Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Miramare 4 stars

Via Guardiola Vecchia 27, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#40 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Pool area and facility was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs refurbishing. Tiles cracked in bathroom and decoration is worn . Even the coffee pots were in a poor condition.

    Pool area and facility was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Memorable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Restaurant in the hotel for dinner, no real problem.

    Location. Easy access to the city, restaurants shops etc. Grand scale of the property. Breakfast beautiful Secure parking on the grounds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing- the pool is 9-10 flights of stairs from the ground floor. In fact is is 166 steps— we counted them. You can stop along the way or just use it as an exercise excuse for all the great food and wine you will consume! The distance is mitigated by the beautiful cacophony of flowers you will see in the gardens on the way down.

    Wonderful location. Directly across from the bus depot so we were able to take a bus from the Catania airport to literally to the hotel (for about 7 euros each!!!). The front desk staff were very helpful. We arrived very early in the morning and they worked to get us a room ASAP. We enjoyed their breakfast which was quite diverse in choices and very well attended by the kind staff. It also includes prosecco and a view to die for. The hotel is 200 meters from the funivia (3 euros per person each way) which takes you to the beach (well after a few flights of stairs). The hotel is also only 300 meters from the main tourist area full of an endless amount of restaurants and shops. To give you an idea of location while visiting the Ancient Greek theater, one looks down to see the hotel Miramare. The views from the hotel are extraordinary—and it lives up to its name for you do see absolutely spectacular views of the sea and coast. One suggestion— go to the public beach and seek a private boat tour— cost us 100 euros for an incredible hour. One stop should be gunner with ‘Nino’ at Trattoria da Nino which is 100 meters from the hotel. The owner Nono is a gem and the food is delicious. A recommendation—try a bottle of Urra di Mare— a white wine (Sauvignon Blanc) grown near the sea. It is fantastic and runs around 25-28 Euros. The pool area is lovely with lush vegetation. The attendants and cook are excellent and it is a great way to end the day or go to lunch. It does have one negative that I will mention below. On balance a wonderful, convenient and excellent place to stay. We stayed in 5 hotels during this journey. This was clearly the best!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    I like people who works in this beautiful hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like people who works in this beautiful hotel. I have forget the little bag and after 2 days the staff find it for me. I like view there, so nice pool, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    I liked that it was centrally located were I could walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the steps to the pool.

    I liked that it was centrally located were I could walk every where. The bus was across the for daily excursions. The breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    July 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at poolside was dreadful. Perhaps because many guests are foreign they think it is good enough... but for anyone who knows Italian food the standard is very low.

    Particularly liked the room. Single room but quite spacious , very clean , good airconditioning and nice view. Will come back and ask for the same room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast served had just about everything available,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to dislike about this hotel. The only downside would probably be that there isn't a lift available on all floors.

    The breakfast served had just about everything available, lovely choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our beds were a bit too soft and the shower unit is tiny and a bit claustrophobic. Pool is 180 steps down/up, so be prepared! It is lovely and quiet with a great view.

    Location is right opposite bus stop which means you can get the bus to/from Catania airport right outside the hotel. You can also get buses to other parts of the island. The cable car is a 5 minute walk and town 10 minutes which means a scenic walk and away from the noise of the town. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    An excellent hotel with friendly staff in a great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The amount of steps down to the pool.

    A wonderful location, friendly staff great facilities but there is an awful lot of steps down to the pool. When you get to the pool area though, everything you need is there and the pool is a wonderful size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Very nice but pricey for what you got. Perhaps it is just Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having a restaurant other than just for breakfast would have helped. Electric sockets in room were pitiful and few. Walk to swimming pool & back up was 184 steps each way - not for the faint hearted and the only place to eat during the day in the hotel

    Great views. Good barman. Nice swimming pool staff (all staff friendly). Very convenient for town, cable car and bus station. Would stay again but not at the price we paid

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t friendly and welcoming, parking 15 euro a day - I would expect at least a discount for hotel guests. Rooms are a bit oldish and chubby.

    Nice location, very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    Not a 4 Star property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey for at best a 3 Star Hotel. We had booked a sea view double room and on arrival were taken to a room the size of a match box. It was dark, smelt musty and damp and had 2 single beds with old stained, torn bed covers. Bathroom was old, did not feel clean with a shower curtain over bath! Towels were worn with holes in them. After asking the young man who checked us in to find us a more suitable room, we were taken to a slightly better room with small balcony and better bathroom ( why had we not been given this initially as it was in the same room category I’m not sure). My husband and I however had decided that the cost of the room did not add up with room type. We then asked to see a room in category above. The young man was obliging but his superior manager had what can only be described as the worst customer service we have ever experienced. Unhelpful, rude & hostile. Eventually we were shown another room in next category which was marginally better with slightly newer bathroom. Bed linen remained old and stained. Still holes in towels. And for all this we were stung another 40 euro a night. Breakfast was average at best. Pool area was nice but slightest bit of rain and it’s shut down FOR THE ENTIRE DAY. We had booked this property having seen pool area photos and for half of our stay due to a small amount of rain could not access pool area. Not good enough. I would not recommend this hotel. Rooms very average, expensive & appalling customer service. Not a pleasant way to end our month long holiday in Europe, such a shame.

    Location was only thing going for this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Great view-small room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are used to the size of European hotel rooms-but our room was small! We had a deluxe sea view. The bed took up the majority of the square footage-hardly any room to move around the room. It was difficult to organize our clothing, etc. Our friends had the room next to us, same category, and it was slightly larger. I would probably stay there again- but it is pricey for the room!

    This is a beautiful old hotel with an incredible view. The building and grounds were lovely. The breakfast was outstanding! Our room was very clean and the maid service was timely. The front desk people were informative. Parking, for a fee, is available and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for a holiday in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is an excellent hotel in a great location, within easy reach of the town centre and with stunning views. There is a lovely pool and little cafe ideal for a light lunch. Breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    A grand but tired old lady in real need of a spruce up - saved by views, pool and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were weirdly detached, the restaurant was closed (fine but no warning of this) and the pool bar and cafe were a bit vestigial given the large pool and terrace. Very tired decor - in need of a spruce up, especially given the price for small rooms. Hard beds and monolithic pillows.

    Views views views and great location - a walk into the top town and close to the gondola if you want to go down. Gorgeous swimming pool - very large with lounge chairs and great terraced area. And did I mention views! Not a place to go if you have mobility problems or are unfit - there are hundreds of steps down to the pool but plenty of resting places and they're not too steep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Great location a few minutes walk from Taormina old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car park costs 15 euro a day.

    Great location with stunning views, short stroll from main attractions and pedestrian area and a few minutes away from the cablecar to the beach. Very clean accommodation, some of the decor a bit dated. Lovely pool area with helpful staff and plenty of sun loungers. Great breakfast with lovely views from the main dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room and bathroom with noisy toilet. Bed blanket had some stains. Italian breakfast good in choice but average in quality except for the freshly squeezed orange juice. Somewhat unwelcoming reception from staff at arrival and check-in.

    Upgraded to partial sea-view which we appreciated. Very good location of hotel offering great sea views and easy access, i.e. short walk to historic Taormina. Easy access by car and onsite parking (though at a daily EUR 15 fee). Reasonable value for money by Taormina standard. Appreciated to use very nice, spacious, clean and well equipped shower room near the lobby after check-out and before we left for the airport in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    City break-Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is situated just 5 minutes from city centre and on the way to the beach. It has beautiful pool terrace with lot of greenery. Breakfast was rich and quality. You can enjoy on few terraces with enchanting view. Staff were friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    View of the sea is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charged for a bottle opener and wine glass, first ever for me. Also when we arrived we had a view on their parking lot and had to pay extra to get 'upgraded' even though the hotel was far from full.

    View of the sea is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    Location and view are excellent, everything else is mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything

    Location and view are excellent, everything else is mediocre. Location could not be better, next to Corso Umberto, and the cable car to the beach, and the bus terminal. The view from the room as we had a balcony was breathtaking. Everything else needs a revamp. The room is old, and aged. Chipped paint, stained blankets, thin towels. Everything feels past its best, by quite some time. Breakfast is mediocre. Cold scrambled eggs. Egg boiler that does not work. Basic selection of cheeses, and meats and good croissants. They do not allow you to get food from outside the hotel, but when we tried to order a snack in the afternoon it took three different calls to staff, and lots of discussion and then they managed some toast with cheese. Charged us 22 Euros for that, bearing in mind that a main course in town costs anything from 15 to 25 Euros. Another time we asked for some extra tea bags, we were given two ! Sheets are not changed, except when you ask the staff. It was dirty under the bed was dirty, and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks. The queen bed are two single beds stuck together, but the singles had wheels on them, so the beds kept sliding apart. We felt they were cutting costs at every corner, and that was not reflected in the price. I would not stay there again before a refurb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have liked the lunch service in the same room instead of by the pool, but that is only because the stairs to the pool area are difficult for me.

    The breakfast was served in a large patio room with full view. Many excellent choices for all palates. Prosecco in blood orange juice was a plus. Food was fresh and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location, great view and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't provide ironing to your room, neither an ironing room is available. Take this into account if you need it for your stay. Everything else was great and staff super kind!

    Good location, great view and professional staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Tranquil with an amazing vista and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures on the web of the room are deceptive as it looked like one queen size however it’s was 2 beds therefore the double bed room appeared much smaller however the staff were very accommodating in resolving this to our satisfaction that we would highly recommend this property to anyone and will definitely return to this property in the not too distant future

    Staff very attentive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location if a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little tired & shower very small. Breakfast was ok but not brilliant.

    Great location and ability to park within a short walk of the town centre, bars & restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money (the price was very low because I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money (the price was very low because I stayed in low season), perfect position just next to the bus station and close to the city center, beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful old hotel with breathtaking views and very poor service and management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The management and ownership need to get a new staff. Besides the breakfast wait staff who were very helpful and nice, the rest of the employees and particularly the front desk were not helpful and rude at times. Their attitude was they couldn't be bothered. It took me 3 days to get my room cleaned and that was just the bed being made and a few clean towels.

    The view from my room was breathtaking. The hotel is a grand old dame that needs a facelift. Breakfast was amazing with lots of different types of food from which to choose. Great location for being close enough to the center but not in the tourist crowds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Lovely property conveniently located and generally well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel doors were left open presumably for ventilation; however, one morning in particular there were very small flies on ALL the breakfast foods (fruits, pastries, and even the bread) severely limiting what was appetizing to me; I ate a covered yogurt cup.

    The hotel is very conveniently located across the street from the lot where the local buses and tour buses meet and a short way down the hill from the main gate to the main street in Taormina. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was very large by European standards. The staff was professional and courteous. The pool and grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    A grand old hotel that needs a caring staff and new management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front reception was very unhelpful and rude. There was an older man working there who was very rude whenever I asked him anything. I was supposed to change rooms after my friend left and they forgot about it and wanted me to move at 10PM that night. It took 3 days to get my room cleaned after I requested it many times. Then they had the maintenance man do it! Too many tourists and too nasty of an attitude by the staff there. I won't go back. Needs new management and an overall uplift.

    The location is away from the touristy and crowded center of town which made it a quiet retreat. Breakfast was varied with lots of options and very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is a beautiful place to spend a relaxing holiday - highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing. It was bit of a walk up the steps from the pool however it made sure we lost a few of the calories we had gained from the delicious Italian food.

    The room was lovely and very comfortable with great views of the sea from the big balcony. The staff were very polite and helpful and had no difficulty in coping with my gluten and dairy free diet. The food was delicious. The hotel is very well situated as it is a very short walk to the funivia which takes you down to the beaches or just minutes to the beautiful old town. it is also very close to the bus station where you will find coaches that take you on day trips to the surrounding places of interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location nice views could be spectacular if some minor adjustments made
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some reception staff walk to pool and breakfast not 4 star Noise from pipes and loos in bedroom

    Being high is good but no lift to pool so for less able people a problem reception staff varied some disinterest and cool , lady receptionist good. Breakfast and pool staff good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    One of our best ever holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved hotel Miramare, the terrace and the swimming pool, the gardens and the view. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed sitting out on the terrace for an evening meal. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Relaxing by the pool was so peaceful and private with beautiful views out over the sea. We felt very looked after with the pool attendants and bar staff. Walking into Taormina was easy and there are lots of places to eat and the amphitheatre is stunning and easily walkable. Everything is spotlessly clean and the hotel feels very cared for. The gardens are lovely, definitely worth the money for a sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel, swimming pool, fantastic staff, wonderful breakfast, lovely grounds, very accessible
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom

    Loved the sea view, comfy room, big clean bathroom, fantastic buffet breakfast with everything you could want. Near to bus station, shops, cable car, restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, very good location and beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge bar was not very active or welcoming. The decor is clean and modern which is usually not as inviting as something more traditional, in my opinion and the hotel did not really have any reason to hang out at the bar either before dinner or after. Perhaps it had to do with the fact that we visited in September vs the summer when there are more people, but the hotel could have had a reason or incentive to visit. For example, the second hotel we stayed in at Siracusa, had a happy hour special - for 7euros you got a drink/cocktail and hot and cold appetizers. It really brought people out.

    Very nice breakfast, including eggs, bacon, beautiful homemade pastries and Italian crostatas, cakes, and sweets. Fresh squeezed orange juice was a nice bonus. The staff was lovely and attentive. We had a sea view and it was wonderful to watch the sunrise over L'isola Bella which is a beautiful island just off the coast of Taormina. The grounds of the hotel down to the pool were just gorgeous. They really take good care of the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    I would go back to the same hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although I was well aware that I was getting a singles room, it was so so tiny! There wasn't any room to keep your luggage open. The wide window sills really helped.

    Excellent location - central to many points of interest in Taormina. Shuttle service to several beaches was a definite plus. Loved the freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with wonderful views and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful helpful staff who presented me with a bottle of sparkling wine on my birthday which we drank watching moonrise over the Mediterranean. Lovely views and pool. Very conveniently located to the bus stop and a short walk to the main part of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Great choice of breakfast with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception was not particularly friendly.. No free parking for guests.

    Great choice of breakfast with a nice view. Room is pretty spacious and comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy room air conditioning resulting in needing to turn it off at night and being far to HOT in morning! Room had very dated decor for a 4 star hotel although this did not effect the overall stay. The view from the room made up for most things!

    Good location, very attentive staff, nice quiet pool area, stunning views! Very close to Bus station (across road), steps to beach and town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't fault it

    The location of the hotel is great as it's right across the road from the bus terminal which goes right to the airport, very handy. The view from our balcony was just magnificent, pool was really excellent with a good lunch available. Staff very professional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The office staff offering us a "deal" rate of 95 euros to get to the Catania aero port when the bus depot across the street only charges 15 euros!!!Good value

    Great location! Very quiet with super views of the sea!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Go for the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hike to the pool down and back up but the swim worth it.

    Location good as you are close to buses and the tram down to Issa Bella. It is a walk up to the town, but doable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we had trouble with is finding it. The directions and Iphone location service directed us to turn down a street that put us in a loop. We had to ask people in the shops and most of them weren't helpful. When we finally found it, though, the parking was terrific, Just keep driving on the main street, Via Guardiola Vecchia, and you will run into it!

    The hotel is beautiful with views to die for. Our balcony looked right out on the bay and the breezes were delightful. The breakfast room is beautiful and the food adequate. They have a machine that makes any kind of coffee, but the wait staff will also bring you a freshly made cappuccino if you ask. The wait staff is very friendly and accommodating. The terrace was such a perfect place to relax and order a drink, or watch the sunset. The location is perfect for walking around Taormina. It is a close walk to the Roman amphitheater, which was a must see.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is an elegant 4 star hotel within a short walking distance of the town and situated in a quiet road. The room are spacious with excellent views and modern bathrooms - ours had a balcony with stunning views over the bay. Staff are excellent and the breakfast selection unbelievable. The swimming pool is some located below the hotel gardens involving about two hundred steps. However it is an excellent pool with a super cafe serving excellent meals/snacks for lunch. Overall an excellent hotel with old world charm in a lovely setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyable stay apart from the struggle to get to and back from the pool. T
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were 200 steps down to the pool (and 200 back) For some people this would have made a quick dip impossible. There was no mention of this in the blurb. Yes, you can see from the photo but I assumed there would be a lift! I did mention this in my happiness sheet for the hotel. I expect that some folk who were on tours got their opperator to change the hotel. But we were independent travellers. I thought the hotel was overpriced.

    Liked the friendly staff and nearness to bus station. The breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Stunning Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool down too many steps, although magnificent when you get there!

    Location! Stunning views, comfortable bed, quiet location no car noise, relaxing indoor/outdoor areas, elegant, huge buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    view and location over rides the niggles, probably a bit too exspensive,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff could be a little more helpful, hot breakfast was hot when it arrived at the buffett at 7.30 then left to get cold, complimentary tea and coffee not refreshed each day

    view is stunning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.7
    The situation is great with a fantastic view over the bay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive indeed ( not helped by change in exchange rate since booked) and in addition parking extra. Given paper with amount to pay on arrival and then called back some time later and told it would be a considerable amount more as we had used a more expensive agent than they had realised! Will check other agents before booking in future but have used booking.com a lot in the past without previous problems.

    The situation is great with a fantastic view over the bay and easy short walk to the centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    I will return, the location is a huge plus!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe I've expected a kettle and an ironing board in a 4* hotel room. The hotel needs a few refurbishments and upgrades.

    Location cannot be better (bus stop just across the road) - Taormina center just 5-8mins uphill walk. Very clean hotel (reception always smelling amazing!!) and big rooms. The views are amazing. They let us use the pool for a day after checkout (I didn't mind the 180 steps)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee/tea making facilities were poor. You are required to pay if you want more than sample tea in your room. For what you pay, no biscuits either. Daily newspapers should be available for guests. No life in hotel for the elderly.

    Variety of choice for breakfast. Views were exceptional. Variety of places to relax within the complex.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    6.7
    Three days in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a slightly tired feel about it, both in appearance and the staff, it is annoying that there is an additional charge for the car park given the high price of accommodation. Breakfast was ok, in a country which is particularly keen on coffee I found that the machine produced cappuccino was rather poor as was the stewed coffee served in a jug. Warning, there are a lot of steps down to the swimming pool.

    When you look at the hotel from the swimming pool, the setting is very beautiful with its mature garden. The view from our balcony was gorgeous and very relaxing. The hotel is located in a quiet road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The long walk down to the swimming pool, fine if your young not so good if your of senior years. and I thought it was a bit mean having to buy extra tea bags after the complimentary 4 tea bags were used, maybe its an Italian thing.

    The view, the comfort of the bed, that the towels were changed every day, the staff who were very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small and not sturdy. Really small twin beds put together.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Great location near to the main town and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near to the main town and bus station. Staff very helpful and room good sized clean. Lovely pool area and beautiful views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything else was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath in the room

    Everything else was amazing. Loved the view the facilities and breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    A place I would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a great location- the service was excellent and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    The pool area is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room a little dark

    The pool area is fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    The location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is superb. Water taxi to Siracusa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, views were fantastic, facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, views were fantastic, facilities were good, breakfast selection was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views. Perfect location.beautiful gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location with beautiful panoramic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about the property.

    Excellent location with beautiful panoramic views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    location, view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleanliness

    location, view...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful location,face ocean and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so so.

    Beautiful location,face ocean and mountains. Room size was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Awesome place to stay with exceptional view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 twin beds next to each other to make a queen frequently separated.

    Amazing location and view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful room and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Staff, food, views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good view, spacious room, parking is easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good view, spacious room, parking is easy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    The stairs from the pool area up to the lower level of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs from the pool area up to the lower level of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Just loved everything about Sicily and this hotel was in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor point, need power points in the rooms

    Lovely Gardens and views. The rooms were spacious and well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Would be nice if they had a fitness-room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would be nice if they had a fitness-room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    They were very kind and as we had told them it was our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very kind and as we had told them it was our honeymoon, they left a complimentary bottle of prosecco in our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to town centre, pool, staff, and breakfast. Evening meal highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    We had a very nice stay. Location was very good and most of the staff were very helpful.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no light on the balcony. It would have been nice to have breakfast outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Old fashion charm and service in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Old world charm, friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    A great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and furnishings a bit dated.

    Fantastic views, reasonable priced. Staff friendly. Great breakfast included

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    size of shower to small

    position

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: