towels on long before breakfast. Breakfast poor for a four star hotel. Juice was from a concentrate and not good if you didn't like grapefruit. No orange at all during the week I stayed. Lots of the the fruit was from a tin not fresh. Tea and coffee self serve which is unusual for a four star. Not much atmosphere around the hotel.

    Lovely location on the lakeside. Bar staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use an extra place to lay out suitcases.

    The location of the hotel was very convenient since we arrived by ferry/ traghetto. The pool location overlooking the lake was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhat overwhelmed by UK pensioners on coach tours. Numbers in hotel resulted in lack of personal service at dinner especially - you felt part of a conveyor belt as food came out. Bedroom dated. Bar closed early and in any event did not feel comfortable for an evening drink. Good bar in town on square compensated. Much nicer staff at latter! Over complicated electronic door key. Also electrics in room badly affected in storms.

    Location beside lake and boat terminal. Meals OK. Breakfast lovely when large doors to terrace towards lake were opened

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    requested and paid extra for a room with a lake view, had aroom on fourth floor, this was a split level room with very dangerous stairs and a balcony with limited view, there was a jacuzzi type bath with only a hand held shower head walk in shower would have been more appropriate, the room smelled of food

    location was excellent. breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no shower, we tried to change room and the only room with a shower was pokey and dark with a letterbox style window. This was not an uncommon complaint while we were there. Some of the front of house staff were surly and porter staff scruffy, the hallways were filthy and maids would try to enter your room at 8:30am (with no Do Not Disturb signs). Shocking value at almost £200 per night

    The location was great and the exterior of the building and pool area where great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a superior room with a view of the lake which was very nice. However, you need to know that these rooms come with a spa bath (good if you like them) but no shower.

    We were very pleasantly surprised by the dinner menu in the hotel restaurant. We enjoyed 4 evenings in and would recommend it. The hotel is very conveniently located for the jetty used by ferries and cruise boats that criss cross Lake Como.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor was a little tired and dated.

    Great location and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect setting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of pillows and lighting bathroom. Also breakfast could have been better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was renewed with beautiful geen blue fabric. View from balcony was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was only a 5min walk to bars n cafe's . Large bathroom . Comfy beds . Very clean . Great pool area .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No shower in bathroom! Had to sit in bath to use shower head.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was only a hand held shower

    Fantastic view, breakfast was good and the swimming pool was in a lovely setting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    location lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Pool right on the lake. Good sized rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The staff is excellent. The food is excellent. Location on the lake perfect. ok thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No shower in bathroom! Separate complaint to be made. Not enough sun loungers for the demand.

    The view. The bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location and exceptional view form the dining room and breakfast areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom would have been good.

    Location and the service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely rooms, elegant hotel, amazing views in quaint town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room over looking noisy busy road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor breakfast selection and no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Lake view, clean rooms and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't manage to get the air conditioning right, was too cold.

    the view was stunning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ferry crossings after 9pm

    The view from our hotel room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh orange juice at breakfast !

    Pool and terrace area were lovely. View from room was amazing .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is aged and needs an uplift to justify its 4 stars

    Location, staff and view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff and fantastic location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff not attentive

    View

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee making facility in room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds

    Friendly and professional staff Well run hotel Location View

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lake view and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little hard and uncomfortable.

    View was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Location. Great Dining room. Knowledgable staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could do with updating

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, clean rooms, good kitchen

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds and pillows a bit hard.were

    Fantastic room, very helpful staff, great setting

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited bar service particulary during the day round the pool

    Beautiful location, enjoyed a restful stay. Everything within an easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shower in the bathroom. Considering that the pollution of the Lake could be a problem, showers would use less water.

    Location, food, staff, all very good, no complaints.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location of this hotel is perfect. Menaggio is very cute! Well situated next to the ferry stop - and just a short walk to the town square . Its a traditional Italian hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was very dusty and musty. Staff unfriendly, pool unheated, breakfast very poor to say the least. About 10 steps down into the hotel, no porter to help with luggage. Hotel full of bus loads of elderly English folk, a bit like Fawlty Towers really. They wanted $100 Euro a night to change to a room with a balcony!

    The location is good, right next to the ferry terminal.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    End of season. A la carte restaurant closed for season. Main restaurant slightly disappointing.

    Old world charm. Beautiful balcony room on an upper floor overlooking Lake Como. Location fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower/or bath arrangement. Badly designed rooms even with new shower. Hard bed mattresses. Should have comfort topping at least. No Tea making facilities

    Location Food Helpfulness at reception Helpful chambermaid

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a lovely hotel situated right on Lake Como. It is super close to the ferry dock and also bus pick up. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was great and the restaurant has a lovely view of the lake.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menaggio is very limited when it comes to entertainment. There are only a handful of restaurants and shops and there is nothing going on in the hotel itself.

    The location of the hotel was right on the lake which was lovely.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Menaggio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: