Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Nizza Et Suisse 4 stars

Viale Verdi 72, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy

#43 of 97 hotels in Montecatini Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 782 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Tea / Coffee facilities in room and when we enquirer about getting one at reception they said the bar was closed and we should try in the town Lack of sufficient lighting made life difficult

    Giant Bedroom (Suite) Excellent Food Free Car Park Opposite superb park and 5 minutes max to restaurants and centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably how difficult was to get WiFi. Which is was a common problem throughout the town. Beautiful town by the way.

    For me, was the close that it was where we were playing our chess games. Just cross the street in the excelsior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has the atmosphere of a 1930-ties or Eastern block 1950-ties. Poor breakfast, impersonal ambiance, personnel looking uninterested, outdoor pool was open but not cleaned, crumbled paint on the door and the windows, TV set of the size of a small PC monitor, cracks on the ceiling, water dropping to the floor when taking shower. Far away from the 4 stars. Extremely overpriced for the service offered. Wouldn't return to this hotel anymore.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very temperamental.

    Great location with parking. Extremely friendly staff and very lovely room. The spa was great too and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate shower cabin: water all over the place. No vacuuming? Dustclouds on the floor. Otherwise clean.

    Nice hotel with chique atmosphere. Spacious room, spacious bathroom. Opposite the park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there are a couple of things that could be improved. The hotel and the rooms need to be renovated! Everything is falling apart, and taking a shower was next to impossible as the water temperature kept changing. The WiFi was available theoretically, none of us managed to connect. Lastly, the airconditioning was so loud you could not sleep with it, but it being Italy in august , you could not sleep without it either..

    The location of the Hotel is superb, right opposite a wonderful park and within walking distance of the old and new city. Also, the Steak restaurant is great and the staff is siper friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was very tiny, and its access almost hidden in a very narrow road. If you're late then you will probably miss a free spot. The pool and everything around it was in a sad condition, not as expected. Facility needs renovations. The free Wifi was almost unusable, very slow.

    The rooms were ok, and fortunately the air con worked. Breakfast was good with fresh fruits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work our first night in the hotel. Receptionist told us that it will not work for days because they are waiting for the parts from France. It turned out that AC was fixed so the temperature was ok for the rest of our stay. The room we got was full with mosquitos. When I say full I mean we counted over 20 mosquitos. We had not slept that whole night. In the morning we bought repelents. The thing that was the worst was parking. It says on booking.com page that free parking is available at the site. First night we arrived at the hotel at 2am and parking was full. Very rude and unpleasant receptionist told me to go and park somewhere else on the street. When I told him that we booked the hotel because of the parking he said he does not care, that I need to park car somewhere else because there is no room at the parking. It was very unpleasant conversation in the middle of the night. In the morning another person at the reception was also very unfriendly when I complained about the parking, mosquitos and air conditioning. She told me that it is fine with them if we want to leave their hotel. Terrible customer service! Just to mention, I counted parking spaces and there is no more then 35 and the hotel has more then 100 rooms. We loved the town but would not recommend stay in this hotel. Not because of the problems we had with AC and parking but because their personnel is terribly rude and unfriendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing promoted on Booking.com was reality. The rooms looked much trashier, no free parking, I wouldn´t use the pool, the Aircondition broken - hottest time of the year - and it takes a week to fix it.

    The receptionists are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff helpful & friendly

    Big firm comfortable beds & clean rooms. Plentiful breakfast. Lovely social rooms: bar/pool. Highly recommended. I would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning in room barely adequate in hot weather. Poor choice of restaurants in the town (hotel restaurants expensive!) Swimming pool is good but no changing facilities, and towels not always available

    Very good breakfast with outside seating area, large comfortable room. Easy walking into town centre and opposite spa park. Take the funicular railway up to Montecatino Alto (walk through the park, it runs until midnight) for more restaurants. relaxed atmosphere in the town compared with the tourist hot spots nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Difficult parking, the rooms which are said to be 20m2 on booking.com, is not more than 16m2 and don't look like on the photos at all, not helpful staff - initially booked for 10 days, but needed to leave one day earlier due to an emergency, but the hotel was forcing us to pay the last night either.

    The breakfast was good, the location excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult parking, the rooms which are said to be 20m2 on booking.com, is not more than 16m2 and don't look like on the photos at all, not helpful staff - initially booked for 10 days, but needed to leave one day earlier due to an emergency, but the hotel was forcing us to pay the last night either.

    The breakfast was good, the location excellent, SPA treatments are for a reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only have two slight disappointments: the shower gel is awful - and we had to ask for extra sachets because Housekeeping didn't always leave enough - and the wifi, when we could get it, was very slow.

    Breakfast was very good, 5 cereals, loads of breads, meats, cheeses and fruit - everything you would want, including eggs and bacon. The staff were all very friendly, English speaking and nothing was too much trouble. I cannot praise the Just Meat restaurant too much - the food was amazing and the staff are the best! The hotel is just across the road from the park, where there are lovely walks and you can sample the water if you're brave enough! We would have used the spa and pool, but sadly ran out of time - next time we're there, though..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not every room has an access to the SPA. Be careful arriving by car because the hotel is situated in zona traffico limitato - communicate your license plate to the hotel in advance to avoid problems. The hotel need a refreshment

    Really good breakfast and helpful staff saves the image of the hotel. Also the private parking is good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked 3 rooms, in very poor state of decor and cleanliness, if these were deluxe rooms I would hate to see the standard ones. We all got bitten, and not by mosquito's, it was either fleas or bed bugs. I have told the hotel by email and by letter, no reply to either. I have stayed at this hotel on 4 occasions, but never again, total disgrace. Very very dissapointed.

    I liked the staff and the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Other than breakfast, which was excellent , the restaurant options were a bit limited. There is a good, but expensive a la carte 'just eat' restaurant, or a set 4 course set meal . The amount of basic tourist info could have been better - like town maps, funicular timetable , other restaurant recommendations options etc, especially since the only time the local tourist info centre was open was the morning we left.

    The hotel, although a little faded outside, was clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was of good quality with lots of choice. We made use of the in-house spa facilities, which were easy to book and very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head could have been bigger...that's it.

    I've been here several times before and each time, it is more congenial. The food was fantastic, service couldn't be more hospitable. Room was huge, as was bathroom. Plenty of towels..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of the hotel is superb, service professional and friendly. The environment is a bit out dated, but charming and you feel being part of the old movie scenes. Breakfast old fashion, but fresh and enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    sometimes water used to play up either very hot or cold when showering. TV not working properly for the first part of our stay.

    pool open till 20.00 and towels provided. location good for restaurants and shops.Breakfast was very good. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit difficult

    Good breakfast, plenty of options both hot and cold, sweet and savoury. Best we've had in Italy. Nice and clean rooms. Wifi worked well. Good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast can start earlier to allow people travelling early to have a meal. Let's have some English and French channel in TV

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Gorgeous place near city park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shade from the sun and no umbrellas available

    Pool area was lovely. Btrakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows need to improve!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Renewed bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxation area very limited.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very luxurious in an early 20th century look but very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and equipment in need of refurbishment

    Good location , nice large room and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is horrible throughout the whole hotel!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needed upgrading

    Good breakfast and nice pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard Beds and pillows

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    V old hotel

    Weather

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the whole staff were amazing with great extensive breakfast.v.good rooms.nice bar inside and outside. top class place to stay in great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THERE WAS NOTHING TO DISLIKE.

    THE LARGE BEDROOM AND BATHROOM, COMFORTABLE BED,THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLANT, IDEAL LOCATION,FRIENDLY STAFF.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small TV

    Big, nice bathroom. Very clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet isn't fast

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was very good

    Kindness of the whole staff!! The food and the waiter first class!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    pool and the building need to be renovated

    Nice building good location close to center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a major upgrade of there room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel in the city center.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The staff was brilliant, the room is very good with everything you need in place, very spacious, recently renovated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of free parking but hotel does make clear limited private spaces

    Helpful staff. Spacious rooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not always work effectively e.g. for uploading photos/streaming. Exterior of hotel looks quite shabby and some interior areas are past their best - not what I would expect from a 4**** hotel. Our room at front of hotel was quite loud at times - mainly from the bar outside on busy nights.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly - really great service from everyone in hotel. Everything was very clean. Very good value. Very central. Parking secure and free.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have appreciated if the staff smiled a bit more :-)

    Excellent location, just across the street from the thermae were most SPA treatments take place Room was comfortable, decor a bit dated, but still a 4* hotel Nice coffee place on its right Parking spaces abundantly (in May) - very safe

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A little bit modest rooms being furnished in baroc style.

    The location was great. The hotel is classic mediterranean style with a big restaurant and cosy rooms. The staff was very friendly and has god a big parking for our car.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the rooms were very dated , terribly furnished, and badly in need of refurbishment, the breakfast was very poor quality, we even saw cereals that had been left out all night for the morning breakfast service

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spa is crowed and so dirty because they will arrange 8 people to use the spa area in the same time even they guaranteed in a written email that they don't allow over 6 people to use the spa together. Furthermore, they didn't set any rule to any guest in the spa; I saw some people to get into the jacuzzi who didn't even shower or clean their body. The staff there is very bad service, like that of a hostel, not like a four star hotel it claims to be. It's a two star, tops.

    The breakfast and location

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is not 4* hotel for sure! Service do not correspond to such rank: in the room no any information about hotel and service provided. you have to ask stuff and have to say - stuff is helpful.

    Location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too many people from my own country. Male staff not very helpfull. Breakfast ordinary. Wifi in room was weak.

    Friendly maid. Large boutique room. Aircon good. Bathroom large.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com advertised a free mini bar in all rooms which transpired to be a fridge with two bottles of mineral water which the hotel charged us for! There was no decent wifi signal in any area of the hotel. During our three night stay the internet was not accessible.

    The evening meals were absolutely stunning! The waiting staff in the restaurant were the heart of this hotel! The spa was available to book at an extra cost and worth every penny!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Spa experience" is nothing special - if you have been to a modern gym or a regular 4 star hotel, then you have already done it.

    Reception staff very helpful and efficient, helped us with paperwork to avoid a fine for driving into the city centre (necessary to access hotel and free parking). Room clean and comfortable though quite small. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wellness spento...

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Couple

    The raining weather!

    The very helping staff, the free parking, the very nice and helpful waiter in the dining room

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wellness centre accessible only by appointment and mostly unavailable and often closed.

    Good rooms, nice building

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, helpful staff and excellent room.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great traditional Hotel. Beautiful setting in this well known Spa resort

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    staff and location was great.Rooms were clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa and pool area are np in need of major facelift.

    Massage

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe in the room.

    Check in was easy and staff friendly. Rooms were large and beds comfortable. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was excellent The room was excellent, clean, modern well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location for visiting sights of tuscany

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no tissues in the bathroon we were not able to connect to wht wifi network in the hotel with both our i phones

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, friendly staff, room

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Grand Hotel Nizza Et Suisse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: