Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Moroni 4 stars

Via San Pietro, 38, 17024 Finale Ligure, Italy

#9 of 30 hotels in Finale Ligure

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 529 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    The location was good and breakfast was also good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is poor. 17 euros a day for a garage space or 12 euros for behind the hotel. We chose this but v tight and can only arrive and leave with the doorman opening the barrier which put us off trying! Free parking is 500 meters away.

    The location was good and breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    The reception, lobby, bar and restaurant are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom ( it is very big and probably it was amazing years ago, but being in 2018 it should be renewed a little ). ( the parking door opening is a little uncomfortable, maybe an automatic door would be better ). The rooms should be renewed.

    The reception, lobby, bar and restaurant are very nice. The hotel has an amazing breakfast, and an amazing bar next to it. The room had a great dimension and had a beautiful sea view. Also the location is perfect and we parked the car in a free hotel's parking (very close to the hotel )

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Old-Skool Gem with spectacular sea-views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a lovely place! We had a SPECTACULAR sea view, the room was spacious, cosy & immaculate. Not a modern hotel, but beautifully maintained - with warm, caring staff. My little dog was treated like a guest as well! Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous view, first-rate service, comfortable room, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the hotel is super clean and much nicer than it looks in pictures, the design still feels a bit outdated. It could use a facelift in general -- new tiles for example (and that includes the ensuite bathrooms).

    The attention and service given to guests were fantastic. From the moment we walked in, the staff made every effort to accommodate us. The restaurant was elegant, served great food, and the staff there were very attentive also. The hotel facilities are actually nicer than they look in pictures.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    For the last fifty years, this is the best hotel in the most charming resort for a restful holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all!

    I first stayed at the Moroni in the sixties. It was the best hotel in Finale Ligure then and it still is. The rooms are traditionally furnished,very clean and ours had a bathroom with a bath; the beds are extremely comfortable and we had a wonderful view over the Med with a balcony.The breakfast was of the highest quality and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We could not have had a more restful holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Zero helpful information or direction. Utterly unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impatient staff, no directions to wifi, breakfast or check out times, advertised free parking which is FAR away and they gave horrible directions so got lost for half an hour. Poor directions to their private beach which I had to ask for, not offered.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    Old school charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking was somewhat far away, hotel is definitely in need of a 21st century revamp (not that things were broken, but it's all clearly several decades old). Breakfast was ok, not fantastic, the balcony overlooked a 20m roof.. and the Sky box didn't work. Overall value for money is ok but hotel either needs to refurbish/redesign or drop its 4th star.

    Located right in the center, along the waterfront walkway, close to restaurants etc. The room was clean, the bed was very good! and overall the staff was very friendly. We booked a double room but upon check in, it was a twin. This was unfortunate but the staff fixed it right away when we went to park the car, so good service for sure. Value for money is ok, but hotel needs to choose; become true 21st century 4-star hotel or drop 1 star and be a traditional/old school/historic property. That being said, maybe the target audience isn't young couples in their early 30s;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent well located 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent hotel with a pleasant lobby and restaurant . Great location near beach with lovely tree lined boulevard in front . Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Finale Ligure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was a bit on the slow side at times. Not terrible, but could be better.

    Fantastic location just off the shoreline promenade. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast buffet including a good choice of fresh fruit. Clean and airy room with comfortable beds. Whether or you like the old world charm and style of furnishings or would prefer a more modern design is up to you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    The location was magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an upper floor room which I did get, but the view was of the roof line. Asked for another room but they couldn't accommodate my request. I couldnt open my blinds or door to the balcony because next door were occupied apartments with access to our balcony. I didn't feel safe.

    The location was magnificent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The elevators were quite small,couldn't fit with the stroller into one of them, while the other broke quite often. There are 4-5 steps after the entrance, a little difficult if you have a baby in a stroller. The free parking is up on a hill, which if you I didn't find from the first attempt, so I had to drive all the way down and up again, since it's a one-way road only. But again - not something to change the nice time we had at this hotel.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, big and comfy bed, good breakfast, nice balcony/terrace towards the beach, very nice hotel overall. We stayed at the 2nd floor, and had mostly palm leaves in front of us, but it was still nice. Plenty of things to do, also with a small kid just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    A Grand Hotel in a great location with Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The discount for the private beach is only 10%, so bear this in mind as the cost per day is 15 euros (not including discount). However as we were out of season, at the end of May, we negotiated a better price with the beach staff.

    OK, it's not the most modern of hotels but it has that feel of a beautiful hotel from a time when service was a priority and I can say that still remains. Extremely comfortable and welcoming with excellent staff. Rooms comfortable and clean with a lovely balcony and view. Breakfast was fantastic with attention to your every need - either outside or inside the restaurant. PS - the local restaurant (hand made signs advising of daily specials) behind the hotel has amazing local seafood, superb but no frills.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    A lovely, elegant beach front hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we entered the large foyer and were greeted by friendly staff I could feel this was an establishment that I would like. Everything was lovely- clean room, large bed, modern bathroom and a balcony to the sea! It really was perfect! The front desk staff were really nice and attentive too! I will come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.8
    Refused to send me my forgotten reading glasses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left by accident my reading glasses in the room. When I phoned them a day later, they had found them but refused to send them to me because the were not sure that I would pay!!! They told me to organize it by myself. Speaking about hospitality..... Will never again go back here.

    the location is excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Room had a balcony overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn't work in our room, I needed to go into the stairwell or reception. We didn't have hot water for our shower 2 mornings. When we told reception they reset the boiler and we had our hot shower.

    Room had a balcony overlooking the sea. Very impressive marble reception. Breakfast was very good, hot dishes were made to order

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful Italian Riveria location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous and convenient location. Friendly and efficient staff who spoke English. Convenient parking. Cook to order breakfast included. Shopping, dining and the beach!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Four stars more than well deserved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel exceeded my expectations: extremely attentive and helpful personnel, ideal location, perfect room, delicious breakfast. Four stars of the hotel are more than well deserved!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.3
    3 strong stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - dirty AC (better not use it) - free parking if you find it (800m from hotel, on the hill)

    + perfect location + clean + good rooms + friendly service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.1
    This hotel has a great location, is quite comfortable but could do with a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little dated and air conditioning was a little variable. Bathrooms need updating. Whereas smoking was not permitted in hotel, people ignored this.There was an absence of any music in the hotel.

    Restaurant food was well cooked and generally there was a reasonable choice of dishes. Location is definitely its strong point.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    So close to the beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So close to the beautiful beach. Staff were all lovely and really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, nice, friendly, wonderful stuff, delicious food, clean beautiful room with awesome view to the sea. Want to come back 😍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    great hotel for comfort and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perfect location for town and beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    nice place but not a very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very dated and tired bedroom. fridge broken and growing black mould!....it was changed but didn't get cold enough for us to use before leaving.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Not cheap, but very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast gorgeous, room spacy, very good facilities (sitting-rooms, parking).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great location at the Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Italian Riviera Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and very friendly staff. A very lovely overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Great hotel lovely atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and staff fantastic

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    8.8
    Cristiano, the lobbyboy, he is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cristiano, the lobbyboy, he is the best!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing sea view from our room. Close to beach an all facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice clean rooms, a little old fashionend reception area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fairly high priced in high season.

    Nice clean rooms, a little old fashionend reception area and dining rooom but in a nice way. Great breakfast. Beach just across the street and short walk to restaurants, shops etc.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    5.0
    it's really difficult to find what was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel doesn't have swimming pool or sun beds on the beach or bicycles,no extra services except wellness which is uselss during the summer.For this equipment I would accept half of the price what we paid. I would not recommend this hotel,it's far too expensive what he offers.

    it's really difficult to find what was nice

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    Located at the best part of the boulevard, opposite the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Located at the best part of the boulevard, opposite the beach the GM is the hotel for a comfortabel and luxurious stay. Part of its charm is the old fashioned style.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.9
    We enjoyed our brief stay and appreciated the assistance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed our brief stay and appreciated the assistance from friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent! We'll definitely return!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff, very good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, friendly staff, very good room

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    great hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great hotel and great location. Just opposite the beach. Staff extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Amazing staff, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing staff, excellent location!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.8
    Très bel emplacement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiiFi insuffisamment efficace

    Très bel emplacement

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: