Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Minareto 5 stars

Via Del Faro Massolivieri 26A, 96100 Plemmirio, Italy

#8 of 25 hotels in Plemmirio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 442 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, shame about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High priced food in poolside bar which was simply awful - in contrast to much less expensive meals in Ortigia which were fabulous.

    Location great, staff great, high comfort level

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel with fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large resort right on the coastline overlooking Ortigia. Two beaches that offered a rocky cove as well as a sandy beach. The staff are great, assist you with everything including driving you around on a little golf cart with your bags. The restaurant overlooking the sandy beach was great - the food was very good and the waiters were on point.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Loved everything about this place, when we checked in they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this place, when we checked in they surprised us and upgraded us to a villa with private spa and pool, it was perfect only the weather was not, so we didn’t get to enjoy. So the problem was we thought we had booked for 2 nights only to get a call the next day saying you haven’t checked out ( my fault I only booked one night some how) reception said no problem the room was free anyway so all good. So we thought we were getting charged 306 euro for 2 nights great value now not sure what we would get charged. I checked booking.com and they had a special on for 185 euro for the night. When we checked out we were very disappointed they charged us 600 euro and would not even give us the discount that was advertised, he said but you stayed in the villa which is a lot more so we are changing you normal room rate. We didn’t ask to be upgraded and the room was available anyhow. So in the end we paid but it did put a damper on this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful property, ideally located at a town, but close enough to enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior could use some updating, especially the walls need repainting in rooms with dark colors.

    Stunning location facing the historic Syracuse, with — not one, but two— private beaches. Outside the hustle of the city, a perfect relaxing vacation. Very clean and excellent service without being overbearing. Really a fabulous place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    fabulous property in a marvelous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    prices for drinks and food at the resort are too high

    fabulous property in a marvelous location. on the one hand views onto the old town of Siracusa. on the other hand a beautiful small sandy beach protected from waves and wind

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Quiet and romantic relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful surroundings, quiet and restful atmosphere. Ideal for romantic trip with a loved one. Private rocky beach with a nice view. Close to public sandy beach. Good breakfast with a great selection of fresh fruits. Nice restaurant, beautifully located, with a see view. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Huge problem with flies currently in this region. However, the amount of flies decreased over the stay and the hotel was well aware of the problem tried to fight it You need a car to properly see the region; shuttle bus to Syracuse is offered but times are sub-optimal food at the pool area was a joke

    Sandy and rocky beach offer lovely spots to spend the day Staff is great and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 days staying, the swimming pool is filled with smell of Chlorine, hurting eyes/skin/hair..., no way to stay inside room for 3 persons, provided too little toilet paper/shampoo not enough for use

    great view the welcome fruit plate some old employees as good as 2 years ago

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Luxury dream to repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect

    Amazing hotel. An hidden gem in the heart of Eastern Sicily: phenomenal beach in a stunning private bay; very beautiful terrace with sunset view. Excellent breakfast with traditional pastries as well as all the facilities you would expect in a luxury hotel. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We had the chance to enjoy beautiful sunset drink even if the terrace location was reserved for a wedding (thank you Direttore!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Be aware its quite far from Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room is rather small and somewhat dark “Balcony” of room had no any view and neighbours all around Decor and materials of room and premises (internal) are questionable, somewhat old Far from Siracusa! By car maybe 20 minutes Boat to Siracusa first was declared at 10 eur, final price was 30 eur one way

    Good beaches and views Ok staff Good amenuties in the room Good food in the restraunt dinner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing hotel with a beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If a hotel wants to classify itself at the luxury 5 star level, then it must be ready to be judged amongst its peers at that level. This is not a 5 star luxury hotel! The one bedroom suite (241) we were in was horrifically decorated in shiny Laquered black with silver furniture and silver & black wallpaper. It was so outdated, dark and tacky. The beds and pillows felt like concrete. The bathroom did not have a built in shower, but a small and cheap readymade one slapped in. The suites have so much potential to be beautiful and charming, especially with their extraordinary views. It’s perplexing what happened with the interior design! The most dated parts of the hotel which need a complete overhaul are the reception building which is a throwback to the 80’s and 90’s with red leather furniture, light polished floors that look like they should be in a bathroom and black laquered furniture with mahogany coloured wood feature walls. The formal restaurant is equally offensive with bright cold white lighting on at full force. The swimming pool area was not beautifully done and looked like a public swimming pool. The saddest thing was the state their beach was in. There is a small perfect crescent sized beach on their property. I was told that half of it belonged to the hotel and the other half was public. The hotel’s side was fairly well kept but we were still running into broken plastic containers, bags and miscellaneous trash on the beach and in the water. When I informed the front desk about this, they sent someone quickly, however, this man told us that it was not the hotel’s responsibility to clean up anything on the public side of the beach. (He was kind enough to clean things up a bit for me and should bear none of the blame for the hotel’s disinterest at keeping the beach looking it’s best). This seems absurd considering how small the beach is and that the garbage from the public side was clearly making its way over to the Hotel’s side.

    The view from our balcony towards Ortigia was stunning! The grounds were quite nice and well landscaped. Staff at the restaurant were fantastic, kind and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    special place! peaceful with stunning view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great place! We had perfect room with best view possible, the staff was very friendly, the privet sandy beach its awesome! The view is stunning and i think now in the low season is a perfect place to be. I would like to say special to the staff for free upgrade! This is how to be a great Italian!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Criticalvoyagers.com
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Everything is amazing. The staff is the best. The view. The private spa. I wish i could Stay more . The best place to stay on Sicília

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful but very over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything came at an extra cost, and a rather large cost at that. We were on our mini moon and struggled to completely enjoy ourselves because the food and room service were extortionate and because the hotel was so far from anywhere, it was difficult to go out to eat. Highly recommend hiring a car, particularly as the taxi to and from the airport was €150 each way. There were quite a lot of flies at the pool and loads on the beach. Best to go to the rocky beach to avoid them. Staff were very nice but not overly attentive, they did not go out of their way to help us despite us telling them it was our honey moon. The room was small and dark but clean. We definitely thought it was overpriced for what it was. The air con made us both ill. I am never usually one to complain but feel this was worth mentioning considering the price we paid to stay here.

    Views, rocky beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the atmosphere is very cold, horrible style, everything is very steril at the season it must be very crowded, in November the beach was full, so I can imagine it in July or August... at the pool bar the food is horrible and very expensive and the staff is not so nice. go to syracusa for eating! there are many great restaurants. next time we are going to a smaller family place. no need for cleaning twice a day room is quite small for three

    breakfast is great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Awesome views and Beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant for dinner was awful...I'm sure it's the reason I had digestive system issues for the rest of our trip...very disappointing with poor service and mediocre food. For us, it was amazing that such a beautiful hotel that is exceptional in every other way had such a terrible restaurant.

    The beach is outstanding. Our room was really nice right on the water. Parking was ample and easy to access. The staff was very good. A very nice place with beautiful views of Siracusa and Mt. Etna. Very close to many interesting places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    It was one of my best holidays ever ! I have spent very relaxing days in the Grand Hotel Minaretto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The sunbed covers in the pool area were somehow greasy (sticky from suntan lotion and sweat -- :-(((( ...and didn`t only look very nice anymore ...

    One has the choice of three well maintained places to swim: a wonderful LARGE swimming pool, an area to swim in the mediterranean by the rocks with inviting sunbeds spread on various rocklevels and a terrific almost private beach with floating sunbeds. Plus 2 stunning, illuminated whirl-pools overlooking the spectacular bay area of Syracusa. What a treat!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    - View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Dark and small room - No free water, no welcome drink, no fruits in room - No serving on terrace - Pool area boring - Overpriced food and drinks - 30 minutes waiting time for checkin - Housekeepung left dirty cleaning rag in my open suitcase! - Fast driving around of housekeeping: loud, dangerous, stinky

    - View - Garden - Beaches - Breakfast on terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Great for relaxation, just go by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location demands a car as there is nothing close and boat shuttle is expensive

    Excellent staff, good clean comfortable room, good to very good breakfast, sandy and rocky beach. Amenities were also nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    The only thing worth staying at that hotel is the beach and view. Everything else is a ripoff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and staff was very unprofessional, unfriendly and incompetent. You would expect a 5 stars grand luxe hotel to be more flexible and friendly at 1030am time when breakfast closes. At 1032 they wouldn't accept to serve coffee, they were packing everything and refused to carry the coffee to my outside table although 5 waiters were standing inside. I had to beg to have a coffee served and carry it on a platter for 20 meters outside. The burger at the pool was simply disgusting! Only one staff at the beach and no service. It was a very disappointing experience overall. Some of the staff was smelling alcohol.

    Beautiful beach !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    We left after two nights, despite having paid for seven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The larger rooms all face in to the car park and the 'monolith' restaurant, which no-one uses. The whole design is very poorly thought out. The staff were very few. Service was poor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel still with a little room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a hotel of this calabah I wouldn't expect to see such veachles used to supply the towels toiletries etc in such bad state of repair. At first we thought they were abandoned cars. As a guest we shouldn't get to see this, it brings the hotel standards down with a bang! They should consider using buggies with the logo of the hotel similar to the Ones used to transfer the guests from reception to their rooms. Also could you consider a separate kids pool?

    Facilities, location, staff cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    A gem along the sea overlooking the Island of Ortigia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are not particularly happy with buffets, but the staff provided us with a private a la cart dinner on our last night stay. We would definitely return to this hotel if we visit Siracusa again!

    This hotel's view of Ortigia and the layout of it's landscape and rooms were superb and was one of the top hotels during our vacation of Sicily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    Lovely location. Water taxi to the old town was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms Better selection of bathroom products needed. More up to date. No bar staff. Needs an outside bar. Poor breakfast. Dreadful cooked options. Waited for coffee . Hard to flag someone down. Towel tickets ?? Really ? 5 star hotel. More sunbeds needed and a pool service required for food / drinks orders. Asked for a restaurant recommendation on our last night ( Thursday ) and lady at reception recommended a place and placed booking for us. Had told her it was a special occasion for us. Dreadful place. Burgers and chips on menu. We didn't stay but struggled to find anywhere to eat. For a 5 star hotel , you'd expect there to be a concierge present to help appropriately.

    Lovely location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Staff are very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was toooo hard and most images on line show the Modern rooms that are of higher class only one image of the standard rooms which we stayed at. all rooms should be at the same standard and as modern, our room was very classic or old in terms of design. Breakfast was not great.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly. Everything was super clean. The beach and view are amazing !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    beaches, water taxi to Ortigia is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the stuff is friendly, but mainly unprofessional, none of those who are working on reception speak or at least understand English..

    beaches, water taxi to Ortigia is great! breakfasts are good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    At least Im happy the kids loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not 5 star quality Food was not 5 start quality Somehow, the Italian charm was lost. Felt like a "everying included" resort, and a bit run down at that.

    Rocky beach was 5 star quality- gorgeous with phenominal views of Ortigia

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -Bedroom size - the smallest room we have ever stayed in outside a city centre hotel with just enough room to walk around the bed -Wardrobe and drawer space - less than 2m sq wardrobe space - totally inadequate for 2 people and only 4 hangers -No space in bedroom to store luggage -No ambience or atmosphere in the lounge/bar areas -Breakfast - poor service (waiters did not greet or acknowledge us when we arrived, we were only offered tea/coffee twice in 7 days, there was a limited choice and poor quality food, particularly cooked food of which there were only 3 options, one of which, the scrambled eggs, looked inedible) -Dinner - we ate in the hotel bar on our first night again but again this was marred by poor service (service chaotic and waiting staff not particularly friendly, after waiting 30 mins we had to ask to for our order to be taken, we asked twice for a second bottle of water, we were never asked if we wanted to order more drinks, we had to flag down a waiter to ask for the dessert menu and from receiving the dessert menu to our desserts arising took an hour), food was OK but overpriced for the quality. We ate out of the hotel for the rest of our stay. -Hotel bar - no bar staff in attendance, we asked at reception and it took 10 mins for a waiter to arrive, we asked for an orange juice and a local white wine which he had to then go and retrieve from elsewhere in the hotel -All in all, not at all what you would expect from a hotel that is classed as 5* deluxe, particularly the level of service and attentiveness of waiting staff at dinner and breakfast

    -Good sized and comfortable bed -Pool area - large pool, in the sun all day, comfy sun loungers and large umbrellas -Lovely view from the hotel terrace across the sea to Ortigia and of the sunset -All of the pool staff and staff working in the pool bar/cafe were very friendly -Bathroom size good in comparison to the room size

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Very nice pool and beach, but at a distance from Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodations are scattered over a wide area in a confusing pattern. My room was quite small but it did have a terrace with a nice partial sea view. Parking was very crowded in a small area near the reception building. I did not like the steep ramp (without hand rails) through a tunnel leading to the sandy beach. The location is a trade-off: it is at a beautiful spot with good swimming, but about a 25 minute drive from Siracusa on narrow roads. I ate a light dinner at the hotel restaurant one night. The food was good, but the service was indifferent.

    Beautiful pool and nice views of rocky shore and beach. Snack bar at at pool had good food and service. Room furnishings were quite nice, although the furniture was sparse. Breakfast was very good. WiFi worked well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Not a 5* experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks service was appalling. Dirty plates left uncollected around the pool, no barman in sight, very average food for a 5* price. And no other restaurants nearby!

    The grounds were beautifully kept and the view was lovely. Our room was okay but fairly small.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    The private beach inside the natural reserve is worth the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Services, but especially the food and the restaurant are not what you expect from a 5 star hotel in Italy. It's a shame because the beach and the position are pushing you to spend all the time inside the resort but at the end, the restaurant is so disappointing that you have to take a ride to the city center to get some decent food.

    The private beach inside the natural reserve is worth the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice property with beautiful views over the Sea and the bay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is far from everything, so if you don't have a car, forget about it.

    Nice property with beautiful views over the Sea and the bay of Syracuse. You can see Ortigia and, on clear days, the shadow of Mount Etna behind it. We appreciated the nice sandy beach, excellent breakfast. A nice place to relax and unwind for a few days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have milk in the fridge in the room for our tea (very English request!) but as soon as we asked we were given some.

    Wonderful staff from reception to the beach attendant to the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant. Everyone was so kind. We loved it. Beautiful spot with great facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Magestic views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room had a view on the wall and construction side which made it noisy at times. Be sure you get a sea view room, it must be a totally different experience. There was lots of garbage in water. Once when I saw a syringe with a needle swimming around in the sea. I guess it's not only a hotel's problem, but was unpleasant anyway. Jacuzzi were not particularly clean in the evenings.

    Beautiful views of Siracusa from the promenade, private beach access, overall cleanliness, friendly staff, especially during breakfast times and on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.2
    Hotel unable to live up to its "Grand" title, more like a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pricey, poor service, breakfast terrible, needing to provide a voucher to exchange for a poor quality beach towel, dirty sun loungers, free shuttle to town too infrequent (2 x per day and only 7 seats available), dismal atmosphere, seemingly endless rules on whether you can or cannot use a tray for breakfast. Not recommended at all (unless it is reclassified to a 3 star hotel and priced accordingly).

    Lovely sea view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably worth noting that it's a little isolated (6/7km to Ortigia) so a few nights is enough but well worth a visit if you want to lounge!

    Great hotel. Private beaches and amazing pool. The staff were really nice. breakfast was also amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Simply the best property in Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Simply the best overall property in Sicily. I have been coming for ten years and the only other property that comes close is the Verdura in Sciacca

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic sea view, new facilities close to Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    neighborhood disorganized and somewhat dirty architecture not well integrated to the environment and region

    Great sea view, nice staff, good breakfast, new facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.8
    It's okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were tacky and the bedding wasn't great quality. They are trying hard but the resort is a 6.5 out of 10.

    The view was lovely, and the building quality was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Good place but not 5* (very good 4*)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the hotel is not new and you can see it. The staff is driving around with the cars (not golf cars) all the time and that is pretty annoying. Personnel is not always at their place (for example beach reception). As a result: we enjoyed our stay, but this is not 5* :)

    Calm place, great view, proper breakfast, big room, nice and friendly personnel (except for cleaning ladies)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    recomendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beach was beautiful and clean, personal from the bar was also helpful. Brekfast was great and reach of different products as well as bonus such as frozen yogurt. Extremely clean and comfortable. Overall a very nice experience in a beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice, but not nice enough for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is complaining at a high level, but the Hotel Claims 5 Star Deluxe status and has to be measured against that. - Restaurant: The prices are 5 Star Deluxe, the food itself is good, but not that great. A simple dinner with Starter and 2nd course, Water and one Glas of (House-)Wine set me back 54,- EUR and i was still a little hungry. Restaurants nearby can only be reached via Taxi and, this being a tourist area, are not that cheap either. - Beach/Pool: The beach looks nice, but has a rocky floor once yo get in and is really shallow, you have to get pretty far out to really swim. Both are also just open from 7 am to 7 pm, so evening swims are out. Both mornings life guard showed up at the beach a few minutes late. There is also no facility to clean the sand of your feet when you leave the beach, so you will carry sand into your room. - Wifi: I think in the Hotel was just booked out ~10% to 20% or so, given it is definitively pre-season, but despite perfect Wifi-reception, Internet access was all but unususl even for Mail and normal surving. Streaming should be impossible. - Rooms: Rooms where fine if you like the style, extremely clean and kept that way. Downside is, even with the low occupancy at the time, the Hotel had already run out of power adapters to plug in my laptop. All light switches are illuminated, so you can read newspaper headline even in the darkened room. TV Program has a million Italien stations, but just few foreign language choices.

    The location looks just great, Staff is extremely friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food in the restaurant was no more than a 2 (out of 10) and for the $$ I would rate it a 1. That said breakfast was great and the pool side snack bar was good 5 but the restaurant have a tired menu, didn't change day to day and was the same for lunch. An extreme disappointment. That said it wouldn't keep me from staying there I just would eat there EVER.

    People tried to make us happy after multiple problems with the Villa from the storm that knocked out the Villa's power controls

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location if have car and easy access to Siracuse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location if have car and easy access to Siracuse

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive in to it was unattractive

    Beautiful. Ire of Syracuse

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Most of it was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit too far away from everything

    Most of it was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Stupendous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu rather restricted. OK for a few days but not for a week's stay.

    Stupendous location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    very good at this time of the year
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lunch price, incredibly expensive

    Nice and comfortable rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast needs improvement.

    Nice private beach, room and place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel in wrong place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated location. Food not up to five star standard. No entertainment what so ever.

    Clean modern building with good beaches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful relaxing spot, good breakfast close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything except a kettle for making tea and coffee.

    Location was great, rooms high standard and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    Sandy Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude to guest

    Sandy Beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    The service was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was poor. For a hotel otherwise so good it is a shame they dont improve the quality of the service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful, but outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY outdated rooms, especially for the price.

    Beautiful grounds and views, extremely nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    A lovely location to enjoy the sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar area for an evening drink is very poor given the scenic location of the Hotel.

    Pool area and the overall setting is very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Stay in Ortigia instead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not even close to 5 stars. 4 at best. Poorly laid out property. Tiny, noisy rooms. Clueless staff. Horribly overpriced.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing at minerato
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Views across to old town, and boat trip to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner 1st night, awful! Go and eat in town!

    Views across to old town, and boat trip to old town. Rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Everything. The staff were really efficient and friendly. Location great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location with Seaview and view on Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were fine but a bit outdated and rather small

    Perfect location with Seaview and view on Ortigia

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    Not for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant for evening meals was overpriced and poor quality.

    View towards Syracuse ad Mt Etna was fabulous (on a clear day)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Best view in Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Split resort.

    Location, staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    The beaches and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be renewed

    The beaches and the breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.9
    Nice private Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the female staffs from Front Desk are very arrogant and not helpful. Only the male staff always help us to solve the problems. We are very unhappy with that!!

    Nice private Beach

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    3.8
    The sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything else! This is not a 5 star hotel, it is not satisfying any of the necessary criteria in service, food quality, presentation, cleanliness, maintenance, or any of the ethos of a 5 star establishment. The sun loungers have covers that only can be described as filthy, I have the photos. The staff who clean the rooms drive around in wrecked cars that should not be on the road but in a crap yard, one of these hit the bumper on our new Audi A3 cabriolet and scraped it badly, I called the manager and they denied all responsibility. Looking at the reviews this is the default response to all clients who are unfortunate enough to stay there, and there are many. No bath in the room, poor water pressure, inconsistant temperature in the shower, burning then freezing. Ordered food from the pool bar, served by disinterested staff a very poor quality caprese salads and club sandwich with the sauces in plastic packets. Breakfast was packet orange juice not squeezed, cheap alternatives for cereals and other products, Not 5 star. An open room next to our apartment was filthy and rubbish abandoned inside but visible to the outside. Scum around the jacuzzis due to poor cleaning, rubbish bins not emptied. Pavements missing tiles and broken sharp edges. Poll not heated, only 22 degrees. Our balcony chairs had no cushions and the balcony was filthy. And on and on, what a disgrace for 400 Euros per night.

    The sea view

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    5.4
    Dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated. Several problems with toilet. Jacuzzi, wifi. Wifi does not work in most areas. Not in restaurant,pool area, outside of reception area. Lighting in suite very poor. Not enough to read. Need a gift shop. If you need anything it is a 25 euro cost to town.really needs updating. Pictures exaggerate .

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Very professional and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very professional and friendly staff. Accommodated to all our need on of the staff also recommended and lovely local pizza restaurant arranged booking and taxi to and from the place that's exceptional custermer service. Thanks to all the team. Will definitely be visiting again

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location and true to its rating this really is a 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exaggerated prices for drinks and club smdwiches and taxi fares. It is cheaper to rent a car.

    Fantastic location and true to its rating this really is a 5 star luxury hotel. Excellent facilities being the swimming pool and the beach. The gym could do with more equipment and some towlels. We never at dinner at the hotel but we were told by others that it could be better. The breakfast was excellent with such friendly staff to help fulfill your needs. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some dishes in the menu are small and depending on which dishes you choose you need to eat 2-3 (starter, first and second dish) dishes. The prices are well above normal Italian prices and for two people eating dinner with one glass if wine you easily reach 100 euros (no dessert).

    Staff was incredible! Great breakfast buffet also for gluten intolerant. Restaurant have a very nice menu with both traditional italian dishes and "creative" (meant only positive) with amazing flavors.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    The rooms were fabulous, big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A personal, intangible touch was missing. Maybe because it was very windy, but the feeling of being at home was not quite there. The place felt a bit impersonal, too much like any other luxury hotel.

    The rooms were fabulous, big and clean. The gardens lovely with a nice view of Siracusa.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    It's beautiful location, stunning views, beautiful beach...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast buffet can be improved. It's limited option, barely hot options.

    It's beautiful location, stunning views, beautiful beach , pool and very nature orietated.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was amazing but a little pricey to pay every night. The pool bar food was cheaper but closed at 7pm and had a very limited menu.

    Lovely hotel. Amazing food. Fantastic friendly staff. Loved the sauna and jacuzzi room which you hire for an hour privately. Beautiful beach and terrace.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    10
    Staff is very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a thing not to like

    Staff is very friendly & helpful. Our room had a brilliant view of the bay with Syracuse on the other side (though some rooms have no view at all, so be careful which one to pick). Very good facilities (private beach, pool, jacuzzi, masssage parlour etc), Breakfast had decent selection and good quality food.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing at all this place is perfect!

    Everything! This hotel is the best in Syracuse. The staff the service the decor the food the wine the rooms and hotel facilities are without a doubt 5 star! This is the reason i am about to book my 3rd stay there!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Beach access and pool were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More frequent shuttle service would have been super because the hotel is quite isolated. Felt a bit isolated and spooky, but good for quiet time. Bit boring atmosphere, lots of older guests. Wifi was terrible in the rooms. No coffee or tea in rooms. Do not have dinner in restaurant, go to Ortigia, it's worth the taxi fare. The restaurant is extremely over priced and we received horrible service.

    Beach access and pool were excellent. Free hotel shuttle service was great. Breakfast really good.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Minareto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: